Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow “916" symbolised the yearnings of Sabahans for a new Malaysia where they enjoy full citizenship st

“916" symbolised the yearnings of Sabahans for a new Malaysia where they enjoy full citizenship st PDF Print
Wednesday, 17 September 2008 09:44

916” this year has added significance, as it marks not only Malaysia Day but also the yearnings of Sabahans for a new Malaysia where they enjoy full citizenship status and benefits as Malaysians.

In the past 45 years, Sabahans have been denied their full citizenship rights – which is symbolised most vividly by the government failure to declare Malaysia Day on September 16 as a national public holiday.

After 45 years, Sabah’s problems are more than a basketful.

Sabah is a rich state with vast natural resources but the people of Sabah have been denied an equitable share of the wealth of the state.

Not only hard-core poverty, but poverty, should have been eradicated in Sabah by now. Instead, poverty in Sabah is the worst in the country.

Last year, I raised in Parliament the tragedy of the suicide of a 11-year-old Dusun boy from Kinarut, Donny John Dion, because of acute and desperate poverty of his family by hanging himself at home at Kampung Suangon in the Papar parliamentary constituency.

It is a state and national disgrace that in the 21st century, 11-year-old Donny could be driven to suicide because of the poverty and deprivation suffered by his family 45 years after the birth of Malaysia.

READ MORE HERE: http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2008/09/17/916

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by Frankfurtguy, September 17, 2008 10:02:26
This country is a great country
East Malaysians are always our brothers and sisters
EAST Malaysia had contributed a lot of money to develop the WEST
But
What have they got from BN??
Not even 916 holiday
Not even a fair citizenship

I worked in Sarawak before, Sarawakian are real nice people
Iban, Bidayuh, Chinese, Malays, Melanua etc….all are brothers and sisters
I learned Iban from my Iban friends, “ole cakop mimit mimit….”
I always treat them as fellow Malaysian
Only
BN treat them as second class, third class,
BN took their money from timbers, petrol…….and gave them nothing
Not even 916 celebration
written by ladasiber, September 17, 2008 10:03:27
Datuk Yong, make your now. Check mate to BN in 3 more steps.
written by denkoh, September 17, 2008 10:10:04
Regardless of race, all of them are known as sabahan and sarawakian and they enjoy the same privilege. unlike semenanjung... where everyone is different..no unity..everyone wants everyone to die... sad
written by takbolehtahan, September 17, 2008 10:13:39
When you keep supporting Umno, it's difficult for the opposition to fight for your rights. That's why it is imperative that all EM MPs join PR for the benefit of all Malaysians.

If the NEP has been properly used to help the poor, and not be taken advantaged of by certain quarters, we would not have been in this mess. And if the Govt had properly run its services to the public, we would not have been so backward. For example, there are insufficient public libraries to begin with. In the UK, there is a library in almost every housing estate and these libraries close at 9 or 10pm. So how can we even talk about bettering our education when basic facilities are not even met? There are, of course, hundreds more examples of sloppy public services to Malaysians.

Without properly qualified politicians who can't think of anything but their own pockets, the country will never progress and people will suffer. Thus 916 is not only a symbol for Sabahans to enjoy full citizenship status, it is a symbol for a better beginning for ALL Malaysians to deserve what the country is naturally providing us with and to deserve the rightful care our elected MPs are supposed to provide.
written by Forex, September 17, 2008 10:19:25
Those from Peninsular coming to Sabah to invest and create job opportunities are welcome.

However, how about those who send by the BN govent, n took all the job that Many Sabahan can do?

National Intergration? Bullsh!t...It was postal votes they want.
written by sydput, September 17, 2008 10:26:08
with corruption in sabah more rampant when compared to indonesia, I don't really know if giving 20% oil royalty will benefit the masses and eradicate poverty.
Sabah has abundance of labour. Dirt cheap too when compared to other parts of malaysia.Only problem is that it has not enough ekectrical power to invest in industries.Plus vocational training to get unemployed working in the shipbuilding/shipping/offshore sector is lacking.
With sabah about to be a dominant oil supplier in about several years from now, one still have to go to Miri to get a cerificate before getting approval to work on platforms. As for shipping, I think there is no training facilities for basic skills and hence not many are encouraged to become sailors.
Sabah poverty is due to the huge influx of poor from neigbouring countries. If you ignore their numbers, the poverty rate will decrease by a significant margin. Where else in malaysia will you find people willing to work for RM400/month except in sabah. And you now what, the Big farmers there do not mind the illegals bringing down the salary rates.
written by Tompios, September 17, 2008 10:29:43
Sabah is a wonderful nation. I use the term nation because Sabah is really a nation during British rule over this land. British North Borneo is the official name of Sabah. Sarawak is also a sovereign country under Brooke's ruler. Please, do not messed up with Malaya's states status. We are totally different on this issue. Guys, can you differentiate between Scotland and England? Both of these nations are belong to the UK but it does not mean they are same. So, Sabah in also different then any other states in Malaya.

