Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Mahathir on Malaysia

Mahathir on Malaysia PDF Print
Tuesday, 16 September 2008 09:33

By MARY KISSEL, The Wall Street Journal Asia

The biggest surprise about Malaysian politics today isn't the rise of Anwar Ibrahim's opposition coalition, Pakatan Rakyat. Rather, it's the inability of the ruling United Malays National Organization to respond to voters' changing demands -- for more freedoms, less corruption and a more secular form of politics. To understand why, look no further than the man who has done more than anyone to shape the modern-day UMNO: Mahathir Mohamad.

For Dr. Mahathir, the lessons of the March national elections, which saw a big win for Mr. Anwar's secular coalition, are clear: Voters "want to send a message to the present leadership," Dr. Mahathir told me in an interview last week. "You [foreign correspondents] believe there is a change of heart, they [voters] no longer want to have racial politics and all that. It's not that. They want to defeat this man, this leader."

Dr. Mahathir was referring to Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, his successor and the man he pegs as responsible for UMNO's crumbling public support. Dr. Mahathir, who was prime minister from 1981 to 2003, resigned from UMNO in May, calling Mr. Abdullah "incompetent" -- a word he repeated last week.

During our interview, Dr. Mahathir largely evaded questions on the specific appeal of Mr. Anwar's policy platform of anticorruption, economic liberalization and equal opportunity for all races, or Mr. Abdullah's stance on these issues. Instead, he talked at length about race.

"The idea that this election means that Malays have now rejected racial parties is totally wrong, you see. . . Today, the divisions between the races is much deeper," Dr. Mahathir said. Why? Topics that were "taboo," such as "the position of the Malays" are now fodder for "open discussion." But isn't that good for Malaysia? "Well, whether it's good or bad, it's not important. What is important is that the reaction of the Malays to this is to demonstrate."

So why not liberalize the country further, and give people other outlets to express their frustrations, such as through a free media? Why not break UMNO's grip on the political system? "The people are not yet ready for that," Dr. Mahathir answered. "Why? Because the Chinese want to remain Chinese. The Indians want to remain Indians. The Malays want to remain Malays. That is a fact."

Dr. Mahathir wouldn't go into specifics over his solution to this perceived problem, but he offered up a hint of his philosophy: "We are doing the right thing if everybody is unhappy, which means you have to give up something . . . You cannot say, this is my right, I must get it. Then others will say they want their rights, too." And can one person, in the form of an authoritarian leader, really balance all these problems? "I think if the [current] prime minister is not there, it is possible." In other words, if only the right man were in place, all would be well.

UMNO today hasn't deviated much from Dr. Mahathir's playbook. UMNO under Mr. Abdullah has clung to its message that Malays, its core constituency, need affirmative action to prosper. Mr. Abdullah has taken a few steps to address corruption, such as setting up a government commission, but hasn't given the body much teeth. His government has also adopted Dr. Mahathir's authoritarian tendencies by locking up pro-opposition citizens under the country's draconian, British colonial-era laws.

Mr. Anwar and his coalition say they have persuaded enough UMNO MPs to join the opposition and unseat the government this month. Dr. Mahathir waved away Mr. Anwar's claim, saying: "If he has to buy people, he will buy people." Mr. Anwar has denied such charges in the past. If the opposition coalition is successful, UMNO will have to fight for votes on more than just accusations -- it will have to rethink its Mahathir-era policies. That will be a much harder task.

Ms. Kissel is editorial page editor of The Wall Street Journal Asia.

Comments (68)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, September 16, 2008 09:40:40
This Tainted Racist Mahathir is still trying to attract attention.Go to Langkawi and jump into the sea to see if you can wash away all the sins that you have accumulated for so many years.
disagree 16
agree 332
written by lennonist, September 16, 2008 09:43:17
God, can someone just not pay attention to him already? I remember a few years ago when no one even wanted to say hi to him at functions. Why the sudden attention? This old geezer must be so happy that ppl wants to interview him.
agree 184
written by Birdbrain, September 16, 2008 09:46:34
UMNO today hasn't deviated much from Dr. Mahathir's playbook. UMNO under Mr. Abdullah has clung to its message that Malays, its core constituency, need affirmative action to prosper.

UMNO warlords are getting more greedy and no amount of money is enough to feed their greed. Money buys power! Look what happened to Ahmad Ismail. He cried war when the gravy train stops. He was screaming Ketuanan Melayu, out of desperation.

UMNO, Lanun (Pirates) of Malaysia!
agree 147
written by cahaya, September 16, 2008 09:46:37
He still does not get it. Many years ago, he dreamed of what Malaysia could be:
By the year 2020, Malaysia can be a united nation, with a confident Malaysian society, infused by strong moral and ethical values, living in a society that is democratic, liberal and tolerant, caring, economically just and equitable, progressive and prosperous, and in full possession of an economy that is competitive, dynamic, robust and resilient.— Dr Mahathir, Speech in1991

What a dream he had! A Malaysia without racial politics. A united Malaysian nation made up of one people. Malaysians living in a society that is democratic, tolerant, caring, economically just and equitable. And for a while, the dream caught the imagination of Malaysians everywhere. Everyone was excited by this vision. But as time went by, people looked around them and they became discouraged.

But this year, Malaysians have again been inspired by the aspirations expressed in that old dream. On March 8, many Malaysians rejected the race-based politics of BN. Many Malaysians selected new leaders to lead Malaysia forward. More and more now see that old dream could become reality under a multi-racial Pakatan Rakyat.

Many Malaysians are ready for a Malaysia without race-based politics, without race-based Umno. Malaysians of all races increasingly want to become one people: a multi-racial, multi-cultural ‘Bangsa Malaysia’. More and more Malaysians look forward to a multi-racial government comprising qualified leaders of integrity, men and women who are honest, competent, and dedicated to serving all Malaysians, to make that dream a reality.

Sorry, but his talk about race is history. Today, all Malaysians (Malays, Chinese, Indians, Kadazans, Ibans, Orang Asli, etc) want to bergotong-royong (work together as a community) towards a better future for Malaysia. Hidup Malaysia!
agree 158
written by axeltung, September 16, 2008 09:48:42
Well...Dr M, pls take your words that if DSAI be PM, you will migrate..rite!! If not, you may have to declare you diagnose Parkinson Disease..so forgotten the things you said before... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
agree 108
written by funfac3, September 16, 2008 09:49:40
"M" is for MORON! Like I said yesterday, just shut up and go play with your grandchildren, and it would be best if you'd play dead!
written by sjs, September 16, 2008 09:51:46

To Ismail Omar, Deputy IGP of Malaysia,

ARREST KHIR TOYO IMMEDIATELY

This letter is addressed to you, BYPASSING IGP Musa Hasan, as we are not aware of the current condition of his ailing heart, and we do not wish to further deteriorate his heart condition, which would in our opinion takes its own natural course! Respecting our noble intention in wanting Musa Hasan to rest in peace permanently, this letter is addressed to you, as we know your law degree from an Islamic University, will guide you in the right direction in arresting the criminals and not the victims! We also apologize to you Ismail Omar, for any unintentional misguides from the International Islamic University Malaysia, your alma mater, which may have prompted you to act otherwise!

We also wish to condemn all cynics who suggest that you are the father of Ahmad, the racist from Penang, simply based upon your first name which bears resemblance to his last! We deplore such suggestions in the strongest terms! You, Ismail Omar, are no ordinary human being, and you will not hesitate to take stern actions against any racist element provoking racial tension in this country! The leniency you adopt at times is misconstrued as your weakness. Please forgive the people as they do not know your softer nature in not wanting to aggravate mounting racial tensions, and earn a bad name for yourself, thereby affecting your chances of quick promotion as an IGP!

