Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Permit given, PKR told to ensure public order at Malaysia Day gathering

Permit given, PKR told to ensure public order at Malaysia Day gathering PDF Print
Sunday, 14 September 2008 19:10

(NST) Police have approved a permit for Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) to hold a gathering to celebrate Malaysia Day tomorrow from 7pm at the MBPJ Stadium in Kelana Jaya, near here, Selangor police chief Datuk Khalid Abu Bakar disclosed today.

However, he reminded the organisers that the gathering must he held in an orderly manner.

“They are responsible for ensuring that the gathering is peaceful and does not disrupt traffic flow so as not to cause public inconvenience in the vicinity.

“If they can gather peacefully in the stadium, there is no reason for us not to give them a permit, but there must be control as we do not want any untoward incidents to happen,” he told reporters after launching a “Balik Kampung-Rumah Selamat” (Back to Village-Home Safety) campaign, here today.

The gathering, organised by PKR and the Selangor government, is aimed at celebrating Malaysia Day which falls on Sept 16.

Khalid said any group which wished to organise a peaceful gathering, should apply for a permit so that police could control the traffic flow and monitor the gathering to ensure public order and safety.

On the “Balik Kampung-Rumah Selamat” programme, he said those who wished to return to their village or hometown for the Hari Raya Aidilfitri celebration needed not be unduly worried about the safety of their homes.

He said they just needed to go to the nearest police station and provide some details like the dates they would be away so that police could patrol their areas.

For the time being, he added, the campaign was targeting the Subang Jaya-USJ area, Putra Heights and Bandar Sunway, as a result of cooperation between the USJ Residents’ Association and Subang Jaya district police headquarters.

Khalid said the initiative was to increase safety awareness within the local communities and he urged other residents’ associations to work with the police to ensure safety of homes, especially during the festive season.

He said for last year’s festive season, about 300 residents here were involved in the programme, with no crime cases like house break-ins reported during that period.

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, September 14, 2008 19:20:23
Watch out,unseen hands at work to destruct the gathering.
written by cheekhiaw, September 14, 2008 19:22:12
There will be public order if there are no thieves, liars and murderers around...

written by fairnessforall, September 14, 2008 19:30:03
hahaha...good joke, to inform the police the dates you will be away from home, so that they can give the details to the thieves and robbers. I have been told by many that the police are invovled with many break ins as they work together with the thieves and robbers by providing such information and getting a cut.

Its safer not to inform anyone, just inform your neighbours will be a better option and safer
written by Debbie, September 14, 2008 19:44:44
This is amazing...the police actually approved it...there must be something sinister behind this move...unless these are some of the good remaining cops.

Peace and God bless.
written by Path Fighter To truth, September 14, 2008 19:52:21
How come they are so good. ? we will gather peacefully. and remember to be aware of invinsible hand.
written by marsyal, September 14, 2008 20:09:38
Pathfighter, I wonder why they are soo good as well.
I have doubts about this gathering, why suddenly they granted the permit. Maybe should postponed until PR takeover, I think they have hidden agenda otherwise why would they allow such gathering?
written by Umm Adzka, September 14, 2008 20:14:54
On the “Balik Kampung-Rumah Selamat” programme, he said those who wished to return to their village or hometown for the Hari Raya Aidilfitri celebration needed not be unduly worried about the safety of their homes.

oh wow... another new trend setter? aren't they paid their salary to ensure the security of the public 24 x 7 and not only when the people won't be at home!

look at it for the other side - such knowledge, if disclosed to unwarranted party, will be very useful. The will know exactly the dates during which the owner will not be around and thus, granting them the opportunity to 'search' whatever they look for in the house. seriously, has the criminal rate in Malaysia gone that high so as to warrant this?
written by kingelvis, September 14, 2008 20:27:12
Well, well, well...even the police are seeing resistance to PKR as futile!..awaiting the inevitable!
written by indianputra, September 14, 2008 20:31:43
The rally organized by all the NGO's and opposition parties were supposed to be lack of any mishaps. It is always the police and the mat-rampits who created situations that looked like the situation became worse by the organizers.

I tell this to the police and the BN GOONS!! You STOP IT!! You stop making the situation worse. You STOP blaming the organizers whenever situation becomes violent. INVESTIGATE properly and you will know that the bad hats are planted by the BN
written by lynn, September 14, 2008 20:35:49
This approval is highly suspicious!
Last night when we had a candle-lit vigil for RPK & Teresa at Bt Aman, we were told to snuff out our lighted candles. Is this bn govt so insecure & so pathetic? It's just a frigging candle! Saw some cops reached out & "stabbed' out the flame!