Proud to be Malaysian based on September 16, 1963. Federal must return the dignity of 'Perkara 20' Sabah has agreed to form a Nation called 'Malaysia' as a new nation in the world.

written by *********, September 17, 2008 10:35:21
Now, DSAI is saying that he has the numbers to form the Government, the BN/Umno regime and the MSM are saying he is bluffing. If I were Abdullah Badawi, I would be busy packing up my stuff from Putrajaya right now as -malaysiakini. quotes PKR Information Chief Tian Chua as saying that Badawi has been given 48 hours to hand over power to DSAI...More http://*********.********.com
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 17, 2008 10:38:16
Time and again the subject of Sabah & Sarawak pops up in this blog, and each time I see comments from my Peninsular Brethrens giving comments without having an understanding of Sabah & Sarawak politics nor the real situation…especially Sabah. Sarawak is still relatively well off, but politics is controlled by the super rich CM Taib and his Chinese Tycoons.
I will just re-print my previous entries here what I’ve to say:
When Sabah (together with Sarawak & Singapore) joined the Federation of Malaya to form MALAYSIA on 16/Sep/1963, the domineering powerful political party was USNO lead by Mustapha Harun (later became a Tun and since then very dead too) a Muslim Suluk from Southern Philippine. Though he was not the first CM of Sabah (that being Faud Stephen who later converted to Islam, made a Tun and also very dead), that infamous Mustapha ruled Sabah from 1967 to 1975. He made the pop cultured youths rebellious by banning long hair, sold at least half of Sabah’s wealth to finance his multimillionaire life style, and the Federal government had great difficulty controlling him from ruling Sabah like a Sultan. He, being a Suluk and all that, of course started issuing citizenship to all his kinsmen from the Southern Philippines, which helped accelerate Sabah’s population, and even supported the Muslim rebellion there.
In 1976, we Sabahans had enough of Mustapha’s excesses and we rallied under the banner of BERJAYA and defeated USNO in the polls. But then in the days of victory, a bunch of these stupid newly elected leaders bunched themselves into one plane and got themselves all killed in one go, and our Harris Harun (a relatively insignificant politician from the island of Labuan) found himself in a position to become the next CM of Sabah. So the bigger Islanders from Borneo found themselves now ruled by a guy from a tiny little island just a couple of miles from the main island of Borneo.
This guy from that tiny island of Labuan then ruled the islanders from the bigger island of Borneo from 1976 to 1985, and he too made a huge fortune from being the dominant power. His word was law and his signature, even on tissue paper, is valid and worth a fortune in timber concession and land. Then a slim young man from Tambunan by the name of Joseph Pairin Kitingan dared to stand up and be counted as an opposition to Berjaya. Once again, we Sabahans rallied round the opposition party known as PBS. The memorable phrase used by UMNO Tun M was: “We shall sink or swim with Berjaya our BN partner”. As history will have it, we kicked the shit out of Berjaya and BN in the process and Pairin became CM (and not without drama right out of the mafia page as Mustapha tried to forced the TYT of Sabah to swear him in as the CM) from 1985 to 1994….Part 1 To be Cont.
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 17, 2008 10:39:18
Again, as in all good old corruptible politics, Pairin became what any typical Malaysian politicians would become given the mandate and power, he surrounded himself with a bunch of ‘topenai’ *******s advisors and heeded the wrong advice to pull out of the BN (after being admitted into the BN right after PBS election success, and poor old Tun M having to recant his ‘sink and swim’ bit) and form an alliance to topple the BN, UMNO in particular. Everybody attributed that advice to be from the Gua Musang Tunku, who is still trying to this day to become the PM of Malaysia. .