With the above salutations of your excellent records, we are confident, Ismail Omar, you will arrest Khir Toyo immediately within the next 12 hours, under the following charge:

Khir Toyo framed Teresa Kwok of the DAP, accusing her of trying to ban mosques from broadcasting the azan (Muslim call to prayer) on loudspeakers. He masterminded this by instigating residents from Puchong to sign petitions against Teresa Kwok!

Ismail Omar, many Malaysians also believe that you have personally helped Khir Toyo in asking some Muslim organizations to file police reports, after the arrest of Teresa Kwok under ISA! They claim that you do not have any evidence against Teresa Kwok; hence you helped in the creation of these evidences! To all these cynics, let me caution you, why should Ismail Omar, a person with strong Islamic faith, who knows how to differentiate the right from the wrong, whose noble prayer in life espouse the entire nation, that Musa Hasan must rest peacefully, should ever do such an evil thing!

Ismail Omar, the guardian and protector of peace and harmony of Malaysia, and by the arrest of Raja Petra Kamarudin, you have also earn another accolade, the silencer, sorry let us salute you properly:

Ismail Omar, the guardian and protector of peace and harmony and the silencer of all Malaysians, PLEASE ARREST KHIR TOYO IMMEDIATELY!
agree 248
written by SocratesI, September 16, 2008 09:53:32

Mahathir's father who spoke Malayalam came from Kerala, Southern India. What is this Unqualified bumiputra-through-the-back-door, Maha-Shithead engaging in more Verbal Diarrhoea here that none of the RAKYAT believe any more ?!

This is how he and Damn Zainuddin PILLAGED & plundered Malaysia:-

(Daim & Dr M: They took Malaysia for a long shitty ride. They raped and stole everything and anything in sight. Too bad none stood up to stop them. The start of Malaysia BOLEH!).

TUN DAIM ZAINUDDIN (synopsis of a forth-coming book)
Professor Mohamed Zain; Professor of Technology & Strategic Management; College of Business & Economics; University of Qatar
author's CV http://www.qu.edu.qa/doc/business/DR. MOHAMED ZAIN MOHAMED.pdf

Books have been written about Tun Daim Zainuddin, but not many people know who the real Daim is. He is famous for being taciturn. Everyone knows that Daim is the silent type; so silent, in fact, that the victims of his scheming and conniving have fallen like ten pins without ever knowing what hit them. He has, on the quiet, made a career of shooting poison darts, laying booby traps. and knifing friend or foe in the back. His hand is never seen, but his mark is everywhere. Truth to tell, he has been at the root of many national crises, but his name has never been smudged, thanks to the wealth he wields and his bond of friendship with Dr. Mahathir.

Most members of Umno's new generation are aware that Daim is an acquisitive millionaire and a macho man with a taste of young women, but they concede him these weaknesses because they see in him a clean and competent Economic Adviser to the Government. But the generation of Harun Idris, Musa Hitam and Manan Othman to name just a few of the old hands - they are the ones to ask in order to discover who the real Daim is. It was Datuk Harun who plucked Daim up from the depths of failure in the salt business. Daim's wife, Mahani and Harun's wife, Salmah were good friends and an influential pair in the early 1970s. It was wife power that moved Harun to give Daim 160 acres of prime Kampung Pandan land. And thus Syarikat Maluri was born.

There is no use speculating over how much Daim paid Harun. After all, the two were fast friends. For the gory details, just ask Low Kiok Bow or Thamby Chik. They can relate how Daim cheated a land broker and greased Selangor state executive councillor and Mahathir's brother-in-law, Ahmad Razali for that piece of land.

Of course, Daim still had to pay for the land. In those days, it was not easy to borrow from a bank. Hence, he was forced to corrupt Bank Bumiputra. Lorraine Osman and Rais Saniman know how much he spent. Manan Othman can no doubt confirm the figure, he was so close to Daim that they tried to share a girl friend, with Manan often borrowing the bedroom at Daim's office in Taman Maluri.

Daim's elevation as Senator and, subsequently, Minister of Finance, was part of Mahathir's strategic plan. Mahathir's choice should surprise no one, after all the two were intimate friends from the same kampung in Seberang Perak, Alor Setar. Upon becoming Prime Minister on 16 July, 1981, the first thing on Mahathir's mind was how to sideline his archenemy, Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah. Daim told everyone he had no interest in politics, but all the while he was confident of getting the Finance Minister's job after a stint with the Senate. A few months after joining the Senate, Daim became Chairman of Fleet, which owned the New Straits Times. In 1984, he finally got his dream job and became the third most important man in the Federal Cabinet, after the Prime Minister and his deputy.

Musa Hitam, the Deputy Prime Minister, was at first oblivious of the closet ties between Mahathir and Daim. Innocently, he expressed to Mahathir his disquiet over Daim's wheeling and dealing, particularly his award of projects and contracts to his own associates and cronies. It must have baffled him when his complaints fell on deaf ears although he was Deputy Prime Minister, he has no say when it came to economic matters, particularly privatisation and the assignment (to supporters) of economic projects. How disappointed Musa must have been to find that Daim could not care less about his effort to help his supporters secure some projects or contracts. Daim succeeded in making millionaires of such cronies of Wan Azmi, Halim Saad, Tajuddin Ramli, Samsuddin Hassan, Razali Rahman and Tan Sri Basir, but Musa in the end was cast off as a poor ex-DPM. Musa once complained to Mahathir that Daim had stolen a number of supporters' project proposals, but again Mahathir ignored him. These were the first acts in the eventual breakup of the Mahathir-Musa partnership. As the interests of Mahathir and Razaleigh bloated, Musa got squeezed out. To be cont'd.
agree 166
written by lamakawan, September 16, 2008 09:53:47
"....the inability to UMNO's respond to changing voter demands...". You are absolutely right, mahathir. They are as recalcitrant as you. They will never change. It is their sheer pride in themselves that they are in now. Like you, they are of the same breed. They will not admit defeat, even though they were so badly trounced in the last elections. Likewise, you also will never admit any loss even though you know you are now down and out. You still wanted to demand for breathing space in internet blogs. Do you think you will be able to achieve anything in your blogs? You can sway the voters to your side?
written by lavendergirl, September 16, 2008 09:55:10
I believe that Malaysians have grown and matured over the years. We do not buy this race politics anymore. We want to be Bangsa Malaysia. I want to be Bangsa Malaysia. 8th March saw not only people who were unhappy with the Prime Minister but also the rulling government. We want a change. Let us as Malaysians work towards that change.
written by truthbespoken, September 16, 2008 09:55:48
The Wall Street Journal Asia,

Don't be fooled by this cunning and unrepentant old man. He is now the biggest trouble maker in Malaysia! His old style racist policies is just falling apart very quickly and unfortunately for him, he might not even survive to see the good changes coming Malaysia's way! He still thinks that he has never been wrong. That's always the problem with him.. He cannot be constructive anymore, he can only be destructive to Malaysia as long as he lives!
written by Ann Meng Sim, September 16, 2008 09:57:43

What is wrong with you?? Is it your dream to see this country in turmoil before you die? Why would the rakyat want racial politics? We do NOT want that! BN is doing that and that is why PKR and RPK have so many supporters!

We want peace and harmony for everybody! We do NOT want corrupted people and racists governing this country. We do NOT want stupid uneducated politicians calling some of the rakyat "Squatters". We do NOT stupid uneducated policians shouting that he wants to soak his keris in some of the rakyat's blood!

Have you not done enough damage to this country? You should be making amends for all the damage you have done, not make it worse.

You are over 80 yrs old... Please, for a change, please just stop making comments that make people hate you more, stop making comments that will make matters worst.

written by Rainbowseahorse, September 16, 2008 09:59:42
Tun M said: “..It's not that. They want to defeat this man, this leader (Pak Lah)."
Now I am TOTALLY convince that Tun M is 100% senile…apart from the racist side of him coming out into broad daylight! How can he think that the March’08 election result was to defeat Pak Lah personally?? In fact, how can anyone think that was the case?? Unless that person has such a deep hatred for Pak Lah that there is only vendetta in his heart and seizes every opportunity to seek revenge, no matter by what means, and resorting to racial violence, if necessary, just so to obtain an iota of satisfaction in inflicting harm on Pak Lah.

