Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow MCA’s Fong: Home Minister’s explanation ‘unacceptable’

MCA’s Fong: Home Minister’s explanation ‘unacceptable’ PDF Print
Sunday, 14 September 2008 18:13

By Elizabeth Looi, The Star

PETALING JAYA: MCA vice-president Datuk Seri Dr Fong Chan Onn has criticised Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar’s explanation for the detention of Sin Chew Daily reporter Tan Hoon Cheng.

He said Syed Hamid’s explanation that Tan was arrested under the Internal Security Act (ISA) because her life was under threat was “totally unacceptable.”

“It was a feeble attempt to justify the use of the ISA on Tan.

“By doing so, the police have caused added emotional distress and mental agony to Tan and her family,” Dr Fong wrote in his blog.

He also said Syed Hamid’s claim that the detention was done without his knowledge was inconsistent with his explanation.

Dr Fong said based on his experience as a former Cabinet minister, sensitive issues were discussed at weekly meetings before any decision was made.

“As the Home Minister, he should be responsible for any action undertaken by the police, especially when it involves the sensitivities of the people.

“As a senior Minister, (he) must be very familiar with these procedures,” he said.

Dr Fong also called for the Government to either abolish or review the ISA.

“The government should abolish or take another look at the ISA to put in place a rigorous system of checks and balances before any decision is taken to detain someone,” he said.

Comments (49)Add Comment
written by IbnAbdHalim, September 14, 2008 18:25:06
He's the culprit. He's trying very hard to be in the good book of his boss. This Bedouin is a hypocrite in denying any knowledge of the detention when he himself opened his gape on so many occasions pertaining to the matter. And the excuse for the detention of Tan is so moronic in nature that warrants his resignation from the cabinet.
agree 209
written by MAMR, September 14, 2008 18:27:00
Datuk Seri Dr Fong,
Thank you for being BRAVE to state your stand. We need more from BN to start
agree 183
written by educationist, September 14, 2008 18:28:53
At least this time Fong [not sure if he's repesenting the MCA]dares to speak what every thinking Malaysian knows for a fact.
By that stupid minister's logic everyone who's threatened should be arrested under the ISA,
agree 123
written by MT682, September 14, 2008 18:30:12
So Fong, you finally found your balls to speak up. Why is the ISA only causing emotional distress to Tan and her family? Why can't you be colour and race blind and speak up for RPK and other ISA detainees too?
agree 134
written by faridw, September 14, 2008 18:31:57
Twisted logic. Arrest the person who is threatened, not the person who makes the threat. End result, the public hates the government even more.
agree 115
written by Sudahlah tu, September 14, 2008 18:33:25
FCO ..awak telah membawa satu penghinaan kepada pengundi2 di Parlimen Alor Gajah yang memberi kepercayaan utama kepada kepentingan negara serta bangsa Malaysia.
Kes kes kontrak kerajaan yang dikhaskan kepada awak serta sanak saudara selama ini ....cukup untuk melenyapkan sifat kemanusiaan awak itu ....
cukuplah ..jangan bersendiwara lagi ...
diam diam ..simpan sahajalah kekayaan haram awak itu ..
Pengkhianat Bangsa ....
written by saintalf, September 14, 2008 18:35:46
Hello, why only make noise on Tan Hoon Cheng,what bout RPK and Teresa Kok? Dr.Fong,if you ask ISA to be abolish you should also fight for others being detain under ISA.Be more professional la,why not fight for RPK and Teresa too? Is it because they are on the opposition side?

You chinese i pun chinese,i know how you think la.Pegi la.
agree 108
written by somevalue, September 14, 2008 18:38:48
Its definately unacceptable, and done without his knowlwedge? Whos is the next scapegoat? Its time for him to resign too. A very unconvincing distorted truth.
written by krising1, September 14, 2008 18:39:08
We all know that this hairless and brainless Arab is a liar and talks like an illiterate. How did they make him a cabinet minister and a home minister at that? There was another minister who spoke. He is now selling chendol in Sungei Siput. This Arab, when he becomes jobless, will not even be able to sell dates during Ramadan!
written by oct, September 14, 2008 18:49:42
If ever PR takes over the Govt, we shall ask them to reveal who signed all these 3 ISA order. If it is truly Botak, let's give him a piece of our mind.

