Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Ceramah at mosques should not be too loud

Ceramah at mosques should not be too loud PDF Print
Wednesday, 17 September 2008 09:03
(The Star) Ceramah at mosques should not be broadcast too loud to a point where it disturbs the neighbourhood, especially those held in the evenings, said Perlis Mufti Dr Asri Zainul Abidin.

He said yesterday the call for azan (prayer times) should be broadcast accordingly and clearly to remind Muslims in the area to perform their requirement of praying five times daily.

“Other than the azan, other activities at the mosques, including private prayers, should not be broadcast at decibels deemed to be disruptive to neighbours in the area,” Dr Asri said after a motivation talk at Balai Islam.

He said Islam did not require its activities in mosques to disrupt the lives of others as what was enshrined in its teachings.

Dr Asri also defended his stance that the Internal Security Act (ISA) was unIslamic and disputed the contention of Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi.

Ahmad Zahid had said the definition of ISA was that it concerned national security and not religious practices.

Comments (59)Add Comment
written by albertan98, September 17, 2008 09:06:20
I am constantly amazed at the sensitivity and balance of the Perlis Mufti Dr Asri Zainul Abidin. With more people of his calibre and consideration, it will not be impossible for a Malaysian Malaysia that embraces all races and religion.

I salute you!
agree 517
written by Dominic, September 17, 2008 09:09:04
Another well thought out speech ! Good work and pls continue from there so that more non muslims can learn to appreciate the teaching of Islam !
agree 312
written by NickChan, September 17, 2008 09:11:55
He knows the true meaning of Aqidah
Dr Asri u are the man !

agree 203
written by DreamLady, September 17, 2008 09:12:33
Salam sejatera,

Dr.Asri, I am very impressed with every move you make that makes life bearable for malaysian Muslims and non-Muslims. You never failed to display compassion, love for mankind and the willingness to be part of our lives.

Your frequent articles make us wiser each day, and learn about the understanding of true islamic teaching. We love you. Take good care, and may God bless you and family!!!
agree 268
written by benjo, September 17, 2008 09:21:39
Dr.Asri, you have my respect. Hope those who keep shouting about in the name of religion and abuse it will open their eyes, ears and mind to people like you.
agree 155
written by Kyle, September 17, 2008 09:26:16
Dr Asri, you should be giving courses to the Minister in the PM Dept in charge of the Islam affairs.
Malaysia needs more people like you and Tuk Guru.
agree 151
written by qwerty, September 17, 2008 09:29:55
Yes, Dr Asri is a breath of fresh air in the stagnant & stale religious circle. But sad to say people like Dr Asri is few & far between. We should give him all our support.

On the mosque speaker issue, could someone please verify if we have an OSH law on sound pollution? If I am not mistaken the action level is something like 85dB. Anything above that level, corrective action has to be taken. Not sure if it is applicable outside of the work place. Correct me if I am wrong.

More on Dr Asri, watch his interview with Johan on "Isu Semasa":-

http://drmaza.com/home/?page_id=43
written by riversnail, September 17, 2008 09:31:50
Dr.Asri,
We need more people like you in Malaysia.We should take the people's feedback positively and give an explanation rather than use the ISA.Thank you.
May god bless you and your family. smilies/smiley.gif
written by mountain man, September 17, 2008 09:33:48
An advice from a true Malaysian, long live rakyat Malaysia and go to hell with UMNO's racial politics. All Malaysians should join hands to get rid of this political menace UMNO and bury them permanently.
written by lamakawan, September 17, 2008 09:34:48
The mufti of Perlis, it is indeed heartening to hear from you from the far north of the peninsular. We need more responsible religious people like you to come out to dispel any rumours among the religious conscious rakyat in Selangor. It is the stubborn and irresponsible Toyo who started to create trouble by taking advantage of people who are not as knowledgeable as you. Keep up your good work. Selamat jalan.
written by RitchieLow, September 17, 2008 09:36:29
Everything has its place, and so are comments. Imagine what would happen to Teresa Kok if she had made such a comment. All these people like Dr Asri, and Zaid are rising up to the occasion, where there's turmoil, there'll be heroes. Hope we have more of them rather than the clowns running bolehland.
written by Malaysia Ku, September 17, 2008 09:38:26
I stay near a mosque all of my life. I have nothing againt the azan because I believe when we pray we pray for good things. It tuoches my heart when the comment about azan came from the a respected Mufti Dr Asri Zainul Abidin, it only shows that we in the path of the right direction..
written by penangboi, September 17, 2008 09:38:58
My spirit has risen considerably lately.