People like Tun M do not die easy…a long lingering death is his karma!
written by ROBERTNGTG, September 16, 2008 10:02:09
," Dr. Mahathir answered. "Why? Because the Chinese want to remain Chinese. The Indians want to remain Indians. The Malays want to remain Malays. That is a fact."

SPEAK FOR YR SELF M*M*K WHO TRIES TO BE MORE MALAY THAN THE ACTUAL MALAYS.
JUST SAY IT OUT LAH, YOU MISS BEING A DICTATOR. YOU WERE THE BLOKE RESPONSIBLE
FOR AMENO IN THIS SHIT CONDITION AND THE COUNTRY BEING AT PAR WITH ZIMBABWE.
DONT SINGLE OUT YR SUCCESSOR.
written by SCM, September 16, 2008 10:02:22
Ms. Kissel, do not waste precious media space with senile old dogs like Mahathir. He is the scum that created all this mess. He is a racist through and through. He has made multi-multi millionaires of his cronies. He has used the people's billions in Petronas to bails out his cronies and his crony companies, Perwaja Steel and Bank Bumiputra bailouts are only 2 of the thousands and that cost us billions.

Outside of his cronies and all those who want corruption to linger on, the rest of us want him to die a painful death, although that too is not justice for all the evil crimes he and his family have created.
written by cheekhiaw, September 16, 2008 10:03:37
It is not the rise of Pakatan Rakyat that is the issue here.

It is the inability of Che Det's bunch of thieves, liars and murderers to respond to demands to end their thievery, lies and murders...

written by SocratesI, September 16, 2008 10:05:14

Many Umno members assume that Razaleigh is Musa's number one enemy. In fact, the reason for the 1986 split in Umno must fall on Daim. It was he who drove Musa to the edge until he had no choice but to resign. Again, Daim's man of few words demeanour to his advantage. Few knew of his behind-the-scenes role in that Umno rupture not many more know it today.. One really should not wonder why Musa called a truce Razaleigh and the two decided to collaborate in the 1987 fight, the one that eventually caused Umno to be outlawed. At that time, Daim was almost invincible, what support coming from such strongmen as Sanusi Junid and Anwar Ibrahim. The comradeship of the three was rock solid, and the Musa-Razaleigh camp could do nothing except to make a joke of it by giving them the nicknames AIDS.

The formation of the new Umno, Daim and Mahathir had first to get rid of the Lord President, Tun Salleh Abas. Again, Daim was the chief plotter in the sacking of the pious and respected Tun Salleh, and his replacement with Tun Hamid Omar, a playboy and chronic gambler, but Mahathir's and Daim's schoolmate. The appointment of Tun Hamid Omar triggered the collapse of the integrity and the independence of the judiciary.

Finance Minister, Daim persuaded Mahathir to give the Economic Planning Unit and Treasury full power in implementing the privatisation policy. Hence, it was no longer necessary to call for tenders for government projects. Instead, the projects were awarded directly to favoured companies. And so began the era of wealth accumulation by and his cohorts. The United Engineering Company, bought for RM2, changed into a multi-million- ringgit corporation. As Finance Minister, Daim practically ordered banks to lend to companies that he himself owned. And no Daim crony every complained of difficulty in securing bank credit. Indeed, bankers lived in fear of Daim. Having appointed Wan Azmi and Basir to head Malayan Banking and Bank Bumiputra, he would give any project to any of his cronies because funding was not an issue..

If those physical projects were not enough, Daim also took every opportunity to take wealth from the share market as well. Every time the Treasury approved a company for listing on the stock exchange, Daim cronies received their lien's shares. That was how in Southern Bank, Resort World, Sports Toto, Berjaya, Tanjong and scores of other blue chip firms landed with Daim and Company. Once, when share values were high, Daim boasted among friends that his visible wealth alone totalled RM65 billion. To shut the mouth of Barisan Nasional leaders, Daim gave lucrative projects to Samy Vellu and Ling Liong Sik so that their children could be big-shot in batches.

Daim managed to fool Umno members into believing that Mahathir would not let him go although he had asked to be relieved of his Cabinet post on a number of occasions. With Musa and Razaleigh out of the picture, Daim could grab as much wealth as he wanted without even Mahathir stopping him. Besides, he was Umno's treasurer and he could make it look as if the companies he controlled were those in which the party had a stake.

Daim's avarice damaged not only his own image as finance minister, but also Mahathir's and Malaysia 's reputation with the international community. It is said that he used to demand exorbitant fees for himself in negotiating contracts involving foreign suppliers. The chairmen of Japan 's two biggest banks - the Bank of Tokyo and Sanwa Bank - once complained to Mahathir that his Finance Minister demanded commissions that were too high when negotiating yen loans. Margaret Thatcher, too, has complained about Daim's role as a commissioned agent. He had - or still has - accounts in Zurich , London , Hong Kong, Tokyo , Singapore , Caymen Island , Channel Island and Virgin Island .. Indeed, instead of keeping his billions in Malaysia , he has stashed them overseas.

To be cont'd ...
written by Richard Lo, September 16, 2008 10:06:20
TDM, what a lot of bull crap you spoke of. There is a change of heart by the voters. We don't want just to change leadership, we want a change in government! You don't want to accept the fact that Malays themselves do not want to be brain washed and controlled by UMNO anymore. You are angry because:

- UMNO can no longer control the minds of the Malays; and
- UMNO can no play the divide and rule policy to control M'sians.

If you have any conscience left you will accept the will of the people and just retire gracefully. Be a sport and show some level of statesmanship. If you cannot accept the will of the people, we suggest you go back to your ancestors homeland.
written by myke, September 16, 2008 10:07:59
A PERVERTED OLD MAN STILL TRYING TO MANIPULATE THE PEOPLE. DROP DEAD PEACEFULLY PLEASE.!!!
written by cwy, September 16, 2008 10:08:59
The people of Malaysia are angry with this cunning descendent ( Madhathir ) of India, who has forgotten totally about his ancesters but claming himself to be Malay Boss ( Tuan Melayu ).
He has plundered the nation and turned UMNO into a racialist party which is now rejected by most Malaysians, as reflected in the results of 12th GE on March,the 8th.
This mutated Indian is not worth to be mentioned as he has not only caused the disharmony and segregation between the Malays and non-Malays ( it is interesting to note that the various races among the non-Malays are living harmoniously, sharing and caring among themselves, even they are neglected by UMNO government. ), but he marginalised fellow Indians in this coutry.
Poorah! despicable Madhathir!
written by skc, September 16, 2008 10:09:15
Dear Tun,
I have never seen you as a stupid person, please do not act like one. Put yourself into the rakyat's shoe for once and see how it feels like. With all the information that comes with the cyber age, how long before most people will see that the current system is no longer applicable, where a few get filthy rich while the rest just get to watch.
Now look at the non Malays, how are their future generations going to do better ? Business man is complaining about lack of profits. Normal working class can never save enough for their children's education, and the list goes on and on. While on the other side they see that Malays spend every cent they earn without a care for tomorrow because the government will provide for their future.
You see the catch 22 you have put all of us in ? You cannot continue with the NEP because one day it will blow up as sure as the sun will rise each morning. You also cannot get rid of the NEP because 60% of the populations are just not prepare for it at all, this will also blow up immediately this time. If I have nothing left to lose why then should I fear death ?
Why in the name of god did you not see this back then ? Yes we can go the American way but see now how the whole world is paying for it ? That might be beside the point, to go the American way you need someone very strong and committed to your idea of the future, and by god you pick AAB, what was that all about ? I use to be one of your strong supporter, I am still very proud of certain things you have done for the country, sad to say your current racial stand has make me relook at my own colour tinted glass, and I do not like what I see, but I am trying to change, it is hard but I can promise you that I will try, can you ?
written by KotaDamansara73, September 16, 2008 10:13:15
Mahatiu,

All non-Malays in Malaysia can speak Malay.
Hardly any Malay can speak English, chinese or Tamil.

