Sin Chew reporter arrested under the ISA PDF Print
Friday, 12 September 2008 23:04
(The Malaysian Insider) Sin Chew Daily reporter Tan Hoon Cheng, the person who first reported on Bukit Bendera MP Ahmad Ismail's racial remarks, was arrested under the Internal Security Act (ISA) tonight.

Tan was picked up from her home in Bukit Mertajam at 8.30 tonight.

The arrest tonight comes on the same day as the detention of prominent blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin, also under the ISA.

Both arrests followed Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi's warning this week that the ISA would be used to calm rising racial tensions in the country.

Three newspapers - Suara Keadilan, Sin Chew Daily and The Sun - were also issued show cause letters by the Home Ministry today.

Racial tensions have been on the rise since Ahmad's controversial comments that the Chinese in Malaysia were squatters, was made during the recent Permatang Pauh by election campaign.

Ahmad's comments and subsequent defiance of his party president Abdullah has also happened amid instability within Umno, with renewed calls for Abdullah to leave office ahead of 2010, the year in which he has promised to hand over power to deputy Umno president Datuk Seri Najib Razak.

Today's arrests also happened ahead of September 16, the day in which Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim says his Pakatan Rakyat (PR) alliance would topple the Barisan Nasional (BN) government.

Earlier today, Raja Petra was detained under Section 73 (1) of the ISA for being a threat to security, peace and public order.

Under the detention orders, he will be detained for 60 days. The Home Minister can extend the detention order at the end of that period.

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by alvin 5, September 12, 2008 23:24:15
The use of ISA only hardens the rakyat's little faith of what's left for the administration of AAB.
The originator of the racial incident gets a suspension while the reporter of a factual situation is held under ISA
I can see us any better than Zimbawe
This is absurdity of the current administration beyond redemption.
As for RPK, the police has interogated him numerous occasions, assuming finding nothing much they can do to charge him they now use ISA.
AAB has clearly and loudly said ISA will not be used, can you believe him after countless flip flops.
Any strand of faith i have in BN is now washed away forever.
written by bumiku, September 12, 2008 23:26:47
So, who next? DSAI? It can clearly be seen that UMNO is getting real desperate!!

Rustam Affendi,
Your suggestion of calling out the chinese to berkumpul, might back fire! That was how 513 started. Chinese procession gave them UMNO shit-heads a reason to start a racial riot!. So, if there is going to be a plan where you want to involve them chinese, a proper plan need to established first.
written by Watcheyes1, September 12, 2008 23:27:43
Why spare Ahmad? He who started all is suspended for 3 years and the one who just did her job as reporter detained? How about the one who said the reporter should be shoot? Yand bersalah hidup bebas tapi yang tak bersalah duduk dalam ISA. Home Minister, you betul canggih lah!!! smilies/angry.gif
written by ez24get, September 12, 2008 23:29:58
Ahmad Ismail is the worst offender in the whole racial slur episode. He has brought the whole nation to the brink of chaos - almost on the verge of May 13! He is not only unrepented but has even given notice that he will be going on a national road show to create further racial hatred and tension in the country! Why hasn't he detained under ISA?

For doing worst than RPK, Ahmad Ismail is only suspended for 3 years? He can appeal when the storm blows over and could easily be pardoned soon next year. Anyhow, he is still eligible for the next election in 4 year's time.

Even those who merely did their job honestly as journalists and the newspapers that they work for are not spared. Sin Chew Daily journalist Tan Hoon Cheng has been arrested today under the ISA at her home in Penang. All she did was to report on what Ahmad Ismail had said.

Yet her crime was more severe than the person who actually committed the crime. It was as though a snatch thief was let off with a light reprimand but the person who saw and reported the snatch thief was whacked with the severest punishment and jailed for a long time! This is truly remarkable nonsensical logic! Has this tyranical BN Government suddenly contracted the mad cow disease?