Less than 15mins, suddenly FRU appeared menacingly & we had to retreat & disperse.
written by Steven Tan, September 14, 2008 20:37:27
Dear Brothers and Sisters, watch out... No Matter What, A Crook Is A Crook. So becareful during the gathering. "THEY" won't mind to do ANYTHING to stay in POWER.
written by ohuat, September 14, 2008 20:39:02
Be careful, very careful. There may be devil dress in PR t-shirt out to creat chaos that give them excuses to cramp down hard on us. Everyone stays cool do not be provoted easily. Make this a funfare gathering. Mark and trace down all trouble makers. Deal with them later..
written by yukusa, September 14, 2008 21:30:13
My advise to all who intend to attend the gathering, please keep calm at all time no matter what. And those with camera or video camera, get them ready and take photos of trouble makers, get their face clearly identified, these will come in handy later to identify who they really are, real PKR supporters or trouble maker plant by somebody to discredit the gathering.
written by onnetline, September 14, 2008 21:31:43
Thanks to PDRM for the approval to gather for the celebration of Malaysia Day !

PKR, beware of trouble makers !
written by sarawakian, September 14, 2008 21:33:13
He said they just needed to go to the nearest police station and provide some details like the dates they would be away so that police could patrol their areas.

yeah right.. and then a group similar to the one who took narcotics out of police custody can make the necessary arrangements to move in only when the owner is out of town.. what idiot trusts PDRM ???

and to those who will be at the rally, beware of UMNO spies planted to create havoc to disgrace PKR.
written by jcdrock, September 14, 2008 21:37:58
bros and sisters,

i really have a strong suspicion about this...i agree that the event should be postponed to a later date...the permit approval by the police is just too good to be true..
written by agadam magadam, September 14, 2008 21:54:46
So this is why we have to make sure, Anwar takes over soon.. We must never abandon PKR and Anwar, if , the 16th Sept is postponed for a few days or so..

Stick together and we'll make it happen... The 'UNSEEN HAND' has always been there, and will be until PR takes over.. Tun Mahasit the scum, Najis C4, these are the unseen hands..
REFORMASI..REFORMASI...
written by A MI, September 14, 2008 21:54:49
yup..please be beware of wolves in sheep's clothing..has happened before right.
BN least of all AMNO not civilised enough to relinquish power like gentlemen.

Best to be alert and calm. if trouble starts disperse and return to safety of home ok?
written by panca, September 14, 2008 21:59:33
Every single person who is attending is and must be in solidarity support for the release of RPK, Kok and many others held under lawless ISA UNLESS those whom are there to disrupt the event. So watch out, yourself lest you are there for the wrong reason.

In support of a united Malaysian cause for a peaceful protest against the lawless ISA abuse by BN Esp. UMNO.

Makkal Sakthi.

Daulat Tuanku
written by forubabe, September 14, 2008 22:01:46
Something doesn't smell right! Maybe i'm wrong, but anyway please under all circumstances, keep this gathering a peaceful one.
written by slim8, September 14, 2008 22:29:16
The people of Pakatan Rakyat will continue to peaceful protest and gathering. The Pakatan Rakyat will not resort to tearing pictures!!!!

www.ironhot.********.com
written by Cyber DNA, September 14, 2008 22:45:30
MALAYSIA DAY CELEBRATION

The police cannot afford to deny the permit. It is believed that the BN government is reeling back because of some pressure put on them by the US. The BN boys know that the world is watching!

But never trust them!

But for us Rakyat .....In God we trust!.....We will be out there....we will be peaceful.
written by kc respect, September 14, 2008 23:00:17
Read "NO HOLDS BARRED - The REAL story of May 13 (Part 1)"
Understand the circumstances where a rally was approved as a pretext of emergenct rule. BE VERY, VERY CAREFUL!!!!!
written by Hitenwolf, September 14, 2008 23:18:45
To all PR supporters who gather at the Kelana Jaya Stadium tomrrow night, may I appeal to you to condemn the Police for harassing the advertisers of Malaysia Today. Detaining RPK under the ISA is already bad enough and now the Police want to sabotage his blog by pressuring the advertisers to pull out from MT. The Police are getting very high-handed and think everyone in the country owes them a living. They have no business to intimidate the citizens let alone commercial entities. The Police have become so audacious that they dare to wreak havoc on anyone who is not in their good books. Since Bodowi, Najis and Botak Hamid can't rein in the Police, then let Anwar Ibrahim gives the Police a complete overhaul and it will come sooner than even the Police can anticipate.
written by Malaysia Ku, September 14, 2008 23:18:57
I agree with KC. Be very careful when we going to protest. This might be a bait to get us all.. Please do not provoke anybody, just do what civilise guys would do.. Good luck
written by born2reign, September 14, 2008 23:50:30
Although I think this Malaysia Day gathering is harmless, and the PR participants to be civil, I suspect BN will be planting their "PKR" people there to do some hooligans work and cause disturbances. Somehow it is the way the police chief said it on TV that is highly suspicious. They have something up their sleeve and are just looking for a reason to put DSAI in ISA again.

