Swan song? PDF Print
Saturday, 13 September 2008 12:50

I have been told by qualified sources that I me be included in the next round of ISA arrests. I am not afraid of what this government might do to stifle dissent and squash the hopes of people for change.

This is a repeat of Ops Lalang. But this time the situation is different. Malaysians are generally united. Pakatan Rakyat has given people hope. Those who feel threatened by BN/UMNO crude and crass racial politics have a viable alternative in the leadership of Anwar Ibrahim and the Pakatan Rakyat coalition.

It is immensely foolish of the government to take this action. The internatinal community would have zero tolerance for the affront to democracy and free speech. It would have a tough time convincing people that

When I joined this movement I knew that this day would certainly come. When I learned how to blog at the ripe age of 68, I felt I was born again - and I had a chance to say many things which I had kept inside for my entire life. I have been honest and forthcoming with you, my readers.

God willing this will just be a minor detour on our march to Putrajaya.

DIN MERICAN

written by Fatcat, September 13, 2008 12:59:46
""..... If freedom of speech is taken away then dumb and silent we may be led, like sheep to the slaughter"" George Washington.
agree 129
written by BORN FREE, September 13, 2008 13:06:15
Hidup Reformasi !
We are with u & all those detained under ISA!
We will say prayers for u all ! Be Strong & Tough !
written by cheekhiaw, September 13, 2008 13:09:42
They may rob them from others but democracy and freedom of speech were not invented by thieves, liars and murderers.

written by 1351, September 13, 2008 13:09:52
Greetings Pak Din,

HIghly likely Idiot is getting bad counsel - bad enough there are renegades in the ranks, in comes a Melayu wannabe to pile it on.

And speaking of Idiot - ini Raya ada balik Penang ka ?

My humble apologies for any untowards,
written by sjs, September 13, 2008 13:11:39
A PERFECT UMNO LEADER

•Paralyzed BRAIN of Abdullah Badawi
•SEX-craving body of Najib Razak
•HEARTless like Musa Hasan
•KRIS-raising arm of Hishamuddin
•Bad-MOUTH like Ahmad Shabery

Finally this product has to be moulded to perfection, where unwanted HAIR is removed, brain shaved, ARMS of LAW twisted, when it comes out as a true evil call SYED HAMID!

This evil being that we created, that we forgot to adjust the vocal chord, Mukhriz, sighed, why everything has to BYPASS Mahathir!

My fellow Malaysians, the evil in me still has some good left. Hence I have not involved the late Khairy’s name, for he is buried today at his home town!

LET KHAIRY REST IN PEACE!
written by ahmadneil, September 13, 2008 13:13:27
Tell BN they just lost my vote.
written by Ben, September 13, 2008 13:14:15
Our Father, who art in heaven,
Hallowed be thy Name.
Thy kingdom come.
Thy will be done,
On earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread.
And forgive us our trespasses,
As we forgive those who trespass against us.
And lead us not into temptation,
But deliver us from evil.
For thine is the kingdom,
and the power,
and the glory,
for ever and ever.
Amen.

Father God, please protect your saints as they fight oppression and evil. Just as you favour David when he slayed Goliath. They need Your strength and wisdom now and forever more. Help them to deliver us from the pharaohs and lead us into the promise land. In Jesus name we pray, amen.
written by temenggong, September 13, 2008 13:18:16
Why would they want to arrest a 68 year old retired intellectual?

Unless they are crazy of course!
written by Iliyas, September 13, 2008 13:19:50
If speaking the truth for the sake of humanity.nationalism,equality,fairness, justice,religion and people's rights puts you in jail and charged under this draconian ISA,then the Government has erred in it's responsibility and cannot handle the truth.

A government is not only judged from within but,but in the international arena.
written by panca, September 13, 2008 13:23:52
Din, if U r next, it does not come as a surprise. They are brainless, so clueless that will even shoot at anything that moves, for they fear those who speak and stand up for truth and justice.

They can't lock truth and justice away. It will always be what right-minded Rakyat stands united for and never will be taken away from us, to be progressive Malaysians.
written by PakItam, September 13, 2008 13:24:34
Pak Din,

Throughout my entire working life, ie from the end of the 80s until now, I am so so so so sick and tired of the endemic level of corrupt practices amongst the govt, party officials, local govt especially as these are the people I come in close contact with. An alternative government shows me that glimmer of hope that honest people out there who slog day in and out to make an honest living do not have their piece of the pie gobbled up by these sick, lazy officials who, for a paltry sum, have sold out the dignity and integrity of our people. They are lazy and inefficient and desire the good life at the expense of the rest of the hardworking people and they choose the short cut to it. Perhaps they all should just go and sell air batu on the roadside just so they know how difficult it is than be spoonfed with bribes and other type handouts from the corrupt govt.
Let us not wane in our support for this free and clean future. Lets vote the rotten ones, the corrupt ones out out out out of our politics. Even if it takes forever.

Lets get them out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by Alice, September 13, 2008 13:28:52
Do not worry Uncle Din. I will pray for you and God will definitely protect you and all the rest especially RPK.