If our Botak claims that the Police has full autonomy then he is an useless boss. It is hard to belief that he doesn't know a thing. He even commented he is politician and not not involved in the running of the Police. He may not be directly involved but he can advise the Police if they are in the wrong. That's what a boss does. Anyway he is a good for nothing guy. Breaking all the rules and telling lies without blinking an eye. We shall see how far he will go when PR takes over.
written by banzai, September 14, 2008 18:57:59
Badawi said Home Minister sign ISA.
Home minister said police sign themselve.
Who is who?
written by J Dean, September 14, 2008 18:59:52
Fong your call for the review or abolishment of ISA is good and fine.

But you just prove to us all that you are being a racist. Your concern is only for Tan Hoon Cheng. What about others detained under ISA??? What about RPK, why you did not call for his release as well together with Teresa Kok!

Fikiran sempit ...

written by mikefonz, September 14, 2008 19:00:05
This Syed fella ought to put himself and Bodowi into ISA too now they feel the threat from the Rakyak. There's no cure for stupidity.
written by cheekhiaw, September 14, 2008 19:13:12
MCA Fool,

Every right minded Malaysian knows that this country is being run by a bunch of thieves, liars and murderers.

We do not need you to tell them that that is unacceptable.

What we would like you to do is to ask all your MPs to leave the government and join PR to form a future unity government with some semblance of decency.

Or is dissociating yourselves from thieves, liars and murderers unacceptable to you all?

written by pengembara, September 14, 2008 19:22:47
Datuk Seri

Please take your campaign for high post in MCA elsewhere.

We need people who are truly for the country and its people which definitely will not come out from MCA.

peace
written by Path Fighter To truth, September 14, 2008 19:35:01
I agreed with Fong The baldhead explaination is bushit. Lies after lies . See what foreingers write about the 49 M P who study faming in Taiwan. It is a disgrace to our people. See the majority of the press write. Digusting...Disgusting....Disgusting,,.
written by bexe, September 14, 2008 19:46:36
Where are all the other Leaders. I don't care what race or what party you are. What this dumb ass HM has done cannot be acceptable. Let us hear it from all of you. You are our appointee, so speak for us, do your duty! On top of all this Ahmad cannot be left off the hook because his remarks inflamed everyone.
written by lynn, September 14, 2008 20:12:39
oct, not IF.
WHEN Pakatan Rakyat forms the new govt., mamak shld be charged for attempted murder when Anwar was beaten senseless & left for dead.

I hope that botak arab has the cow sense to take good care of our precious RPK -they shld treat like royalty & give him 5-star treatment. Otherwise when the time comes, it will be our turn to give those creeps their turn to be detained & charged & left in a stinking cell with 15 other inmates who had no sex for the last few years!
written by Cyber DNA, September 14, 2008 20:28:11

BADAWI< NAJIB AND HAMID ALBOZO

NAJIB EXAMINES THE ISA ARRESTS SCENARIO AND ASKS --- "WHAT WENT WRONG"
written by cheguevara, September 14, 2008 20:30:53
Another crap and bull from syed botak.FCO...i doubt u have the ball to really go against ur bosses till u put them in action and..seems you are still color concious.we want people who stands up and talk for not only the tan's..but also for all the teresa kok's,rpk's, hindraf's and anyone who is being detained at the mercy of idiots and morons who runs the government under the cloak by the name of I.S.A...

hasta la victoria siempre
written by Msian Idol3, September 14, 2008 20:39:59
Where is our deputy Home Minister. He is so quiet & anyone cares to point out which party he represent. I myself think he is from the lap dog party. Maybe it is very important to be called deputy minister or maybe it is great fun to be working with a Bodoh Home Minister. Quit man. No point staying. Wheres your intergrity or are U going for the best lap dog bone award?
written by tokioRain, September 14, 2008 21:04:47
Dunno why this Home Ministry is home to the dumbest shithead in Umno. First we had that terrible Maidin mamak fella. Now this piece of arab-camel halfbreed shit. Albar is like a bull in a china shop. Look at the mess he created in the Foreign Ministry. Cant even defend a piece of rock against a red dot.
written by Compassion_Seeker, September 14, 2008 21:08:54
Dear FCO,
I felt ashamed with the statement made by your goodself as leader,you just speak on behalf of the reporter where the press she is attached to is an assosiate of your party(MCA),you don't even have the courtesy to mention Y.B.Teresa Kok and R.P.K. who are also the victim of this draconian law.Unlike the De facto Law Minister Zaid Ibrahim,he speak on behalf of Malaysian in general irrespective of race on this issue.
written by born2reign, September 14, 2008 21:14:42
Oh dear, I feel threatened by snatch thieves, rapists, racist politicians, racist UMNO, threatened by boss...I think the Home Minister should put me in ISA too! smilies/tongue.gif
written by Naha, September 14, 2008 21:30:29

