Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Malaysia: Abdullah Survives, But For How Long?

Malaysia: Abdullah Survives, But For How Long? PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 18 September 2008 09:43

Malaysian Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said Sept. 17 that he might leave office earlier than his previously set date of June 2010. The same day, the Sabah Progressive Party defected from Abdullah's 14-party Barisan Nasional coalition government. Both external and internal pressures on Abdullah to step down have come to a head, and his days as leader of the United Malays National Organization and as prime minister are numbered.

Analysis by www.stratfor.com

Malaysia's Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on Sept. 17 yielded his position as finance minister to his deputy, Najib Razak (in exchange for the latter's post as defense minister), and said for the first time that he might leave office before his previously set date of June 2010. The same day, the Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) became the first to defect from Abdullah's 14-party Barisan Nasional (BN) coalition government. Both developments came shortly after news emerged that former Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad is planning to rejoin the ruling United Malays National Organization (UMNO) in order to continue his bid to oust Abdullah from it.

External and internal pressures on Abdullah to step down have finally come to a head, and his days as UMNO leader and prime minister are numbered.

Although the SAPP's defection was expected and the party held only two of BN's 140 seats in parliament, fears that its official defection could trigger others are valid , as most of the challenges Abdullah faces come from one source: his rival and opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim.

Anwar made it his mission to topple Abdullah from power by Sept. 16 — the 45th anniversary of Malaysia's founding — first by exploiting and widening rifts inside the UMNO, and second by luring at least 30 BN parliament members to join the opposition alliance (led by his Parti Keadilan Rakyat) that already commands 82 of the Malaysian parliament's 222 seats.

Although the deadline has passed and the 31 defections that Anwar claims to have secured remain unconfirmed, these details are peripheral to the core strategy Anwar has used against the ruling party for months. Anwar said the delay occurred because Abdullah refused to meet with him in person to secure a guarantee for the personal safety of would-be defectors after their names are announced.

By using a clever mix of public relations tactics, promises of better governance (such as the scrapping of the pro-ethnic Malay discrimination policies) and political persuasion, Anwar has sown increasing distrust and disorientation inside the ruling coalition leadership — effectively freezing any attempts at efficient governance. This strategy was further boosted Aug. 26, when elections in Permatang Pauh in Anwar's home state of Penang gave him his parliamentary seat again. As Stratfor predicted then, based within parliament, Anwar would gain greater leverage and opportunities to step up the intensity and frequency of his courtship of would-be defectors from BN.

Abdullah may have survived Sept. 16, but the uncertainty felt by his closest political allies, his continued failure to consolidate and motivate his own party, his firefighting rather than pre-emptive responses to the opposition's provocations and his inability to take his eye off political survival long enough to lead the country from its worsening economic outlook have led even key members of the UMNO leadership in recent days to openly start questioning his reluctance to step down.

Among those questioning Abdullah are Zaid Ibrahim, former minister responsible for judicial and legal reform (who resigned Sept. 15 in protest against the use of the internal security act against members of the opposition), Abdullah's second-in-command, Najib, and the UMNO Vice President and International Trade and Industry Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin — all of whom had, in July, backed Abdullah's plans to leave in mid-2010.

The surrender of Abdullah's finance portfolio (a key portfolio in Malaysian policymaking) is likely a compromise struck with his UMNO colleagues, designed to eventually give the him a graceful exit, and to give Najib a chance to prove to the UMNO his ability to lead competently (in spite of his less-than-stellar reputation, including alleged misuse of Defense Ministry funds and the alleged murder of a 28-year-old Mongolian).

By accelerating the leadership transition process, the UMNO is likely hoping to shield its leadership from Mahathir's inevitable attacks against Abdullah and thus prevent further defections from the BN coalition. Whether this defensive strategy works remains to be seen. But regardless of the outcome, rising political heat and uncertainty in Kuala Lumpur is nearly guaranteed for the next month ahead.

written by cubi76, September 18, 2008 10:18:16
Wait no more. Please leave BN for a better future of Malaysia.

Corrupt, racist, bodoh, money politic, deaf ears, sleepy head, greed, extremist, narrow minded, violent, oppress, ISA, keris, ketuanan UMNO, etc... Yeap! That's them! Leave! Now!

http://sustainablemalaysia.blogspot.com
written by cwy, September 18, 2008 10:25:02
This compassinate and soft spoken UMNO appointed leader of Malaysia failed to reform the government but has contributed to the uprise of PR coalition that will ensure wise government in the future.
Pak Lah, I wish all the best though you have been critisized to sleep through and day-dream the precious numbers of years entrusted to him by the people of Malaysia.
Life is short and it is full of challenges. You look politically and physically weak. Leave the tumultous Malaysian politics and enjoy the rest of your life ( how many years can you still live? )with your new charming and understanding wife. Your UMNO colleagues are not sincere in supporting you but are shortening your life! You have been a good son to your deceased mother and a good husband to your deceased wife. Have more time to visit their tombs and enjoy the companionship of your grandchildren.
Do remember to release all the ISA detainees before you retire. May your Allah bless you and your family!
written by samesamemam, September 18, 2008 10:26:46
Anwar is so far playing by the book with regards to the transition. If that's the case, then Badawi and BN still have some time on their hands. here's something to consider in playing by the book:
http://203.115.192.117/thursday/thu_page16.html
written by scottthong, September 18, 2008 10:42:04
No, please, no!!!!

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!

From http://scottthong.wordpress.co...l-posters/
written by capcomangel, September 18, 2008 10:44:43
this could be danger' Malaysia version Pervez Musharraf style? very clever, so he can used arm forced and push his time until 2010.

someone do not know how to use gun carry a gun. he shoot u dead, thats legal.
written by bushfire, September 18, 2008 11:07:13
How long does it take for a tsunami to hit the coast? How long does it take for the Titanic to hit the iceberg when it is already on collision course with its rudder malfunctioning? The timing for both scenarios is different but the end result is the same.It is inevitable.
written by krising1, September 18, 2008 13:38:30
Brutus Najib has already stabbed him. Bodoh cannot hope to survive now!
written by densemy, September 18, 2008 15:12:08
Not long, according to the KLSE which has given you the big THUMBS DOWN today
written by ahmadneil, September 18, 2008 15:28:38
Mahathir says if malays failed they must be given chances to start again so I think we should give AAB another chance.May be he will do better this time.
disagree 18
written by ibabonma, September 18, 2008 15:31:07
Our next Prime Minister is a PENYAMUN.
written by sengie, September 18, 2008 17:24:56
history will records AAB as worst malaysia PM, indecisive, flip-flop, inconsistent, lousy decision maker, cronyism, bad planner & strategist, power crazy, etc. He doesn't possesses any good leadership quality, it's a big mistake & disastrous for having him as country leader! And najib is not better than him, sigh.....!
written by Old Man, September 18, 2008 19:19:33
Among the PMs of Malaysia, AAB is seen to be very crafty and demonic. A Demon ( disguise as religious leader ) will stay awake all night sucking blood and half asleep during the day. This is not a horror movie but some real life event. Even Dr M is no match for him. BEWARE and expect for the worst
written by belljar, September 18, 2008 21:28:37
The title should not be Abdullah Survives: But For How Long? It should have been BN survives, but for how long?
written by MLC, September 18, 2008 22:08:05
JUNE 2010

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009