Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow ISA crackdown as opposition bids to seize power

ISA crackdown as opposition bids to seize power PDF Print
Saturday, 13 September 2008 02:22

(Malaysiakini) The police have arrested an opposition politician, a prominent blogger and a journalist, according to officials and reports, in a sudden crackdown as the opposition plots to seize power.

MCPX

The three were all held under the draconian Internal Security Act (ISA) which allows for detention without trial and has been used against government opponents in the past.

Political observers said they feared the ruling Barisan Nasional coalition, which was humiliated in March elections and is now threatened by the opposition's plans, was planning a repeat of an infamous 1987 crackdown.

raja petra to police station on burma doctor sd 040908 04"Is Malaysia in the grip of another ISA madness, akin to Operation Lalang 21 years ago when there were mass arrests under the ISA and closure of three newspapers?" said opposition lawmaker Lim Kit Siang who was jailed in that campaign.

Malaysia's leading blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin (left), who has targeted government figures on his website Malaysia Today, was the first to be taken into custody.

tan hoon cheng 04 120908Tan Hoon Cheng, a reporter for the Chinese-language Sin Chew Daily, was also arrested after reporting on an outburst from a ruling party member who called the ethnic Chinese community "squatters".

Her report triggered a major row in the coalition which is made up of race-based parties. The leading party, which represents majority Muslim Malays, was forced to punish the member responsible.

"Her colleagues from Sin Chew Daily are shocked about the arrest," the newspaper said in a statement. "Sin Chew Daily will stand firmly by our editorial position."

teresa kok modern pig farm 150408 talkingTeresa Kok (left), a lawmaker from the Chinese-based DAP which is a member of the opposition alliance, had also been arrested under the ISA.

While details are sketchy, Kok has been defending herself against allegations that she complained about the noise of morning prayers at a mosque in her electorate. She has said the accusation is "preposterous".

The Internal Security Act, which human rights groups have pushed to have abolished, allows for renewable two-year periods of detention without trial and is normally used against suspected terrorists.

The opposition, led by Anwar Ibrahim who is plotting to topple the government as soon as next week, condemned the move to deploy the law as "draconian and unjustified."

Show cause letters for dailies 

The Centre for Independent Journalism said the measures "bear a disturbing resemblance to the period in the lead-up to the Operasi Lalang in 1987" when dozens of activists, artists, academics and politicians were detained.

"Both incidents are similar in that it relates to ongoing political crisis within Umno, but manifested as alleged racial tension by the government," it said in a statement.

Three Malaysian newspapers - the Sin Chew Daily, The Sun which is a free English-language daily, and Suara Keadilan which is published by the opposition - were also today threatened with suspension.

The three had been issued with show-cause letters from the home ministry, requiring them to explain their actions or face suspension.

written by alberttan, September 13, 2008 02:37:02
The darkness of tyranny can NEVER overcome the light of justice, tyranny ALWAYS obliterate itself just as sure as the sun will shine tomorrow.

A match will light up total darkness, the light of innocent truth (Tan Hoon Cheng), the blowtorch of a doubly slandered victim (Teresa Kok) and the flamethrower of righteous conscience (YM RPK) will overcome the tyranny of the treacherous few in Malaysia.

God Bless Malaysia and fellow Malaysians, THY WILL BE DONE.
Kepercayaan Kepada Tuhan! The dawn of a JUST Malaysia.
written by Fuminari, September 13, 2008 02:46:03
pathetic,this umno/BN gorvernment is already 'BANKRUPT'!!absolutely absurb n lowlife!n can u imagine they are telling the world malaysia is a democratic realm?shit,umno/BN is jus shit!!
written by Lim Lim, September 13, 2008 03:03:36
malaysia hav gone back to the geoge owell's '1984'!do not jeer at zimbawee..umno/BN bastards hav put us on par with them now!!
the best way of triumph for the devil is those good men sitting there n doing nothing!!
written by ajip, September 13, 2008 03:05:05
Paklah sudah diperangkap oleh orangnya sendiri, perancangan asal untuk membangkitkan perasaan bersatu orang melayu dalam menghadapi 16September kini beralih kepada krisis perkauman dan krisis Umno bersama Parti Komponen.dalam kenyataan Presiden PPP Dr M Kaveyas kepada pemberita selepas mesyuarat tertinggi BN ia berkata " inilah suana paling luar biasa yang dihadapi BN sepanjang 15tahun pengalamannya". ya! kini bukan Umno sahaja yang mendesak pengunduran Paklah tetapi parti komponen dalam BN.masalah diahadapi Paklah makin bertambah apabila Dr mahathir mengumumkan akan menyertai semula Umno sehinggakan Paklah tidak mampu memberikan respon kepada soalan wartawan berkenaan kemasukan Dr Mahathir.

