Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow MCA shocked by arrest of reporter and not perpetrator

MCA shocked by arrest of reporter and not perpetrator PDF Print
Saturday, 13 September 2008 08:39

PETALING JAYA: The MCA has expressed shock that former Bukit Bendera Umno division chairman Datuk Ahmad Ismail, who made racist remarks has not been taken to task but reporter Tan Hoon Cheng, who wrote about the incident, has been arrested instead.

The perpetrator who vowed to conduct a nationwide roadshow on his remarks without any remorse is still at large,” MCA vice-president Datuk Ong Tee Keat said in a statement yesterday.

He said anybody in his right mind would certainly be stunned by such an arrest targeted at the reporter and not the perpetrator.

MCA vice-president Datuk Seri Dr Fong Chan Onn said he disagreed with the use of the ISA on Tan.

“As a reporter, Tan was only carrying out duties assigned to her. Her story had gone through the due editorial process before it was printed,” he said.

Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek said the arrest of Raja Petra Kamaruddin was judicious because he ridiculed Islam in his postings which could spark fury among Muslims.

Gerakan president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon, meanwhile, urged the Government to bring Raja Petra to trial in court under existing laws.

“This is consistent with Gerakan’s stand that the ISA should be reviewed, if not repealed,” Dr Koh said in a statement.

Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim condemned Raja Petra’s arrest and called for his immediate release.

“Raja Petra should be given access to proper legal counsel, and his wife and children should not be denied an opportunity to visit him while he is held captive,” he said in a statement.

DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang called for Raja Petra’s release as there was no justification for his detention. He said Raja Petra should be charged in court if he had infringed the law, and not held in detention without trial.

The Star

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by budakindia, September 13, 2008 08:46:23
Isn't it obvious that they only captured people who are opposing them? Only cowards like Abdullah, Syed Hamid Albar, Najib & the rest of the cabinet misuse ISA! They are not man enough to face the public! But rest assured all suppressing regimes will fall! I hope it'll faster for them!
agree 164
written by loosecannon, September 13, 2008 08:47:33
MCA and Gerakan. If you have been questioning yourselves and wondering if you should disassociate yourselves from Umno, the answer is right in front of your face now. Leave BN now or Malaysians will be saying sayonara to you soon.
agree 182
written by Malaysiaku, September 13, 2008 08:48:11
Suspending Ahmad for 3 years was a diversion and a sandiwara by MCA, Gerakan and UMNO to fool the public at that point. Now this, are you going to do nothing but 'talk' again MCA, Gerakan?

Leave UMNO/BN once and for all. Your credibility - what's left of it, is fast approaching zilth. Other component parties take heed. It can and will happen to you guys too. Leave and join PR now!
written by Highway16, September 13, 2008 09:09:45
As a Chinese I am disgraced by this MCA chicken shit Ong k t.

He doesn't not have the ball to say Ahmad Ismail, but instead use "perpetrator". Stand up and be a man! Show the world you have courage! And for Tsu Koon, always "review" and "review" and "review the review".

Free the reporter! She is just a messenger.
agree 146
written by krising1, September 13, 2008 09:12:40
MCA, Gerakan and MIC, you still think you should stay with the BN and support these brutal action. Then you will be damned with them.
written by FFT, September 13, 2008 09:13:49
Dear Mah Chiaohai Association (MCA),

Please tuck your tails between your legs and go back to the business of arguing between your "whiskey" and "tea" camps. The real citizens of Malaysia (as opposed to traitors like you) have a lot of work to do without having to be bothered by barking lapdogs like yourselves and that transvestite faggot currently heading Gerakan.
written by ganbing, September 13, 2008 09:15:36
MCA and Gerakan, hear this! Statements of shock and regret will do not good. The people expect you to do nothing less than pull out from BN if Tan and Teresa are not released immediately. The fact the Ahmad Ismail and Khir Toyo are not detained shows up the farce of their ISA detentions which are only to appease the hardliners in Umno.

To be part of this racist farce of a coalition will destroy your parties. Gerakan will be wiped out. MCA will suffer what the ISA detention of Hindraf 5 did to MIC. Be prepared to go from 14 MPs to 4 MPs next G.E. For those MPs in MCA and Gerakan, what are you waiting for? Do you want to be part of these sinking parties?
written by manny_california_usa, September 13, 2008 09:28:30
Hey...MCA and Gerakan, why are you guys so shocked? Don't pretend. If you guys love your country and it's citizen, please leave BN and join Pakatan right now, it's not too late yet.