MCA and Gerakan, go to hell with your appeasement soap operas.

Anybody here disagree with me when I say MCA and Gerakan are completely irrelevant and have become the other side of the coin of racist politics please vote me down.
written by nero287, September 14, 2008 21:43:55
Dear Datuk Foong,
I hope that you read this blog. Buzz off. I feel like spitting on your face. Still trying to use the old and jaded racial card. Many readers have asked, "What about the other detainees?". Malaysians have progressed whilst you buggers are living in a bygone era.

I totally agree with Naha that MCA and Gerakan are mere zombies and their UMNO masters completely overwhelm them. RPK and Theresa have guts and are people with principles, the very qualities that gutter politicians from UMNO, MIC, MCA and Gerakan will never have. So Datuk Foong, sir, with all due respect, **** off.
written by ultraman, September 14, 2008 22:04:39
Fong Chan Onn,
Now only you all can realise what is right and wrong! Is it just sandiwara?
I still do not trust MCA, Gerakan or MIC.
All these while, whatever is said by the minister, you all seemed to echo the answer with approval. If they say the earth was flat, many of you would nod the heads in approval!!! Ha!Ha!
written by SiHangChai, September 14, 2008 22:27:46
What is not acceptable with that statement from Syed Hamid? He is one of the most stupid and useless minister. Remember what he said when he was the foreign minister and now, .. the whole world is laughing at us for having a fool and 1/2 past 6 minister

Syed Hamid is a person who likes to twist and turn his words. When he is around, he will make up incredible stupid and nonsense excuse. Just like on the reporter. Wonder why than si saiful was not put under ISA when his life is being threaten too? When why that racist Ahmad was not put under ISA when so many people are going after him? Wonder why Syed Hamid didn't put himself under ISA when he has been the target from a majority of Malaysians for bias and putting Malaysia in wrong spotlight? He is the Syed Hamid ..the clueless brain Minister.
written by Jack Sparrow, September 14, 2008 23:02:23
An expected statement indeed, it has been a continual series of lame excuses that one could expect from kids in a kindergarden. There is no sense of intelligence at all for using the ISA detention to safeguard an individual from impending danger as claimed. What can't the statement of being taken under police custody for the purpose of safety of the individual and also with the agreement of that individual and this should be publically announced by that individual.

It is another squirm of snakes to "weasel" out of a blunder like so many other blunders, flips and flops and simply idiotical moves and statements ...... and they are supposed to be running a country !!! Gosh !! It is simply unbelievable. We just do not understand how we can be led by such a bunch.

written by Cyber DNA, September 14, 2008 23:20:39

HAMID ALBOZO FINALLY BEGINS TO THINK!
written by Semut Jantan, September 14, 2008 23:29:34
That stupid Yemeni Shit Humour said they put Tan under ISA to safe guard her because her life was threatened. Noble indeed.

When PR comes to power, the ISA detention centres will be over crowded starting from AAB, Najis...Shit Humour included because Anwar needs to safe guard them from harms way.

"I can tell you that the police need not refer to me. Under Section 73(1) it is under their discretion but they will let me know.

"I think there has not been any malice on their part," he said, adding also that if he interfered in police action, people would say there is a political motive."

After he made this statement, he answered another reporter's question by saying that there are no more ISA detainees.

The police is making the calls hah? Please come up with a better lie next time. Which college did you get your degree from, Yemen University?

AAB said Shit signed the ISA; Shit said the police signed the ISA.

