Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Let court decide, says DAP

Let court decide, says DAP PDF Print
Saturday, 13 September 2008 17:49

By NG CHENG YEE, The Star

PETALING JAYA: The DAP will take the arrest of Seputeh Member of Parliament and Selangor senior executive councillor Teresa Kok to court.

The party will let the court decide whether the detention is justifiable and lawful, said party legal bureau chairman Gobind Singh Deo.

He said the party would meet to discuss the formation of a legal team, which would submit a habeas corpus application to the court for her release in the next few days.

We are adamant and head-strong in our view that this entire detention is completely malicious and mala fide (in bad faith).

We will take an application to court and let it decide. We will fight right to the end,” he said Saturday at a press conference at the DAP headquarters here. He said Teresa was not given any specific reason for her arrest.

She is being detained because she is involved in activities that stoke racial and religious tension. It was just a general statement,” he said.

Teresa’s 74-year-old father Kok Kin Tong, who was present at the press conference, said he was very unhappy with the Government because there were no words at all from the police that informed him about his daughter’s arrest.

I have no information on whether my daughter is alive, dead or has been kidnapped. My question is where is my daughter?

If my daughter was kidnapped, I would at least get a call from the kidnapper to ask for ransom but I received no calls from the police until now,” he said.

Teresa is Kin Tong’s eldest daughter with his wife Pong Seh Kwan, 71, who was also at the press conference.

written by KUMON, September 13, 2008 17:56:18
Can DAP sue the cops for kidnapping then? smilies/cry.gif

This act is ridiculous and will hasten BN's fall.
written by miwaki, September 13, 2008 18:20:02
Hamid,release all ISA detainees now.If your life is not perfect without ISA being used against peace loving people like Raja Petra,Teresa Kok and journalist such as Ms Tan of Sin Chew,I suggest you can use it on some other people who are really a threat to the security of our nation.First one in my mind is mad cow of Penang,the rest are your buddies who are cock fighters.

It is ashame that you need Uncle Sam to warn our country before you release one of the detainees.Do you need second warning to release another one ? How come you are so slow in your actions ? Can't you be more efficient ?
written by uncleleow, September 13, 2008 18:33:56
May the force be with her and all the God in this world protect her.
written by Raymond, September 13, 2008 18:38:59
Folks, do not act in any way that UMNO can project as a racial confrontation against the supremacy of the Malays. This means no rally and large gathering in protest of the UMNO despicable acts. This is exactly what they want to declare a state of emergency and impose martial law. Teresa will not be harmed in the next few days. They wont risk that. The market will likely slip downwards on Monday. the best thing now is to let DAP & opposition use all legal means to settle this. We must be patient, and allow UMNO to destroy itself within, and it will happen fast with Mahathirs return. We must not let their destructive actions, be sidelined through diversion to racial dissents. Let's them fight internally on the UMNO premiership.
written by loosecannon, September 13, 2008 18:58:10
Don't forget to sue the pants off that loser and corrupt racist dentist who crawled up from the Sulu sea who started it all with his lies.
written by justme bc, September 13, 2008 18:58:49
This bald head so called Home Minister is making a fool of the whole BN regime once again, the whole world is laughing on their stupidity, they have proven time and again that they do not have the brains to run the government of the day.

We demand the release of bro Pete and our belove Teresa Kok immediately!!!!!!

Cheers anak bangsa malaysia.
written by ahmadneil, September 13, 2008 19:35:51
This is too much. I don't blame the parents for losing their cool.Even though I don't know her personally,after reading this,my blood boils.How can they take away somebody without telling where they are taking her.Are we a communist state?
written by T Square, September 13, 2008 20:05:41
Hitler's assistant Goebbler used to say "if you lie long enough, people will eventually believe it to be the truth".

And that is the philosophy BN ruling elite subscribes to.

Guess what happen to the Nazis?

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/177/422436172_8e24ca5b50.jpg?v=0
http://flickr.com/photos/68391597@N00/422436172/
written by Tom n Jerry, September 13, 2008 20:07:40
The way I see it this BN has gone nuts;really lost because they are also going to be derailed in few days time;so they cant think rationally;talk sensibly or behave in humane manner;how pathetic!
written by ez24get, September 13, 2008 20:20:46
Teresa Kok is detained under the ISA to protect her because Syed Hamid Albar feared for the safety of her life after she called to lower the volume of the Azan call.

She will have a longer "protection" period because the threat to her life was more serious!
written by Ben, September 13, 2008 21:12:13
I must congratulate you, DAP, for having the presence of mind to take legal action. You have set a good example on how we respect the laws of the land. Not just say it but do the opposite.

Despite the mala fide detention of your esteem colleague, you chose to present your case in court unlike the gomen, as proven in the ISA arrests. Your faith in the Judiciary is another testament to your willingness to be subjected to the laws of Malaysia. Therefore, as voters we must endsure that the Judiciary is independant and sacrosanct, beyond pride and prejudice. We must protect and uphold this branch zealously if we are to have any hope of justice. Go and sign the petition now. http://www.petitiononline.com/...i?6ai18u26
written by mykantree, September 13, 2008 21:40:26
I hope that the people of Kota Tinggi now realize that they have voted in a monster, who is brain dead, as their MP. people from Kota Tinggi should petition their MP to stop this ISA nonsense immediately. Then remember to ensure that he is out the next time around.
written by Dominic, September 13, 2008 22:44:37
Let us make sure all those predator of justice be held under ISA when PR take over. Spare no one and let them taste their own medicine. To rot in jail and burn in hell,thats sure is fitting !