Blessed are the pure in heart,for they shall see God. To stay on track let God guide your thinking. Everything will be fine and the rainbow will appear.
written by cruzeiro, September 13, 2008 13:41:16
Yep - we all know who'll be in the dragnet, should the second wave come.
Mr. Bulbar says "there will not be anymore arrests this weekend ...."
We also how often they've kept their word ....
=====================================

P.Waytha Moorthy writes:
All methods and acts against human right and civil liberty issues by installing fear and intimidation can only lead to the maestro, Dr Mahathir and his warlords. ..................... repressive actions against utterance of truth in a purported democracy is being engineered and navigated by the non other than the infamous Dr Mahathir and his "warlords" within UMNO and their allies.
This is a typical coup d'état whereby, Mahathir's warlords have slowly usurped and having consolidated their position to create the bureaucratic elite that would make sure that UMNO and it's allies stays in power and continue the regime that started fifty one years ago.

written by FTFoong, September 13, 2008 09:13:03
They will probably go after DSAI, Guan Eng, Karpal, Kit Siang, Musa Huram, Siravasa and even the Bar chairperson Datuk Ambiga Sreenevasan.
written by loosecannon, September 13, 2008 14:10:09
Pak Din,
They can lock up your body but never your soul. RPK would have some pretty good company with the likes of you, Teresa and the brave lady from the Chinese paper. Thanks to people like you guys, Malaysians now know the type of monsters that they have inadvertently elected. Counting the day when we all shall be free.
written by Lim Lim, September 13, 2008 14:13:52
din merican,well done!!another piece of 'hall of fame' statement in a way!!keep the ball rolling.....that's the least we pay tribute to RPK for his temporary dismissal,we do wish him well n safe!!
written by malsia1206, September 13, 2008 14:42:59
Dear D Merican, at these difficult times it's the lonely and the brave who shall stand up as heroes. Look at Martin Luther King. Look at Nelson Mandela. They did it for what they thought it had to be done. When the Government resort to do this extremeist act under the ISA and does it selectively, the mass rakyat shall rise to the occasion sooner or later to 'storm the Bastille' which was done in 1789. Men shall fanthom no fear in their hearts when the cause they pursue is righteous and honourable. We sincerely believe you are one of the distinguished few.
written by mykantree, September 13, 2008 14:43:21
Not to worry, the people are with you.UMNO will fail in this bid to cow the rakyat,the truth seekers, the uncorrupted and democratic.Such actions have failed in the past, and it will fail again; faor the rakyat are now wiser to their follies.
written by densemy, September 13, 2008 14:44:08
Its an undeniable fact that every move the government makes now will lose them further support

They are in a lose-lose situation and nothing they can do or will ever do now will reverse their fate
written by Goostee, September 13, 2008 16:17:41
Din,
It saddens me to know that you're next. I've been looking forward to your intellectualism shining thru KeADILan and the KeADILan led Govt shortly. Looks like Allah has intervened in favour of brute force for the moment. My doa nevertheless still remains with you, RPK, and of course DSAI : your BNMmate - Goostee
written by Taikohtai, September 13, 2008 16:20:55
The ISA is supposed to protect the rakyat. But we all know how it has been abused to protect the self serving interests of the ruling party and today, it becomes most apparent of this abuse.
AAB is so weak that he hides behind laws that are outdated and downright draconian. Crikey, how long more does he think he can get away by this latest crime?
AAB and cronies have actually condemn their own generation with this latest fiasco. Nobody patriotic Malaysian shall ever forget this dastardly act and most of us are not as forgiving as DSAI!!!!
written by jjireh99, September 13, 2008 16:34:40
En D Merican, I am chinese. You are one of the very few writers in the blogsphere I respect and admire. Know why? You are intelligent, level headed, doesn't mince your words, straight to the point, articulate, wise and mature (goes with age, yah - some not, like TDM????). It will be very unfortunate and sad indeed if they ever were to put you under ISA! Take care.
written by Fuminari, September 13, 2008 17:14:01
jus for the sake to perpectual n preserve the corrupted n racist to maintain power,it is awfully shameful n unacceptable for the way these umno/BN goons are doing to people like RPK or even ur goodself,who are trying hard to put all malaysian together into one people one nation moving forward in unison in search for a better tomorrow n generations to come!
written by 1351, September 13, 2008 18:23:52
Wrote in reply to Charlie Hector, thought I should share this with all and Pak Din

Well balanced commentary - took the words out of the mouths of many.

Hats off Charles and let it be said, Theresa Kok, just like the late Kak Endon are almost saints when compared to the fine specimens we see in UMNO.

As a public servant, Theresa ranks high but the road is still a long one. And as for Kak Endon - her only blemish was to marry an Idiot.

Regards and no apologies on my end
9/13/2008 3:53 PM
written by Taiping60, September 13, 2008 19:29:57
The people of Malaysia is very focus to move forward and to bring about positive changes to this country.

We know the journey is not going to be a smooth one as there will be many obstacles along the way. But it is something we long to have many years ago and we must not give up now. The recent ISA arrest is among those obstacles we unfortunately know we may have to face. Let us all be strong, let us all be united. The truth and good will prevail.

written by gorshan, September 13, 2008 20:00:44
allo al gore..your help needed here. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Susanna, September 13, 2008 23:56:00
Thank you for your boldness and courage. It is because of people like you, more people are rising up to do the rigth thing for our beloved nation's future, freed from corrupted officials and evil doers who resort to any means just to save their asses. If they had been concerned for rakyat they would not have to be in this situation now. God bless you and shall protect you because your motives are right and true. They cannot break our spirit! Hidup Malaysia!
written by gas, September 14, 2008 21:26:39
Dear Encik Din,
I have known you long time since Sime Darby time. Though I cannot see you, but I can hear you and I can even feel the vibration whenever I read what you have written. I salute you with the struggle to put things right in our beloved country. I pray and hope ISA would not be fallen you. Keep up the good work.