Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Bar Council calls for release of RPK

Bar Council calls for release of RPK PDF Print
Saturday, 13 September 2008 07:54

KUALA LUMPUR: Shocked and deeply troubled over the arrest of blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin under the Internal Security Act (ISA), the Bar Council has called for his immediate release, together with other detainees.

Bar Council president Datuk Ambiga Sreenevasan said the Malaysian Bar had consistently denounced the ISA as draconian and undemocratic, and believed that the preventive detention laws should not be invoked under any circumstances.

”The Bar Council is equally perturbed that three newspapers (Sin Chew Daily, The Sun and Suara Keadilan) have been issued show-cause letters today over their news coverage.

”This, together with the arrest of Raja Petra under the ISA, may be viewed as a chilling message that our fundamental freedoms are not secure,” she said in a statement Friday.

Ambiga said if an offence had allegedly been commited, the individual concerned must be charged in court and given a fair opportunity to defend himself.

”We agree with the view reportedly expressed by Foreign Minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim on Thursday, when he disagreed with the call for the use of the ISA on Datuk Ahmad Ismail, saying that this ‘will have a huge effect on ... the rule of law’ and that he should therefore, ‘go through the normal process of law’,” she said.

Meanwhile, Human Rights Commission of Malaysia (Suhakam) has expressed great concern over Raja Petra’s arrest.

Three Suhakam commissioners Tan Sri Simon Sipaun, Datuk Michael Yeoh and Datuk Dr Denison Jayasooria in a statement Friday said although Suhakam appreciated the Government’s responsibility in maintaining peace and stability, the commission had consistently held that the ISA and other preventive laws should be abolished.

They also expressed concern over the warning letters issued to the three newspapers as it was a curtailment of freedom of expression. - Bernama

written by padhma, September 13, 2008 08:12:35
I am speechless. I just don't know what to say. What has our country come to? Does rule of law, human rights, freedom mean anything in this country? Is the role of the government to dictate people? Do we live in a civilised society?
written by Cash Money, September 13, 2008 08:28:00
The people are tired of reading the Bar Council expresing concerns onlylah. Very convenient way of keeping alive a dead movement -the so called Bar Council. Suhakam you are no better.
written by Tom n Jerry, September 13, 2008 08:34:01
The only way to live peacefully in Malaysia is to hide in the cave,meditate & and attain enlightenment!Otherwise must be deaf & dumb;or else you get arrested without any valid reason and thrown intoISA;how pathetic! smilies/angry.gif
written by SocratesI, September 13, 2008 08:37:19
The BAR Council is rather slow. Now there are 3 recent ISA detainees. Of course our FUNDAMENTAL FREEDOM is not secure, not when a DESPOTIC Barisan NAJIS Govt. is more than willing to use the DRACONIAN ISA to rob the RAKYAT of their freedom and to MUZZLE the RAKYAT's voice !

Rule of Law for ahMAD should be Rule of Law for ALL, you in Barisan! Do you think we can't see this Govt. action for what it is ?? To stay in power and to derail PR from taking over the Govt. What a PATHETIC Govt. we have, OPPRESSING the people so that they can stay in power to LOOT the country further, even during global economic meltdown. These deserve an ETERNITY in HELL. If they continue this way, they may reach their FINAL DESTINATION quicker than they think !

Padhma, let me answer your questions.

What has our country come to? Gone to the DOGS under Barisan NAJIS ! Does rule of law, human rights, freedom mean anything in this country? Yes, they are a threat to the UMNOPutras who want to continue staying in power to PILLAGE Malaysia ! Is the role of the government to dictate people? Absolutely TRUE where Barisan NAJIS is concerned !! Spot, on Padhma !! Do we live in a civilised society? Not until we throw out the Barisan NAJIS and REPEAL all DRACONIAN Laws like the ISA !!

Hope that cleared it up for you, Padhma !
written by Mik, September 13, 2008 08:40:32
Indians are usually best lawyers because they are fighters in court. Whatever happened to that spirit datuk? Express concern? Everytime something happen that goes against human rights and the spirit of law, u only express concern! Harlo bar council, keep ur statement to urself la. U have an army of lawyers out there and all u do is EXPRESS CONCERN. Just resign and make way to someone who can do better than just EXPRESS CONCERN. AND SUHAKOM, go balik tidur. Another body with nothing to show. U guys are such a waste.
written by bluefire, September 13, 2008 08:58:13
Can the bar council stand up and strike against BN with a silent protest by not turning up to the courts on Monday? I challenge the lawyers to do just this. Don't do any work until this problem gets solved. Don't go to court. You claim that the courts are unjust. Let me see you put that talk into action. Stop thinking about money for once and start thinking about King and Country. All talk is useless, action speaks loudest.
written by nnraja, September 13, 2008 09:23:24
I wonder what DSAI is waiting for ? If he has the PR to take charge of the goverment on 916, he should have pursued it. Not to defer any longer. Now our dearest RPK is detained under ISA and i wonder what else is more important to DSAI from correcting what is wrong? smilies/angry.gif
written by FTFoong, September 13, 2008 09:32:50
Dear Datuk Ambiga,
Are you afraid of being ISAed too? Come on Gal, do what the people think you should do. Or are you waiting for the entire opposition to be ISAed and your members getting more work and hence more money?
Please for goodness sake and for the sake of Malaysia, round up your troops and stand up firmly to the corrupted regime!!
written by indianputra, September 13, 2008 09:43:48
The entire Malaysians and friendly international communities are shocked and grieving at the ISA crackdown on fellow Malaysians who are innocent. These three people arrested yesterday are not the real culprits. They are just stating what is wrong in Malaysia and the real culprits are scot free.

I would like to see the PM goes live on prime time television and tell us the Rakyat why he is applying the ISA on these three people. WE WANT ONLY THE TRUTH for any imaginary explanations will be seen by the Rakyat and the leader condemned.
written by Alice, September 13, 2008 10:36:13
THE GREEDY LAWYERS WITH EXHORBITANT FEE SHOULD WAKE UP AND FIGHT FOR REAL JUSTICE !! LAW IS NOT ABOUT MAKING TONNES OF MONEY AND BUYING LUXURIOUS ITEMS. IT SHOULD BE FOR FIGHTING FOR JUSTICE.

LET JUSTICE REIGN
written by kanokporn, September 13, 2008 10:36:58
hello bar council is also under fire la. no need for lawyers to take any action. action will be taken against them all soon either thru isa or when they turn up in court. lawyers are also people you know very frightened and have families to feed. not all are rich and have datukships you know or can sit and dine with pm and his band of thieves. 90% of lawyers are just employees of firms. only a few connected ones with the govt are very rich la.look wha happened recently at the bar council forum on conversions? bar council does nothing and cannot do anything except punish its members who pay them so much money every year
written by InEffective, September 13, 2008 12:41:40

Why is the BC president still pretending that the Rule Of Law still exists in Malaysia ? If she has any leadership qualities, she should shutdown the BC, and stop the flagrant masquerade they call the malaysian law and justice.

Call its a law of coercion, and stand down from representing any clients or cases - or you also shall be brought to account for your tacit support of our evil administration of coercion and dysfunctional legal system.