Mahatiu, it is the non-malays who wants no Malaysian to be discriminated.
Mahatiu, it is the Malays who wants to continue disriminating the non-Malays. And this have got nothing to do with Malay rights.

Mahatiu, all non-malays agree with Malay rights. But non of them agree with racial discrimination.

Mahatiu, it is those Malay intellectuals, Utusan Melayu and etc are the one that wants to continue to discriminate againts the non-malay.

Mahatiu, you want to know why. Because you UMNO farkers are afraid. Are very afraid of open competition. UMNO farkers and most Malay intellectuals are not genuine. They didn't get to where they are today by their hard work, talent or intellect. Those racist bastard gets to where they are today, by being super racist. Super racist fark and will not continue for long.

Mahatiu, the problem with super racist fark like you is that, you also discriminate your own race by beating, torturing and harassing them. The problem is MALAY RACIST FARKERs. That is their problem.

Mahatiu, the whole farking Malaysian problem is due to MALAY RACIST FARKERS.
written by tino_chan1988, September 16, 2008 10:14:25
"The people are not yet ready for that," Dr. Mahathir answered. "Why? Because the Chinese want to remain Chinese. The Indians want to remain Indians. The Malays want to remain Malays. That is a fact."

Facts: The Chinese wants to be MALAYSIAN, the Indians wants to be MALAYSIAN, the Malays wants to be Malaysian BUT the politician wants them to be segregated for political advantages.......
written by lamakawan, September 16, 2008 10:17:30
It is all wishful thinking on your part that you decided to blog. Your stubborn
ego in you tells you not to give in to anyone, even though you know you will not succeeed. Now you are trying to sway your ex running dogs to topple your own appointed successor. What a laughing stock of a leader are you. Ha ha ha.. A man of no integrity, no principles. You even got the guts to go back to UMNO after you had bad mouthed it and resinged from it.
written by JohnQ, September 16, 2008 10:27:26
Dear all, Tunku and Tun Ismail already saw him this way, but just could not stop him, too bad. I hv save my saliva for 25 years, is it time to "PUuiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii" ?
written by penangboi, September 16, 2008 10:30:23
The real sentiment of the people is not reflected in the official stance of the government contolled media, and it especially is not reflected in the senile, racist and egoistical Mahathir.

In acknowledging that he believes (wrongly) that the different races want to be treated along racial lines shows that he was, has been and is still, practising racism. Forget about how he tries to cloak racism in other form of terminologies.

To find out the real truth, one only needs to look at the results of the recent general election and the Permatang Pauh by-election. One also only need to log on to any political websites and blogs of Malaysia, and note the tone and type of comments posted in such websites.

One can also find the truth in just talking to the average Malaysian on the streets, in coffee shops, shopping centres etc.

Our former premier is painting a picture that Malaysians are basically racist which is absolutely NOT true. But he would like all of us to be racist for it is through the concept of divide and rule that he remained in power during his dictatorial rule of the country.

So then, why is this bitter old man so hell bent in wanting to destroy UMNO? If one thinks this is his objective then you would be very wrong. No, the one he really wants to destroy is not UMNO but an individual call Abdullah Badawi. The motive is a combination of wanting to protect his own cronies' interest, especially his own off-springs, but more importantly I believe Mahathir is suffering from an acute case of power-deficiency syndrome.

It must be hard for him to be in a position of power for 20-plus years to find himself totally ignored by the current government. It doubly hurts when all his pet projects for his cronies, which were meticulously planned prior to his stepping down, were all shelved and cancelled.

The practice of corruption and cronyism haven't exactly gone away or even reduced under Badawi's rule either. For old habits die hard. And in the current UMNO era, it is only a case of old cronies being replaced by new ones who have their allegiance to a new 'boss'. I bet these new breed of leeches must be a point of irritation to Mahathir to no ends.

At the end of the day, what Mahathir says doesn't really matter anymore, for his existence in the current political climate has become totally irrelevant just as UMNO is becoming irrelevant in the rise of the people demanding for non-racial politics, transparency, accountability, justice etc which run in contra to the way UMNO was run under Mahathir and is currently being run under Badawi.
written by SocratesI, September 16, 2008 10:39:15
With his immense wealth and far-reaching influence, Daim eventually became a burden that Mahathir could no longer bear. In every deal he made, there was something in it for himself. It was not beneath him even to conspire with Lee Kuan Yew to snatch KTM land in Singapore . The Malaysian Cabinet had no knowledge of this. But this issue of Malaysia being cheated by Lee Kuan Yew and Daim is far from over.

Mahathir eventually realised that he had to end Daim's lordship over the Finance Ministry. And so he told him to quit.

Mahathir worried that if Daim continued as Finance Minister, complaints would come not only from Vincent Tan, Ananda Krishnan, Arumugam and other members of the Malaysian business elite, but also from foreign leaders. Signs of a Daim-related scandal were ominous and it could break anytime in Japan or Britain , therefore, Daim had to go.

Daim's resignation was planned such that it would not appear as if he had been sacked. Indeed, it does not make sense why a powerful Finance Minister, rich and in control of so many public companies, would suddenly quit simply because he had lost interest in the job. The truth is that he was ordered to resign. Observers will recall that Mahathir's first comment on the so-called reaction was, 'He has asked several times for permission to resign, and I have finally allowed it.. I hope Daim would not leave the country after resigning'. That statement was pregnant with meaning. Mahathir knew Daim was sulking. So did Anwar and Sanusi. Mahathir retained Daim as Umno Treasurer for a good reason, he wanted to ensure the safety of Umno money, a lot of which was under Daim's control.

But Daim who holds so many of Mahathir's secrets, is only a sly one.. After resigning, he ran off to live in his San Francisco residence. He told the Malaysian public he wanted to study at Harvard, but in fact he wanted to leave Malaysia . Mahathir, who was familiar with Daim's antics, pleaded with him to come back, saying he need him to advise on economic matters. Daim returned and announced that Mahathir had named him Economic Adviser to the Government. Rafidah asked Mahathir to confirm this, but all she got was silence. Daim was never formally appointed as Economic Adviser, a post which Tun Raja Mohar once held. The appointment is the prerogative of the Public Services Department. Daim gave himself the job. To keep Daim happy, Mahathir allowed him to open an office at the Economic Planning Unit, and this strengthened the public perception that he was still in control as far as economic affairs were concerned.

When he was to told to resign as Finance Minister, Daim asked Mahathir to appoint Anwar Ibrahim to the job. Obviously, he thought this would help to ensure that his skeletons would remain closeted. He warned Mahathir of the peril that Rafidah would be to both of them: the secrets they shared would be uncovered. Daim also persuaded Mahathir to appoint Mustapha Mohammad as Anwar's deputy because these two could be depended on to fill up the holes he had left gaping. Anwar is nobody's fool, but he sacrificed his idealism to protect his towkay.