First there was Zaid Ibrahim and now Dr Asri. These 2 men has definitely revived my faith in the good in humankind.

We need leaders of such calibre who can think and speak logically and not be totally overcome by blind emotion. When common sense prevail the rakyat can understand and accept the explanations.

Dr Asri, in the short span of 2 days, in my eyes, and I am sure in a lot of other's too, you are truly a great human being, and for that I salute you. You have my utmost respect.
written by Kacang Tanah, September 17, 2008 09:39:35
To live in harmony with others we have to be sensitive to others feeling. If we do not like others to disturb us, first we should not have disturbed others.

Dr Asri Zainul Abidin, I am really amazed at your sensitivity.
written by Alice, September 17, 2008 09:39:54
Wow such a good religious leader and a sensitive one at that . Thank you God for granting wisdom to Dr Asri. He is a breath of fresh air. I was getting too tired with too much of forms and very little substance.
written by Engineer, September 17, 2008 09:40:09
DOE has a guideline for noise levels generated.

written by ellyna, September 17, 2008 09:40:35
Dr. Asri,

If more people thought like you, Malaysia would be a great place to live in. You speak without fear or favour. May God bless you and guide you in your leadership.
written by cheekhiaw, September 17, 2008 09:43:31
People should note that calling for consideration to keep loud speakers volume reasonable may look impressive in this country where arrogant idiots rule. But it is considered as common courtesy and consideration elsewhere where humanity exist. The fact that the country has to wait that long for some one like Dr Asri to step up to the plate is not just welcoming. It also tells how pervasive that idiotic arrogance had gotten.
written by oct, September 17, 2008 09:43:49
Well said Dr Asri. This is called tolerance. It is good to note that even if you are given the privilege to do something, you shouldn't abuse it. Moderation is good and extreme is hurtful. If only Malaysia have people like Dr Asri, we won't have so much misunderstanding. Dr Asri, may we call upon you to bring it up during your mufti meeting and advise them to practise moderation. Many thanks for your kind words.
written by budakindia, September 17, 2008 09:58:01
But why did they detained Teresa for? She was not even involved on the whole surau issue. Syed Hamid care to throw some light on this? She was merely denying and defending herself regarding the surau issue. Why she was detained under ISA?
written by samesamemam, September 17, 2008 10:04:15
Oh, dear Allah, I love this guy…he so talks sense.

Dear Dr Asri Zainul Abidin…THANK YOU for saying this…I`m not muslim, so if I say something like this sure kena ISA…even if I don’t say something like this but a toyol says that I said this, I oso kena ISA…

You even went further than Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi in clarifying ISA…

If what you say about Islam so far, from the reports I hear, I oso wan to convert…cos I hear so many good things about Islam...its just some Muslims in gomen that piss me off and give a bad representation of Islam...
written by cheekhiaw, September 17, 2008 10:04:56
Budakindia,

There is no reason to it. That's why it is called idiotic arrogance.

written by belljar, September 17, 2008 10:09:32
We need more logical, educated and humane leaders like Dr Asri.
written by kavidibaku, September 17, 2008 10:10:01
I live just beside a surau and the loud ceramahs simply hurt we non-muslims' feelings. It's good for every one since the word 'kafir' is being used quite frequently.
written by takbolehtahan, September 17, 2008 10:19:57
Actually, what we are seeing now is the surfacing of good & capable Malays who have been suppressed by the Umno regime. So, the emergence of a new govt will benefit all Malaysians.

