24-hour remand for blogger Kickdefella PDF Print
Thursday, 18 September 2008 18:52

By IAN MCINTYRE, The Star

KOTA BARU: Police on Thursday obtained a 24-hour remand order for blogger Syed Azidi Syed Aziz, better known as Sheih Kickdefella, who is under investigation for posting allegedly seditious statements on his blog.

He was brought to court around 1pm under escort by two burly plainclothes policemen in an unmarked four wheel drive vehicle.

Handcuffed, Syed Azidi who is an employee of the Kelantan Mentri Besar Incorporated firm, smiled and waved to a small group of supporters led by PAS vice-president Datuk Husam Musa at the magistrate’s court.

He is schedule to be brought to Kuala Lumpur later for further investigations under Section 4 (1) of the Sedition Act.

It is believed that the investigations are centred on his blog post calling for people to fly the national flag upside down as a protest to certain Federal Government policies and its leadership.

According to his wife Bariah Ishak, her husband looked pale and his lips were dry so she was worried because he suffers from low sugar levels.

”He is cautious about his food intake because his mother is a diabetic so I hope the police would consider his condition and perhaps offer him a carbonated drink when he breaks fast.”

Bariah, 37, said in the few moments she had to speak with him, Syed Azidi informed that he only received two packets of plain water besides some food since he was detained on Wednesday at the couple’s home in Demit.

The couple have four young children who have not been told of their father’s arrest but merely told that he has to travel to Kuala Lumpur.

Husam who is a close friend of the blogger, later told a press conference that this detention was a form of selective prosecution and that it was to intimidate bloggers active in cyberspace.

He would appoint lawyers to fight any charges posed against Syed Azidi.

State Deputy CPO SAC (II) Amir Hamzah Hussin said he was informed that the blogger would be brought to Kuala Lumpur since the police report concerning seditious statements was lodged there.

It is also learnt that the police have seized his laptop and several compact dics from his home.

written by ahmadneil, September 18, 2008 18:56:33
They are making another RPK for us.
written by johanssm, September 18, 2008 19:04:00
It is a waste of time and resources to arrest bloggers.
Kickdefella is not even a criminal.
No wonder nurin is dead and sharlinie is still missing.
written by R Hum, September 18, 2008 19:15:21
Having seen the Q & A of the Zaid Ibrahim in U tube, I can only summarise that there are two types of UMNO members.
The uncouth type like Toyo and the gentlemen type like Zaid Ibrahim.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d3mKXD_QhEY&feature=related

written by ahmadneil, September 18, 2008 19:15:49
Honestly AAB can be better than Mahathir if he didn't chose Najis to be his deputy.If all the Ministers support him sure he will be a good PM.
written by ahmadneil, September 18, 2008 19:28:12
AAB can be a even better PM if he chose Anwar to be his deputy and RPK as his advisor.
written by mob1900, September 18, 2008 19:28:25

24 hours? by tomorrow it would be more than 48 hours since his arrest yesterday evening! Stay strong Sheih!
written by wali10, September 18, 2008 19:32:44
Remember sometime back - where one citizen lambasted the National Anthem while abroad (Hong Kong? Macau? Taipei?). I think that case was quite similar in gravity compared with this sheih kickdefella's case. So why is there inconsistency in the action-tune by the powers-that-be?
written by cubi76, September 18, 2008 19:43:56
How many handcuff do you have?

If 1 down, there will be 10 up.
If 10 down, there will be 100 up.
If 100 down, there will be 10000 up!

We will not give up!
written by omarkhayyam, September 18, 2008 19:47:29
Flying flag upside is a crime in Malaisie. Robbing rakyats money, manipulating judiciary and waving keris is Not a Crime. thank you BN thank you UMNO/MCA/MIC .... god bless u fella's in hell
written by ahmadneil, September 18, 2008 20:11:54
AAB by giving the Finance Post to Najis is a blessing in disguise.This is the most trying times and if Najis can't revive the economy then he will not be eligible to be the next PM.Defence Post is just a 'kantow post' so AAB will have no problem with it,infact it will give him more publicity.
written by lynn, September 18, 2008 20:17:01
We shld organise a big protest & demand for the immediate release of RPK, Teresa, Kickdefella and all ISA detainees. The government is afraid & would act when we get too loud & insistent. We shld demand that they charge RPK in court instead of detaining him indefinitely & torturing every hour by waking him up from his sleep. Why are Malaysians silent on RPK especially? Pls, can we collectively speak up in unity & support for RPK's release?
written by Semut Jantan, September 18, 2008 20:29:11
I am flying the flag upside down, so come and get me, I dare you. Porah!
written by *********, September 18, 2008 20:50:07
What makes you so sure that the talk of the impending takeover of the Federal Government is a rumor? Don't you realize that we live in a democracy and as such we are free to speculate and discuss whatever theories we may have on the country's political future. How the heck did you become the nation's No. 2 Cop?...More http://*********.********.com

written by cheemengwong, September 18, 2008 20:53:00
Go and catch some real criminals pleaselah
written by Motherchell, September 18, 2008 20:58:09
My dear SHIEH! our hearts and soul is with you always. if the fascists think they want a protracted space with us, the world is watching too this spectacle!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/7622437.stm

no matter what they still have to take their funds to places like London and New York!
written by Sabahfan, September 18, 2008 21:01:32
As I said before, dont fly Malaysia flag upside down, instead fly BN and UMNO flags UPSide down as here...