I believe this will be the last straw that break the camel's back! If MCA, Gerakan, MIC or any BN component party can accept this perverse logic of UMNO, it is better for them to castrate their manhood now and forever be a eunuch and slave to UMNO!

written by malsia1206, September 12, 2008 23:32:27
AHMAD ISMAIL, are you happy now? Whose photo is next on your target list for tearing? This Government is the catylyst for heightening and deepening the discord by such barbaric arrest. It shall self-destruct soon.
written by jchew, September 12, 2008 23:38:31
Ahmad Ismail will be next..
written by Concerncitizen, September 12, 2008 23:41:14
Arresting Sin Chiew Daily reporter Tan Hoon Cheng under ISA is utterly shocking, totally unacceptable and unjust!!! Can she be punished for right reporting?? If not true reporting, how come Najib did'nt refute it but apologised instead. What is the rationale??? Any true Malaysian and any humane person would strongly object to such an actin. May God of Justice bring justice to this nation!!!
written by kennyeu, September 12, 2008 23:41:35
I cannot believe the government arrested the reporter for reporting what their UMNO member said. It's like arresting the eye witness and letting the criminal go free and worse of all they sent a lady to ISA prison while the fat racist gets to ride around in his mercedes.

I don't think they get it. The racists remarks doesn't make me angry with the Malays just because Ahmad Ismail is a Malay. It gets it furious with our government because Ahmad Ismail belongs to UMNO. The people's anger is directed at UMNO and the prime minister. Only UMNO makes this a racial issue.
written by temenggong, September 12, 2008 23:46:45
Bravo BN for arresting a little chinese girl. I am amazed at the bravery of the police!

We'll get you though!
written by jagz, September 12, 2008 23:46:47
Another person has been detained under ISA.. SEPUTEH MP Teresa Kok. Just got the sms alert from STAR. is going on here??
written by truthbespoken, September 12, 2008 23:48:39
Rustam Affendi,

Your call is a very sincere one. All of us are feeling the frustration and pain with the latest government's inept actions. I salute you for your guts and sincerity in your message. It is most exemplary of a true Malaysian fighting for Malaysian rights, the call to fight as one!

I will spread your message as far as possible and hope other concerned Malaysians will be on alert and take heed should the need arises. I truly respect your down-to-earth sincerity. Regards.

written by timmy, September 12, 2008 23:49:37
It may be a happy day for someone today, but 1 month down the road, this will be his biggest mistake. Don't judge the event too fast, it may be a blessing in disguise.

No emotion and reaction from us will frustrate provokers even more. Keep the cool, and keep the calm.

timmysay.********.com
written by jchew, September 12, 2008 23:52:19
Do not protest, do not fall into the traps of BN.
written by cheekhiaw, September 12, 2008 23:55:04
Rustam Effendi,

The lack of enthusiasm of young Chinese is partly the result of the daily dose of bullying and arrogance from sections of Malays.

That ranges from Najib & cousins with their crooked knive antics to primary school age kids in small towns behaving likewise.

The fact that no Malays are brave enough to stand up against those other Malays is also not at all impressive to the Chinese.

written by Sylvia, September 12, 2008 23:55:21
Where is democracy and justice? How does the govt justify itys actions? The person who cited racial seditious remarks was not detained under ISA but the reporter who reported the remarks was?
Orang cari makan lah, he/she reported as was remarked by Ahmad Ismail and if at all the contents are not to be published, it should be blamed on the so-called restricted "democratic freedom of press".If stricter guidelines has been given to the press to hide issues like that(from the rakyat) then that poor reporter's news would have been stopped from being published.
I urged those who have recorded that speech on that night, please come forward and give it to the police for the sake of justice. But a reminder, please make extra copies of it for keeps just in case the police maniupulated the original.
written by techgeek, September 12, 2008 23:56:21
The Star's online website has also put up an update stating that Theresa Kok has also been detained under the ISA. Looks like Ops Lalang II has started...
written by NCantona, September 12, 2008 23:57:22
Great.. It looks like i'm watching looney toons or something. Our PM and his goons are acting like cartoon characters la.....
If ur UMNO/BN, u can do anything n you won't be charged. If u r against UMNO/BN, u'll be put in ISA even if you do good things.
I love this country guys...soon turning into Zimbabwe. We should start calling ourselves the Asian Zimbabweans...
written by Khasyaf, September 12, 2008 23:59:46
This is a insulting provocation which involves freedom. Everyone please stay calm.
written by Spear Bing, September 13, 2008 00:00:36
Dear Rustam Affendi Abu Rahim...,

I cry for you.... for your passionate plea to the young Malaysian Chinese to rally for justice, fairness, and democracy and to stand behind PR.... and not only to blog...... NATO.