Also just read that Nurul Izzah was harassed at pasar Ramadan. Appears that UMNO is willing to go all out to detain and threaten women in this holy month. Really gutless, no-balls bunch of mobsters. They are willing to stoop to immoral lows to stay in power.

Dream on.
written by sjs, September 14, 2008 23:51:17
IMPORTANT NOTICE TO ALL MALAYSIANS

My colleagues and I are based overseas. We are not affiliated to any political organization in Malaysia. We are all ex-Malaysians who believe strongly in the noble cause of Raja Petra Kamarudin, Anwar Ibrahim, Lim Kit Siang and Nik Aziz.

We want fellow Malaysians to take note of the following three issues pertaining to the gathering at Kelana Jaya tonight. This is purely our take, an outside perspective, but worth taking note, as most information are not truly reported in your local media!

1) We advice Malaysians from all walks of life to attend this gathering. Please attend in large numbers. Do not be afraid!

2) Please remember the police permit was issued at a time when the government is cracking down on politicians, journalists and the bloggers. The crack down is not over, as it has ceased momentarily, due to international pressure! The condition of this permit was spelt out clearly and loudly at a function, by the police. The police’ exact words "If they can gather peacefully in the stadium, there is no reason for us not to give them a permit, but there must be control as we do not want any untoward incidents to happen." No objections expressed by the BN government too! This is sufficient enough ground to believe that the UMNO controlled government may try to disrupt the gathering in dubious methods only known them!

3) At all times when you are attending the gathering, be on the look-out for individuals who behave strangely. Please attend the gathering in groups if possible. Always remember Raja Petra’s final words, of the interview he had with the Tunku, as appended below:

“When the opposition parties applied for a police permit for a procession to celebrate their success in the results of the general election, I was adamant against it because the police were convinced that this would lead to trouble. I informed Tun Razak about this and he seemed to agree.
Now, without my knowledge and actually “behind my back”, there were certain political leaders in high positions who were working to force me to step down as a PM. I don’t want to go into details but if they had come to me and said so I would gladly have retired gracefully.
Unfortunately, they were apparently scheming and trying to decide on the best way to force me to resign. The occasion came when the question of the police permit was to be approved.
Tun Razak and Harun Idris, the MB of the state of Selangor, now felt that permission should be given, knowing fully well that there was a likelihood of trouble. I suppose they felt that when this happened they could then demand my resignation. To this day I find it very hard to believe that Razak, whom I had known for so many years, would agree to work against me in this way”

Fellow Malaysians, please also remember the final advice of Raja Petra to Anwar, “This is all Malaysians ask from Anwar and nothing more than that. Guard against anything untoward happening. Only when the coast is clear should you make your move. There should be no bloodshed and loss of life.

The intent of this posting is to remind all UMNO members, we are fully aware of your dirty tricks!

To PR and RPK supporters, just bear in mind and DO NOT BE AFRAID!
written by Fatcat, September 15, 2008 00:41:51
Yah,, something smells bad.... be careful ,, move away from trouble makers.. stay in small groups. Be nICE =). take lots of pictures. Be Aware. Be HAPPY...
written by J Dean, September 15, 2008 00:46:03
Selangor CPO is acting in the right direction. Just do your good job in taking care of public order and please arrest those who try to create havoc during the gathering...pay special attention to those group from BN who might have devious intention to taint tomorrow’s gathering.

Dean
smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by kent chong, September 15, 2008 00:56:44
You, your family members, your love one could be next ISA detainee, We need to stop that. Pls support the petition. It's not only for Raja Petra, Terasa Kok and all other Detainee, it's for OUR FUTURE, OUR GENERATION and OUR BELOVED COUNTRY.
Pls forward to all People you know in this WORLD not only to Malaysian.We dont want being call 2nd Zimbabwe.

http://www.petitiononline.com/freetkok/petition-sign.html?
The petitioners hence resolves that the BN government should not use draconian powers under the ISA to cling on to power and demands the immediate and unconditional release of Teresa, Raja Petra, the Hindraf 5 and other detainees. In addition, we the petitioners demand the immediate repeal of the ISA to prevent abuses that oppresses the fundamental liberties of each and every Malaysian.