seperti dirancang,Sebenarnya Ahmad Ismail juga terlibat memerangkap Paklah, buktinya pada hari yang sama dia menyerang kaum Cina seperti orang Yahudi di Amerika, Khir Toyo juga menulis dalam Blognya bahawa jika Paklah tidak meletak jawatan peristiwa 13Mei bakal berulang. kenyataan Ahmad Ismail dan Khir toyo pada hari yang sama tentang soal perkauman seperti dirancang. sehari sebelum Ahmad Ismail membuat sidang medianya menyerang kaum Cina, dalam perjumpaan dengan Paklah Ahmad Ismail telah bersetuju untuk membetulkan kenyataanya dengan nada yang lebik baik tetapi apa yang berlaku adalah sebaliknya, kenyataan Ahmad Ismail lebih racist dari sebelumnya. ia turut mengejutkan Paklah.dan dalam waktu yang sama Paklah diperlihatkan seperti perancang sebenar membangkitkan Api perkauman. seperti dirancang,kesoknnya Muhyidin Yasin mendedahkan Dr Mahathir akan menyertai semula Umno dan Mukhriz Mahathir mengumumkan untuk bertanding sebagai ketua pemuda. dan sidang media Ahmad Ismail selepas ia dijatuhkan hukuman oleh Majlis Tertinggi Umno disebelahnya adalah setiausaha agung Umno Tengku Adnan sebahagian perancang untuk memerangkap Paklah. apa yang Paklah terlepas pandang adalah Khir Toyo & tengku Adnan adalah Proksi Mahathir. Tg Adnan juga kini mencari jalan selamat untuk mengelak kes Video Vk Lingam yang akan memerangkap dirinya. Tg Adnan sendiri mahu Dr Mahathir kembali dan Paklah dijatuhkan.agar Tg adnan dan mahathir terlepas dari kes Video Vk Lingam yang sedang dibicarakan.

written by jchew, September 13, 2008 03:11:20
Do not forget that MCA has one deputy minister in internal affair who is also one of the man behind !
written by Lim Lim, September 13, 2008 03:49:39
can u imagine that this is the type of gorvernment malaysia are having now??the umno/BN tyrants try to provoke the rakyat into racial unrest so that they could declare emergency,the plot failed n now they are toying with the barbaric ISA n arrest at their whims n fancy!!jus for the perpectuating of the dying 'tak laku' racist agenda!for what?well to preserve the power so that these goons could continue ripping,robbing n raping the nation n rakyat big time!!!
written by citizenken, September 13, 2008 03:58:43
This is not UMNO country, this is malaysians's MALAYSIA.time to sack the BN goverment. love for malaysia is love for its people. reason to change is better than excuses not to change. buckle up leaders of true malaysia.we the readers are leaders. spread the gospel of the evil regime, remind me of tyrant myanmar military rules.GOD save Malaysia, may the true heroes stand up and be counted
written by Fatcat, September 13, 2008 04:02:32
Desperate/corrupt people resorting to desperate measures. It is so obvious that there is an ulterior motive. Totally embarrassing to our Nation of peace loving people.

If you want to be free, there is but one way; it is to guarantee an equally full measure of liberty to all your neighbors. There is no other.

Carl Schurz (1829 - 1906)
written by citizenken, September 13, 2008 04:09:27
I wonder what MCA, GERAKAN is gonna say about a Reporter truth teller and a ego racist.i going to make them hear my view, MCA, GERAKAN, where r ur intergrity and dignity. R u afraid of BIG BRO UMNO put u in ISA for dissent.
Where is ur MORAL, INTERGRITY, RIGHTEOUSNESS. Did u trade ur soul to the power hungry DEVIL. as ur bitches demanding bout appologies from a racist.Can u justify the reason why a news reporters is on ISA?
written by Taufique, September 13, 2008 04:44:35
Today, I cry for my land of birth, and my heart feels very heavy. These recent fracas in our country stinks worse than leachate of garbage trucks. Beyond words. Feels like absolute tyranny.

a very unhappy day today. and all this has to happen in this blessed Ramadhan month. *sighs*
written by educationist, September 13, 2008 05:12:08
"So, the sword has been unsheathed.
But not for the course of justice and fairness.
But as a tool for intimidation and punishing the messenger, while that Ahmad rascal can swagger about with his road show on ketuanan Melayu and pendatang.
So, as of now 3 personalities who each in their way are trying to bring about a more just. fair , democratic and civil society in Malaysia have been incarcerated under the ISA.
I have no doubt many will follow.
So, even as I have misgivings about the morality of Anwar's 916 plan, this development shows such concerns are misplaced.
The UMNOputras have no qualms about using all underhanded, evil and draconian tools at their disposal.
And, so now a public prayer that Anwar and his strategists have factored this into their plans , and if 916 has been derailed please make sure PR can form the next federal government as soon as possible"

written by boeytahan, September 13, 2008 05:18:18
Hey M/T readers and commentators,

I am extremly sad with the first news of Pete being detained and thru the day until close to early morning, Theresa Kok was another victim. I would like to penn my gut feeling that Pak-la is not the person to blame. Syed Hamid, Najib and the MM should be behind all these. They are afraid of mass protest and so they nab RPK first. Pete if very influential with followers in M/T and have his in emphasising distress through his blogs.

