Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Zaid Ibrahim, Winning The Respect Of Malaysians

Zaid Ibrahim, Winning The Respect Of Malaysians PDF Print
Tuesday, 16 September 2008 22:34

By CHONG LIP TECK, Sin Chew Daily

Minister in the prime minister's department Datuk Zaid Ibrahim tendered his resignation yesterday afternoon.

When some politicians continue to say things against their conscience in a bid to advance their own political gains, Zaid once again poured out the content of his heart, and was ready to face whatsoever consequences that might ensue, including the loss of his job.

The frankness of Zaid has destined his banishment from politics. He once had his party membership suspended, and was denied the chance to contest in the election to retain his parliamentary seat. Nevertheless, he was the best person employed to prove Abdullah's reform agenda--to be appointed a Cabinet minister despite the fact that he was not an elected representative, and be charged with the duties to oversee judicial reforms.

Zaid's style of doing things is that he will do his utmost if appointed any post. After being tasked to promote judicial reforms, he has been moving forward without fear and favour, and his effort is well known by all: apologising for the government's mishandling of the 1988 judicial crisis, restituting the victims and their families in the crisis, proposing the establishment of a judicial appointment committee and amendment to Article 121 (1) in the federal Constitution, among others.

His current stand in opposing the Internal Security Act will only accentuate other people's prejudices against him.

Prior to this, Zaid has taken part in the amendment of Article 11 in the federal Constitution, and been labelled by some as the "pioneer with radical demands."

While Zaid is holding firmly to his own principles, when a certain part of the system has been abused, it is not his way of doing things by opting to remain silent, or speak cautiously.

No systems are permanent in the human society. The systems have been formulated by the administrators to restrict human behaviours in a bid to preserve the regular operation of the society, which must be modified in tandem with the changes in the society. Even the most rational may become obsolete and faulty one day. When a system is found to be defective, it is the government's obligation to take the initiative to push ahead reforms.

"He has opened our eyes to that sort of noble characters and integrity that an administrator should possess. He has left behind a very important asset in the country's political culture."

To Zaid, reformation is the propelling force for greater progress to evade a crisis and to perfect ourselves to fit into the fast changing world.

Zaid was by far the best person to be appointed the minister in charge of judicial affairs, and this showed that the government did have the resolution to bring about reforms. Of course, calls from the public have also quickened the government's pace in bringing about reforms.

Having said that, reformation, to certain quarters, could be a menace.

Everyone knows the concept of reformation, however, everyone has his or her own way of interpreting reformation, especially in multicultural Malaysia. When a system or a procedure needs to be reformed, there are always people who fear that their interests will be eroded. Such rigidity in human mentality poses the greatest obstacle to reformation.

When everyone gets used to a system, and feels comfortable with it, it will be very difficult to persuade them and let them see the needs for reforms.

Zaid is obviously well aware of the massive mountain that stands his way. But as long as he stands firm by his faith, there is no mission which is impossible to be accomplished.

Since the day he took over the minister post in charge of judicial affairs, he has displayed his tireless effort in pushing for judicial reforms. He knows better than anyone else that judicial problems need to be handled as soon as possible, or serious implications will ensue. Having said that, unless he has greater power, and the time and money as well as cooperation from other people, it will be very hard for him to implement the necessary reforms.

He once said he joined the administration because he wanted to bring changes, not just window dressing. When encountering setback, he has but to choose to leave.

However, his departure will not render all his previous efforts null, because he has opened our eyes to that sort of noble characters and integrity that an administrator should possess. He has left behind a very important asset in the country's political culture.

His departure is a major loss to both the government and the nation. The flame of reformation that has just been ignited will have to be extinguished. With the road lying ahead of us even darker now, do we still have the luxury of talking about reforms next time? (Translated by DOMINIC LOH)

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by takbolehtahan, September 16, 2008 22:42:25
Zaid is a man of principle and substance. His resignation is Umno's loss but could very well be PR's gain (maybe in time). His actions have shown us that he is a guy who is worth recruiting for PR and who would make a good politician for all Malaysians.
agree 301
written by Ben, September 16, 2008 22:48:15
Like I said, we just need a few good men who is not afraid to do the right thing. Zaid did the right thing and will certainly be an asset in the PR government. He can continue to do what he could not, in the bn gomen; reform the judiciary and police.

