Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Abdullah: Govt means business

Abdullah: Govt means business PDF Print
Saturday, 13 September 2008 08:32

PUTRAJAYA: The government made a thorough evaluation before invoking the Internal Security Act against blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, speaking on the blogger's arrest yesterday, said the government always meant business when dealing with potential threats to the country's stability.

He said the move was made after Raja Petra had been given time to correct the offensive postings on his Malaysia Today website.

"The government always means business. We don't joke around," Abdullah said after a Khazanah Nasional board meeting at the Finance Ministry yesterday.

"The government has a degree of tolerance and we consider whether action should be taken immediately or a particular issue should be further studied to consider its repercussions and effects on society."

"It (invoking the ISA) is not done without a concrete reason and a belief that stability and public order could be threatened."

He said Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar, who was responsible for signing the detention order, had been closely monitoring Raja Petra's writings and actions.

"In making sure that public order is not affected by his (Raja Petra's) actions, Syed Hamid decided to allow the police to detain the blogger for 60 days pending investigations.

"After 60 days, if there is nothing (to implicate him), he will be freed. Otherwise, he will be further detained under the orders of the home minister."

- nst

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by cubi76, September 13, 2008 08:37:08
To Malaysians living overseas,

Please send email or call to alert all major newspapers and TV news in your country on the recent arrest using draconic ISA. Democracy in Malaysia is on the brink of collapsing. Please urge them to put more coverage on recent development in Malaysia.
agree 127
written by budakindia, September 13, 2008 08:41:33
Bu you let that Ahmad Ismail go! You are the only one who have tolerance! The rakyat also! If this Sept 16 is not realized, the next election will! You think you can get away with it, you forgot there's another element will stop you, God Himself will bring you down!
written by myke, September 13, 2008 08:42:11
Malaysian please use peacefull attemps to counter this act to avoid giving them an excuse to come down with further unreasonable actions.

I'm sure there will be events in the plan, please Participate enmasse only if the are allowed and peacefull.

written by SocratesI, September 13, 2008 08:50:46
The Barisan NAJIS Govt has always meant business - in Plundering Malaysia, in keeping the RAKYAT DOCILE while they do the Pillaging, & Looting, by using ISA against the RAKYAT and MUZZLING them with the PPPA and OSA, so what else is new, Bodohwi ??!!

You will see that the RAKYAT is in NO MOOD to be trifled with nor will we be BULLIED by you or your ISA !
written by joeawk, September 13, 2008 08:59:51
Is it UMNO instability ot public order that he is talking about? If it is UMNO, malaysians are not bothered. To say that within 60 days, if investigation revealed nothung, RPK will be released is utter ninsense whren they have had months before to do the right thing. To counter or correct his writing and to even charge him in court for the wrongs he has done.

About the Sin chew reporter and Teresa Kok, is that not blatant victimisation when the perpetrators got off scotch free and the victims arrested. Wasn't it cear to all that the bkt bendera barua is the culprit and what did the govt do to him? Nothing that we know. He has committed sedition and that we all know but the police did nothing, even at this moment. His suspension by UMNO has got nothung to do withthe government and UMNO cvan die and few malaysians will cry.

Then we hv the bangsat former MVB of selangor falsely laying charge about the azan thing and reports against him have been filed with the police, yet it was Teresa Kok who was arrested instead of the bangsat.

It is a changed world today and there is an obsolute need for a paradigm shift in our thinking and in doing all things. The old ways, such as instilling fear and victimisation do not score points because it will come back to haunt the government. UMNO may want to salvage itself and this is no way about it. If UMNO is not unto itself and if UMNO cares about the nation, it is for UMNO to repent and recover over time and not to sabotage the nation through such covert actions like victimisation of innocent people while knowingly letting the culprit go.

We all know that it has become inevitable that malaysia will see a change of government. We ask UMNO to honourably let go and not cling to power when people has lost total faith in UMNO. UMNO has had 51 years and what has become of UMNO and the nation. Yes,the nation has done well but the nation could have done so much better and the nation has to take the next big step and UMNO is not in the position to take us and malaysia wants an alternative coalition to take us there. Isn't that malaysians democratic right to decide?
written by ahmadnavi, September 13, 2008 09:02:56
This moron doesn't understand. Just picking on the righteous to shield his cronies is not about being serious. None of them are of any threat to the nation as the botak has claimed. Racist from UMNO has not been acted on. Khir Toya goes scott free for making an allegation against Teresa Kok. It is he who should be locked up.
The government is floundering and ISA seems a good way to stop the cross-overs for 916 to take place.
Time for Dollah and his gang to be removed.
written by Bigjoe99, September 13, 2008 09:12:07
OK. RPK I can understand but Teresa Kok and Sin Chew reporter? What the hell for? I think someone is not at home up stairs...

