Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Minister to join Anwar?

Minister to join Anwar? PDF Print
Tuesday, 16 September 2008 23:43

ZaidThe Senator also said he has not made a decision on leaving Umno and joining PKR. He, however, said he would keep an 'open mind'.

KUALA LUMPUR (ST) - A MALAYSIAN minister said on Tuesday he would consider joining the opposition, after quitting the embattled government which he portrayed as paralysed by internal strife and racial divisions.

Mr Zaid Ibrahim, a maverick reformer tasked with cleaning up the judiciary and police force, said he had met a 'brick wall' from the ruling party which has dominated politics for half a century.

Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, who has now been hit with opposition claims it has enough support to seize power, refused to accept his resignation on Monday and asked him to spend a fortnight reconsidering.

'Although the prime minister asked me to take a two week leave, I say thank you to him, I am not tired. I am just disappointed,' Mr Zaid told a press conference.

Later in Kuala Terengganu, Mr Abdullah confirmed receiving Mr Zaid's letter but declined to give further details as he had yet to see the letter. He indicated he could join the opposition, which political observers say is very likely to form a new administration if the ruling coalition continues to defy calls for reform.

'I don't know their leaders, but I have open mind,' he said. Zaid, who was brought into the cabinet in March as the minister responsible for legal affairs, said he was infuriated by a series of arrests last week under the draconian Internal Security Act (ISA). An opposition politician, the nation's leading blogger and a journalist for a Chinese-language daily were detained, triggering rare criticism from six cabinet ministers.

'The ISA detentions were the last straw for me. I did not expect that the government would consider a journalist as a national threat. How can a member of parliament be a national threat?' he asked.

'But he said he was also frustrated after failing to introduce any reforms, and being painted as a traitor to Muslim Malays, who dominate a population that also includes ethnic Chinese and Indian minorities.

'I admit I have failed, the whole time I have faced opposition from within my own party, and colleagues saying that I don't fight for my own race. It is as if I am less of a Malay... by suggesting these transformations,' he said.

'I realise I am facing a brick wall. I cannot translate or make them understand that we are the same country for all races, all ethnicities.'

The portrayal of the United Malays National Organisation (Umno) as a bastion of racial chauvinism is a heavy indictment on the ruling party, which leads a multi-racial coalition and portrays itself as the bulwark of ethnic harmony.

Mr Zaid said that racial divisions were worsening in Malaysia - where Malays control government and Chinese are dominant in business? and that politicians were partly responsible for stoking the tensions.

'We have to take action against some people who are bent on creating these divisions because of their own political agenda,' he said.

The outgoing minister said that Mr Abdullah, who came to power in 2003 with promises for reform and to fight corruption which is endemic in Malaysia, had been prevented from governing effectively by internal party brawling.

'I was looking for some signs of change, some development, but I was disappointed,' he said.

-- AFP

written by DezMalaysia, September 16, 2008 23:50:09
Hey guys ! Let's have some fun ! Drop some comments here for the DPM of Malaysia !

http://www.1malaysia.com.my/

Let's flood it with curses & insults !
written by Uncorruptible, September 16, 2008 23:53:31
It has been proven time and time again, umno IS EVIL and can never change. Everyone who tries to reform umno will meet with dismal failure. It is like trying to unscramble a scrambled egg. You had your ambitions shot down by all the rest. Just what did you expect in the first place? Time to reform by joining the Pakatan Rakyat. No where else.
written by Highway16, September 16, 2008 23:54:12
Ah, yes. that's kind of things that they wanted to discussed behind closed doors. Well, Datuk, you have great conscience. You have made your decision to serve your People, Not your Master. I salute you for your courage! Cheers and God Bless Malaysia
agree 136
written by DreamLady, September 16, 2008 23:57:36
Dear Mr. Zaid, the time has finally come to wash both your hands clean, after trying in vain to scrub off the stubborn filth at workplace. It is not your fault, cos' the filth has been accumulated for the past decades..

please, hasten your steps to get some fresh air to breathe...
written by junjun40, September 16, 2008 23:58:33
Hey Zaid, my daughter (21) who has just graduated with LLB from UK, has read your book. She wouldn't know that you are one hell of a Bumi who has a big legal practice. But she know your ideals..

MGG Pillai died by just writing about social justice. What a intellectual waste He should entered politics so that things can happen much faster like the globalised world we live in today.

I urge you to join the other side of the political divide to further contribute and realise your ideals to keep racism away, starting from this generation of teens before the Almighty decide to take you just like Pillai .. Pls have a serious thoughts. The youngster today need inspired people like you.
agree 135
written by fireduck, September 17, 2008 00:01:41
PM asked Anwar to reveal the list :

so,....