And to the Perlis Mufti, Dr Asri, I too salute you.
written by samesamemam, September 17, 2008 10:33:44
densemy, pls show some respect…its ok to look to religion for answers…it’s a belief that goes beyond commonsense…if you have religion (and I`m not saying you don’t), I`m sure you will too…common sense will not reveal everything…and who’s common sense are your referring to?…”hangover”…”noise pollution”…not good terms to use…I`m sure if Christians, Buddhists and Hindus or whatever other religions have the go-ahead to make their bells ring loud, many of them will do too…so, show some respect for the man…
written by Kuku Burung, September 17, 2008 10:36:16
Those who keep harping on the issues of non-Malays/Muslims threatening Malay race and Islam are themselves enemy if Malay race and Islam. Dr Asri is a well respected religious leader, not because he has a doctor, or is a mufti, but because he expresses his Islamic views with knowledge, wisdom, and a basic instinct to seek harmony for all. He is a true Muslim and Malay.
written by zandi, September 17, 2008 10:45:35
To Perlis Mufti Dr Asri, you fall in the same category with RPK as true and honourable Muslims that Malaysians alike hold our greatest respect. Can we suggest that the Muslims who were responsible of the ISA arrest of RPK & Teresa should be send for religious counseling and refresher courses by you, sir? They don't seem to know the basics in their religion...
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 17, 2008 10:47:59
Is there a way that Malaysians can covey their appreciations and support to good & just men like Perlis Mufti Dr Asri Zainul Abidin ?? We need to let such people know of our feelings as such support will encourage more good emn to speck up.

I mean, it is not as though men like him will come into this and other similar blogs to read our comments; right??
written by slash n burn, September 17, 2008 10:48:40
If this kind of tolerance towards non muslims, I would not mind converting to Islam. Intolerant toward others just because they are different is simply unacceptable.
written by sydput, September 17, 2008 10:57:55
I disagree with the perlis mufti only once, and that was the one minute silnce, standing at the war memorial statue in respect of the dead soldiers. The other comments he made were spot on.
written by latihanQ, September 17, 2008 11:07:17
Dear Dr Asri Zainul Abidin,
Take my word, Malaysians have no problems with the azan, whatsoever! We are thoroughly used to it and it does not cause us any discomfort. Malaysians are very much tolerant of each other's religious customs and rites.
The only people who find it a problem are the likes of Khir Toyol and Ahmad Ismail who just cannot bear to see Malaysians living together in peace and harmony.
Please carry on, we are not bothered with the volume. The azan is the Muslims call to prayers and Malaysians respect that. Thank you.
written by latihanQ, September 17, 2008 11:24:51
Perlis Mufti Dr Asri Zainul Abidin should instead demand to know why Syed Hamid allowed the arrest of Teresa Kok. Why did they detain Teresa when she had absolutely nothing to do with the fabrication of Khir Toyol except to defend herself from those lies? Syed Hamid's unreasonable and unjust detention of Teresa is a complete travesty of justice, and it is no wonder Zaid resigned. Which right thinking person can tolerate this kind of abuse of power, hypocrisy and injustice?
written by Tom n Jerry, September 17, 2008 11:57:50
My advice for all conscientious Malaysians is to wear religion on their souls or consciousness instead of promoting it aggressively on the physical body;our body can only follow us from moment of birth to death;after that its only the consciousness that travels to heaven or hell;nothing more;our body must be discarded when death occurs! smilies/sad.gif
written by capcomangel, September 17, 2008 12:10:10
good to heard. make it become majority harmoni. everyone should accepted. but lets see. maybe Pas strike back again. u know there are Sifu (Master)among thing issue.
written by JJFoo, September 17, 2008 12:21:03
Mufti Dr Asri’s simple statement is full of wisdom, a very important and meaningful milestone marking a positive development in this multi-cultural nation. What mentioned was “COMPASSION” and “TOLERANCE”, a universal language in any religion. It is really quite heart warming, thanks to you Mufti Dr Asri.
written by temenggong, September 17, 2008 12:21:19
There is a hand held decibel count meter to check sound levels of mosques, temples and discos! Some levels and standards should be applied to all establishments.
written by mikewang, September 17, 2008 12:22:20
Dear Datuk Asri,

Like our beloved RPK, you are truly a man of God.
written by atsanee, September 17, 2008 13:44:01
Dato Dr Asri is a good figurehead for moderate Muslims. That means there are many of us around but we are 'nobody' and remain anonymous. Like to pick up on one or two points in comments critical of broadcasting of Azan.

1.It is not true that the Azan was first used in areas surrounded by only Muslims. It was first used by a follower by the name of Bilal on the orders of the Prophet Mohammad saw in Medina to call people to prayer(the caller is still referred to as Bilal to this day). Bilal climbed to the highest point of a building and proclaimed the call from there. Hence the placing of speakers at tops of minarets/towers. At that time,Medinah/Yathrib housed lots of Jews and idol worshippers and Islam had not really taken root or blossomed yet. So one can still think of it as a minority religion. So not true the guy who said Azan came down from the days when the whole community was Muslim.