Cont. Part 2 : That act so infuriated Tun M that, since he cannot kick PBS out of the BN, he the promise of not spreading UMNO into Sabah by doing exactly that through the very willing USNO Mustapha who dissolved USNO to make way for UMNO into Sabah politics. Mustapha though he will get back into power through UMNO as he missed his high flier life style and absolute power, but he soon found out that the Federal government was still wary of him and UMNO Sabah members have other ideas which does not include Mustapha being the top honcho. Our deflated Mustapha, realizing that, then spent the rest of his days (right up to the day he kicked the ‘tajau’) unsuccessfully trying to evict the cancerous UMNO from Sabah politics. It was an honest to goodness case of “Too little too late”! By then, UMNO Peninsular & Sabah, knowing the threat of people’s power in Sabah, started mass issuances of citizenship to all Muslim Philippinos & Indonesians migrants. Who, in Peninsular Malaysia, give a shit that from a population of just over three hundred thousand when Sabah joined the Federation of Malaya in 1963, the populations suddenly exploded to over two million, implying that Sabahans (female, male, and children) belong to another species of Homo sapiens which can rapid mass reproduce! Now the population is over three million, and still growing at a relatively fast pace due to Permanent Residence Status (PR) given (albeit on the quite) by Putra Jaya to hundreds of thousands of so-called “refugees” who have been in (and out) of the country since the late sixties and early seventies, and who have since then became parents and grandparents in the land below the wind, which is just below the ******* of the Philippines. So, very aptly, Sabah has been the shitting place for the Philippines! UMNO policy started out very nicely with a rotation of the Chief Minister post among the majority races, and when they realized that they is no bloody way that Sabahans can topple any more government with “People’s Power”, they conveniently make that top post an exclusive UMNO domain. So, what the **** can we Sabahans do now? All our Dr. Jackal & Mr. Hyde leaders (Harris, Pairin, Salleh, Yong, Dompok, the infamous king gambler Osu, and now Musa) just could resist the temptation that power brings along with being the CM of Sabah. The ONLY exceptional good leader is Chong Kah Kiah who since has resigned from politics defending his principals. I suspect he too gave up on Sabah politics as it is an impossible battle right now… Cont. Part 2
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 17, 2008 10:39:52
Stripped bare of our forest and now being out numbered two to one, we Sabahans no longer have “People’s Power” to kick out corrupted and useless government. Masses of migrant citizens walk our streets and make us feel like we are foreigners in our homeland. How we Sabahans are going to change all that will now rest in the hands of future generations. We get no, nor can we expect, help from our Peninsular Malaysians who quietly went about minding their own business while we were raped, sodomized, and robbed of our heritage and rights. But it irks and rise my heckles when some shitheads (totally ignorant of Sabah’s history) bloggers dare to call us Sabahans COWARDS who dare not vote against the BN. What have you imbecile and spineless shithead done to bring down any corrupted government in Peninsular Malaysia? You most probably voted BN all the way and lied about it in this blog. Only now, almost 51 years on, with leaders from the PKR & DAP are changes happening in Peninsular Malaysia. We Sabahans are battle scared, badly batten, and leaderless to take on this monstrous problem besetting Sabah. May the next generation of Sabahans, be they from real locals or from those migrants, have a better vision of what they want out of joining the Federation of Malaya. For better or for worst, it’s their world and their generation. But let no man say that we Sabahans took our fate quietly when we had the power to change it. Change our fate we did, win the war we did, but we lost the battle!
After almost 51 years on, it’s time for Peninsular Malaysians to prove themselves and I hope Sabah’s political history will not be played out there too..i.e. swapping a devil for another devil.. and that Malaysia, as a nation, will finally realized a Malaysia for all Malaysians…End of Posting.
written by Tompios, September 17, 2008 10:40:41
Abzy,