If you can't sacrifice for the sake of the country or it's citizen, shut up.
written by born2reign, September 13, 2008 09:37:16
Isn't it obvious that these are the same plot by Madhater, who has directed his live show since his resignation from UMNO? Madhater is well known in getting his way without getting his hands dirty. First Ahmad, the star of the show incites racial slurs, cause racial tension, Gerakan and MCA gets to co-star gets involved and worked up, MSM reports all these using prime time, first page headlines, and over and over these msgs are drummed into our heads.
Then UMNO will find any lousy excuse to detain or arrest under ISA without proof, since in court they need evidence, ISA is UMNO's law to oppress the opposition. This is UMNO and Madhater's old tricks, and I believe Madhater is the real director and producer of this episode, this is his masterpiece.
The PR takeover is very real, that is why in the last few days to 916 (similar to PP election last few days) there will be loads of slander and mud-slinging, arrests to cause CONFUSION, FEAR and DOUBTS. The devil thought he has a air tight plot, but God ALWAYS WINS in the end.
To all do not despair for VICTORY is OURS, don't play into the set ups of UMNO, ie to raise racial tension, riots, unruly demonstrations, for they are just hoping for these to happen - remember they rule by creating chaos and division.
I pray that a legion of angels are encamped all around the innocent detainees and not a single hair on their head is harmed. UMNO can come in 1 direction, but they will flee in 7 directions for God's hand is upon the good rulers of Malaysia. As God crush the walls of oppressive UMNO and all evil rulers, let's not live in fear, but in peace and joy, EXERCISE self control, faith and hope, for VICTORY IS HERE.
Be still before God, the storm shall pass, there will be a Passover, Victory is ours.
written by ohuat, September 13, 2008 09:37:28
to MP from MCA,Gerakan,MIC, please act don't just talk..
written by wongnoball, September 13, 2008 09:43:37
I can tell you that now you all fall into trap which is planned by UMNO, MCA and Gerakan.
That is why I always highlight that MCA and Gerakan are alway playing the role of TOILET TISSUE of UMNO.
written by wartank, September 13, 2008 09:52:12
Well, it seemed that Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon's stand on the matter is consistent with DSAI and LKS. Why then act within the restrictions and constrictions from the other side of the fence? How much can you hope to achieve?

Every true Rakyat knows your protests will come to naught and actions cannot be taken from there. Just CROSSOVER if proactive solution befitting an intelectual is in mind!
written by Ulan Benson, September 13, 2008 09:53:20
Shocked? Ong'can't'See'The Cat'...is that the way to pronounce your stupid name? How can you be shocked when you are supposed to be 'working closely with UM=Noputras'?

OngKaChan or 'Hum ka Chan'of MCA (Malaysia Chicken *******s) and its members as well as KohTk of Gerakan and its members are all responsible for this journalist's safety. You are part of the gang that made the arrest!

Unless you wash your ass clean now by quitting BNs...
written by lamakawan, September 13, 2008 09:54:49
Can MCA answer whether the gomen is using double standards By arresting Sin Chew reporter Why Ahmad ismail, the racist instigator was not arrested? and let off the hook and still can continue to be member of his party which is a component of BN? As a member of BN what are you politicians in BN doing to your members who incited racial hatred? Allow them to continue with their racist acts you would say. Arrest all other people who are not our members. Wake up all the compoment parties in BN. Stop this indiscriminate arrest of the innocent rakyat. Respect the freedom of all Malaysians to live in harmony and peace.
written by temenggong, September 13, 2008 09:57:12
Two ladies have been arrested under the ISA and this is what MCA and Gerakan got to say? You still stand in the company of umno?
written by tino_chan1988, September 13, 2008 10:05:09
Its not about Chinese or Malays or Indians.... it's about justice. Do your part as one of the major component party in the BN coalition. Don't just sit back and say how shock you are with all these absurdity. If you see this episode as unjust and un-democratic, then its time for the true Malaysian to get their acts together!
written by Counterpointer, September 13, 2008 10:06:07
Malaysia Castrated Association

You eunuchs still don't get it do you? The arrests of Tan is just a little reminder from your masters to show what they think of the noise you have made over the Ah Mad issue. For all his arrogance and vociferous noise he had continued to make, he doesn't get to spend one single day in jail under the ISA while the hapless reporter who was following your master's instruction to media that it is OK to report the truth gets jail.

You emasculated people really deserve the spits that you are getting.
written by Sehati, September 13, 2008 10:07:00
What is happening is very sad. Gerakan and MCA are no more relevant. Khir toyo ahmad and UmNO related media are scot free. However Gerakan and MCA will not leave even though they are no more relevant .Whai is happening to the country that we love?
written by Alice, September 13, 2008 10:09:07
I am so totally sick of MCA and GERAKAN. The UMNO fellows don't even give a shit about you guys and you stupid fellows are underdogs. Hey get out of BN and join PR and save the country.
written by tayjenny, September 13, 2008 10:14:21
Please log on to www.fongchanonn.com.my to register your disgust over ISA. We need as many voice as possible into MP's websites as well

written by tino_chan1988, September 13, 2008 10:18:25
Anyone knows where we can write to express our thoughts and comments to the government? Let them know the people are tired of these silly unjust politics.

