Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malaysian opposition leader claims takeover bid has begun

Malaysian opposition leader claims takeover bid has begun PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 16 September 2008 00:34
(The Earth Times) Kuala Lumpur - Malaysia's opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim on Monday told a crowd of more than 20,000 that his promises of toppling the government would very soon be a reality, claiming that Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has already been given evidence of the impending takeover. Anwar was speaking to the throng of demonstrators who had gathered at a stadium in the central Selangor state to call for the abolishment of a draconian security law.

The crowds erupted into thunderous applause when Anwar, 61, said that his three-party opposition alliance had secured a sufficient number of parliamentary crossovers to give them a majority to form the new government.

However, Anwar said the opposition wanted a "peaceful transition" of power and would hope to work closely with embattled premier Abdullah on the handing over of the government.

September 16 would mark a "clear and concrete movement" towards a change in the government, Anwar said, but declined to elaborate further, while a party official would only say Anwar would make "some major announcements" on Tuesday.

The charismatic leader led the opposition to major gains in the country's March 8 general elections, denying the ruling coalition of a two-thirds majority in parliament and taking control of five states.

The opposition, which currently holds 82 out of the 222 parliamentary seats, claims that at least 30 government lawmakers have agreed to defect.

Monday's rally was originally held to protest the detention of an opposition lawmaker and a popular blogger under a security law which allows for indefinite detention without trial.

Police on Friday detained opposition politician Teresa Kok and anti-government blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin under the Internal Security Act (ISA), a law drafted almost 60 years ago under British colonial rule to fight a communist insurgency.

Despite the heavy evening downpour, protestors began gathering at the stadium hours before the rally was scheduled to begin.

The rally, which obtained a police permit, kicked off with prayers, marking the breaking of a day-long fast for Muslim during the holy month of Ramadan.

Under Malaysian law, any public gathering of more than five people must obtain a police permit, or be deemed an illegal gathering. Opposition gatherings and rallies have rarely, if ever, managed to get police approval.

Raja Petra, who runs the popular Malaysia Today website known for its anti-government articles, was the first to be detained Friday, followed by Tan Chee Hoon, a reporter with the Chinese-language daily Sin Chew. Shortly before midnight, police detained Kok from near her home.

After 18 hours in custody, Tan was released by police Saturday.

Police have defended the arrests, saying they had received sufficient evidence linking the two remaining detainees to acts that "were detrimental to the calm, peace and harmony of the country."

"In the interest of the nation's peace and harmony, the police will act without fear or favour. The police wish to reiterate and affirm that at the current moment, the situation in this country is calm and under control," deputy police chief Ismail Omar said in a statement released by the Star online news portal.

Raja Petra, whose website and articles have a large following, was charged with sedition in May for allegedly implying that Deputy Prime Minister Najib Razak was involved in the gruesome murder of a Mongolian woman.

Kok has allegedly complained about the noise of morning prayers from a mosque in her electorate, an allegation she has denied.

Lim Kit Siang, leader of the opposition Democratic Action Party, slammed the arrests as "arbitrary, unlawful and undemocratic."

"By labelling Teresa and others as threats to national security without any shred of evidence is a travesty of justice and a gross violation of human rights," Lim had said in his blog.

Critics have long called for the ISA law to be abolished, claiming the government was using it to shut out dissenting views in the name of preserving national security.

Friday's arrests seem to have worked in favour of Anwar, who has pledged among others to protect civil liberties and ensure freedom of the press once he becomes prime minister.

The former deputy prime minister has also promised to enforce a major restructuring to a decades-old affirmative action programme that favours the majority ethnic Malays, aside from making economic reforms.

written by allangan2006, September 16, 2008 00:41:02
What a terrific 916! The support has been overwhelming and the march of Pakatan is indeed unstoppable. smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
agree 218
written by PRman, September 16, 2008 00:45:03
Congratulate to the PR! We are happy for 916 to happen!
agree 160
written by Kunta Kinte, September 16, 2008 00:48:13
We are patient and we have faith. We are anxiously waiting for the moment to show the BN/UMNO government the People's Power.
agree 115
written by Siva Ram, September 16, 2008 00:49:01
Bring it on. Enough people have suffered. Time for a better future.
written by GeoGeo, September 16, 2008 00:49:49
WOW !!!! Just Can't Wait.
written by ricky, September 16, 2008 00:50:31
My friend and I were just debating over the phone as to whether a new govt would be formed. He doubts it but I think it will happen, it has to happen. If not - we are doomed.