As far as we know, no Finance Minster in this world has retired a billionaire, except Daim. In the book Daim yang Diam: Sebuah Biographi (Daim the Silent: A Biography), Daim explains his retirement: 'I am happy in retirement. It was too heavy a responsibility. In truth, I love the business world. Business is in my blood. I love to make money. I know how to do it. I can do it just by sitting in this chair. On a lucky day, I can make millions.' To be cont'd
written by SocratesI, September 16, 2008 10:42:16
Friend of Soros

According to an internal bank analysis, collaborated by the corporate community, and from Daim crony Amin Shah, Daim's wealth, in ringgit and foreign currencies kept overseas currently amounts to RM20 billion. With so much money at his disposal, Daim can manipulate the Kuala Lumpur Stock Exchange. He showed his hand in 1991, just to prove how much influence he wielded. After selling off his stocks, he made a statement to the effect that the market would crash. And crash it did. As we can all recall, even Mahathir could not help but make a wry remark when Daim boasted that he invested in KLSE only for pocket money. But to his good friend, Daim said he could turn in profit on RM90 million a day when the market was up. When the market plummeted in October 1991 Daim bought back his share on the cheap. When the market turned bullish again 1995 and 1996, Daim made billions of ringgit it. This, then, is what the work of an economic adviser amounts to.

So it turns out that Soros is not the only big time market manipulator and currency dealer. Daim met Soros twice in London when the ringgit was being hotly traded. Anyway, when the ringgit fell below RM4 to the US dollar, Mahathir asked Daim for help and, according to a source in Singapore, he lost RM1 billion trying to prop up the Malaysian currency. To lose that much in currency trading, imagine how much money he had at his disposal.

The falls in currency and share values put Mahathir in a feverish panic.. He knew his policies and his own belligerent attitude were partly to blame. Seeing Mahathir in such a frenzied state, Daim recommended that he declare a state of emergency to enable him to restore the economy and at the same time, bury the corpses that were beginning to stink. We hail the Chief Secretary to the Government and the Solicitor-General for opposing the move.. If Daim's plan had been followed, Mahathir would turn dictator and the Malaysian economy would be utterly ruined. Having failed to declare an emergency, Mahathir set up the National Economic Action Council, headed by Daim, with the Economic Planning Unit as its Secretariat. The original plan was to give the NEAC complete autonomy, but the Cabinet ministers opposed this for fear that they would lose any vestige of power they had left. Eventually, the council became merely an advisory body, with the Cabinet having final say on its recommendations.

The establishment of the council was a wedge between Anwar and Daim. Thus, two old friends who had together stood behind Mahathir against Musa were now turned against each other. All of the council's recommendations were rejected by the Cabinet and Bank Negara. Daim openly assailed Bank Negara for dismissing his proposals, such as those relating to interest rates and credit control. We salute the Bank Negara Governor for maintaining a prudent monetary policy in the face of Daim's bullying and insults. Unlike Daim and his cohorts, Bank Negara's officials are not self-serving. Daim's appointment to the NEAC was a major national mistake.

Going by press reports of its deliberations so far, the NEAC's sole preoccupation is with saving mega corporations from bankruptcy. No doubt, these are Daim-related companies. Daim has yet to show any concern over the rise in the price of chillies, or the leaps in fish prices or how the price of rice has boiled over. Neither has he talked about small businesses in their depth throes. Class F contractors going bankrupt or kampung road projects being abandoned. In his dictionary, there are no entries for the small man's worries, nothing about low-cost houses, water cuts or study funds for the children of poor Malays. In fact, it contains only billion size figures. While the Malaysian economy is close to ruin, Daim remains a billionaire, living a life of glamour, jet setting with his new wife Naimah and the attractive Josephine, an Indian lass who helps him run one of his firms, the International Malaysian Bank.
written by lamakawan, September 16, 2008 10:47:45
It was during Commonwealth heads of state meeting, all the leaders of commonwealth nations had turned up for a reunion. You were no where to be seen. What a shame. A baby of Commonwealth refused to meet their other Commonwealth borthers and sisters.. Right at this point you already revealed your true colors of RACISM OF THE MOST UNGRATEFUL OFFSPRING OF THE COMMONWEALTH. And you continued to practise racism in Malaysia by championing the Malay people here. You know you have to champion them if you want to be their leader. And now even after you have left UMNO, you still continue to champion the Maly people. Even the Wall St. Journal interview you avoided their questions and continue to talk about the Malay people. You are a REAL DIEHARD RACIST OF THE MOST EXTREME KIND.
YERS, YOU ARE THE RACIST OF THE MOST EXTREME KIND.
written by Celestial, September 16, 2008 10:49:20
Mahathir Mohamad has got to be the most vindictive man alive. It is this scribe's observations, analysis and honest opinion as to why he is so obsessed in targeting Abdullah Badawi.

Dr. 10% is the last person who should throw stones at anyone. It is my opinion that he chose Abdullah to succeed him because he perceived Abdullah to be an easy scapegoat. As his Deputy, he was Mr. Yes Man and perceived to be weak as he still continues to be. MM was involved in every Mega project and the SOP is 10% "consultation" fee. Also the huge infrastructure (towards Vision 2020) spend would one day come home to roost. Who better than Abdullah to take the heat when that happens. In the mean time, he quits so that he can continue to enjoy the 10% "Consultation" fees without ever being laid the blame for any "Screw Ups". Alas, when Badawi became PM, all that changed. MM's Mega project babies got terminated and new ones (without MM's stamp of approval) have priorities. SIL and cronies not loyal to MM got the benefits. The Malaysian economy did not falter and the oil revenue increases due to world price increase thereby propping up the economy and Malaysia was still able to service the debts albeit it is deteriorating. But why would Badawi care? He is getting out in 2 years and he and his cronies would have siphon out enough to last them several life times.

The so called "elites" would have all their golden parachutes in place and I will bet that when the dust settled, they will all bailed out to their luxury apartments in overseas countries with the life style maintained by the loot stashed in Swiss accounts. Only the poor remaining Malaysians and their future generation will have to pay.

All Malaysians, the time has come to expose these people and take back your country. Don't let them fool you any longer. MM will pay for his sins for he is not a true Muslim and his actions have brought huge disrepute to a lovely religion like Islam. The intent of the NEP was noble and I fully supported it when it was first brought out but its implementation by these selfish xxxxxxxx made me turn my back on the country of my birth, 38 years ago.

I believe Malaysians have matured and now poised to take back their country from these goons and not to be fooled any more. It is this renewed hope of a fairer Malaysia that I feel now that I want to be a Malaysian again.
written by cheekhiaw, September 16, 2008 10:49:28
Socratesl,

thanks for the story. this is should be one of the first entries in our Malaysian collection of "1001 Incredible But True Stories on Thieves, Liars and Murderers".

written by SocratesI, September 16, 2008 10:52:19
Last Part

We have merely given a sketch of who the real Daim is. A thorough account will soon be available in book form. We recommend the book to Umno members, especially those with big ambitions, because they will learn much from its fantastic but true tales of economic and political intrigues. We denounce the likes of Vincent Tan and Tan Phek Khiing for land-grabbing, but perhaps we should ask the Menteri Besar of Johor and the Menteri Besar of Kedah how much land Daim has taken. Ask Sanusi how much Daim paid to the Kedah government for 12,000 acres in Sungai Petani and how much profit he made from them. For 12,000 acres, Osman Arof had to be sacrificed. The true story of the Daim-Sanusi conspiracy in Kedah will be exposed in the book.

Umno is at a crossroads and has to decide wisely where it is going. One road heads to glory, where stability and democratic practice will abide. The other leads to division, autocracy and ultimately, utter destruction. The call for reform, which used to be made only in whispers at small, secretive gatherings, is becoming louder.. Umno members, showing that they can no longer contain their restiveness and frustration, have begun to openly debate the need for change, even at party conventions. Can there be a clearer indication that they have reached their tether's end, that they can no longer stomach the leadership's undemocratic attitude and the prevalence - whether in the party or the government - of favouritism, cronyism, nepotism, graft and other misdeeds? Malay nationalism is dead and materialism and egoism are running amok.