2.This land of ours is a Muslim majority country. Though this requires us to go about our worship in a reasonable manner and to respect the rights and feelings of others, being the religion of the majority does not mean we can go about like a village bully. Having said that, I really believe the Azan is very much part of the culture and environment of ANY Muslim majority country. I will be equally disappointed to go to Turkey,Pakistan Iran,Egypt etc and not to get to hear the Azan as I would be disappointed to go to England,USA Australia and not hear the church bells ring for Mass,Weddings or whatever.

3.I also noticed dogs howling during azans. I once asked someone why is this so and she told me when the azan is sounded,it reeks havoc with the Shaitans and they go beserk and run helter skelter and thats when the dogs see them and get mad at them. How true? Only God knows.

4. Someone mentioned that in some of the ceramahs that are put on the PA,the word 'kafir' is frequently mentioned. I must admit the connotation is not good and as a Muslim I never use the term at all. Most, if not all my friends are chinese,thais and others and not for a single moment would it cross my mind to refer to them by that term. But I and them will be very hard pressed to deny that as far as Muslims and Islam is concerned,they are non believers. I dont see anything to object to refer to people as muslims and non believers. So what if someone is a non believer? My point to that gentleman is,please do not over react to the term kafir as all it means is non believer. In Malay,there is no other term for non believer so they used the Arabic.

Btw, I think it is stupid to use arabic terms if there is already a malay term or word. eg,my stomach churns if someone is having a normal conversation with me and use 'ana' and 'inti' instead of 'me' and 'you'. Trying to be too smart I think ! The Malay language is already so limited, why make it have less words than it already has ?
written by mymalaysia, September 17, 2008 13:54:23
Whether true or not the excuses used by the authorities to detain those who have been detained under ISA acts, all I can see and know is that they are not even a SECURITY THREATS to our country. We are still living in harmony and peaceful environment. There is no unrest. The only unrest was created by themselves when they start catching anyone without a fair trial. They are the one who constantly advocates racism and racial issues. What is the present government talking about - where is the unrest and security threats? All Malaysians are still walking around freely without fearing for their lives unless for ISA law that may be used against us without us knowing what we did wrong!
written by Sudahlah tu, September 17, 2008 14:48:49
Tanyalah orang UMNO ... mereka membina masjid2 dan surau2 bukannya bertujuan keagungan Islam ...aje.
sebenarnya pasal kontrak dan pengagihan wang rakyat dalam projek2 sedemikian.
selain daripada itu ,mereka boleh berceramah kepada umat2 Allah secara berpolitik dan berunsurkan perkauman.
Ahhh... itulah UMNO.
Umat-umat Allah dipergunakan untuk tujuan UMNO berkuasa terus di Malaysia.
Mana boleh kan ???
Setiap sembahyang Jumaat , terdapat masjid2 yang berunsurkan politik UMNO akan menyampaikan sorotan politik dan adakalanya risalah diedarkan juga.
Jadi ... tertanya juga saya kepada pandangan rakyat sendiri....
Apakah keimanan kita sendiri serta ketaatan kita mengikut ajaran Allah harus dikaitkan dengan kepercayaan UMNO dalam menguatkan kuasa mereka dalam politik negara ? Haruskah kita memberi kepercayaan hidup secara beriman kepada orang2 UMNO yang terbukti tidak pernah menunaikan tanggungjawab mereka untuk menyatukan kesemua umat2 Allah di Malaysia dan menyatupadukan kesemua rakyat Malaysia yang lain agar dapat hidup secara aman damai demi kepentingan negara.
Pernahkan UMNO berbuat sedemikian ?
Mari kita fikir fikir dahulu .......
Adakah kita hanya boleh dijadikan alat Pak Turut UMNO kerana pemimpin2 UMNO yang menggunakan wang sebagai ganjaran ataupun habuan menjadi penyokong mereka walaupun mereka itu itdak bermoral betul.
Apakah ajaran Allah tentang bahayanya apabila seseorang itu lebih mementingkan harta benda dunia daripada balasan di dunia akhirat nanti, cuma menjadi satu teka-teki kepada kita hinggakan sanggup bersubahat dengan orang2 UMNO hingga ke tahap tidak keperimanusiaan.
Adakah kita yang masih belum bertaubat , layak mengerjakan sembahyang 5 waktu setiap hari ?
Di bulan yang mulia ini , adakah benar yang kita itu menunaikan tanggungjawab berpuasa penuh dapat memuliakan lagi keimanan kita ?
Mengapa kita masih terus menipu diri sendiri dalam segala yang kita lakukan setiap hari ... adakah kita harapkan Allah tidak nampak segala kelakuan kita dan akan memaafkan kita di penghujung nanti ?
Aneh .... segalanya tertulis dalam Buku Suci Quran ... kita yang masih susah memutarbelitkan ajaran2NYA atas niat tamak di hati sendiri ... kemudian melemparkan tuduhan sedemikian kepada orang lain pula.
written by Malay Ultraman, September 17, 2008 16:03:44
Let me clarify this to orang islam yg bodoh sombong dan maklumat untuk semua islam dan bukan islam.