Why make more a ruckus than necessary? Have the top leadership lost it completely?????
written by SocratesI, September 13, 2008 09:19:09

BudakIndia,

You are right. We should all pray for a "Mat Deros" to happen to ALL Barisan NAJIS reps. Those who want to crossover better do so NOW !! Before the RAKYAT CURSES you dead as a Doornail !!

written by Ken Liew, September 13, 2008 09:20:57
You are not in the position on BUSINESS. you can't even count! How can a man with no Math skills know business.
written by Engineer, September 13, 2008 09:33:48
WHAT PUBLIC ORDER ?

I don't see any public disorder; only UMNO disorder.
written by thumb, September 13, 2008 09:43:19
In 2004 the rakyaat gave you the biggest mandate any political got. You blew it. Now when the going gets tough you are taking one the very people. What type of leader are you?
written by alarcarte, September 13, 2008 09:54:10
Government mean BUSINESS! Yes, you are right!
Business to the cronies!
Business to UMNO members who are in the inner circles.
The Rakyat pay and sacrifice at the ineffiency of the Government Big Time!
Korea and Singapore have repressive laws too, but their Government are SMART!
written by thumb, September 13, 2008 10:01:44
In 2004 the rakyaat gave you the biggest mandate any political leader got. You blew it. Now when the going gets tough you are against the very people who supported you . What type of leader are you?
written by educationist, September 13, 2008 10:05:00
I have been critical of you, the PM in all of my postings in MT but I had refrained from a direct attack on you. Though I'm critical of many of your actions I respect the post you hold.
But this is the last straw. You really are an incompetent nincompoop!!
If RPK has violated the laws of the land bring him to a court of law[if, despite your control of the judiciary, you dare not do so it goes to show how flimsy is your case]
What public order are you talking about? Is it because the truths and facts put forward by RPK is threatening the UMNOputras hold on power?
What about Tan & Teresa Kok? Shoot the messenger because you don't like the message? And allow that rascal Ahmad to go swaggering all over the country with his ketuanan melayu and pendatang message because it's pleasing to your UMNOputras ears!
You have no decency and no morality so I'll not appeal to them but you have taken office on supposedly religous high ground - so I'm sure even your religion points to a higher authority to judge our deeds in this mundane world.
So, you ought to repent, and soon!!
written by Frankie,BSD, September 13, 2008 10:21:21
As a rational citizen, the latest action to use the ISA on RPK, Teresa and Tan is the last straw that breaks the camel's back.
Although not a supporter of Pakatan Rakyat, I feel I share the Rakyat's feelings that the BN govt. has gone overboard. Making the arrests on the filmiest of excuses is definitely a NO NO.
The present BN govt must GO and ASAP.Anything is BETTER than a govt without principles, clinging on to power at the costs of the Rakyats' dignity and security.
May we pray for RPK, Teresa and Tan, we will be with you in our Hearts!
written by Tsunami08, September 13, 2008 10:29:01
Abdullah Badawi, you stupid idiot! Learn the lessons of the Tunku and how he was pushed down.

You don't even know that these ISA arrests are being used by those within your team to undermine your leadership and accelerate your downfall. If you can't see this, perhaps you really deserve to go.

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by PakItam, September 13, 2008 10:49:29
“If we want to save Malaysia and Umno, Dr Mahathir (then Prime Minister) must be removed. He uses draconian laws such as the Internal Security Act to silence his critics.”

The year before, he had also stated:

“Laws such as the Internal Security Act have no place in modern Malaysia. It is a draconian and barbaric law.”
SAID BY NONE OTHER THAN AAB.
"lembu diikat dengan tali, manusia diikat dengan janji"
"terlajak perahu boleh diundur, terlajak kata buruk padahnya"
written by shissun, September 13, 2008 11:22:38
Dear Fak Lah and Najis and the whole bunch of Barisan Nasional Dogs!,

Your act is condemned with the strongest voice possible from the people of Malaysia. From yesterday onwards, you have lost the mandate to rule this country. You have to repay for the sin or every single second you rule this country illegally.
written by densemy, September 13, 2008 12:25:28
BADAWIISM, n A new way of making a statement which involves hypocrisy, cowardice, lies and sub normal intelligence

Example: The government made a thorough evaluation before invoking the Internal Security Act against blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin.

written by Anak_Asia, September 13, 2008 12:34:11
Is this what they called Cemerlang, Gemilang, Terbilang ??
written by onnetline, September 13, 2008 12:35:29
Fark Lah,

If you are not joking around, why is that the UMNO racist, Ahmad Ismail not detained by the same set of cowards' law called ISA ???

Don't talk cock, please !!

The Malysians are children no more, Mr Flip Flop.
written by KKchan, September 13, 2008 12:48:36
A 33 year old female reporter a threat to national security? But Ahmad Ismail is not? Give me a break. PM must think we are idiots.
written by InEffective, September 13, 2008 12:52:06

and the power of judge, jury and executioner is rested in one individual - where prejudice rules as self-interests take precedence.