And when it happens, I pray that there will be a peaceful transition without any violence or bloodshed.

Lastly, God bless RPK and Theresa and others who stand by the truth.
agree 121
written by manny_california_usa, September 16, 2008 00:55:09
The 3 most famous words during your reformasi era was 'ENOUGH IS ENOUGH'.
I really do hope that those 3 words can put into reality to end the UMNO regime once and for all.
Make it happen Mr. Anwar, the world is waiting esspecially your own citizens.

Cheers from California
written by Kathy, September 16, 2008 01:22:48
Puan Marina, her daughters and RPK's lawyers will be meeting RPK tomorrow. Perhaps he will walk out with them, a free man?

Happy Malaysia Day, my fellow Malaysians!
written by DXB2008, September 16, 2008 01:33:57
The resonance is vibrating all over the world..time has come to bury UMNO for those years under this obsolete regime http://1426.blogspot.com/2008/...roost.html
written by SocratesI, September 16, 2008 01:40:47

Happy Malaysia Day, my fellow Malaysians ! Long Live Bangsa Malaysia ! It is time to TOPPLE the Corrupt and Despotic Barisan NAJIS Govt. and erect in its place a Pakatan RAKYAT Govt. that carries the Hopes & Aspirations of the Malaysian RAKYAT with them !

We Shall see JUSTICE done before long, and those who have their FREEDOM robbed from them, FREED from their ISA shackles !! FREE RPK & Teresa Kok, plus all the other detainees under ISA as well !!

written by K W Waran, September 16, 2008 01:43:14

Folks,

We are all in for exciting times ahead. My take is that the crowd were more than the 20,000 quoted. What was really touching was the fact that amongst that crowd were some very young children waving the Jalur Gemilang along with their adult compatriots.

Everyone were euphoric when Tuan Syed Ibrahim Syed Noh (GMI), YAB Lim Guan Eng, Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim, YB Datuk Kamaruddin Jaafar, YB Lim Kit Siang and finally YAB DSAI spoke in that order.

Everybody went back happy and I am certain that all would take heed of what YAB DSAI said. That is to continue praying for it is all a human effort and needs divine blessings to achieve the change of government in a peaceful manner.

So, let's all continue praying for the new dawn for Malaysia and its people. God willing, it will happen soon which according to YAB DSAI depends on how long AAB needs to vacate Putrajaya. But change is definitely happening.

written by jgerard, September 16, 2008 01:45:32
Fly the National Flag today (16/9/0smilies/cool.gif for Malaysia Day and a New Reformed Malaysia.

MERDEKA! MERDEKA! MERDEKA!
written by temanmu, September 16, 2008 01:50:15
Rakyat bermuhibah di bawah PR!

PR please turn off the money flow to the BN crooks! They will implode very soon!
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, September 16, 2008 01:51:16
It was electrifying with all the people waving the Malaysia flag with every cheer. Yes, we await what Anwar has set out to do...Merdeka, truly Merdeka for all Malaysians regardless of race, religion, creed or culture. Anwar has said all the right things. Now he is charting out how to do the right things.

We await what he has to say today to give clarity and define the concrete steps towards a peaceful transition of power. But will Pak Lah even dare contemplate such a thing happening?

Track Sept 16 here http://proud2bmalaysian.wordpr...tember-16/
written by hakuna, September 16, 2008 01:54:49
I had a dream prior the March election and at last my dream is going to be a reality.

I definitely will celebrate with all the GREAT MALAYSIANS out there and here the moment it materialises. We all deserve a better MALAYSIA.

WOW, a dream come TRUE.
written by joker2008, September 16, 2008 02:20:59
I got home just a while ago from the rally. It has been a long while since I felt that there was a real feeling of solidarity amongst the races ( yes - all the races were there, and in large numbers too ) all united in the hope for a better Malaysia, led by a clean, honest and incorruptible government. Even DSAI made a comment of the crowd when he said, something to the effect that, "...look at the crowd. It is Malaysia..." ).