We welcome him and as DSAI said in the Malaysia Day celebration, he is waiting for Zaid's call in a few days. Syabas, Zaid you make us proud even when you humbly attended the 1st Bangsa Malaysia forum we knew you are a man of justice.
agree 183
written by alteredstates, September 16, 2008 22:51:10
Heard Datuk Zaid Ahmad's comment on the radio about being asked by Badawi to take two weeks leave, he said: I am not tired, I am dissappointed!

To you Datuk Zaid Ahmad, I stand and salute you, Sir.
agree 273
written by wartank, September 16, 2008 23:01:23
You got my vote, Datuk Zaid.

A noble man of high integrity, principle, sense of justice and righteousness.
A man of value indeed.

UMNO would not be in the state it is now if more are like you.
Well, their loss.. our gain.

It seemed there is no stopping you now.. to do what is right.
Please proceed.. and as a true Rakyat, I say thank you !

agree 165
written by RitchieLow, September 16, 2008 23:03:31
Hidup Zaid, stand up and be counted as one of Malaysia's great sons and join the Hall of Fame of the future Malaysia where justice reigns and good governance prevails.
written by Watcheyes1, September 16, 2008 23:11:19
The rakyat are proud to have a knight like you amongst us. If every country in this world has a leader like you, the world will be a peaceful place given that those leaders are surrounded and supported by good people. So please join PR sir where your principles will be respected and put in place.

I salute you Sir Zaid Ahmad!
written by PAKRAK, September 16, 2008 23:12:03
Needless to say Datuk Zaid Ibrahim is by far the most outstanding politician today who has displayed his true determination, grit and character without fear or favour. He is a much sought politician that any political party would accept. If he joins PKR I am sure the party and all Malaysians of all races will benefit from his ideologies and reforms.
written by chezzter, September 16, 2008 23:12:05
Will be remembered in Malaysian History that this Fine Gentleman is a GOOD Man when umno becomes history.
written by myke, September 16, 2008 23:14:35
This is a man of quality. None in the BN have this quality so far(at least not that i know of).
written by wishuponastar, September 16, 2008 23:21:19
Zaid Ibrahim the Last of the Towering Malays from UMNO.The rest are ground zeros.
written by fireduck, September 16, 2008 23:22:31
A good man who is not at all gila kuasa. Yo da man, Zaid!

This is an example of what we need in the govt -- technocrats who are there to do their job and to the best of their ability. And will take no crap from those politicking morons who tried to hinder him at every turn. These idiots do not realize that Zaid is actually helping them survive their political future, if they had given full support to his reform efforts. As it is now, these recalcitrant BN politicians will be doomed to early forced retirement.
written by Sabahfan, September 16, 2008 23:32:05
HOPEFULLY, Zaid will be made a full minister of Justice in the new government,

NOT a minister in PM department, which is really an office boy for PM..ha ha ha ha ha ha
written by thumb, September 16, 2008 23:39:22
Sir, you tried your best to reform your ministry from within, unfortunately met only obstacles, because with blunderers you cannot get any thing done. Don't worry sir with the type of people you associating with now, these are the people who will bring out the best in you.
written by DezMalaysia, September 16, 2008 23:46:59
Hey guys ! Let's have some fun ! Drop some comments here for the DPM of Malaysia !

http://www.1malaysia.com.my/

Let's flood it with curses & insults !
written by scottthong, September 16, 2008 23:56:45

Dari http://scottthong.*********.co...pendatang/

Kunjungi untuk maklumat lanjut
written by Compassion_Seeker, September 16, 2008 23:57:48
When ever a politic topic been brought up in the gossip among my friends,they will mentioned there aren't any good guy from UMNO,MCA,MIC etc..normally I will argue with them and said that there are still some good guy from them.When they ask me to quote example,the name that cross my mind immediately is you Sir,Dato Zaid Ibrahim(that moment you are still the Kota Baru's M.P.).Now I can really talk big in front of my friends because your action had proven to them you are really a politician with conscience, in which my judgement was right. Bravos to you Sir,Dato Zaid Ibrahim. "Selamat Berbulan Puasa"
written by sunshine, September 17, 2008 00:37:24
you win many poeple heart and respect.
salute you
written by Cash Money, September 17, 2008 02:45:02
You lot in the so called Bar Council can take some que from Zaid.
written by southallman, September 17, 2008 03:15:12
DSAI,

