Teresa Kok held over 'azan' issue PDF Print
Saturday, 13 September 2008 08:25

KUALA LUMPUR: Seputeh member of parliament Teresa Kok has been detained under the Internal Security Act last night.

The detention was confirmed by Deputy Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Ismail Omar.

Although it is unclear at press time where she was being detained, Kok was last seen attending the China Guangdong-Malaysia business conference dinner at a hotel here.

She was said to have been detained while travelling back home from the function. Three police patrol vehicles blocked her vehicle's path and she was detained.

It is understood that the DAP stalwart was detained for allegedly telling mosque officials in Kota Damansara, Sri Serdang and Puchong Jaya to tone down the call to prayer.

She had denied the allegations, which first came to light in a Bahasa Malaysia daily.

In George Town, DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng said Kok was detained at 11.18pm.

He said the party would be doing everything possible to get Kok, who is also Kinrara assemblyman and a senior executive council member in Selangor, out of detention.

Lim said the party would convene an emergency central committee meeting later today to discuss the matter.

Meanwhile, DAP publicity chief Tony Pua called on all DAP members and supporters to stay calm.

He said a party legal bureau team headed by its chief, Ngeh Koo Ham, would be looking into all possibilities in order to get Kok released.

He said the team would most likely also include party chairman Karpal Singh and his son, Gobind.

- nst

written by sactyr, September 13, 2008 08:49:01
It is understood that the DAP stalwart was detained for **allegedly** telling mosque officials in Kota Damansara, Sri Serdang and Puchong Jaya to tone down the call to prayer.

Hmm so its not even confirmed that she instructed the mosque officials to do so?? How can they detain her when they don't even have any proof whatsoever?? If this is the case then why isn't Ahmad Ismail detained under ISA as well, since his comments were all over the media???

One rule for them, none for others.
agree 133
written by budakindia, September 13, 2008 09:02:54
In Malaysia, they let the criminals go scott free and catch the whistle blower. Even you was wrongly accused will be subjected to arrests! They have to do this as the common criminals which rob, steal and rape the public are UMNO people! Don't agree with me ? Hey take a look at Ahmad Ismail,Khir Toyo, Najib! All are criminals! smilies/angry.gif
written by matkreko, September 13, 2008 09:05:25
Gals n guys fellow malaysians,

The umNO/Be-eNd method is simple to understand... someone from their side will incite racial/seditious/etc kind of statement/action/etc and WHOEVER that go against them taking the bait, they will rope him/her in with ISA.

So BEWARE... you have been warned.

Expect this tactic to be used extensively until the new government is established... it won't be long... JUST HANG IN THERE!!!!
written by Concerned_Citizen, September 13, 2008 09:23:55
First, His Highnest Raja Petra then the Brave reporter and now Mighty Teresa Kok. What's happening? So desperate? Ah-Mad Is-Mail still at large???

Did Teresa Kok really do that? Think about that, if she really hate the azan, she would have voiced it out long ago, not some days before 916. IT's purely political move and out of desperate. SHAME ON YOU!
written by bumiputeri, September 13, 2008 09:41:02
So pathetic!

Who in Malaysia would ever do that??? This is Malaysia. The day a child is born, he or she gets used to the beautiful azan!!! And why would Teresa complain now, so many years through her life, just few days away from 916????

This is Malaysia, any Chinese or Malay or Indian or Iban or Kadazan or Punjabi or Murut or Bajau...knows what is azan, what is zikir, can differentiate a temple bell to a church bell or a Buddhist mantra to a Hindu mantra!!!! This is Malaysia!Why would anyone complain??? Have we not, thus far, rejoiced that rich culture of our motherland???? Pathetic!!!!Absolutely pathetic!!!
written by Malaysiaputra, September 13, 2008 09:58:09
It is understood that the DAP stalwart was detained for allegedly telling mosque officials in Kota Damansara, Sri Serdang and Puchong Jaya to tone down the call to prayer.

====

Smells of political intimidation.

Anyway, requesting that the mosque loudspeakers be tone down , even if it is true, warrants arrest under the ISA ?.

I believe any good muslim would be considerate of others too. No one is calling for the Azan to be banned .

As for me, I see political motif behind all the ISA arrests.
written by Alice, September 13, 2008 09:58:22
Hmmm unbelievably desperate the UMNO goons! In fact dangerously desperate!

God uses our difficulties to develop our character so stay calm,and pray for wisdom so as to do the right thing.Lets's not get riled up and be over emotional. If we really don't know what to do lets just take a break and PRAY for the detainees and for Malaysia. God's timing is perfect so please pray for Malaysia. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Lembing Tajam, September 13, 2008 10:06:14
Malaysia really a Police state.BN are on the run and wait till the day PR come in power.All BN pls.pack your thing and run out of the country.
written by iMac, September 13, 2008 10:10:34
Copied from Aisehman:

Pecah Tembelang
12 September 2008 | 50 Views | View blog reactions

So here you have it:

Masjid Kota Damansara officials have denied that their mosque had ceased sounding the azan from its loudspeakers due to pressure from non-Muslims.

They clarified that it was a damaged amplifier that resulted in the calls to prayers to be made without the aide of a PA system.