What a legal system - i think even mickey mouse could do better.
written by mikefonz, September 13, 2008 12:58:53
I wonder our own Malaysia Home Minister's roots are originated from Tanah Melayu or some Arabs countries. Is he a real bumiputra ? Are we a democratic country and enjoy the freedom of speech or a draconian goverment ruling by greed and corruption ? Botak .. balik kampung lah.
written by ArcAngel, September 13, 2008 13:00:21
Rakyat Malaysia,

Please cool down, our emotion is really getting into us but if we lose control of it, we are falling into their traps - BODOHWI by using that incompetent SHIT Albar to arrest innocent righteous Malaysian Citizens under ISA is to incite racials riot and guess what...

Darurat - Curfew - and this may jeorpadise DSAI's 916...

Just only a few more days.... be patient.... dont act anything harshly or violently....
written by Cyber DNA, September 13, 2008 13:05:39
written by Jimbo, September 13, 2008 13:08:10
Where the F have you been, just woke up from your sleep. Much as I dislike TUN but unfortunately all the things he said about you is TRUE. You mean UMNO business and not govt business. Why don't you just resign and save your dignity b4 you become the first PM in this country to be booted out of office. Only then will you wake up is it?
written by miwaki, September 13, 2008 13:10:47
People of Malaysia,be cool.Abdullah is helping DSAI to take over this country at an earlier date.What Abdullah did is beyond understanding,you need someone who is enlightened to know his brain power.Ahmad is not arrested but reporter has to be taken in on his behalf,this is even more incomprehensive than quantum physics !

However,thanks to Abdullah and Hamid,without these 2 morons,how can DSAI triumph !
written by snailriver, September 13, 2008 13:16:02
Moron Bodowi,

You are the only dick brained and chimpanzee faced prime minister that Malaysia is previliged to have in last 50 years and I am worried we will lose you soon..

You are ugly and you are stupid...what a perfect combination in god's creation

We will pray for God to give you strength to face your dooms day soon..

Take care and be strong shithead
written by Old Man, September 13, 2008 13:18:13
Yes, every Malaysian knows the crafty PM means business. Even the Father of Corruption is no match for you.
You all have been using Race and Religion to enrich yourselves while the Rakyat continue to suffer. smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by Windchime, September 13, 2008 13:40:23
Sorry Pak Lah, me no understand your gomen/UMNO policy. Looks extremely stupid and intimidating to me.

Why should you back up your claims to 'racial threats' when no such thing is happening on the ground. Come pay us a visit and you will see our community comprising of Malay, Chinese, Indian, Eurasian and others all living side by side, peacefully and very friendly to each other. So what tension you are talking about???

The only tension now is in YOUR HEAD! Is locking innocent people up without trial the only way you and UMNO knows how to solve problems? Pathetic. Not fit to be the gomen. We the rakyat, YES YOUR BOSSES, wants and all of you OUT!!!! YOU ARE FIRED!!!
written by rams609, September 13, 2008 13:54:33
Don't BULLSHITlah Dollah...you've been saying this since the first day you took office.
AND YOU HAVE NOT ACHIEVED ANYTHING BUT BULLYING US THE RAKYAT.
written by rams609, September 13, 2008 14:12:17
Last night you said the rakyat wants you to carry on, re. TanSri Muhyiddin remarks on your transfer of power date.

QUESTION REMAINS: WHICH RAKYAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT?????
Read my lips: WE THE REAL RAKYATS DO NOT WANT YOU!!!!!!!!!
written by aryn, September 13, 2008 15:25:55
Allow me to translate Abdullah's real business.
'We meant business to remain in power and arrest those who try to topple the BN govt', that's what he meant.

Abdullah, why don't you get down to the real business of governance instead of forever looking behind you?

written by goman2k3, September 14, 2008 01:40:57
TO ALL FELLOW CITIZEN OF MALAYSIA; ANOTHER DARK DAY

ISA RPK= NO FREEDOM OF MEDIA. IF YOU ARE NOT GULTY AND RIGHT WHY SO SCARE
ISA KOK= ANTI DEMOCRACY AND RACIST
ISA TAN = RACIST
ISA IS ONLY TO BE USE ONLY FOR PROTECTING THE COUNTRY FROM TERRORIST AND NATION SECURITY, NOT FOR PREVENTING A DEMOCRATIC CHANGE OF GOV'T. BOTH UMNO POLITICIANS AND POLIS ARE ANTI FREEDOM OF SPEECH, ANTI DEMOCRACY AND RACIST OR PURE STUPIDITY.
TIME FOR A CHANGE AFTER 51 YEARS. BERSIH ! BERSIH! BERSIH!