Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Police Should Give Explanation On Reporter's Arrest, Says Shabery

Police Should Give Explanation On Reporter's Arrest, Says Shabery PDF Print
Sunday, 14 September 2008 09:07

(Bernama) The police should give an explanation on the rationale behind the detention of Sin Chew Daily journalist, Tan Hoon Cheng, who was arrested under the Internal Security Act (ISA), said Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek.

He said it would be better if the police explaned the detention of Tan, instead of politicians giving their reasons.

He told this to reporters after attending a lantern carnival here Saturday night.

Also present was his deputy, Datuk Tan Lian Hoe.

Shabery said this in response to the statement made by Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar Saturday that Tan's detention was part of the police's swift action to ensure her safety after she received threatening calls.

Syed Hamid said police intelligence found the journalist's life to be under threat after she reported about Bukit Bendera Umno chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail's alleged racist remarks made during campaigning for the Permatang Pauh by-election last month.

However, Tan was released from the Penang police headquarters at about 2.30pm Saturday.

Shabery, who expressed gratefulness over the release of Tan, said the action clearly reflected that ISA detention was not a long-term punishment and was only to deter people from making statements that could jeopardise national security.

written by feleaz, September 14, 2008 09:13:10
It makes no difference at all. The reason given ( protection ) is an insult to the intelligence of Malaysians and a laughing stock to the foreigners.
agree 167
written by belljar, September 14, 2008 09:14:31
Wah, muhibah lah kononnya! Angkat tanglung to show how you appreciate Chinese culture. Good PR Move. Jangan lupa masa Deepavali, buat muruku kat Bt Caves, yea?
written by cubi76, September 14, 2008 09:18:32
Today, in this multicultural society, let's learn a bit about history to better understand each other - the origin of Mooncake or Mid-Autumn Festival, the tyranny oppression & ISA, the People Power, and Mid-Autumn Uprising. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mooncake

Coincidently, Mid-Autumn Festival falls in the same month as Ramadhan, which is meant to teach a person patience, sacrifice and humility.

In this great nation, we are fortunate that we can celebrate both festivals at the same time. We should be thankful and appreciate such an opporunity that we can unite, and live together happily. There are not many countries in the world are blessed as we are.

Tonight, let's celebrate the festivals together; Also, let us remember those whose rights were taken away to celebrate with us - RPK, Teresa, Hindraf, and many more.

Too, hope that those in power learn from history and mistakes, for nobody can never win over People Power!

Happy Mid-Autumn Festival;
Happy Ramadhan; and
Hidup Bangsa Malaysia!

written by BennyG, September 14, 2008 09:27:52
Yeah. Policemen, why don't you tell us the reasons?

Remember Ramlang Porigi. He was "instructed" to do his job and he bore the brunt of the people's fury. He decided to stand up and informed the people why he was there.

Policemen, since you were instructed to do your job and now your masters asked you to explain why.

DO SHARE WITH THE RAYKAT THE REAL REASON!!!
written by cubi76, September 14, 2008 09:31:31
Dear belljar

Mooncake Festival or better called Mid-Autumn Festival is not simply about lantern or mooncake. Lantern and mooncake are just the ceremony and tradition. There's true story behind it - about uprising of people against tyrant oppression during Mongol Dynasty. At that time, people were oppressed, there was no way people communicate to each other, so mooncake was used as platform of communication (notes were inserted into mooncake) and eventually the tyrant was overthrown.

Understand the true meaning now?
written by Msian 2, September 14, 2008 09:37:12
Shaberrii -- Now U know who is the moron in UMNO. There are more of such people in UMNO. BTW, you are very fortunate that U are not a moron yet but U are in the company of morons. So U better know what to do. Be a minister is one thing but to realize that u are in the company of morons, monkeys, thieves, liars & all bad things -- it is better to quit such company before you get subverted. In UMNO, U cannot speak for the good of all Msians, so why stay. Quit & join PR. Like I say you don't need the ministerial post to be a better person. At least do it for your family. U will not regret.
written by BennyG, September 14, 2008 09:38:39
Shabery, if you think people will forgive you when you ask the policemen to explain, think twice.

You're a coward. If you could not stand the people's furore (I believe all your neighbours are condemning you now), don't be in UMNO coz' every words that come from UMNOputras are idiotic at best and in this connected society all the bad & corrupted deeds (which cannot be justified) by BN are easily known.
written by talk2stop, September 14, 2008 09:59:27
I think detaining Ms Tan will confuse all jounalists what to report what not to. For crying out loud UMNO, please let people do what they are call to do. Reporters are whistle blowers and they are the best in policing the country. The West don't need a big police force because the press is doing 1/2 of their job. People like Ahmad do not respect the law. Criminal like him are more worry about bad publicity than the law.
written by kclim2, September 14, 2008 10:03:43
What protection are they talking about? Shouldn't Ahmad Ismail be kept behind bars to protect himself against any perceive threat against him if there is any?
written by Gasman, September 14, 2008 10:15:51
one moron says it's a punishment the other botak idiot said it's a protection. Wtf is going on? Enough of excuses and lies, we rakyat are not so stupid.
I can't wait for DSAI to take over.
written by IbnAbdHalim, September 14, 2008 10:27:06
Shabery, who expressed gratefulness over the release of Tan, said the action clearly reflected that ISA detention was not a long-term punishment and was only to deter people from making statements that could jeopardise national security.