1. Azan hanyalah sunat. Tidak wajib. Dan solat sah tanpa Azan.
2 Azan sepatutnya hanya meliputi jarak antara 2 masjid atau surau. Contonya jika jarak antara dua masjid adalah 200 m, sepatutnya jarak decibel tidak melebihi kadar melebihi 100m.
3. Ceramah agama, atau usrah sesuai untuk in-house PA. Begitu juga khutbah jumaat.
4. Memainkan Al-Quran secara terbuka (outloud) boleh jatuh kepada "berdosa" kerana menyusahkan orang lain yg solat. Jugak jadi berdosa kerana "syok sendiri" dan bangga diri sebab menunjuk2 kepandaian mengaji Quran.

5. Membaca Quran secara beramai2 dan menjerit2 adalah BIDAAH. Bidaah itu dosa Besar dalam islam.

Untuk umat islam, bacalah quran dalam rumah pada kadar yg sesuai untuk keluarga . Jangan SYOK sendiri, balun speaker sampai mengganggu ketenteraman orang lain. Islam ituPeace. Islam itu Aman. Dan Islan itu Hikmah. Kalau nak berdakwah sekalipun , gunakan hikmah, jaga tingkahlaku, jangan makan rasuah, jgn menipu dan jangan berlagak sombong.
written by my oumrie, September 17, 2008 16:29:45
The Perlis Mufti, Dr Asri, practises Islam strictly according to the Prophet's (s.a.w.) Sunnah. He's a real Muslim of international calibre and not a Mohamadan like most malays and he definitely does NOT practise ISLAM HADHARI or KETUANAN MELAYU like supporters of UMNO. Shukran, Ustad. Ma'as salaama.
written by Question Mark, September 17, 2008 16:46:33
Malay Ultraman, THANK YOU for your explaination...
I've been wondering why muslims pray with loud speakers in mosques. Can't it be just within the building? Even though there's around 60% malays in Malaysia but the other 40% are christians, buddhists, hindu's etc. Sorry to say but praying aloud, I mean REALLY loud does not mean that GOD will hear you as it all comes from the heart. So why don't we all be a sport and pray quietly.

I am glad that the real fact is that Islam doesn't allowed "menjerit beramai" and the religion was just been BADLY manipulated by greedy muslims because no one like's to be shouted at and so is GOD, don't you think? smilies/cheesy.gif
written by rams609, September 17, 2008 16:53:19
Dr Asri Zainul Abidin,

I am proud of you.....
written by john weinthal, September 17, 2008 18:15:39
DOE has a guideline for noise levels generated.
That must e news to all whose lives are being blighted from sun-up to 9pm by the new mosque near Hang Tuah - wakes entire neighborhood (mainly non-Muslim Malaysian Chinese and Indian), drowns TV and radio. Conversation impossible
written by coalminecanary, September 17, 2008 18:52:00
Ye, memang logik pun. Sama jugak Masjid yang bukak tape bacaan Quran. Tak lari konsep ke tu? What's the point if you're gonna play a cassette instead of recite it yourself and to make it worse, no one listens to it? Mengimarahkan masjid? Berdakwah pun jangan sampai membingitkan kawasan setempat. Sama je kalau kita bukak radio lagu rock kuat2. Bila orang sakit ati, kita yang berdosa.
written by sufc, September 17, 2008 20:28:39
can any knowledgable muslim confirm what ultra malay stated above?. I m no expert but it sounded stranged to me.
written by SL Chan, September 17, 2008 21:34:18
Dear Dr Asri...

You are one the most respectable Mufti that i have ever known. You are indeed wise and understand others feelings. Thank you and you derserve my respect...

