Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Malaysians endangered in their homeland

Malaysians endangered in their homeland PDF Print
Sunday, 14 September 2008 00:16
Malaysians are unsafe in their own homeland. Fears and threats dominate their lives.

At home we sleep with tightly bolted doors, grills, alarms, watchdog and watchman for fear of a robbery.

On the streets we walk with handbags clutched for fear of being snatched and in the process, brutally injured.

We dart across car parks for fear of being raped.

We are reluctant to speak our mind for fear of drummed up charges and being detained under ISA.

Freedom of speech has become fear of speaking out for truth and justice. Peaceful assemblies is a nay-nay here as the police will always 'advise' that it can get out of control.

Editors of main stream media have daunting daily tasks of making sure they fray no coats.

While progressive nations are re-discovering the meaning and power of democracy and rule of law in a liberalizing world, we are being driven into our moles with fears of racial and religious clashes.

Everyday we are psy-wared into thinking and acting not as Malaysians but as people of different ethnic origins and with unequal rights.

While this young nation has some four million ethno-linguistic native groups, we only talk of Malays, Chinese and Indians.

When nations all over the globe are having dialogs we are stifling out of fears of racial riots.

While politicians across the planet are talking of minority rights and racial integration out of respect and acceptance, we are drumming "these are sensitive and dangerous".

In the final analysis, ordinary Malaysians live in fear in their own homeland. Are we not prisoners of this new war?

J. D. Lovrenciear

Semenyih

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by Motherchell, September 14, 2008 00:42:28
WHO ARE the TERRORISTS??? The ruling Party members, the UMNOPUTRAS and their cronies , if i have to give you details -- it will go into volumes , but let me give you some in a nutshell.

1)The US was silent about the ISA for sometime , because --- the Fascists at Putrajaya appeased the US with the nomenclature ----"War on Terror"

2)So the Good GUYs are chained at Kamunting while the rapists , murderers , scums roam the streets and cause terror and fear in Malaysia .

3)ISA--- is linked totally with MONEY ---WHY? a little bit of SCOMI SDN BHD, They shut the Sri Lankan Businessman as a fall guy to cover the tracks for what the US would tear them apart with regard to Nuclear scams . The funny thing is -- this guy was released with no questions asked -- and God knows where he is now! --- may be -- his bones may still be at the Sepang C4 Testing area.

4) The Ruling elite are down in the dumps, with their investments and stock prices hitting the sewage tanks . The banks are choking them --- so the best they know is to stay in power to steal from us to cover their losses (Where will millions come from ) and the scum of a Dy. Finance Minister uses a calculator with no batteries included.--- and how will they keep our mouths shut???---------------- with the ISA.

So -- we know know where the Terrorists are ??

Voila!
agree 141
written by fireduck, September 14, 2008 00:44:35
Malaysians are a lucky lot. This country is so safe. This country is so safe that you can do anything you want without fear of any repercusions!

But that applies only to those UMNO/BN Ministers! In any other country, even like our Asean neighbours, these obnoxious Ministers would have been chased out of office by the masses, for the injustices they continue to lay upon the citizens. In some countries they are even forced OUT of the country.

So, lucky for them, Malaysians are a real peace-loving lot. They can be poked, branded and corraled like cattle, and yet, they just quietly go along. But as an agricultural student, I have witnessed bulls fighting back when the branding iron goes onto them. But that's animal science lah.
written by wali10, September 14, 2008 00:49:47
we need to disband UMNO, MIC, MCA and all other single-ethnic political parties. We train social intergration of our generation and future generations in schools but the govt re-encouraged racial polarisation among teenagers in their post-schooling years!

we need to reorientate our priorities.
written by Ben, September 14, 2008 00:51:01
JD, if you choose to accept your fate and continue to write in the shadows of your own guilt and apathy, then you are a prisoner. However, if you choose to be like RPK then you will never be a prisoner. They may break you bones but never the spirit. So which amongst the above are you? Come a new dawn 70% Malaysians will be walking behind RPK and PR leaders, the other 20% will wake up soon enough while the balance 10% will continue to crawl in the shadow of fear.
written by Fuminari, September 14, 2008 01:01:16
ISA is a mockery to the malaysia democracy which make it 'false'!it is a 'law' of whims n fancy.
written by southallman, September 14, 2008 01:11:25
Malaysia Boleh Book of Records

Tan a journalist held under ISA for the shortest time
Theresa Kok 1st female parlimentarian held under ISA
Pete .. does he also qualify for this record book
written by farah, September 14, 2008 01:14:46
Malaysia social issues had piled up over the years as our BN politician busy save gurd their own interest.