Secretary of the three-week-old mosque Ahmad Redzuan Samsudin said a police report was lodged on Wednesday against former Selangor menteri besar Dr Mohd Khir Toyo for claiming pressure from non-Muslims and a state exco-backed petition had forced them to stop making the azan through the loudspeaker.

“Last Saturday (Aug 30), lightning during a thunderstorm had struck and damaged the PA system. Thereafter, we borrowed equipment from the SMK Kota Damansara in Section 10, but problems with the wiring further delayed us from sounding the azans through the loudspeaker.

“There was no pressure from non-Muslims,” said Redzuan when contacted. [Malaysiakini]

So when you gonna issue a show cause letter to Utusan Malaysia and arrest Tempe for shit-stirring, Pak Lah?
Bila?

Sampai bila-bila pun takkan punya, ye tak?

written by chanatak, September 13, 2008 10:10:56

UMNO is struggling with it final death throes. It is hitting out wildly like a madman because it is still in denial, and unable to accept the death sentence.

BEWARE. BEWARE
written by Malaysiaputra, September 13, 2008 10:14:26
Dalam petisyen mereka, penduduk yang menandatangani petisyen tersebut, meminta memohon supaya diperlahankan penggunaan pembesar suara untuk majlis ceramah, kuliah Subuh, kuliah Maghrib serta bacaan ayat al-Quran yang menggunakan kaset dan CD sebelum sembahyang Subuh di masjid tersebut. - From Malaysiakini

=====

Is it so wrong to make a request " supaya diperlahankan penggunaan pembesar surar" in a civil mana without street protest ?
written by Wisdom above, September 13, 2008 10:18:30
To all party legal bureau team .

Section 2 of ISA 1960(revised 1972)reads - "terrorist" means 'any person' who -

"terrorist" means 'any person' who - must fulfill sub (a), (b), (c).

Raja Petra K , Tan Hoon Cheng, Teresa Kok , all 3 do not fall under meaning of 'any person' since they are not "terrorist".

Their detention are illegal & Ultra Vires against the ISA 1960 and Ultra Vires against the Federal Constitution.

'Any person' must be proven 'beyond any reasonable doubt' to be qualified as " terrorist" before any or all provisions of ISA can be invoke or used !

Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.

Syabas to all Peacemakers.

written by CPY, September 13, 2008 10:22:46
Just a set up!
written by gundaman, September 13, 2008 10:30:59
what is happening to this country???
everyone pls stay calm...
the show is just started...
written by Malaysia Ku, September 13, 2008 10:40:08
Guys, The best thing to do is to stay calm while we protest on the strongest term. UMNO did this because they want to create uncertainty so that the September 16 take over will not happen. It has been UMNO tactic to see if we "MELATAH" then it is to their advantage.We should show to them we are united and we will never break. We will also show to them the their BREAK AND RULE tactic will not work this time.

Last and not least all Malaysian (Muslims, Christians, Buddhists, Touist etc) pray that this dark episode will end in the peacefull way. Let us pray that those detainees will not be harmed and be released soon to their family. After all what they did is because their love of the country.. MAY JUSTICE PREVAIL AND SAVE OUR BELOVED MALAYSIA..
written by gotsms, September 13, 2008 10:42:50
The country will be very dull without all the multiracial. Where is the source of our creativity? It is from the diversity.

I got woke up this morning by next door neighbour on the radio in Tamil loud. So what??? Azan being there or not, we've got so used to it that we don't really notice.

Malaysia is now in the drains, heading out to the sea and yonder.

DSAI, RPK, Teresa Kok, Tan, our prayers with you.

Thank you for what you're doing, not for us, but for our future generations.
written by Hello Keithy, September 13, 2008 11:12:51
The more desperate moves by UMNO and BN, the faster they'll topple. Malaysians just can't wait for that day to happen. This govt. must go .... for good.
written by asguard, September 13, 2008 11:46:34
The old lady (UMNO) is dying.. almost into five feet...into burial ground.. but she is not death yet she will do all kinds of havoc... just before she is death...
written by onnetline, September 13, 2008 13:06:02
It's the anak syaitan, TOYOL who caused the mischief ....... not Teresa !

Hope that the Selangor State government will dig out all of the Barisan Najis shitheads misdeeds, while in office.

These ' rubbish ' should be where they belong ......... in a rubbish dump !
written by Dogboy, September 13, 2008 13:16:46
With all these draconian laws they do one of two things. Protect the country against public disorder from inciteful racial overtones. This is in some way saying that Malaysians are wild animals who are not in control of their emotions and actions from inciteful comments/ remarks/ statements. Probably true but applies mainly to the Malay Umnos and radical Muslims. Secondly, these laws are used to protect UMNO from their detractors. Either way, these laws are no good and only benefit UMNO and the ruling clique. Malaysia is a jungle still and we need to progress and it can;t be done with this government. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH, TIME WE ALL FIGHT FOR A CHANGE IN GOVERNMENT!!
written by Sabahfan, September 13, 2008 22:41:30

It they dont free Teresa by tomorrow, I ask all her chinese supporters to sacrifice one day. Stay home... CLOSE ALL YOUR SHOPS... all bisness go on strike just for one day... You cannot be making so much loss on one day...PUT a notice on your shop gate saying...
"CANT DO BIZNESS BECOS TERESA WAS KIDNAPPED" OR SOmething more suitable...[/font