I say, why don't let YB DSAI sign it once and for all?
written by PublicStranger, September 14, 2008 23:57:31
Useless Fong,

you have being in MCA for years as a good dog! i am not sure your intention to stand for Sin Chiew reporter is genuine from your heart or just wanna get more Chinese supporters. Halo you can be any puppet or puppy but cut all the crap! MCA is under UMNO. see this equation--> BN = UMNO (0 x MCA/MIC/Gerakan). If you really intended to help; then speak out for the remaining detainees. lets start with RPK and Teresa Kok! then other 60 detainees. Cannot? then keep your farking mouth shut! dont try to be innocent! fark your whole family! you useless cowards! you are just like a dog when Ahmad Ismail says 'pendatang'. you silly mother farker. If you cant do anything just keep you mouth shut and sleep in UMNO cage. I wont be that mad if you don't talk shit in your blog.
written by Fuminari, September 15, 2008 00:14:02
this fong is going for the umno dog party president post!that's why he got balls now!too little too late,umno mamang tak heranglah dengan dia!!
written by Fart Fart Wah, September 15, 2008 00:19:10
when ling ling shiok was filling his pockets you did not make noise.
the chinese were walloped ..licences taken away..banks, taxis, bus,.keep quiet

now you make noise........

this donkey does not know whether he is coming or going and trying to elak the issue. As a home minister he should know all the movements and decisions of the police as it is under his jurisdiction...

now he is playing possum..

THIS GUY CLAIMS TO BE A MUSLIM AND THIS IS THE FASTING MONTH..
AND DURING THE FASTING MONTH HE IS LYING.
AND HE IS MAKING INNOCENT PEOPLE SUFFER DURING THE FASTING MONTH
WHAT KIND OF FAST IS THIS???

THE OTHER FELLOW REFUSES TO APOLOGIZE..
HE CONTINUES TO ATTACK THE CHINESE WITH MORE WORDS..
HE IS ALSO A MUSLIM AND IT IS THE FASTING MONTH
IS THIS A MUSLIM????THIS IS WHAT RPK WANTS TO KNOW??
AMD WHY IS HE NOT IN ISA???

CAN YOU UMNO PIGHEADS EITHER PRACTICE ISLAM PROPERLY OR AT LEAST LET RPK PRACTISE IT WELL...
written by Apek, September 15, 2008 00:27:29
Datuk Seri Dr Fong Chan Onn, fasa "too little too late" adalah fasa yang sebaiknya mencerminkan pengataan-pengataan Datuk Seri. Sebenarnya, Datuk Seri TIDAK pernah dan TIDAK akan mewakili saya. Saya tidak membenarkan Datuk Seri untuk membuat sebarang kenyataan (walaupun kini berlogik sedikit) bagi pihak saya.

Saya tidak percaya bahawa Datuk Seri ini tidak diarahkan ataupun dibenarkan secara "tacit" untuk mempolarasikan Negara an Rakyat Malaysia dengan kenyataan-kenyataan sebegini. Saya sedia maklum dan percaya bahawa Encik Ahmad Ismail memainkan peranan yang sama seperti DPM pada tahun 1987 dimana DPM "dibenarkan" membuat kenyataan-kenyataan yang "seditious" dan yang mengamcam Negara tetapi dibenarkan berbuat demikian untuk menyelamatkan UMNO. Sama seperti dalam tahun 1987 "racial hatred" semestinya dibalas dengan "champion of the Chinese".

Adakah kamu memainkan peranaan En. Lee Kim Sai yang juga cukup "racist" kenyataannya dalam permainan "wayang kulit" anjuran Barisan Nasional yang kini tersempit?

Adalah saya menasihatkan supaya Datuk Seri mempertahankan Perlembagaan, "GoodConscience" dan undag-undang yang adil dan saksama demi Rakyat Malaysia dalam membincangkan pelupusan ISA dengan UMNO secepat mungkin. UMNO sudah dalam keadaan panik, gila dan tidak lagi waras mungkin sekali memerlukan nasihat yang waras. Bolehkah Datuk Seri beranikan diri untuk memberikan nasihat waras sebegini dalam cara MCA (yang selama ini dipertahankan)- iaitu berbincang terus dengan PM?
written by Catharsis, September 15, 2008 00:31:06
"Syed Hamid’s explanation that Tan was arrested under the Internal Security Act (ISA) because her life was under threat "

what a moronic explanation from our home minister
written by Fatcat, September 15, 2008 00:36:02
Kkakakkakakakakak.......
written by Catharsis, September 15, 2008 00:37:58
Syed Hamid you are a LIAR LIAR LIARLIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIARLIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIARLIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIARLIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIARLIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIARLIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIARLIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIARLIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIARLIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIARLIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR LIAR
written by Agahdemo, September 15, 2008 00:46:44
Mr Home Minister, please spare us the embarrassment of having a senior cabinet minister like you......Your explanation do not fit a three year old kid....