Hoi! You missed the plot. Who made statements that could jeopardise national security? You all UMNO craps are the same. You sound muck like Hamid, the Yemeni Bedouin.
written by lamakawan, September 14, 2008 10:50:39
Shabery said,...."......that ISA is not a long term punishment but a short term detention..........". So does this mean that when police need to detain any person they use ISA to detain them? In the first place does police understood the objectives of ISA? If not, then they are abusing their powers and utilising any law to suit their whims and fancies. The authorities must ensure that any law enforcement agency fully understood and observe the implications of the law before they apply them in any situation. Otherwise the repurcussions may be ugly when interpreted by different people.
written by Engineer, September 14, 2008 11:15:59
Shabby Cheek don't play pass the ball.

The gomen is responsible and should give full responsibility to the Rakyat and international communities otherwise let PR form the new gomen.

written by apanama, September 14, 2008 11:18:44
takpayah lah shabbery. your gomen is under police control.
the gomen appointed wrong people to implement wrong law to catch the wrong people. it's already clear. botak already told everyone.

sabbery: if someone wants to rape your daughter,
you ask the police to catch your daughter under ISA lah
to protect her.
meanwhile, the rapist-to-be will just happily wait outside your house
waiting for your daughter to come back home again.

what else you want to hear from the police?
the ISA is being abused all the time.
written by devious17, September 14, 2008 12:05:04
"Syed Hamid said police intelligence found the journalist's life to be under threat after she reported about Bukit Bendera Umno chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail's alleged racist remarks made during campaigning for the Permatang Pauh by-election last month."

Why the fark "protect" the journalist when it was one of umno's goons who made the "shoot to kill ala umno barbarian style" ?? Shouldn't the police (hiding behind pendatang arab hamid albar) be going after that umno idiot instead? or perhaps PRDM didnt have the courage to go after their masters kaki pukul bodoh sombong?
written by Malaysiaputra, September 14, 2008 12:10:19
Shabery said this in response to the statement made by Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar Saturday that Tan's detention was part of the police's swift action to ensure her safety after she received threatening calls.
======

Logic would call for Ahmad Ismail's detention under ISA instead of the reporter's detention.
written by wangchung, September 14, 2008 13:06:06
Mr Shabery, good showmanship. You should receive an Oscar for this drama. Stop lying. We know that you are in this in this sandiwara all the time. smilies/angry.gif
written by anakperlis, September 14, 2008 13:11:33
Shabery, don't talk off la, your BN/UMNO all penipu, sat to said that Malaysia don have Oscar award, otherwise, all BN/UMNO penipu will receive their best actors awards.
written by ROBERTNGTG, September 14, 2008 15:37:21
Police Should Give Explanation On Reporter's Arrest, Says Shabery

YOU ARE A PITIFUL LOT. FROM MINISTER OF INFORMATION TO MISINFORMATION TO DISINFORMATION. WHATEVER LAH. YOU ONLY NEED TO PARROT "ITS THE END" FROM NOW ON.
written by Wudan, September 14, 2008 15:39:29
(Bernama) The police should give an explanation on the rationale behind the detention of Sin Chew Daily journalist, Tan Hoon Cheng, who was arrested under the Internal Security Act (ISA), said Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek.
===================================================

Depa suruh tangkap, kita tangkap. Depa suruh kita lepas, kita lepas. Apa lagi nak explain? Aku acting IGP aje. Bodoh punya menteri.
written by OMARZ, September 14, 2008 15:54:49
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif haha Shabery Cheeky man
written by mikewang, September 14, 2008 18:56:15
Stupid! stupid! stupid!

You don't arrest someone under ISA under the pretense of protecting the person.
Don't you arrest AAB and Najib ?
No, right? but you are giving protecting to them every day!

Botak,
Just admit that you goofed and had to back pedal.
written by Sabahfan, September 14, 2008 21:42:37
Shaggery... trying to taLK nice are you?

If you believe that it was wrong to detain the reporter, then resign immediately from UMNO.... stop bulllshittting.

we are all convince innocent people are arrested just becos U guys have problem within UMNO. If there are internal power struggle within UMNO, then all your leaders should arm yourself with your kris and stab one another, but leave us innocent people OUT of your internal quarrels....

If the police wanna protect the reporter then arrest under ISA the source of the threat, not the victim of the threat... soooo stupid aaah?

We dont believe you anymore, even if my own father stands for BN, sorry i will throw rotten eggs at his face....

Free Teresa NOW or else your future is gone....
written by YMA_kuantan, September 15, 2008 04:04:16
The police should give an explanation on the rationale behind the detention of Sin Chew Daily journalist, Tan Hoon Cheng, who was arrested under the Internal Security Act (ISA), said Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek.

Kan Menteri Dalam Negeri dah kata beliau ditangkap sebab nyawanya terancam. Kemudian dibebaskan setelah memberi kerjasama kepada polis. Tiba-tiba nyawanya tidak lagi terancam.