So long present UMNO BN rules the country, you'll see more disasters only.
The only to wipe offf the bad air among RAKYAT, we need to have a brand new government.
written by HamChak, September 14, 2008 01:20:11
Aiya, this is not something new, ma.
Long time ago, I already said that the
Gomen of BolehLand are like Terrorists to the
Raayats. The Police, judicial and the Gomen
all behave like Terrorists lor. Why are you all
so surprise ah? These sort of Nonsences started during
that TehTarik's era and still continuing.
Anyway, I am on my way to London tomorrow.
ISA me lah, if you got the bola, Syed Hamid bin atang.
written by boeytahan, September 14, 2008 01:23:59
Well, J.D.Lovrenciear,

You really put the question rightfully at Syed Hamid who is the enforcer of sorts. He also flips and flops like Badawi. He was baited into this position of Home Affairs by Badawi because of his well worths in the laws. But he just flips and answered just like Badawi when he's conered. Just like the case in the ISA on the Sin Chew senior journalist.

Badawi knew that this position is not his meat and so reluctantly passes over the baton to him to see how he squeezes his pendilium. But, he thinks that he's liberal into enforcing whatever he thinks fit to save Umno's souls. But, alas that MM came into the picture out of the horizon and Syed Hamid just doesn't know whom to please to allow him to stay in power. His days are numbered as whether 916 do happen or not but he's getting very unpopular as days goes by.

Badawi will cling his life on the Umno tight rope but we just doesn't know he will previal with the MM grabbing at the collar behind his throat. I would prefer none of them to be in the scene as we have an alternative of DSAI who might just do the trick in just a short moment or precisely this month.

Draconian laws to protect the public or those goons? The public will answer that without enxiety. We are already into the 21st century and it seems that we were dreaming that we were in the 60's. When can we learn? Can't we be equals and be progressive instead of being divided and just to look whether I can achieve or you could. After 51years, we haven't achieved anything but bitterness.

You said NEP but we said MEP. MEP is very new but we can forsee that it would jack us up in no time cause of un-corrupted stance whereas, NEP since 70's didn't helped many Malays but as rightly said only cronies to enrich themselves just to usher the Malays for their so-called agendas. Rural and Grassroots Malays has woken-up with DSAI's explanation of what the so-called NEP.

Look at how Hindraf sites have posted about the gross financial gains of the Umnoputras in their blog. Each Ministers of warlords have tens or hundreds of million in their personnel accounts. Mind you! that form of proof are from bank statements which we can see in the blogs.

MM did enquire that these people are hidding certain blogspere as he can't identify them. I don't comment from Hindraf blogs but I am hidding under the sarong of YMM Raja Petra Kamaruddin who is under ISA this moment.

Yes MM, did one of the Media associated one of your sons (name not disclosed) having siphoning some billions from the Indonesian Joint Venture with Maxis lately? Maybe the media misquoted those misdeeds but I believed that I personally have read it about 3weeks ago in the net. Why, is it going to be occuring for generations since you were quoted Mr10% by the Japanese in your look East policy. Why doesn't they(Japanese) quoted someone else?

And lastly, what kind of politics is Malaysia in? Now you see me now you don't. You drew your kris against Kuli but now what are you trying to impelement? Do you really want Umno to fight among themselves untill every avenue is exhausted before you go to your graveyard? That is divisive!!! Just only among Malays!