Umno is quite a split-up since mm entered the fray coming into Umno again. A sly is always a sly. It's difficult to change the character like he had branded DSAI on the sodomy 2 instances. First he the Chinese and later apologise cos of the 1999 erection as chinese supported him in that GE. That's his way in running politics all this while.

Gathered Kuli, Muhyideen, Syed Albar and most probably Najib to this Lallang to happen again to incite these hatred to cajoeling the public to hold street protest for their gains in putting Malaysia in an emergency situation. '69 was way back with MSM and he won with his Malay Dielemma. This is '08 and with sources of the internet, MSM is unable to perform towards their agenda. Many were advising Opposition to leave this country being scared of them being thrown into ISA. This is definitely not the solution. How long can we escape from the dragnet if they insist in detaining them? Opposition must fight a realistic war on Umno warlords to the best of their abilities locally.

I hope that the 915 assembly in Kelana Jaya would be postphone in due course so as not to enable Umno to proceed with their agenda. Let Umno fight among themselves first before we PR proceed with our next step into gaining Putrajaya. DSAI, LKS, HADI and AZMIN ALI are very important pillars in our course for reformasi.

The government must change but we must not jeopardise our resources in this time of urgency. I believe that many ruling law makers had decided what to do after what's happening lately and time is on our side cos Parliament would convene earliest December and my gut feeling is that we will take them by surprise. Just like Tok Guru Nik Aziz had said "Its interesting that MM in joining in the fray into Umno. Stay united and let's see who's running the show!
written by Tom n Jerry, September 13, 2008 06:25:09
I have never been more disgusted with the government of this country;democracy has gone to the dogs;human rights provoked;ACA &Judiciary held at ransom.Corruption to the maximum;its a dead end*No medicine can cure*Only can hope for divine intervention;wonder whether there is Anyone from above(heaven) watching this dreadful political scenario smilies/angry.gif
written by zviivz, September 13, 2008 06:28:08
You don't have to go to the middle east to see the so called 'zionist'. We have one in the backyard here. It's time to end the BN regime!
written by A MI, September 13, 2008 06:31:54
PLEASE exercise restraint. Al-blur has been ordered to make sure that there is a Chinese uprising. all well engineered and now orchestrated...they have been brewing this plan...Perhaps even Ahmad Ismail acted on top gun's order...seriously no UMNO Branch member would have the gall to go headlong against No.1 and No2 in UMNO -- they know it is political suicide... It is very likely that Najis hatched plan with the famous SIL.

We have seen how AAB's gomen treated HINDAF . They are just waiting to do the same to the Chinese.
It is most important that all of us stay calm. Do not give any opportunity to the desperate BN gomen to spin lies and make mountains out of molehills so that they can declare an emergency.

..stay calm..as long as 916 or 920 happens all these people can be released to make room for the real pengkhianat(s)
written by Tompios, September 13, 2008 07:46:47
Bulan Rahmadhan bulan yang mulia! RPK, Kok, Tan ditangkap under ISA. Rahmadhan untuk mu RPK, Kok, Tan! Anda adalah orang2 yang mulia sempena bulan Rahmadhan. UMNO dan BN sudah ketandusan usaha. The last thing that they can do is to destroy the harmony spirit between races in Malaysia. UMNO gunakan ini agar dapat mengumumkan perintah darurat!

Tajuk Filem: "Amuk Malaysia"

Pelakon Utama: Ahmad Ismail
Sasaran: 1) Non Supporters Malays, 2) Chinese, 3) Indian, 4) Bumis Non Muslim.
Pelakon Tambahan: Unit Federal Reserve Police.

Pengarah: UMNO (Pencetus)
Teknikal: Polis / ISA

Jika filem ini laku, maka UMNO untung untuk 5 tahun lagi. Makan-minum dan bersukaria. Wang berjuta-juta ringgit masuk dalam poket.

Amaran: Jangan beli filem murahan ini.

written by daniel, September 13, 2008 08:57:01
This is INSANE!
written by CPY, September 13, 2008 09:04:34
what the @#$%! ISA YB Teresa Kok & the lady reporter!?