We cannot depend on the Umno Supreme Council to initiate reform because few of the members have the guts to speak up. In fact, the council has lately been transformed into a monologue theatre. But of course even a monologue can flop without good supporting players - fools, clowns, jesters, attendants and the oh-so- important flatterers. As far as these bit players are concerned, Umno's ideals and principles are not as important as their jobs. This keep-your-mouth- shut syndrome serves only to embolden the party leadership in its conceit, arrogance and haughtiness. A president has become a dictator. Woe are the Malays and Umno. What is to become of them? That is a question only Umno members can answer.
Professor Mohamed Zain
Professor of Technology & Strategic Management
College of Business & Economics
University of Qatar
written by disgruntled, September 16, 2008 11:04:09
Mahathir, my deepest sympathies to you. I dont know why whenever you write in, the people will start to criticise you, and criticise they do to the extreme of hurting my feelings. It makes me feel out of place, as a right thinking Malaysian that my previous leader is under attack for all he had done for the nation. You had indeed done a good job for Malaysia, otherwise it won't be where it is now, among the top few developing nations of the Commonwealth. You also had championed the 3rd. world nations in your world image while you were in power. But alas, in retirement, all you had done for the nation are slowly starting to disappear from the records of history. Maybe it will suit you better that you stop talking and let your future offsprings run the place to their best ability. maybe you can say goodbye to all the ideas and principles that you had held during your heydays. maybe the world will be a better place after you stopped writing.
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 16, 2008 11:15:26
Whooooh Socratesl...that's some heavy stuffs you got there on Daim! Be sure to let me know the title and date that the book will be publish, yah! Sounds like a good triller full of intriques and action...hehehe..Maybe I can pick up some pointers from old Diam!

Cheers!
written by cheekhiaw, September 16, 2008 11:16:53
Professor Mohamed Zain,

Malaysia thanks you.

And if you are a Malaysian, we eagerly awaits the return to the motherland of a true son of the land!

written by mentora, September 16, 2008 11:20:41
Mahathir seems very sure that the people hate Badawi and not UMNO. Is he blind or is he just senile. Mahathir, let's not forget it was YOU who made Malaysia as it is today as you have runned the country your way these past 20 years.

Badawi is here to clean up YOUR mess and you dare accuse him of being incompetent. Maybe Mahathir is right.... Badawi is incompetent - incompetent in cleaning up the mess Mahathir has left behind.

Foreign journalist are also a bunch of fools. They should be asking him the right questions and forcefully demand the answers from him about how he had runned the country.

There is no doubt it was Mahathir who wasted our resources and he practically admitted it.

Since he is a Malay the proper quote for him is 'jangan jadi macam ketam mengajar jalan dengan betul'. Talk about being a hypocrite.
written by wongnoball, September 16, 2008 11:42:49
I think time for him to join Marcos, suharto, Mao Tse Tung ....... in the Heaven.
smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by Taikohtai, September 16, 2008 11:52:21
As a strong advocate of NEP, TDM is unrepentent if the affirmative policy hurt certain sections of the Malaysian population. It is this same kammic effect of his own volitions that he is now hurting so much himself.
Thanks TDM for showing how karma works - mysterious to some, but totally enlightening to others.
written by Spear Bing, September 16, 2008 11:52:42
TDM's incisicve hatred against AAB is so deeply entrenched in his brain that hardly a day goes by without TDM's relentless verbal diarhoea being spill out in his website and interview with the mass media.

Indeed he cannot call himself a true Muslim. He is nyayok, senile and utterly egoistic! How many years can he go on living like this?
written by Batangkali, September 16, 2008 12:04:11
Professor Mohamad Zain,

You are a real historian, Malaysians need you !! Bring out your book asap, and a must read for all Malaysians. Can I suggget a title, " Lanun Malaysia " or "Malaysia Pirates "
written by JingXin, September 16, 2008 12:10:22
Please, TDM, crawl back into the hole that you put yourself into when you so sensationally resigned from your racist party. Don't try to take advantage of existing problems, problems created by yourself.
You have become REDUNDANT and IRRELEVANT. Go enjoy your old age and memories that you selectively remember. You certainly are NOT Malaysia and Malaysia definately is NOT you!
written by tmf, September 16, 2008 12:14:41
TDM’S VIEW ON MALAYSIAN MALAYS AND SINGAPOREAN MALAYS 15/9/2008

Malays in Singapore not happy? Why not let them speak for themselves or better still, offer citizenship to them and let us see how many of them will apply.

IN fact the Chinese in Singapore are not happy because they feel that their Government is too efficient in taking care of almost everything and leaving very little challenges for them to fight for themselves. In short, they do not like to be too pampered.

Pak Samad revisited Singapore in his twilight years, according to LKY, he was quite happy with what the Singaporean government has done and is still doing for the Malays.

If we, the non-Malays have a chance to administer this beloved country of ours together with right-thinking Malays, we will make sure that the discriminations against us that we know from birth will never be inflicted on our Malay brothers and sisters.

My dream is that, under the new PR Administration, there will be no more discrimination against any race and YES, we must definitely support all genuine measures to help the needy, regardless of race; and for the moment, the large group of those in need of help happens to be among the Malay community who have been mislead for almost forty years under the NEP which is still being indecently abused by the UMNOPUTRAS.

TDM’S DESCRIPTION OF MALAYSIAN MALAYS 16/9/2008

History will certainly be not too kind to TDM for all his real deeds will be exposed gradually.

Very Sad that even in his twilight years, he still attempt to distort the state of our racial relations and still attempt to convince others that the Malays are ultra sensitive over their cultural and religious identities. The admirable Malays whom I deemed sangat bersopan santun of yesteryears were almost wipe out by the constant, bizarre and misleading indoctrination of Ketuanan Melayu under TDM 22 years regime.

My dear Malay and Muslim brothers and sisters, TDM painted you as inferiors who can not stand on your own feet. I do not believe that, but I do believe that TDM and his cronies want you to believe that you are so weak and needing their ridiculous "protection" so that his regime could keep most of you within a small confined self-destruct environment and in the process, TDM and his cronies can continue to robbed our nation of its wealth, and worst of all, your potential to be great.
written by EYFF, September 16, 2008 12:20:52
Is AAB a really bad happening for Malaysia??

With the continuous tirades from TDM and his other despicable under table tactics to undermine and discredit the PM and to upstage him in UMNO, Malaysian certainly got the impression that AAB is the Devil and TDM is the Angel Michael sent by God to save Malaysia.

But then again most may ask WHY the constant percecution of AAB by TDM? Maybe AAB is a good guy after all and TDM is the devil incarnated?? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by tmf, September 16, 2008 12:40:23
In fact, TDM constantly told us about Ketuanan Malayu, went on to convince all of us that the Malays can not stand on their own feet and then lambasted the Malays for not standing up!

What does he really want from our Malay brothers and sisters?
written by cheekhiaw, September 16, 2008 12:49:09
What he really wants?
Stealing from other races and foreigners was not enough.
He also wants his bunch of thieves to steal from our Malay brothers and sisters.

written by Spear Bing, September 16, 2008 12:50:57
Professor Mohamed Zain
Professor of Technology & Strategic Management
College of Business & Economics
University of Qatar

[AKA] Socratesl:

You should come back when PR becomes the ruling government. Your resourcefulness is very much needed in administrating the medicore Public Universities in the country.
written by joeawk, September 16, 2008 12:56:06
The **** state malaysia is in today is because of this racist mahatir. He thought he did well but he screed up malaysia bigtime and still he is at it. He should be hung up so that the crows can feed on him.