A very straightfoward thinking is that if Umno's Captain can't steer this Titanic in a straight course, and to prevent it from sinking, then PAKATAN RAKYAT's Captain would be flown by helicoptor into the ocean to change Captain to save it from further distress! We are all for Malaysians and we must not be selfish! To be on the fair side, if PAKATAN RAKYAT doesn't steer it's course to an unstormy weather, then off course the rakyat knows which Captain is more capable for the TITANIC.

Well, Syed Hamid, all has been said and I request that you release all those that were in ISA including those latest admitted and we presumely start a new agenda for all Malaysians and to reorganise that British draconian and reorganise another new law to detain those who are really a national threat under our own Malaysian concept.
written by PAKRAK, September 14, 2008 01:33:30
The Barisan government is so afraid of losing power to PR that they have to use ISA as the last resort to instill fear in the rakyat and opposition politicians.
The more wicked actions they do, the more the rakyat will hate them.They just don't accept the fact that UMNO/Barisan is already REJECTED by the rakyat.
written by micon02, September 14, 2008 01:44:48
Nurul Izzah diserang

SIAPA PUNYA ANKARA

Ahli Parlimen Lembah Pantai, Nurul izzah Anwar diberitakan telah diserang oleh sekumpulan lelaki ketika melawat Pasar ramadan dikg. Kerinci jam 5 petang tadi.

aktivis parti, Sdr. Partibhan, Sdr Amin mian dan beberapa lagi pendokong keadilan Lembah Pantai telah cedera dibelasah ketika cuba menyelamatkan Nurul Izzah. Beliau kini selamat.

Siasatan sedang dibuat untuk mengenalpasti identiti penyerang.

Berita lanjut akan menyusul.

PDRM will delay the investigation...for sure

http://perakexpress.com/
written by Lim Lim, September 14, 2008 01:56:35
if u should hav gone thro' that syed botak press statement about why Tan hoon cheng was detained,he was in fact uttering nonsense!!whose leg was this goon trying to pull??guess this is the only land on this planet where by an individual was arrested under the internal security act as such to protect her from harm!!!imagine this sort of stuff came out from a minister ;who does not speak with a 'straight' mouth but inclined with lies n tyranny!!malaysia is being run by jus a bunch of barboons n apes equivalent made up,so shall we place our future with these racist,lowlife,liars,robbers,thieves n incompetence??
written by Fat Zorro, September 14, 2008 03:21:05
written by malsia1206, September 14, 2008 01:00:39

I would think you are painting a poor impression of this country. Sure, all the crimes you mentioned are happening in other metropolitan cities as well. You need to remember Malaysia is the only country in this region that is unique with all the different races, cultures, religions and indigenous groups. So the laws are different. They need to be different. Honestly many of us are still proud to be Malaysians despite the shortcomings. Few politicians may try to ruin the 'Malaysian Dream' for us and they have their personal agendas. By far and large, you could safely say this is a safe country and the rakyat intermingle well in most aspects.

Malsia1206, you either live in Mars or you are an ostrich burying your head in the sand pretending everything is alright in Malaysia...as if you not aware of the increasing unsolved crimes committed in Malaysia and the draconian leaders in the government we have. Ever heard other progressive countries having and still keeping govt leaders who gets away with murder, literaly?
written by southallman, September 14, 2008 04:21:58
Demonstrations – violence – bloodshed is not a smart thing
Doing nothing is also not a smart thing
Doing smart things do matter, lets do smart things that matter

Fear is an emotional response to threats and danger
Fear is illusory; it cannot live...Courage is eternal, it will not die.

ISA is used to instill fear on peace loving Malaysians by our elected Gomen
If 10, or 100 or a 1000 or 10,000 courageous Malaysians (Malays, Chinese, Indians and others) were to offer themselves to be detained under ISA, the fear factor used by the Gomen’s Nazis will be rendered useless for we will not fear this instrument of fear anymore. Kamunting a.k.a Guantanamo Bay II of the East is not large enough to hold /process and feed this courageous Malaysians.

The world will take notice and focus will be on caring Islam Hadhari gomen.
written by Tan Tan, September 14, 2008 05:10:39
I cannot agreed more what being said in this article. We already in danger and in fear. Sometimes make me why we have to be like this.

Government and police force suppose to give us security but not the case in Malaysia.

