Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Raja Petra's Detention Appropriate, Says Ahmad Shabery

Raja Petra's Detention Appropriate, Says Ahmad Shabery PDF Print
Friday, 12 September 2008 23:08

(Bernama) -- Blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin's detention under the Internal Security Act (ISA) is appropriate as his articles, which allegedly ridiculed Islam and Prophet Muhammad, could stoke anger among Muslims worldwide, Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek said.

He said the government had to act as the blogger's action had touched the sensitivities among Muslims and could undermine national security.

"I hope that Malaysians will look at this positively as the detention is not because the government is against freedom of expression, but rather, it's because the freedom has been abused.

"The blogger has allowed statements which insulted Prophet Muhammad and this is a very sensitive thing to Muslims in the country and worldwide," he told reporters after breaking fast at the Felda Neram Satu Mosque near here.

He was commenting on Raja Petra's detention under the ISA for his article "I promise to be a good, non-hypocritical Muslim" which contained sentences that ridiculed Muslims besides allowing a commentary which ridiculed Islam and Prophet Muhammad with reference to the article "Not all Arabs are descendants of the Prophet" published in the "Malaysia Today" blog.

Commenting further, Ahmad Shabery said the government did not want Raja Petra's action to go the extent of antagonising Muslims worldwide the way the publication of Prophet Muhammad carricature by a Danish daily or the production of the film "Fitna" by a Dutch politician did.

"I hope Muslims in the country support the government's move which serve as a stern warning to whoever is abusing the freedom of expression by allowing people to write, express opinion or make statements that could hurt the feelings of members of a particular faith.

"The government does not want articles written by people in the country to cause anger among Muslims worldwide," he said.

In a related development, he said the government's move to free up access to websites or blogs was to allow freedom of expression.

However, if the sites had postings that could cause racial and religious tension, the government would have no choice but to take action against the bloggers to protect the interest of others, he said.

"In principle, they (the bloggers) are free to write of express opinion... it's just that they should not abuse that freedom," he said.

Comments (49)Add Comment
written by Horizonline, September 12, 2008 23:14:30
alasan alasan alasan

what else can they do beside just bullying a nationalist?

just admit la, u r getting desperate now aren't u?
written by kevin k, September 12, 2008 23:14:48
Ahmad Shabery, stop talking, your sliver is getting everywhere? You call your self a born muslim, I think that me being a mualaf, has better understanding on what RPK wrote!

Dont worry, Malaysians are no longer dumb!

RPK RPK RPK ! A True Malaysian!
written by SaveUsFromBN, September 12, 2008 23:16:49
i await the day when the new govt, uses the ISA on u!

dun worry, i got no where to run, but to stay right here and watch u all go straight to hell.

lies, lies and more lies!!!!! BN is full of it.
written by quietguy, September 12, 2008 23:17:36
Look at this positively? Shabery, are you on crack? Have you gone totally bonkers? Did you just received a hard knock on the head or have you always been this stupid? How the hell can we look at this positively when an innocent person is put into jail without trial?
written by Mark C, September 12, 2008 23:21:13
total nutcase this Strawberry chap, looks like a rabid dog with angular foaming in his mouth...

if anyone deserves to be ISAed, it should be the pock marked, with super huge cincin chap from bkt bendera.

We have all substandard and idiotic ministers....really malufying.
written by tokioRain, September 12, 2008 23:21:40
could stoke anger among Muslims worldwide. Wow, so no longer just internal security lah. What have you been smoking Shabery?
written by micon02, September 12, 2008 23:21:47
Ahmad Shabery

ISA tidak ada dalam undang2 Islam

Shaykhul-Islaam Ibn Taymiyyah said:

"This is why those who are in authority are of two groups: the scholars and the rulers. If they are upright, the people will be upright; if they are corrupt, the people will be corrupt."

The Noble Qur'an - Hud 11:85
"And O my people! Give full measure and weight in justice and reduce not the things that are due to the people, and do not commit mischief in the land, causing corruption.

The Noble Qur'an - Hud 11:113
And incline not toward those who do wrong, lest the Fire should touch you, and you have no protectors other than Allâh, nor you would then be helped
written by fairnessforall, September 12, 2008 23:23:06
Why do these UMNO dogs keep opening their mouth to show the rakyat how stupid they are. I guess they must be so stupid that they actually think being stupid is an asset hence the reason for flaunting their stupdity.