The truths have been said many times, March 8 was agaianst UMNO anf mahatir's legacy and to a muc lesser extent Pak Lah.
written by Sofiyant, September 16, 2008 13:11:00
An idiot will say such thing, I'm sorry, thats my personal view. We are Malaysian first. If a leader cant see that then that's not a leader. He is not even a Malaysian. He must be a BN clone.
written by Concerned Malaysian, September 16, 2008 13:16:05
Dear Prof.Mohamed Zain,

Thank you for your indepth detail of events. It is our own race who is raping the Malays and not by the others so called "pedatang". Saya cabar pemimpin yang kononnya mempertahankan hak orang Melayu, inilah orang orang yang diamanahkan oleh kita untuk meperjuangkan hak istimewa kita. Manalah martabat orang Melayu sekarang " harapkan pagar, pagar makan padi".Bangunlah bangsaku untuk mempertahankan kebenaran dan bebaskanlah Malaysia dari anasir-anasir durjana.
Wasalam
written by RBJ, September 16, 2008 13:45:47
you father of corruption
you father of inequitable distribution
you racist
you nut

shut up & leave the country after the crossover
written by LACOBRA, September 16, 2008 14:59:20
The Beast talks! A shameful & disgraceful Doctor dressed in a white garment committing an euthanasia on Malaysians.
written by Kopi37, September 16, 2008 15:23:37
China since after the death of Mao Tzi Tong the Country has changed! Mao was a great man when he chose Teng Siew Ping to succeed him and he gave full trust for his en-bloc of successors to run the Country! He died with honour and Chinese around the world still respect him a Great Man!

Look, we have our Malaysian Mao Tzi Tong with M for Mahatir! He also chose his successors when he said enough was enough and he wanted to go back home pension and took care of his cucu! He did that and he did it for only less than a year! He couldn't live in peace perhaps due to his loneliness at home after he left the palace PutraJaya and he had to leave behind all the glorious, gracious life style that he spent decades to clutch at! He is a failed Mr Mao in this part of Country land Malaysia. He chose his successor too when he brutally crumbled his first chosen candidate by the name of Anwar Ibrahim, of whom he disliked and condemned, he then opted to pass his scepter willingly or unwillingly to the better one he could think of, the better one he could think of was AAB, more popularly known as Pak lah! Mahatir found him suitable! Until abruptly, a lightning stroke, followed by a thunder lauded him to lucid from his lullaby! Mahatir found him Pak lah is not suitable! Pak lah did not listen to him attentively liked before and that cause Mahatir's hackles stood! He wanted to talk but many of his past aides asked him to rest because he has a weak heart and his time was over! He did not believe it because he said that he was unassailable! "I am the unassailable Great Maha of Malaysia"! When he was not offered to talk anywhere in the controlled medias, he talked to the foreign journalists, those previously his pet aversions, those some which the Great Maha condemned as the evil tongues of the West! Now they are his friends! He shot and keep shooting barrages and tirades at the poor urbane look successor whom he propped up! In his will last time he passed all his relics to Pak lah. In his will now the latest will he wants to change his successor!? Who he think he is, he owns the Country and he can pass the Country like his private relics to this one, that one, and no one?!

The thunder when made him lucid also caused some damages to his brain! He cannot talk sensibly now! He forgot the past, he is now in a state of hallucination, he has no sense of abashment when people query him – “Wasn't he AAB was chosen by you the best horse amongst the lousy horses?!” He is unabashed of his poor decision or rather his blunder to choose AAB whom he the Great Maha appraised as the No.1 after he put the true No.1 Anwar Ibrahim in the lock up and burnt him!! This is to prove that his mind has gone haywire and flip-flop syndrome has set in deep and irretrievable! This is also another symptom, we call it the "Twilight Symptom"!

" And can one person, in the form of an authoritarian leader, really balance all these problems? "I think if the [current] prime minister is not there, it is possible." In other words, if only the right man were in place, all would be well."--Quote Mahatir.

--------Of all the sinful barrages let go on the bad man he considered, I found this statement to be laudatory though it comes a bit late! Nevertheless, it's the right time it helps to find us the answer for the zigzag puzzle, "if only the right man were in place", who is the right man????? .............Yeas thank you, we have found him! WE the rakyat have found him and HE is none other than the up and coming - Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim more popularly known as DSAI! DSAI is the solution and he is to ensure everything will be well, the Nation becomes well from all the ills! The Rakayat all will be well ahead of all prosperity and well-beings which we have thought it was a mirage! Now there's NO mirage for CHANGE!!!

There is only one man will not do too well, he will have to pack and migrate when DSAI is upstaged!..........The man you know who! The man who is now eating cilipadi!
written by SCM, September 16, 2008 15:33:57
wongnoball, if this farking mamak can go to heaven, it will snow in Malaysia this Christmas Day. God has already reserved a place in hell for this dirty corrupt beast who is the father of all the shit in Malaysia. In hell, he will bribe Satan to send him to heaven but it won't work because Hell wants scum like this marmak to maintain its reputation.
written by Steven Tan, September 16, 2008 15:40:08
Dear Brothers and Sisters...

Watch out the cunning TDM and those with his type mentality. Everytime when he's having problem, he will divert to Singapore by saying something like this:-

"The Malays have seen what has happened to the Malays of Singapore and they have no desire to be like Singapore Malays. So their reaction is to seek Malay unity. They feel threatened, and their fear is real."

I don't know how much he knows about Singapore and Singaporean asspecially Malays in Singapore. I strongly don't agree even 1 percent to his comments on the Singapore Malays.

Personally I was working in Singapore for the past 20 years and most of my best friends as well as colleagues in Singapore are Singapore Malays. So allow me to share some of the knowledge that I know very well regarding Singapore Malays and their life style.

Half of my colleagues in my department are Singapore Malays

1)Almost all of them having car and big c.c motorbike and few of them keep on changing car just after few years of using it.

2)All of them having nice houses and fully renovated plus expensive decorations and expensive sound system such as BOSE, JBL etc.

3)Almost every year they go for overseas tour. Tour to Malaysia is almost monthly or weekly. Some of them going for Umrah yearly. Many of them already became Haji and Hajjah.

4)One of my Singapore Malay colleague is having few unique EXPENSIVE hobbies such as Mountain Climbing, so every year he and his wife will be spending thousands of dollars going around the world for Mountain Climbing and his another hobby is cycling, for that he bought a bicycle worth almost S$10,000 and with his group he will spending one or two weeks cycling from Singapore to all the main cities in Malaysia. He also has another expensive hobby which is riding big motorbike in a big group. So for that he bought a big bike and always joining his group and go for motorbike tour around Malaysia till Thailand. When Projection TV was introduced few years back, this guy bought 52 inches Projection TV and he renovated and transformed one of the room in his 5 room house became a soundproof room suits to become a home theatre and karoake room.

5)Almost all their kids having good education atleast with a diploma. (According to my friend, ONLY Singapore Malays getting subsidy for education in Singapore. Chinese, Indians and others needs to come out thier own money for thier kids education.

6)One of my Singapore Malay friend, trade in his car and bought a new car and immediately fully renovated it and transform it become a racing car. Only once when he joined the company I got the chance to see his original black hair after that till now I never get a chance to see him in Black Hair because almost twice in a month he will die his hair in golden and brown colour. The reason I'm saying this is because I want TDM to know on how the Singapore Malay enjoy their life and on top of that to know what is their spending power.

7)My another friends and his family, almost twice in a month will make a trip to Melaka for SEAFOOD.

So, I don't know what exactly TDM trying to say??? He's giving an impression that asthough Singapore Malays are suffer like beggers in Singapore.

For TDM's info, besides the my Manager (Chinese) non of my Singapore Chinese and Singapore Indian colleagues having car, the most is small motorbike only. Most of them and their family members are travelling by public transport.

Almost all the Singapore Malays are enjoying their life BUT suprisingly whenever they open their mouth, they always will condemn Singapore Government. This is what I don't understand but when I asked to explain clearly, they don't have a good excuse to support their comments except comparing thier life with Malaysian Malays.

So if TDM want more info, I think I can help him to give a clearer picture on Singapore Malays.