In Malaysia, we practice all the best religion in the world. Islam, Christianity, Buddism, Hindusm and so on.

How come we can't practice a good way of life?
written by Tom n Jerry, September 14, 2008 07:22:15
Well written article JD;but all these only valid until 16 september 2008;when PR takes over then the scenario is totally different;we will be on the other shore,meaning life will take on a whole new concept smilies/grin.gif
written by msiaman, September 14, 2008 07:45:12
Nye,

I think the rakyat knows about the suffering of Malay people in terms of financial position. You quoted farmers and construction industry. These are more of strategic handling of country's core industry. They need not be race based. If some cartel from a particular race controls the supply of construction material, don't you think it will not benefit the whole country and not just a particular race? Just like the same analogy, the UMNOputras have in control of a lot of wealth, does it benefit the whole Malay race they champion?
The same applies that the tauke of construction and their wealth would not benefit an ordinary people.

So, do not see everything as race based. MARA and other schemes are good but they were seriously flawed in implementation mainly because of such thinking that links everything to race envy.

Get wise now, race is not a family, some super rich fello will not share his wealth to their own race only. The poor is still the poor irrespective of race. This ideology has been the problem of the country and don't bring this up to make everything race related....
written by msiaman, September 14, 2008 07:55:18
By the way, do you think the way these UMNOputras getting the project allocation without tender as halal? And by the way, have they distributed these unfair gains to their other brothers?
Do you think the UMNOputras put in control of specific trade does not enrich themselves as the Chinese? Just look at the AP Kings.

Again, this is greed and it is more color blind than you think. So do not link everything to race. When you have more knowledge and skills, your mindset will be different. Problem of our NEP implementation is that they always focus on the other races as the spectre seemingly to 'encourage' the Malays which to me is a total failure. They ended up wanting the wealth but want it the easy way. They only see the paved road that is nice to use and they have completely ignored the process and hard work of building the road.
written by Fat Zorro, September 14, 2008 08:41:00
Nye, you got to take your case and grievances to UMNO and bash UMNO. We are all for helping the poor. Look at Terengganu. Rich in oil but the rakyat in Terenganu, mainly Malays are still very poor. Go to the kampungs in Terengganu and ask yourself why are the rakyat in Terengganu is so poor even though it has been under BN for so long? Who is siphoning the wealth of Terengganu and Malaysia? Cant be just the "particular race" as the country is governed by UMNO and its MCA and MIC cronies?
written by malsia1206, September 14, 2008 09:19:26
Fat Zorro, if the situation is bad in Malaysia, surely living in Mars would be a better option instead? I'm surprised you read my post to give you the 'Ostrich' impression. Unless you have been missing all my other posts in many other threads in MT during the past 20 months.
written by talk2stop, September 14, 2008 09:30:13
Malaysia is better than Australia if you believe me. Malaysia is very good in removing the middle man.
Corruption removed all the middle man and paper work. Something goes wrong you pay direct to the person that receiving it. How good can you get?
In Malaysia if you want a permit for business you just get the right connections. In Australia you go through hell. Tell me about it I set up a chinese restaurant here. From health issue to parking issue it is an endless list.
In Australia if you want to get into uni, you need this and you need that and more. It kills your motivation to study harder. In Malaysia all you have to do is that you are UMNO if not your colour will entitle you to enter.
Malaysians need not care about the enviroment, health system, congestion,smog etc
Australians have separate bins for recycle and not suppose to use our wood heater becasue of smog.
Ther are more people per capital in Australia complaining about Kevin Rudd than in Malaysia complaining about Badawi.
Kevin Rudd will never agree with my opinion saying he is a dickhead.
Malaysia is a totally free country. You can be a drug dealer, robber, con artist and get away with it. Adam Smith's theory at work in Malaysia, the invisible hand.
In Australia I can't even pray with my loud speaker on. While everyone cranking up AC/DC songs. And Australia is suppose to be free.
Now you tell me Australia is still better than Malaysia. Not even near. I starting to regret not migrating to Pakistan. Where I would have play cricket with Imran Khan.
written by chiongguo, September 14, 2008 11:03:26
Nye wrote :

People complain of government contracts being given to the Malays but no one tells the truth that 70% of the value of these contracts are benefitted by the ‘particular race’. Does this ‘particular race’ want to monopolise the 100% so that the Malays will remain in the padi fields and kampongs as it was in the 1960’s.