Does this idiot think the rakyat is stupid and dont know whats happening. U stupid Shabery, you are not the only person who read the article, millions of other people read it and no one saw any evidence of islam being insulted. Just because you are and the rest of the UMNO goons are idiots, does not mean all the rakyat are idiots too. The only person you are fooling is yourself.

We know the dirty game UMNO is trying to play, but god will ensure that your dirty tricks will fail and truth will prevail.
written by jcdrock, September 12, 2008 23:23:45
shabery and the rest of you shit holes...your time is coming up..you are resorting to dispicable acts of injustice only barbarians are capable of..Mr DSAI, please please please hasten the removal of this phony government..we will continue to pray for this disease riddled country to be rid of this illness that has plagued her for the last 51 years..God is great!!!power to the people!!!!
written by IbnAbdHalim, September 12, 2008 23:24:38
Appropriate? What about Ahmad Ismail? UMNO dah nak mampus!
written by Woman in Malaysia, September 12, 2008 23:27:25
Ahmad Shabery, I thought you were one of those rare UMNO people who is fairly sensible. Looks like there is no such thing as a sensible UMNO person. Therefore, I have only three words to say to you, just like I would say to all UMNO politicians: Go to Hell.
written by K W Waran, September 12, 2008 23:28:56

Dei Ahmad Shaberry,

You have the bloody cheek and gall to ask us Malaysians to look at it positively.

Well we already did, that is , within days/weeks, you will all be out of government and probably put into that very ISA, god willing. Before that, the PR government would free all the ISA detainees, YM RPK included to a warm red carpet welcome by society at large.

Then, we will tell you all to look at it positively and enjoy your stay, which will be quite long. No right-thinking Muslim or even any human being for that matter would agree nor support you all at all. You guys are all alone in this, I'm afraid. Just wait for the D-Day.(D for Doom for you all)

written by jowkg, September 12, 2008 23:30:58
WHAT IS THE PROVE THAT THE MUSLIM IN THE WORLD IS UPSET WITH RAJA PETRA's ARTICLE???? Can U pls Show us something? you SAID it could upset the world.. IT COULD! that is ur own judgement.. IT could meaning it haven't Upset anyone.. maybe just the BN Goons
written by KUMON, September 12, 2008 23:34:59
It's a SAD day for Malaysia.

All those who support ISA are cowards and big time losers. Only the insecure and the corrupt will use unfair laws to silence their opposition. For those of you who still think that BN are still fair, you are traitors to your own people for allowing such a government to manage the country. Where is your conscience and fair play for your fellow Malaysian (RPK) who has dedicated himself to exposing truths that will set us free?

No right thinking person will endorse the ISA which stiffens civil liberties and an insult to the court of law. If the court of law is superceded by ISA laws, then Pak Lah, you have done the greatest injustice to all Malaysians. How can we all continue to support your tenure. Now even the Sin Chew reporter is under ISA. What about Ahmad Said? Having said all that, in your desperation , you have actually exposed your own weaknessness and the public in general will respond accordingly.

Sad day for Malaysia....
written by NCantona, September 12, 2008 23:38:21
DYMM Agong...are you watching all this ur majesty.. pls wake up and help this country. Soon all of us will be arrested under the ISA. Everyone can be arrested under ISA except for the BN/UMNO guys who will only get 3 years suspension. What RPK said can be a threath for national security but not wat Ahmad said.......Are we living in a cartoon world here.
written by mvivek, September 12, 2008 23:38:26
We have had enough of TDM speaking on behalf of the Chinese and now we have another speaking on behalf of Muslims worldwide. I wonder when these guys will ever realize they are dealing with matured readers. It is apparent they have run out of reasons and have resorted to dragging Muslims worldwide to support their lost cause.

RPK will be BACK!!!
written by BennyG, September 12, 2008 23:39:56
1st idiot to open his mouth.