You are right. Sabahan and Sarawakian always say 'WE' and you know why? Because we do not want the habit of Malaya people be considered as our habit and character. You what? Most Malaya people who are working here in East Malaysia are very arrogant, boastful, abuser, racist and always look down on other people including their religion.

Yes, we are using 'WE' because those people from Malaya is totally different than us. We can sit together in round table in different races, religions and background. Most of Malaya people blurr on this. So, just accept why we use to used the word 'WE'. If Federal is fair enough then the word 'WE' will disappear.

written by FuLinYu, September 17, 2008 10:55:08
The tragedy of the suicide of a 11-year-old Dusun boy from Kinarut, Donny John Dion, because of acute and desperate poverty of his family by hanging himself at home at Kampung Suangon in the Papar parliamentary constituency.

Donny John Dion's death & sacrifice for his family shouldn't be in vain. His action should start a rallying call to those in leadership - those with heart - to go into action to reform the system that had brought about this sad state to our Sabahan compatriots. If BN won't do it, let's give the responsibility & leadership to others.
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 17, 2008 10:57:58
Tompios, you forgot to mention that Sabahans refer to Peninsular Malaysians as "Kerapu"... Yes! "Kerapu" as in Grouper fish!
This nick name came about in the early seventies and originated from Labuan. It started when Labuanites saw that West Malaysian famalies collect wild 'kankung' from drains, catching & eating fish from the small streams & drains...in effect eat just about anything...just like the black coloured 'Kerapu" which were abundant in the seas which will eat just about anything you put on your hook. Also, the nick name is in reference to the camourflage uniform of the army which looks like the flowered Kerapu.
written by Ann Meng Sim, September 17, 2008 10:58:33
Totally agree with Tompios.

In Sabah & Sarawak, we have coffee shops with Malay stalls and Chinese stall within 3 feet from each other. We have our local Malays coming to the cofee-shops together with their Chinese / Iban / Bidayuh / Kadazan / etc etc friends - eating and drinking together, laughing together and chatting about almost everything under the sun.

I have met people from West Malaysia who absolutely refuse to enter these coffee-shops. I have met those from West Malaysia who totally look down on the people here.

written by slimbrowser, September 17, 2008 11:01:02
Please note that we are partners in the formation of Malaysia. We can stop the "WE" only when Malayans stop their colonial mentality. Malayans especially the Malays that came and worked here brought their "KETUANAN MELAYU" with them. They think that they can walked over all of use here.

They influence our Bajau natives to think like them coz they are muslims. Before this, the Bajau muslims live along side non-muslims even have coffee in chinese restaurants. But when you people come, you changed the mindset of the Bajaus to think with KETUANAN MELAYU mindset. That does not apply here in Sabah and Sarawak. We have racial integration. Unlike you there where you can only settle for racial tolerance.
written by Tom n Jerry, September 17, 2008 11:31:29
It hurts all conscientious Malaysians especially Sabahans that an eleven year old Donny Dion has to commit suicide because of poverty;what a shame to our leaders who corrupt the nation reduciong national & state coffers to near zero;my plight for the pverty group still stands;its petrifying to note that one in four Sabahans are living in extreme poverty;&what is BN doing about it! smilies/angry.gif
written by Tom n Jerry, September 17, 2008 11:35:41
I have forgotten that Osu Sukam gambled away many millions of State funds meant for development;he should be held accountable for Donny Dion*s death;its under his constituency! smilies/angry.gif
written by aimmsia, September 17, 2008 12:10:51
Divorce is the only answer. We can start a new life and build the most beautiful nation in the world.
written by LALILOo, September 17, 2008 12:19:41
Something is not right here.

Sabah and Sarawak were given the opportunity to take centre stage and be a hero for the first thing in their history. But they have not made their moves, thus far.

They were offered:
- hero status,
- 25% oil royalty,
- rid of illegal immigrants,
- national day be Sept 16 instead of August 31,
- priority in growth and development,
- a real chance for the various ethnic groups to come out from the shadows and be side-by-side with the other race groups,
- etc.

It is not now that results can be seen and felt from the effect of the above immediately. If they are really serious about the future of their ethnics and their beloved state, they have to seize the opportunity and do something right for once in their life.

But they have not made their move. So what is wrong here?

Are they:
- so satisfied with what they have up till today?
- afraid that their 'rice bowl' of today would be altered?
- only interested in today and not about tomorrow?
- only interested in themselves and not their people?
- or what?
written by slash n burn, September 17, 2008 12:28:41
The Sabahan or Sarawakian identified themselves according to where there from out of convenience but not according to their race. While in Semenanjung whenever accident, robbery or murder happens..the question would be.. Melayu kah? Cina kah? India Kah? Worst part of all is the evil 'Ketuanan'. Where else you can find a muslim, buddhist, christian, atheist having a meal according to their own intepretation of halal at the same table without being offended?!
written by Zorro, September 17, 2008 13:03:00
Thank you YB Lim Kit Siang for raising our problems here in Sabah even though you're not our YB, your theme of equitable distribtion of wealth will find you a lot of friends of the common KDMR (kadazandusunmurutrungus)people in sabah.