Appoint him back to his JOB, cannot leave it UNDONE, we need a MAN with pricples and one who CARES for his NATION.. He is MALAYSIA's son and friend and we need him to fix our JUDICIARY ( I will feel safe knowing he is in charge).
written by Wakeupmsia, September 17, 2008 03:45:24
Datuk Zaid Ibrahim has always been and still is a person who uphold the principles of "RIGHT" or "WRONG" concept.

In fact, b'cos of his moderate stance (for the betterment of ALL Malaysians) vs the Ultras-UMNOputras (for the dominant and destructive role of ALL Malaysians, he hasn't gain much support from his Ultras and pea size UMNOputras colleagues.

"In Good Faith" - highly recommended to read. Speeches and commentaries by Datuk Zaid would give you an account of what this Great Man is made of. Besides, he does not get a cent as all proceeds goes to the Kelantan Ophanage.

Datuk Zaid Ibrahim - join us in the quest to make Malaysia a home for all Malaysians. Together, we can conquer the world. Yes, Malaysia Boleh!
written by peace brother, September 17, 2008 07:54:19
Dear Datuk Zaid Ibrahim,
I have just watch the video clip of your press conference and was move by your sincerity of your explanation on the issue of wanting to resign from BN.
You don't have to apologise to anybody as far as i am concern, YOU ARE A BETTER MAN and that how I see in you, SIR.
written by Agahdemo, September 17, 2008 07:54:51
Dato Zaid, i have bought your book " In Good Faith" and read it over and over again......

I believe you are a righteous person and your action today speak loudly of your commitment........I salute you!!!! smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by ladasiber, September 17, 2008 08:37:28
Sebutir permata didalam pecahan kaca - Zaid Ibrahim
written by kedahan63, September 17, 2008 08:40:21
Why can't the rest of the MSM have writers like Sin Chew's? Too busy apple polishing or being handicapped with both hands tied behind their backs, a set of blinkers over their eyes and forced to write down what their "masters" dictate to them?

I must learn to read & write Mandarin again to support Sin Chew.
written by DontPlayGod, September 17, 2008 10:22:28
Yes, it is sad, nay tragic, that MP's and ministers will not dare speak up to voice their conscience. They value their position and power too much. Power and money comes first, all others last. And this includes the PM.
written by DontPlayGod, September 17, 2008 10:32:37
To Bigjoe99, Zaid has already said that the ISA was the last straw. He has been having a lot of problems pushing his many ideas on reform earlier on, but always met with a wall.
written by JohnQ, September 17, 2008 10:41:11
Even those brave & wise & integrity leaders like Jaafar, Tunku, Tun Ismail, Cheng Lock wishes to salute you.
written by capcomangel, September 17, 2008 10:44:53
he got ball and guts, not same like those people got no ball but talk cocky like got big ball.

"AAB = SAYA PANTANG DICABAR"
written by SocratesI, September 17, 2008 13:49:11

A MAN of INTEGRITY, and he holds the record for being the ONLY MINISTER in Malaysian HISTORY to resign based on his PRINCIPLES, and his CONSCIENCE ! Other resignations had to do with scandals and disciplinary issues.

If Zaid were to join any political party, or start his own, if he stands in my constituency, he will get MY VOTE irregardless which party he is in. This is the sort of MAN we NEED in our Parliament, and Government !

He COMMANDS my respect and admiration !

written by HHKim, September 17, 2008 17:12:27
As I have said before, there are a couple of good leaders in UMNO also.
They should be recruited into PR for future services to raayat and nation's improvement. Of course, there are more bad hats than good ones.

Congrats Zaid for taking this bold step to win the admiration from the people.