Wait to see the chain of idiots and their confirmation of being idiots by just opening their mouths.
written by jowkg, September 12, 2008 23:41:08
they should charge Raja petra with " INTERNATIONAL SECURITY ACT " LAAa pls laa... talking about Hurting the feelings of muslim WORLD WIDE!!! There is NONE ! no one is complaining or Hurt... ok.. else MSM would be publishing it by now..... our minister is belittling us... like we are bodoh.... this kinda alasan is good for those who don't know what is going on and blur blur abt the situation.. and they will belif la when it comes out in the newspaper the nextday....
written by axeltung, September 12, 2008 23:55:06
Yes..appropriate action!! More to come....fyi...Theresa sudah kena tangkap under the same...act
written by Kathy, September 12, 2008 23:55:36
I have re-read the 2 articles that Shabery Cheek referred to in the above article. The first alluded to individual Muslims who are behaving in an-Muslim manner but not an attack on the religion itself. The second referred to the Hon. Consul for Mongolia who apparently revealed a lot to PKR re the Mongolian model's murder, an nowhere in this article could I find any attack on Islam. Maybe my understanding of English is not as good as I think it is. Can my fellow bloggers help me out here by re-reading these two articles? smilies/sad.gif
written by zza11, September 12, 2008 23:56:36
Umno is not treating the rakyat as stupid. Umno is showing its stupidity to the rakyat. "PREDICTABLY STUPID".
written by SaveUsFromBN, September 12, 2008 23:58:54
the govt is trying to create chaos amongst the rakyat.

just stay calm and lets make them look like fools.

remember it takes 2 to tango!!!! and i dont feel like doing the tango.
written by matt3238, September 13, 2008 00:05:32
Your head is full of SHIT, Shabery. You better shut your mouth

written by SocratesI, September 13, 2008 00:12:19

We are looking at this very positively, you saliva spraying Nincompoop ! We see this as the beginning of the end for Barisan NAJIS.

Guys, I just had an SMS from a reliable source saying Teresa Kok has been just detained under the ISA. Can someone clarify this with me ?? Confirm or not ??

written by temenggong, September 13, 2008 00:13:57
Lets cross out this Shabery Cheek too.
written by sttb08, September 13, 2008 00:19:42
It's better to thought of as a fool when you close your mouth, then having it confirmed when you do open it.
Maaf tapi apa punya bangang umnoputera ni??
written by Dualties, September 13, 2008 00:20:50
Ahmad Shabery Cheek:
Just wonder whether you can seriously different between democrtic right and wrong. How would your own children evaluate you when you encourage ISA when they grown up having realized the victims of ISA were actually speaking volumes of truth.

Revealation of the essence of truth doesn't hurt the one who fails to differentiate right or wrong!
written by jayenjr, September 13, 2008 00:30:49
"I hope that Malaysians will look at this positively as the detention."
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gee Whiz, Shabery! What would you have us do, to "look at this positively"? Gather round in circles & sing kum-bayah whilst gazing lovingly at the PM's wall-photo?

Wow! Hey folks, it's really confirmed now. They did send an idiot on the debate night.
written by Chuan, September 13, 2008 00:31:43
The world is watching this...
written by Ben, September 13, 2008 00:36:40
"Do unto others as you expect others to do unto you."- Confucius

List of cabinet members who support ISA detention do far:
1. Syed Hamid Albar
2. Ahmad Shabery Cheek
written by malgal, September 13, 2008 00:39:50
like pulling wool over our eyes, ya?
written by shissun, September 13, 2008 00:40:31
F U C K YOU Shabery "bubbled mouth". See you in ISA jail next month!!
written by farah, September 13, 2008 00:41:49
Ahmad Shabery, kids refused dinner on that 'debate night'.

anyway ISA is a last resort for our Malaysian UMNO led BN government.
'30 years regimed we were kept like a 'mouse', now 21st century, we have waken already.
written by islandjoe, September 13, 2008 00:47:48
DUMNO, don't pretend to be the defenders of islam. The religious authorities that YOU control complained. Did PAS complain? NO!! So instead of reading the article you have selected sections out of context to put a negative spin on a simplistic summary. DUMNO: YOU ARE PURE SCUM AND I KNOW WHO WILL BE IN HEAVEN ONE DAY - AND IT WON'T BE YOU.
written by micon02, September 13, 2008 00:49:08
Guys...stay put

Surah Hud

There must be a Group of People Who forbid Lewdness

If only there had been among the generations before you persons having wisdom, There must be a Group of People Who forbid Lewdness Allah, the Exalted, says that there should have been a group of wise people present among the past generations who called to good and forbade the evil and corruption that took place among them in the land. His statemen

(except a few) This means that there were only a small number of people present among them who were of this caliber. They were those whom Allah saved at the sudden striking of His vengeance, when His anger was let lose. For this reason Allah commanded this noble Ummah (followers of Muhammad ) to always have among them those who command the good and forbid the evil. This is as Allah says,

(Let there arise out of you a group of people inviting to all that is good, enjoining righteousness and forbidding evil. And it is they who are the successful.)[3:104] It is related in a Hadith that the Prophet said,

(Verily, whenever a group of people see an evil and they do not change it, it is likely that Allah will cover them with (His) punishment.) Thus, Allah says,

(If only there had been among the generations before you persons having wisdom, prohibiting (others) from the Fasad in the earth,- except a few of those whom We saved from among them!) Concerning the statement,

(Those who did wrong pursued the enjoyment of good things of (this worldly) life,) This means that they continued in their ways of disobedience and evils and they did not heed the protesting of those righteous people, until the torment suddenly seized them.