People waved flags and cheered and sang Negara-ku from the heart, not because they are coerced. Certainly not because some silly BN Minister had for years equated those who did not fly the flag as "unpatriotic". DSAI did not shy away from touching on important matters we as a nation must confront, those issues that this current government always categorise as "out-of-bounds" or will be "flashpoints" amongst the races, and then sweeps them under the carpet wishing they'll do a Houdini on their own ). He puts forth his viewpoints and reasons to the audience, for example why we need and must, for example, have Bahasa as common language uniting us all, but at the same time, must also acquire proficiencies in English, and even Mandarin or Tamil to access global opportunities. And how we must not be afraid to invite talent, even if foreign, to uplift the economic well-being of us Malaysians. That to learn from others is not at all tantamount to weakness, but rather of strength. It's very refreshing to finally hear straight forward talk an clear intellectual sensibility after all these years of mindless, dishonest and moronic blabber from the BN goons. I am not putting DSAI and his team on a pedestal to worship ( given the vagaries and unpredictable nature of politics ), but there is now real and palpable hope that the process of nation building by true Malaysians can soon begin.

You should have been there!
joker2008
written by Jeffrey, September 16, 2008 02:32:42
916 is here........make it happpen! Make 16/09/08 a trully worth celebrating for Malaysia Day!!!
written by mimi76, September 16, 2008 02:33:55
To DSAI,

I am happy with the announcement, but I am worried that UMNO/BN will start something which will enable them to declare a state of emergency. They are sore losers,so they will resort to cruel tactics. Please be careful. smilies/wink.gif

Hidup Pakatan Rakyat!!!!!!!
written by donplay, September 16, 2008 03:23:30
I was there at KJ Stadium with 20,000 others last night & heard it from the horse's mouth.

DSAI & Pakatan have the numbers and will be meeting AAB tomorrow to ensure smooth transfer of power! Putrajaya, here we come.

All ISA detainees will be freed on the day Pakatan takes over the Govt!

http://donplaypuks.blogspot.com
refer my prdiction Sept 16th Chronicles-The Last Scupper!
written by Kotadamansara73, September 16, 2008 04:39:52
Badawi don't want to see Anwar. So take over not happening. Maybe in a few years time.
disagree 46
written by farah, September 16, 2008 06:54:15
Happy 16-09-2008, DSAI, we worked together to achieved 2/3 majority in GE 2008,
We shall begun our dreamed Malaysia from here 16-09-2008.
written by fergie, September 16, 2008 07:24:04
Long Live Pakatan Rakyat! 916 a day of celebration for Malaysians! FREE from UMNO shackles! MERDEKA!!!! Now FREE RPK and KOK!!!!
written by densemy, September 16, 2008 07:24:32
A great day for Malaysia, its future and democracy
written by justinlian, September 16, 2008 08:05:42
Our hearts will be with you and RPK and teresa.
Stay cool.....
and let nature takes it cause.
We hope to see a new beginning
written by ROBERTNGTG, September 16, 2008 08:11:02
The crowds erupted into thunderous applause when Anwar, 61, said that his three-party opposition alliance had secured a sufficient number of parliamentary crossovers to give them a majority to form the new government.

WHILE HE SLEEPS IN DENIAL, A NATION MOVES FORWARD WITH THE MOTHER OF ALL
CHANGES FOR A BRIGHTER FUTURE FOR ALL
written by Vincent, September 16, 2008 08:22:15
REFORMASI !!! FREE ISA POLITICIANS NOW ! REFORMASI !!!
written by emg385, September 16, 2008 09:01:26
Stand up and SAY NO to the COMMUNIST PARTY OF U__M__N__O!!! Blame the Father of UMNO Communists-TDM for all that is happening in this Country!!!We shall never have True Freedom & PEACE as long as UMNO communists are in power!!! The UMNO Communists must be destroyed!!!
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 16, 2008 09:34:53
Joker2008, thank you so much for your first hand report..it would be fantastic if more fellow bloggers would report on what's going on at ground zero as..alas.many of us cannot be where the action is.
From your recount, Joker2008, I feel much inspired and would had been proud to sing our National Anthem with pride and straight from my heart.

God bless us all and may DSAI's plans unfold without hitch and obstacles..and may God help us in our hour of need!