Now talking about those uncommon KDMR; the wealthy politicians..either PBS,UPKO, PBRS or whatever next KDMR party coming up..all played up and supported by BN to divide and rule Sabah..They are the real problems for the common KDMRs because they cant fight/voice our rights effectively because all of them are given a small nice room next to the toilet on the ground floor whilst the stepfather is in the master bedroom on the first floor.

To my common kdmrs friends..don't hope too much on our current political party leaders..they cant help our people much..instead help ourself first, and when you are able..help your other relatives and those in rural areas that needs help..i'm sick of the situation in sabah
written by Kyle, September 17, 2008 13:03:30
Last year, I raised in Parliament the tragedy of the suicide of a 11-year-old Dusun boy from Kinarut, Donny John Dion, because of acute and desperate poverty of his family by hanging himself at home at Kampung Suangon in the Papar parliamentary constituency.

It is a state and national disgrace that in the 21st century, 11-year-old Donny could be driven to suicide because of the poverty and deprivation suffered by his family 45 years after the birth of Malaysia.

How is his family now ?
Any better ?
Ask any BN's MPs ?
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 17, 2008 14:35:42
LALILO, it's very obvious that you and 90% of Peninsular Malaysians do not understand the real situation in Sabah. You all must having great difficulty in believing that our state of Sabah is being run and tightly controlled by our migrant Bumiputras under the banner of UMNO Sabah. We really3 do not have "People's Power" to change our goverment. Heck, these migrant Bumiputras are the government.
Apart from the political party SAPP (with two miserable MPs and who are no more than opportunist), the rest of the other party leaders are ass kissers of UMNO Semanjung and is mulling around their feet hoping for an increase in oil royalty so that they can plunder the state's coffer once more.

I know you Semanjung Malaysians find it difficult to believe, but that's the sad reality of Sabah affairs.
By the way, all those so called "hard core poor" people of Sabah they show on TV (complete with the nice senic sea/beaches and all that) are migrant "Bumiputras" yah! These people just put up huts and anything else at any vacant lot in Sabah and claim they are locals.
It's really hard for Peninsular Malaysians to comprehend and to believe that Sabahans are foreigners in their own land because the scale of the problem is so vast to make it unbelievable.
written by Zorro, September 17, 2008 14:36:03
Agree with you rainbowhorse,

I met with a high ranking malay officer of NRD from peninsular sometime ago in KK town, made friends with him and he admitted that in sabah that immigrants of the first generation are being registered as locals due to works of politicians and when they (the officer)objected they were pressured by their top officer.

I dont think we can win this war politically, we have to fight this fight the way RPK has done it; by bringing awareness of our rights and the wrongs and right happening in sabah to the common KDMR people in sabah through the internet and word of mouth. We need to have some kind of pressure group that is not politically aligned with the main aim to solidify all the KDMR etnics.

I'm not internet savvy, i hope any sabahan out there who is shares my view and probably we could have a website dedicated to happenings in sabah..or perhaps the admin of malaysia today could allow us to have a section for sabah?
written by LALILOo, September 17, 2008 16:10:53
Rainbowseahorse, point taken.

I was actually directing my comments at the leaders of Sabah and Sarawak. While the REAL BUMIPUTRA's and the general residents would want to see their lives improves and their state grow with developments, but HOPE is about all they can do.

It takes a great man to take the first leap. The various party leaders are the crucial people that determines the future of Sabah/Sarawak(S/S).

Either they want S/S to remain undevelop and whine on the same immigrant issues for the next 20 years or so to come, OR they can become be a great man to take the first step over and give Anwar (and your beloved Sabah/Sarawak) a chance to see and let things happens.

If it doesn't, you simply dump Anwar away 5 years from now.
YOU HAVE EVERYTHING TO GAIN AND NOTHING TO LOSE.
written by cinapekk, September 17, 2008 18:12:59
Latest news from the Sun -

Sabah PPP pulls out from BN with immediate effect ..... smilies/shocked.gif
written by Uncorruptible, September 17, 2008 20:23:51
Anwar Ibrahim will be arrested under the ISA soon because he is a threat not to the nation but to the survival of the EVIL umno and all the devils in it like bodowi, hashishmodin, najis, khai-tai-ry etc. who will not be able to plunder the country any longer.
As defence minister bodowi will order the army to quell any demonstration by the people and declare an emergency with army backing. Note the general's attempt to interfere with politics a week ago. A coup detat to keep corruption and EVIL in power.
Will the monarchy then prove its worth by not giving royal assent to the coup?
And a statement or two for the rakyat? We shall see.