written by vaistlin, September 18, 2008 21:01:52
In this holy month, Muslims are suppose to spend their time with their beloved family. Ramadan is a happy month which will end with a very happy celebration. Happy because you get to celebrate with your beloved family and friends. Happy because you conquered evils and hardships. Happy because all Malaysians celebrate it regardless of creed, race or religion. Happy that we are all members of the proud Brotherhood (and sisterhood)of Malaysia.
But now, two of our brothers and 1 sister, nay, many others brothers and sisters, couldn't join us in the celebrations. What celebration is it to be without everyone in a family.
Ramadan is a month where we shun evils and do more good. The devils had being locked up. But no, there's still devils in human skin, walking among us, breaking up our great family.
RPK, Kickdefella, Teresa, HINDRAF 5 and many others of my brothers and sisters, I pray for your quick return to our folds.
written by Sabahfan, September 18, 2008 21:16:43
written by budakindia, September 18, 2008 21:33:47
yeah the "crime" he did was a protest! That's a "big crime" in Malaysia! Robbers, murderers, rapists,kidnappers are nothing comparing to him! That's why the police are too busy looking for bloggers like him!
written by Kacang Tanah, September 18, 2008 21:36:45
The police are quite fast to act. How about that racist Ahmad Ismail? Are you still investigating? What evidences do you need? His ugly face was shown over TV. That is more than enough to “protect” him under ISA. Don’t take the people as fools.
written by southallman, September 18, 2008 21:38:08
Yes,

Start a campaign and buy and fly UMNO / BN flags upside down, UMNO/BN is in distress and needs help. If you find any cows crossing the road and they happen to drop something from the behind end, clean the road with UMNO/BN flag (lets keep our roads clean campaign) and aftewards fly it, the rain might wash it..

Use cheap/crappy material and keep the price of the flags to minimal, any donor/sponsor willing to pay, then give them away for FREE
written by Daryl, September 18, 2008 21:48:13
I believe we can burn the BN, UMNO, MCA, MIC, Gerakan and all their cronies flags without any problem. Flying it upside down is just giving them too much credit. As long as we are not burning the Malaysian flag we will be okay. These are political parties and if they are allow to get away with racist and religious insensitive comments and some time false allegations than yes burn them stupid flags. Khir, Ahmad, Saiful, Dr. M, and more on the BN side must go under ISA before RPK and MP Kok. We are still waiting just like the BMC case... No action against their own cronies...
written by onnetline, September 18, 2008 22:17:57
Barisan Najis,

Why is the ' pendatang ', Ahmad Ismail still running around free like a bird like nothing has happened ???

Do have the balls to say that ISA is strictly for oppositions of the BN government only !!!

Or all of you have underwent a sex change ??
written by bigiblue, September 18, 2008 22:39:50
Our prayers for your speedy release and the safety and comfort of your family
written by godknows, September 18, 2008 22:40:11
New Zealand High Court overturns conviction for flag burning
By John Braddock
26 August 2004

Use this version to print | Send this link by email | Email the author

Late last month, the New Zealand High Court upheld an appeal lodged by 38-year-old teacher Paul Hopkinson against his conviction for setting fire to the national flag.

Hopkinson was convicted and fined $600 in the Wellington District Court under a reactionary 1981 law, previously unused, forbidding any action that would “dishonour” the New Zealand flag. The judge ruled that the provisions in the country’s Bill of Rights Act (1990), which guarantee freedom of expression, were over-ridden in this case by Hopkinson’s political intentions, which, he said, were clearly designed to encourage disrespect for the flag. In centring the justification for the conviction on a presumption of the defendant’s intentions, the court established a dangerous precedent for criminal sanctions against political opponents of the government.

The incident took place in the grounds of parliament house in March 2003, during a 300-strong protest against a state visit by Australian Prime Minister John Howard. At the time, there was widespread public concern that the purpose of Howard’s visit was to bring pressure to bear on the New Zealand government to join the “coalition of the willing” in invading Iraq. Prime Minister Helen Clark had already used the occasion to emphasise her agreement with the aims of Australia and the US, declaring that her differences were simply over the “means” of disarming Iraq. The demonstrations against Howard were held just weeks after tens of thousands of people throughout the country had joined the global protest movement against the war.

Reviewing the lower court’s verdict, the High Court found that burning the flag in the circumstances of a political demonstration did not justify limiting Hopkinson’s rights. As a protester, he had a legal right to burn the flag as a form of freedom of expression. The judge drew attention to a finding of the US Supreme Court, where a majority of judges had ruled that the criminal law should not be used to protect the flag, even though it was a dominant political symbol. New Zealand had also reached a “level of maturity”, he said, in which “staunch criticism is now regarded as acceptable”.
written by rams609, September 18, 2008 23:01:49
Harram. Semua yang ikut dan menginstruksikan untuk menangkap Kickdefella and RPK. Bulan puasa yang mulia ini seharusnya mereka sebagai kepala keluarga di berikan kebebasan untuk beribadah bersama keluarga. Tetapi, syaitan dan pengikut2nya ketawa!!!!
written by rams609, September 18, 2008 23:04:38
I am an ordinary citizen and Kickdefella has not done anything wrong. He is free to voice up his opinion. Siapa yg makan cili lah yang terasa pedassssss!!!

FREE KICKDEFELLA NOW. HE'S SO RIGHT TO CHOOSE TO KICKDEFELLA!!!!
written by Fat Zorro, September 19, 2008 05:49:01
Dear Readers, I thought flying a country's flag upside down signifies that the country is in distress. I am not too sure but if it is, it is not an act of dishounour to the country