We don't know about the list, Mr PM, but here's the list of candidates who applied to join PR but were rejected. We thank them for their interest.

1) Rembau, KJ
2) Kota Tinggi, Syed Hamid
3) Pekan, Najib
4) Kinabatangan, Bung
5) Sembrong, Hishamuddin
6) Padang Rengas, Nazri
7) Putrajaya, T. Adnan
8 ) Kuala Kangsar, Rafidah
9) Penggerang, Azalina
10) Tasek Gelugor, Nor Mohamed
11) Bentong, Liow TL
12) Tanjong Malim, Ong KC
13) Johor Bahru, Shahrir
14) Pasir Salak, Tajuddin
15) ..... and the list goes on ....

as consolation for all these rejected applicants, we are willing to give to you a toad (jumps better than a frog) from Pasir Mas.
written by tokioRain, September 17, 2008 00:03:01
En Zaid I feel your pain. Our pain aint their gain. Get out of Umno. Join us in ridding these biawak hidup.

written by AsamLaksa, September 17, 2008 00:14:55
En Zaid, berjaga-jagalah. Kau tau orang BN yang berani cabar AAB semuanya disiasat oleh polis atau ACA. Tabahkan hati di musim Ramadhan ini.
written by myke, September 17, 2008 00:39:20
Ni la orang yang dihormati.!!!
written by Arubin, September 17, 2008 00:41:25
13) Johor Bahru, Shahrir

Eh? To be fair, Shahrir is one of the few decent men left in UMNO. Don't forget that back in 2006, he went against the party regarding the issue of a BN MP who told Melaka customs to "close one eye". Like Zaid, he also tendered his resignation back than for the sake of integrity.
written by Umno Slayer, September 17, 2008 01:06:34
its a shame that you re not using your mind that youre still with sinking BN.The country needs reforms in a big way..you guys have blown it the chance to make it good by not being fair,clean and smart for the benefit of all Rakyat and country.!
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, September 17, 2008 01:07:08
Bravo Datuk Zaid, Bravo. Just love to have you be with us.

http://www.kerajaanrakyat.com/
written by chanatak, September 17, 2008 01:19:36

I admit I have failed, the whole time I have faced opposition from within my own party, and colleagues saying that I don't fight for my own race. It is as if I am less of a Malay... by suggesting these transformations,' he said.

With just these few words above, he confirms that UMNO is filled with incorrigible hardcore racists. These few words confirm loudly that all the placating multi-racial statements made by the PM and his goons so far are just political whitewash ( hogwash really )- there is really no sincerity within UMNO.

We are not falling for any more UMNO lies. Action speak louder than words. So far all their actions ring hollow.

Dare we hope that there are actually more of the likes of Zaid who will come forward now? Really we are clearly going to separate the sheep from the goats within BN within this one week.

And the goats will surely lose their seats come the next election.

written by justinlian, September 17, 2008 01:49:06
We will understand your position in UMNO and the minister rank. You have done your best. You will be blessed for your whole life with your children. It is a pity with the govt like this. I hope you will continue doing your best. May allah be always with you
written by bugisman, September 17, 2008 01:56:39
written by Arubin, September 17, 2008 00:41:25
Eh? To be fair, Shahrir is one of the few decent men left in UMNO. Don't forget that back in 2006, he went against the party regarding the issue of a BN MP who told Melaka customs to "close one eye". Like Zaid, he also tendered his resignation back than for the sake of integrity.

but at the end he didn't resign and cahoot with FLIP FLOP to play the rakyat out!

sharil is another spineless twat who justified the increased & decreased & ban foreigners from using the petrol then agreed to lift it...he's jus a flip-flop junior...spare PR from the misery pls..

written by boeytahan, September 17, 2008 02:19:01
Yb.Datuk Zaid Ibrahim,

The moment you critized the Home Minister of draconian detention of RPK and Theresa albeit releasing Tan Cheng Hoon, I immidiately priased your conscience as a defactor Law Minister with respects.

I believe that you did tried to have a personnal meeting with the PM but maybe he was too busy to engage in an appointment with you and thus you decisively construed it as an evasive meeting with that important ISA issue.

I appreciated your professional standing against using ISA against respected citizens for their own agendas. To be put into a cell of 6 x 8 or 8 x 8 and covered all round and with wooden platform bed and no other necessity for a good sleep really surpressed those who might be as tough as RPK. That's the mentality torture by our SB for decades. You won't even know whether it's day or night. That's vicious!