But what is the truth ? You are so wrapped up in your own prejudices and narrow view that you see everything through the lens of race.

The chinese who bought the machinery, the building material supplies etc. had to get the money from somewhere to finance their operation. Where do you think they get their money from ? The banks. Go and do your homework how many banks are owned by the chinese.

The various banks were "forced" to merge by Mahathir after singapore did the same. Singapore argued that the local banks can never compete with foreign banks which were huge. So they forced the banks to merge. Mahathir which seem to borrow one ideas after another without thinking through the ideas followed suit.

Don't forget also the chinese took the risk to buy the heavy machinery and because of that you can also find amongst the bankrupts many who were chinese.

written by Malaysiaputra, September 14, 2008 12:21:33
written by southallman, September 14, 2008 01:11:25

Malaysia Boleh Book of Records

Tan a journalist held under ISA for the shortest time
Theresa Kok 1st female parlimentarian held under ISA
Pete .. does he also qualify for this record book

====

Isn't RPK the first blogger ever arrested under ISA ?.
written by MalaysianUnited, September 14, 2008 14:47:50
The various banks were "forced" to merge by Mahathir after singapore did the same. Singapore argued that the local banks can never compete with foreign banks which were huge. So they forced the banks to merge. Mahathir which seem to borrow one ideas after another without thinking through the ideas followed suit.

_______________________________________________________ __________________________

Is all about to compete and became stronger nation dude..if
Mahathir didnt think or just follow..we are already died..what say u?..

written by born2reign, September 14, 2008 16:30:50
Nye wrote: When government construction contracts are awarded to the Malay companies , almost 70% of the cash outflows are made to businesses controlled by this ‘particular’ race. This is because all the heavy machinery are owned by them and they hire out these machineries to the Malay businesses. Construction materials are also controlled by this ‘particular’ race. People complain of government contracts being given to the Malays but no one tells the truth that 70% of the value of these contracts are benefitted by the ‘particular race’. Does this ‘particular race’ want to monopolise the 100% so that the Malays will remain in the padi fields and kampongs as it was in the 1960’s.

I agree with you the statistics are probably accurate. I have worked in several PLC and all have chairmans on their Boards who have no idea about running of the company. The 70% contracts gone to non-bumi companies is because the Bumiputera companies CHOOSE TO GIVE the contracts to non-bumis. They have a choice of going to the bank, hiring their mangement team, deal with operationa issues, deal with HR issues, deal with legal issues, but the bumis choose not to. They CHOOSE to take their 10% -20% and buy house and cars and boats. They CHOOSE not to buy equipment and spend sleepless nights with cashflow problems.

Nye, you are barking up the wrong tree. If one brother choose to squander away his inheritance and another invests wisely in businesses, should the foolish brother then blame the prudent brother that he took away his (foolish brother's) rights and suppressed him? No one put a gun at these bumi directors' heads and force them to contract out the 70%. Today business is global, companies with foresight are already doing businesses globally. Are you going to suck your thumb and winge that the financial world is controlled by the Mat Sallehs, the IT world by Indians, manufacturing by Chinese, the stereotype goes on...

Grow up, nobody in the world owes you a living. You want to do business, then start some, fail some and probably you may succeed at some.
written by MalaysianUnited, September 14, 2008 17:09:10
agree with u born2reign,

not only in non-malay companies, but in bumi companies too. This lazy bone citizen only want to came on meeting, talk some..bla bla bla..and go home early. Even in gov sector.

But, some have to face it..as this group have M.O.N.E.Y..

smilies/smiley.gif
written by jereylow, September 14, 2008 19:38:58
UMNO's top leadership now is more dangerous than JI or Bin Laden in Malaysia. To all MPs whether you are from BN or PR, it is time to take them down, before they do major damage to our beloved country and relationships with countries that have FDI in this country.