The arrest of Sdri Teresa Kok, Raja Petra Kamaruddin, the Hindraf 5 as well as others is hence arbitrary, high-handed and a mockery of democracy. By labelling Teresa and others as threats to national security without any shred of evidence is a travesty of justice and a gross violation of human rights
written by my oumrie, September 15, 2008 01:50:46
Lets hope the police won't set up road blocks like last time and the powers that be blame the opposition for the chaos yet again...!
written by pelanduk chuan, September 15, 2008 03:03:43
".......any untoward incidents to happen."......
"........Unfortunately, they were apparently scheming and trying to decide on the best way to force me to resign. The occasion came when the question of the police permit was to be approved........"

"They" = Mahatricks Mob-huddin NajisC4 Sanusi Rooftop-padigrowing Sabaruddin Monkey just returned from jungle
Mahatricks= World #1 trickster and provocateur 40yrs ago and now...
Bodowi= about to repeat Tunku history of a "Fall in disgrace" nearing the 40 years cycle
KL=Bangkok last week's streetclash when helpless incapacitated ThaiPM oversees a pro-govt mob-gang violent clash with pro-opposition protesters ending with 1 death numerous injuries

40 yrs on, here you come again, Mahatricks!
written by pelanduk chuan, September 15, 2008 03:15:00
contd:

"Tun Razak and Harun Idris, the MB of the state of Selangor"= Reincarnations 40yrs later in the form of NajisC4 n KKK-Toyor
written by pelanduk chuan, September 15, 2008 03:46:19
The Beast= UMNO= Then (1969 40yrs ago) Now and selamalama-nya!

"......Always remember Raja Petra’s final words, of the interview he had with the Tunku, as appended below:

“When the opposition parties applied for a police permit for a procession to celebrate their success in the results of the general election, I was adamant against it because the police were convinced that this would lead to trouble. I informed Tun Razak about this and he seemed to agree.
Now, without my knowledge and actually “behind my back”, there were certain political leaders in high positions who were working to force me to step down as a PM. I don’t want to go into details but if they had come to me and said so I would gladly have retired gracefully.
Unfortunately, they were apparently scheming and trying to decide on the best way to force me to resign. The occasion came when the question of the police permit was to be approved.
Tun Razak and Harun Idris, the MB of the state of Selangor, now felt that permission should be given, knowing fully well that there was a likelihood of trouble. I suppose they felt that when this happened they could then demand my resignation.To this day I find it very hard to believe that Razak, whom I had known for so many years, would agree to work against me in this way”

Fellow Malaysians, please also remember the final advice of Raja Petra to Anwar, “This is all Malaysians ask from Anwar and nothing more than that. Guard against anything untoward happening. Only when the coast is clear should you make your move. There should be no bloodshed and loss of life.

The intent of this posting is to remind all UMNO members, we are fully aware of your dirty tricks!"
written by pelanduk chuan, September 15, 2008 04:08:35
Ku Li, my brother:
"...To this day I find it very hard to believe that Razak, whom I had known for so many years, would agree to work against me in this way..." ---Tunku.

Didn't you learn from HISTORY and take caution of that "Razak-incarnated C4" before that failed-challenge against Beastly Mahatrickster?

Why cant you do justice to YOUR own dignity now and fight for ALL MALAYSIANS by leading others to join the PAKATAN RAKYAT and become our next Deputy Prime Minister rather than wasting your waning years in the Sinking( n stinking) UMNO!!!
written by fergie, September 15, 2008 07:44:58
I appeal to the more "prominent" bloggers and others who have a way of helping RPK to PLEASE do your utmost so that nothing happens to him. I am a 60 yrs old retiree living on Penang Island who doesn't "rub shoulders" with VIPs appealing to you. RPK means so much to us and we are already missing his presence on MT. He has been our "Dark Knight" .. "the night is darkest before the dawn" .. if that is tru, then we shud see dawn soon! PR PLEASE HURRY UP!!!!!!
written by Loonie, September 15, 2008 13:02:52
Dear rakyat back home, I am very saddened reading all the news from overseas. I must echo the warnings of some of the bloggers about the police permit. It is too good to be true. I have this nagging feeling that BN is playing dirty again. I am sure they have made plans to have gangsters disguise as PKR supporters to make trouble and stir up racial sentiment. The government is just waiting for a ripe time to call an emergency rule. PKR has to think of contingency plans should such dirty tricks arise, and prepare the rakyat as to how to respond to such a challenge. If PKR can prove that it can hold in a peaceful gathering, then BN is gone forever. But BN will not let the gathering go so peacefully. Pray, pray and pray!!! P.U.S.H. - Pray Until Something (good) Happens. God bless Malaysia.