Keep it up..Mufti of Perlis.. We salute you!!!
written by astina, September 17, 2008 21:43:24
He said Islam did not require its activities in mosques to disrupt the lives of others as what was enshrined in its teachings.

amazing...truly amazing statement ....
This school of thought makes Islam attractive ..

Am simply amazed no other muftis has come out with such statement ..
My vote is for Dr Asri to be made the grand Mufti of Malaysia..any seconders??
written by supplier, September 17, 2008 21:56:38
Please be careful as Notak might use ISA on you just like Teresa Kok for asking to lowering down the volume of the speakers
written by Sylvia, September 17, 2008 22:53:47
While we are very delightful to hear what Mufti Of Perlis said, I still wonder why places of worship like the mosques can be held ceramahs? Dont they respect ALLAH?
written by myfaris, September 17, 2008 22:54:55
I had once came across one hadith from Rasulullah S.A.W PBUH that he said, when you recite your prayers alone, suffice that you could hear what you recites with your own ear. And whenyou recite prayers in a group, suffice that what you recite could only be heard within the four walls of the mosque!! So if you recites at high decibel levels only goes to show you deny the fact that when Allah can hear the most silence of a whisper, then why should raise your voice!!
written by ladasiber, September 18, 2008 08:24:57
Butek,

Tanah besar China lebih ramai orang Islam dari Malaysia. Slah satu bintang pada bedera Negara China mewakili masyarakat Islam di sana. Kalau kau berada di negara China mereka tak akan diskriminasi orang macam kau. Cuma orang UMNOtak macam kau saja yang fikir bumi Allah bergelar Malaysia ini untuk orang Melayu macam kau. TAKDE AKAL KE!!!!!!!!
written by atsanee, September 18, 2008 12:16:18
In answer to Malayultraman and others,
Yes its true that the Azan is 'sunnat'(optional),
but are you saying thatjust b/c it wasn't 'wajib'(compulsory),the Prophet was wrong to use it to call pll to all communal prayers?
The point is it was used starting from the day of the Holy Prophet PBUH and has been with us as a custom till today.

Why can't you live with that ?

I also like to clarify one thing.

Muslims do not pray aloud all the time and they certainly do not use the PA all the time either.

When praying individually, either at a masjid or at home or elsewhere,the two rakaats(cycles)Subuh(dawn) prayers are rayed aloud for men (women always pray in silence).
For both Dzuhur(mid day)and Asar(late afternoon)prayers, all four rakaats are in silence.
In the Maghrib(early evening)prayer,the first 2 rakaats are prayed aloud and the third in silence.
In the late evening prayer(Ishak),again the first 2 are prayed aloud and the final 2 in silence.
In all these prayers prayed individually,the question of turning on the speakers does not arise and women are required to pray in silence.

With regard to the prayers in congregation at the Masjid,
only the Imam's voice is heard.
The congregation is heard only after the Imam finishes reciting the Fatihah (said to be somewhat like the Lord's prayer) when 'Amen/amin' is said by all.

At Subuh prayer,the Imam will recite the Fatihah during the 2 rakaats and followed by a different Surah(chapter)from the Holy Koran at each of the rakaat.
This will be aloud and a microphone will be used so all in attendance will hear the recitation.
This is necessary because if the congregation is large,the people at the back may not pick up the recitation and will not proceed in the various prayer postures uniformly.
Obviously,there is no reason why this should be broadcasted to the whole neighbourhood.
During the 2 afternoon prayers,even the Imam recites everything in silence.
Hooked up to the microphone,all one hears is when he proclaims 'AllahuAkbar' because this signals the congregation to proceed to the next posture.
At the 2 evening prayers,the Imam,again hooked to the microphone,will recite the Fatihah and the two accompanying surahs of the Holy Quran aloud but the final 1 or 2 surahs will be recited in silence.
Again no reason why all of these need be broadcasted to the neighbourhood.

With regard to the Friday midday congregational prayers, both 2 surahs plus the kutbah(sermon) are recited aloud by the Imam.
Apart from the two Hari Raya Id prayers, this is the only prayer where everything is usually broadcasted both inside and outside the masjid.

Hope this is useful information.

Sorry to take so long and if it was boring.

Cheers.
written by atsanee, September 18, 2008 12:38:39
Botek,I love free speech and all that but there must be a limit and you are IT brother !!