I am sure your children is ashamed for having a HP6 father like you......
written by southallman, September 15, 2008 00:58:08
Where did this BOTAK studied LAW
Which University awarded him his LAW Degree
Who were his tutors.

I did not think that some 30 years you could buy FAKE degrees .

If I was his LAW Tutor or governing body which awarded him his LAW Degree, I would one, be very very ashamed/disappointed with this BOTAK, two would nullify the law degree awarded to this BOTAK or three when he was a foreign minister aliens removed his BRAIN and replaced it with bull shit, so it is nobody's fault but the alien's that he has verbal diarehoa and talks cock .

written by denkoh, September 15, 2008 01:12:24

syed hamid albar is a beaver... he doesn't know a thing...
written by cheekhiaw, September 15, 2008 01:17:25
Pls don't insult the beavers.
They have more constructive abilities than that thief and liar.

written by Sylvia, September 15, 2008 01:35:16
Dr Fong,
If MCA leaders are given powers to voice opinions, MCA would not have lost so badly in 308. Keep it up!
Since Theresa Kok is also a Chinese,MCA should also make an effort to help her release from ISA.
MCA's duty is to take care of all chinese irrespective of who he/she is or which party he/she belongs to. So p[rove to us that MCVA really cares against all odds!
written by temenggong, September 15, 2008 02:03:19
Looks like a good kick in the ass gets the senses back and the brains functioning.

But its still too late now for MCA.
written by ATSaari, September 15, 2008 02:03:59
Syed Hamid Albar:
Satu contoh yang jelas KEBODOHAN yang melampaui lojik!
Bagaimana manusia yang jengkil dan tak berotak seperti ini dilantik untuk
menjaga keselamatan dalam negeri?
Melakukan penganiayaan, penipuan dan pengkhianatan di bulan Ramadhan yang mulia!

written by YMA_kuantan, September 15, 2008 02:20:37
We all agree with you MCA VP. So what's your next action?
written by Stupid me, September 15, 2008 07:36:08
Be careful of what you say Dr Fong.
The HM may arrest you under the ISA to protect you against any undesirable things happening to you like what they did to the Sin Chew newspaper reporter, as he is such a kind man and he is dessirous of doing good deeds.
He may on the other hand charge you for sedition as the words you utterd can be construed by him and company as having a seditious tendency.
written by Hello Keithy, September 15, 2008 12:05:12
Wah, sure or not ? Malaysian Cowards Association speaking out ? Trying to put up a wayang for the Chinese community to show P-O-W-E-R, ah ! I am afraid for your next behind-closed-door meeting with Tai Ko UMNO. Better cover your behind.
written by EYFF, September 15, 2008 15:19:31
The ISA as practice in the Country.

The problem is in the mal-application of the ISA and not the ISA itself: which had saved and served Malaysia well in time of terrorism!

What can one expect if any policeman that is in charge of a police station on his watch can press that big red switch in time of peace and instruct the SB to arrest anyone under the ISA!!

Do not have the false impression that the use/abuse of the ISA is always under the direct order of the Home Minister or is under his control! He is there just to take the shits and to try and explain why some irresponsible nut head pressed that switch best he could!

The ISA is the Swiss army knife of many police stations! All that is needed is for some little Hitler to issue the order to the SB and then to get a magistrate to sign the detention order within 72 hours to make it OK!

The tin star Hitler doesn’t even need to get his OCPD permission much less that of a Minister or Cabinet!

Hell that tin star Hitler could even arrest the PM or DPM under ISA if he has the gut or mad enough to do it and has 4 similar like minded nuts and a magistrate foolish enough to back them up!!! Oh yes and a black hood!