Allaah know best
written by omarkhayyam, September 13, 2008 00:52:25
Bapak sodo-mee Malaysia smilies/smiley.gifbagi tahun 2008 akan di anugerahkan pada ... YM Tantintong Sribri Latukpatuk ....

written by Kathy, September 13, 2008 00:57:01
I'm sorry but I don't find anything positive in the ISA. Can anybody? smilies/angry.gif
written by wartank, September 13, 2008 01:03:38
Ahmad Shabery,.. GO TO HELL!!!

enuff said.
I'm not even reading this!
written by my oumrie, September 13, 2008 01:10:57
Hey Soreberry cheeks, you talk a load of bollocks! Even in Ramadan you goons can lie! Get thee behind me Shayateen!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by The Hammer, September 13, 2008 01:22:02
This InFo Min is talking cock with a load of sheet on it! Where did he get his cert? UiTM? This cheeky person should be slap on both of his cheeks! ha, you can follow the HM AliBaba and go to HELL! ( a town i Michigan USA)
written by onnetline, September 13, 2008 01:38:22
Ahmad Strawberry,

If controlled ' freedom ' is considered freedom, you and your Barisan najis can go fcuk yourselves.

And don't forget to go attend an English class, ok ???
written by dashuwang, September 13, 2008 02:12:33
Ahmad Shaberi BASTARD... There is no offence at all on RPK article "Not all Arabs are descendants of the Prophet" I as muslim has read with detail analysis found there is no such things as offending the Prophets.
RPK wrote with his heart. You Shabery way thinking by using your PENIS.
****!!!!! YOU!!!!!
written by doggone, September 13, 2008 02:50:36
No wonder he lost the debate with Anwar. He just couldn't understand what RPK wrote, neither did he understood the question posed to him during the debate. Let sleepy jokers lie.
written by flls, September 13, 2008 03:00:22
ahmad has nothing better to say but spit out rubbish. guess what ahmad? nobody wants to know what you think!for your information, you are nothing to us and your words sound like dog barks. if the Arabs are offended about the article, why i dont hear/see any complains by them? instead its just the malaysian government making a huge fuss!RPK, please be safe. i am praying for you and your family. you are a good man.
written by Lim Lim, September 13, 2008 03:14:59
ah mad shaberry another mad cow!if u are a man,do hav the gut to call a spade a spade...this is political persecution becos u umno goons are jus bad losers!!!pretty sure in the eyes of the international political arena,u umno goons should be a bunch of shameful,no-conscience born without integrity lowlife!!
written by Taufique, September 13, 2008 04:10:01
Hoi Shabery, are you so devoid of a brain that you cannot understand his writings? RPK has Never insulted Islam, nor Prophet Muhammad (pbuh). You, who twist words to plant wrong ideas in simple folks' minds, now how is that right?

Do remember, Allah is watching. Suatu hari nanti kamu akan terima balasan.

My heart is heavy for the latest arrest of these 3 Malaysian souls. I will pray for their safety, and also for the safety of the countless others' who were unjustly incarcerated using the ISA.
written by Kritz, September 13, 2008 05:48:06
written by sampalee, September 13, 2008 06:00:04
Trying to justify why the fox should be allowed to protect the chicken is what the minister seem to utter.To give comfort to muslim worldwide we must use un-Islamic law to prevent muslim from speaking the Truth[as expected for a mukmim].And all this stupidity in the holy month of Ramadan.You be the judge as to who is dragging the good name of Islam through slime.
written by ROBERTNGTG, September 13, 2008 08:19:43
Blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin's detention under the Internal Security Act (ISA) is appropriate as his articles, which allegedly ridiculed Islam and Prophet Muhammad, could stoke anger among Muslims worldwide, Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek said.

SEE THIS MINISTER OF MISINFORMATION TALKING THROUGH HIS BUTT. SHALL WE DEBATE ON THIS ISSUE OR EVEN PUT IT TO A VOTE?? LOSER PROMISE TO BE RPK'S LIFELONG DISCIPLE??? YOU ARE FROTHING ALL OVER THE MICROPHONE LAH.