Datuk, I support your recommendation for the use of ISA on terrorist, those trying to topple the government by violent force. May I recommend here also to include those involve in currency and government documentation, such as passport and mykad frauds. This is what the Internal Security Acts comes in.

Datuk, after your unhappy expression and resignation as Minister, would you allow me to suggest that you to join in PR and to further strengthen this potential party for the progress for all Malaysians. I predict them to be clean and transparent. Lastly, please don't worry about the racist remarks that've tainted you. We are Malaysians.

Datuk, you are to be adimred by all rightful thinking Malaysians!
written by southallman, September 17, 2008 02:53:15
Datuk Zaid,

you tried to fix it but no harm or shame. gangerene has set in, urgent amputation needs to be carried out. AMNO I never liked you less love you, you were everything that was Non-Malaysian.
written by Anti Jihadist, September 17, 2008 03:01:01
'I realise I am facing a brick wall. I cannot translate or make them understand that we are the same country for all races, all ethnicities.'

Hallelujah, there is at last someone in this government that finally gets it. Until now, I have heard nothing from the cracking edifice known as BN other than the usual refrains:

-the opposition is irrelevant/weak/stupid/racist (take your pick)
-only we can control everyone or prevent 'disharmony'
-only we can bring the spoils of power to your/our race
-Support BN or else (implied or directly threatened)

For breaking free of the Doctor M.-style prison of racial thinking, Zaid deserves a huge round of applause, not to mention the Rakyat's support.

written by johanssm, September 17, 2008 03:47:47
This guy knew that there will never be any judiciary reform plus this guy knew that he was taken in as a senator and minister just for public relation to make bodohwi looks good. At last Zaid realized that he was make as a fool for few months.
Zaid, you tried and it all fails.Now you know that youre will the wrong "company".
umno will not change and wont change.They can put a tun ma mak there or they can put a ku li there. umno will be umno.
Zaid , with your resignation you really put tremendous pressure on mca, mic and gerakan this time. You just make them standing like a stupid fool !
No doubt Zaid is from umno , but Zaid realizes umno is doing all the wrong things and do not wants to be a part of it.
Proposes that Anwar and PR to take in Zaid to contributes his work towards a better Malaysia.
written by NickChan, September 17, 2008 05:34:23
I admit I have failed, the whole time I have faced opposition from within my own party, and colleagues saying that I don't fight for my own race. It is as if I am less of a Malay... by suggesting these transformations,' he said.

I thought they are being racist just for show. Didn't realise it is much more worse than that
written by A MI, September 17, 2008 06:00:17
Multi-millionnaire or not, well it must be recognized that what Zaid did in wanting to distance himself with what is not right in UMNO, is commendable.

However I still have this gnawing feeling that the timing of his resignation is not right. He should have done something within in his power to release the earlier HINDRAF ISA detainees and the recent arrests. I do not recollect that he did anything.

What about Lingmagate, the alledged abuse of power by the AG.
So now stealing the limelight with this resignation antic doesn't really sit well with me.

We will have to wait to see what unfolds.
written by Mahyuddin Mahzan, September 17, 2008 06:03:25
MP's should voice out their frustration or disapproval like what Zaid did. It's not a healty place to be when your party goes againsts the party principles and breaks all the laws in the constitution.

Well done Zaid. Who else is next?

written by red1, September 17, 2008 06:21:20
It is nice to know that at least there are a few (very) good men left in (was) the government.

A standing ovation for Zaid Ibrahim. You will be a legend.

Redhuan D. Oon
written by Tom n Jerry, September 17, 2008 06:55:12
This BN has lost all credibility when charging three persons under ISA;never beyond my wildest imagination can these people be charged without reason;where is justice & democracy;no wonder Zaid resigned;he felt pricked by conscience of Bn doing wrong and doesnt want to ahve anything to do with it;ZAid,welcome aboard PR;the new government -in-waiting!
written by loosecannon, September 17, 2008 08:35:01
Just the perfect guy for the Law Minister/Home Minister position under Anwar's government. And future PM too. Please Datuk, cross over to PR and contribute to a better tomorrow. The sooner the better.
written by RitchieLow, September 17, 2008 09:25:10
Oi DezMalaysia, why the site has no posts at all, just a bunch of photos. It also looks like a trap to attract unwary commentators the likes of you. smilies/cheesy.gif

Hidup Zaid!
written by asguard, September 17, 2008 09:35:28
If he decided to joined PKR... maybe latter Anwar can put he in-charge of judiciary reform where he have left... and continued the process.
written by sukinong, September 17, 2008 09:44:11
Zaid, Pak Lah even snub your letter of resignation. You did the right thing by not hitting the brick wall. Take the 2 weeks off and get paid. Then leave.