Thanks smilies/kiss.gif
written by panca, September 16, 2008 16:01:24
Mahathir on Malaysia

Mahathir out of Malaysia?!

Umno in the state of total denial, leadership crisis is madhathir himself! Racism, cronyism, nepotism, corruption, power abuse, rape and murder, all happened with the party.
Madhathir, something you don’t know you already know and the Rakyat thank you for giving Malaysians of all races, malay, Chinese, Indian, kadazan, iban and many orang asal dan lain-lain the dawn of a new era for a progressive nation.
Thank you for
1)What you have done plausible things to turn DS Anwar Ibrahim into a man of greater determination for truth, justice and fairness. If not DS Anwar, there is no one in umno who can represent and lead for the future of Malaysians.

*For those in umno have never stood against racism yet tell blatant public lies and such no one in umno is credible except Zaid Ibrahim.

2)Abdullah Ahmad Badawi AAB is your power(puppet) to be is(was actually) god-sent to Malaysians. He represents the rear end of a 51 year-old ailing dinosaur ‘s last piece of gangrene infected tail to fall off to drop dead. The monkey-in-law like you jumped from the tail to the head of this lazy animal together with rapists on top of it brought the demise of the huge body but small head clueless dinosaur.
3)Time to move ahead with progress and Madhathir, time to move ahead with your plans, exit umno enter umno now going to exit Malaysia enter Zimbabwe, we respect your decision if Mugabe wants to keep you in his forest.
4)Time will come to allow the rule of law to work independently. Those who have murdered, raped, stolen, lied of sodomy and cheated the Rakyat, Mongolian and Nation must be given the opportunity for the fairness and if found guilty, full extent of the law must be meted out without fear or favour. Many have suffered severely under wrong doings of many top law administrators.
DSAI shall have our great blessings, the Rakyat to do a good governance, fair, credible elected government should and would do – a progressive, prosperous and peaceful Malaysia.
Happy 45 TH Malaysia Day, 916.

written by hakuna, September 16, 2008 16:03:12
How come this MAD-hathir is still out?

Isn't there a place in Tanjung Rambutan or Tampoi just for one extra person who truly deserves to be there.

Nero played the fiddle when Rome burnt but this reincarnation of SATAN will destroy the whole nation.

Never hate a person I was thought but luckily Mad-hathir is not a person but Satan himself, so it's fair to hate him and hope some ill befalls him.

written by Henry, September 16, 2008 16:30:11
The root cause of racial problems and about malay supremacy and corruption is started by this son of mamak mahathir. I piss on him and his ancestors ! You can see how angry I feel and for Raja Petra's sacrifice I pray Anwar will take over the country soon and put all these racialists Toyo, Ahmad, mahathir into the prison ! Honestly I told my children before 8 Mac 2008, don't come back. This is not our home anymore. My grand parents were born here. My dad was born here in 1896 and my mum in 1902. Yet these monkeys whose parents moved to Malaysia only some years back now play racial issues. However, it was Raja Petra who give us the strength and inspiration to believe that not all malays are racialists and we should not run away from our home, that is Malaysia. Long before I was born, my parents have accepted we are part of malaya then and the King and Sultan are our monarch who have our highest respect. China was never in our mind and I did not visit china untill the turn of this century. I pray Raja Petra will be released soon and hope those police officers be kind to our "saviour". To these police officers I want to tell you your Minister has no brain but use yours !
written by adan, September 16, 2008 16:42:12
THE BIGGEST SURPRISE IN MALAYSIAN POLITICS IS THE MOST CORRUPTED AND RUTHLESSS TROUBLEMAKER IS STILL FREE AND AROUND TO CONTINUE TO CAUSE CHOAS AND CRISIS AMONG THE PEACE-LOVING AND LAW-ABIDING CITIZENS JUST FOR THE' FUN'OF IT.
written by jeagerlange, September 16, 2008 16:46:55
It is a pure waste of time to even mention this double-faced mamak. He is the all time culprit that divided and ruled Malaysia for the past 21 years. The most racist person ever around and always thought he is right when he is dead wrong. Don't give him the unnecessary limelight for he deserves none.
written by soberman, September 16, 2008 17:08:12
TDM, I still have some respect on whatever the good things you have done for Malaysia but now you are 80 . Time to rest or die. Or are you just trying to hide from all the mistakes you have done when you were at helm. The racial problems we have now is all because of you and if you still remain as the no. 1 person in Malaysia, we the minority as known by you and your cronies will continue to suffer. We have had enough. Go home and wait for the new government to take actions against you for all the sins you have committed.
written by Roy Sirimanne, September 16, 2008 17:21:06
Let me remind the BBC that TDM is not relevant anymore. Does BBC ask Tony Blair or Thatcher for opinions ?

TDM was a greatly respeced leader by all. Me included. I now realise he was the cause of this racist divide . His 21 years in power saw the alienation of the different races in my country. He passed on power to someone who did not agree to the crooked bridge and a number of other projects. TDM is a poor judge of character.
written by Roy Sirimanne, September 16, 2008 17:28:50
BBC... we the people of Malaysia wish to see change. We want a better Malaysia. We want to do away with racial politics and we want to pray in peace. This is our constitutional right.
written by belljar, September 16, 2008 18:15:03
I curse the day you were born and shall rejoice on the day you die.

written by onmu martin, September 16, 2008 18:26:44
Why even bother to interview Dr.M. He is no longer relevant. By granting him an interview, is boosting is grand ego. He is a racist and a dictator. Basically, he is out dated. He is not worth talking to as he is always right and never wrong. This is what we call mental illness.

When he was in power, many innocent victims suffer under him under ISA. He should go to jail when DSAI come to power. That is why he said, he will leave M'sia when DSAI become PM

written by Msian Idol3, September 16, 2008 20:29:21
Kutty are your bags packed???? Don't forget that your son have a multi million house in British Columbia, Canada. No one would have known about this if not for the blazen sophiscated manner the house was broken into & expensive valueables stolen inspite of all the bells & whistles of alarms system. Thanks to the local newspaper reporting that all Msians & ex Msians living here knows about it.
written by Sabahfan, September 16, 2008 22:04:08
MAhataik MAHAFIRAUN...

THE MOST CORRUPTED PM ever to rule malaysia..

Look at Putra Jaya, a failed dream of a Pharaoh and waste of our taxmoney, debts we still paying until today, thats why no money left to help the rakyat when the fuel crisis started

AND PEOPLE STILL WORSHIP THIS SELF APPOINTED GOD? EVEN HIS BLOGSITE IS UTTERLY BOOOOOOORRRRIIIIING.
written by cahaya, September 16, 2008 22:18:13
It is always difficult to understand his logic and his convoluted thoughts. Perhaps this is what he meant to say:

Umno Malays have not rejected race-based politics. How could they? Many Umno Malays are short-sighted greedy leaders with blind followers. Therefore, Umno leaders will continue to think it is their right to lord over the other races, and to practice apartheid policies.

Umno Malays can never reject race-based politics. Why not? Without race-based political parties like Gerakan and MCA, Umno alone cannot form the government. Without race-based political parties like Gerakan and MCA, Umno’s own race-based politics would be meaningless.

Today, the divisions between races is much deeper . . . but only among the race-based political parties in BN. Notice that Umno Malay leaders can no longer get along well with MCA and Gerakan leaders. Why not? Look at reactions to the Umno racist comments by the MCA and Gerakan leaders. So you see, the race-based parties in BN are more deeply divided (now than before) about race. How would I solve this problem? If the [current] prime minister is not there . . .

Sorry, but all this talk about race is history. Today, most Malaysians (Malays, Chinese, Indians, Kadazans, Ibans, Orang Asli, etc) want to bergotong-royong (work together as one community) towards a better future for Malaysia. Hidup Malaysia!
written by joejoe, September 16, 2008 22:32:21
Just in time to come back and be head of Opposition !