Anyone? smilies/sad.gif
written by yapsir, September 13, 2008 10:39:02
Hey,don't you know that MCA Gerakan are the Govt'? They are the one who approved the arrest. If not,then who are MCA,Gerakan?
written by riversnail, September 13, 2008 10:42:36
http://www.warkahuntukpm.com.my/englishv2.php
I dont know the effectiveness.Our sleeping PM most probably will read it after DSAI took over the govt.Well we can still try....
written by Hello Keithy, September 13, 2008 11:02:42
So what is MCA gonna do about it ? As usual, dig a hole and bury it's head in it. Fong Chan Onn and Ham Ka Brothers will be the first ones. I curse them to hell. Traitors, cowards, men with no balls. These are people whom your mother told you not to trust. Just look at Ham Ka Chuan when he speaks - eyes blinking constantly and not looking in the eyes of the interviewer. He is telling lies all the way to hell. Damn all of them to hell.
written by foresight, September 13, 2008 11:24:48
MCA and Gerakan, don't think that by expressing your shock and surprise you can wash your hands clean. The people will hold you responsible too on the basis that you are the government.
written by mrbean, September 13, 2008 11:25:32
I suspect Mahathir is behind all these.. Anyway, talk only by MCA is no use. You have been talkng KOK like this for 51 years..
Where are your baaalllsss... get out of BN now if you are sincere... BN is now = UMNO = NAZIsm = RACIST.... Umno punished Ahmad for 3 years only and they stabbed your back and use ISA on the journalist, Theresa and RPK... MCA , you leaaders are such useless bumps... you must have been castrated
written by kc respect, September 13, 2008 11:26:24
MCA, GERAKAN & MIC are accessories to the crime against humanity in Malaysia.
All members of these three parties are nothing by cheap criminals extorting from the helpless. LEAVE NOW!!! or FOREVER BE DAMNED!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by non conformist, September 13, 2008 12:18:43
Let the Mati Cina Apeks proves that they are REALLY and TRULY shocked by the oppressive and obnoxious and unlawful arrest by LEAVING the BN now!

Let the MCA cease t be a harlot to UMNO!

written by capcomangel, September 13, 2008 12:23:13
MCA u are deeply trouble now! I will show all those few day news to all my family member and call them dont ever vote MCA in FUTURE! own species traitor!
written by InEffective, September 13, 2008 12:31:35

All upstanding malays, chinese, and indians, sabahans and sarawakians (ie all malaysian) should bring MCA to account for their support and perpetration of racial nationalism.

MCA also is accountable for all your pain, suppression's and oppression, and denials of opportunities, and rights.

Let's all make them irrelevant. .
written by JJFoo, September 13, 2008 12:38:08
MCA and Gerakan, shock and surprise? Stop acting innocent, they are “partner in crime”. If MCA and Gerakan still have any moral and any sense or righteousness left in them, they should permanently disassociate themselves from UMNO, get out of BN. MCA and Greakan have every chance to help dismantle this immoral, autocratic regime once and for all especially in this hour.

They have been insulted, threaten, abused like a dog but still choose to stick around their master. They should stop acting like a representative of the Chinese community which they are not. They can’t even legitimise their existence based on Chinese vote alone. We are Malaysian and we need no such racist leaders.
written by Jimbo, September 13, 2008 12:54:22
With all this happening, why is the MCA N Gerakan still licking the the umo chiefs. Don't they realise that only umno bastards can say things to hurt others and not the other way round even if fully justified. REMEMBER why LIM GUAN ENG was arrested under ISA??? The rapist continued to rape young girls while the victim was in police custody and her lawyer put under ISA!! This is umno govt, so you stupid MCA GERAKAN still licking . Najib held the kris and want to soak it in CHINESE blood, he is planning to be the next PM? WOW what justice we have in this screwed up country. I can continue till the cows come home, so wake up MCA N GERAKAN, time to stand up for justice.
written by HHKim, September 13, 2008 13:07:19
All of them who are detained must be released immediately! There is no justifiable reasons for their detention at all. All political parties have expressed their views on this and as PM, he should be brave and logical enough to act positively for the nation.

This is an act of coward and irresponsibility as the PM of the nation. The welfare of raayt must be first and foremost. But this is not the case in Malaysia!

Malaysians are holding Abdullah accountable and responsible for this despicable act and greatest inhumanity!!!
written by Windchime, September 13, 2008 13:26:45
And to think that this stupid ONG KA TING aka TING NGA YEE is 'satisfied' with a 'slap on the wrist' action by UMNO on Ahmad, the UMNO goon!

This is so pathetic! You stupid MCA are just dogs wagging your stupid tail to your UMNO masters. Leave the BN NOW, as least you will still have some dignity left! MCA -ptui!
written by chin, September 13, 2008 13:34:42
As long as MCA and Gerakan are part of BN, they are part of this coalition of evil. And if UMNO leaders manages to incite violence then the blood is on your hands. UMNO has done it before and will do it.
written by gorshan, September 13, 2008 16:10:02
my dear MCA, what else are you going to do beside expressing shock? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by latihanQ, September 13, 2008 16:31:48
Malaysians have lost confidence in the RUNNIG DOGS from the MCA and the Gerakan along time ago. Why are these empty cans still making so much noise when they are held in contempt by their UMNO masters and hated by the Chinese? When are they going to just get lost and out of our hair?
written by Uncorruptible, September 13, 2008 17:35:43
Listen to the unprincipled mca and gerakan talking. It's all right to ISA the opposition but not journalists. One day you will find yourself in jail you mca, Chinese traitors of the highest order
written by inoi, September 13, 2008 20:15:38
BN mean Barua Negara.