If you prick out the blood on their hands and observe under the microscope.... you will find three words that best describe the young Malaysian Chinese and they are.......

KIASU.....NATO.....COWARDS

It's in their genetic code...... you can say all you want.... you can justify until kingdom come.....The Malaysian Chinese will take care of their stomach first.

This is a sad episode......... but Sudara Enffendi.... don't lose hope and keep your fire burning..... you will see light and you will become a leader for the people, of the people and by the people.

SALAM.
written by jagz, September 13, 2008 00:00:56
teresa kok has been detained under ISA ..

HOW ABT THAT AHMAD FELLA???
written by Mark C, September 13, 2008 00:03:16
this is getting way too much...even Theresa Kok also kena ISA and the prick Khir TOYOL is not?
written by cheekhiaw, September 13, 2008 00:11:15
Rustam Effendi,

I commend the courage you show by offering yourself to be arrested under ISA.

You should however note that that non-law is not applied equally on all races as recent examples attest.

Case in point, the UMNO Malay that insulted the entire Chinese and Indian races is not arrested while the Chinese news reporter is.

Challenging the sharks from the mountains while calling the dolphins cowards is perhaps heroism in disguise.

written by joeawk, September 13, 2008 00:17:56
Rustam Affendi Abu Rahim
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it ,

Thank you, well said. I fully agree with you that young chinese are cowards. The chinese has been cowed by UMNO and the action of putting the chinese reporter into jail under the ISA while sparing the culprit, the barua from bkt bendera further tame the chinese.

To all Chinese, this is our country and we must protect and fight for our beloved country which is now undersiege by UMNO.

Do not argue the case for the sin chew reporter. She is just a collateral damage. Sheis being made an exanmple of, a warning to the chinese by the govt.

Chinese, must not be cowed and must show greater support for the PR coalition and never, never shall any chinese or indian for that matter, cast a vote for the BN coalition.

There shall be no turning back, whether MCA or Gerakan stays with the BN. Three must be a change in govt. The sign is very ckear to all Malaysians.
written by mvivek, September 13, 2008 00:17:57
In desperation, we now see the true colours of the government OF THE PEOPLE, FOR THE PEOPLE, so, help me GOD!!!
written by cheekhiaw, September 13, 2008 00:32:07
joeawk,

As Effendi said, no point exhorting others in blogs.

Go show us something more concrete - together with Effendi of course.

written by truthbespoken, September 13, 2008 00:46:23
Cheekhiaw,

Rustam Affendi has certainly exhibited a lot of raw guts that cannot be denied in calling for Unity of Action amongst Malaysians against political oppression.

He should be supported all the way by true Malaysians without any hesitation.

BTW, are you below 30 years old? No offence meant, just asking...

Also, Admin, why was such a sincere posting by Rustam Affendi deleted now? I am sorry but I think the message was just coming from a true Malaysian, not really so emotional that it deserves to be taken out so abruptly. More Malaysian should be given the opportunity to read his good work first hand.
written by cheekhiaw, September 13, 2008 01:07:23
truthbespoken,

If you are above 20, perhaps you and Rustam Effendi can show us some of the united raw guts you so admire?

written by NCantona, September 13, 2008 01:28:30
If the newspapers really wanna support the sin chew reporter, all the newspapers should not publish their newsapapers on Sunday and Monday. Two days of no publication would coz a stir in the government. They can arrest 1, 10 or maks 100. After tat? assure the press family is more then 100. then y worry. stop production/publication on sunday and monday if u wanna support your fellow colleague.
written by truthbespoken, September 13, 2008 01:31:05
Cheekhiaw,

Thanks for your question as an answer. Let us all remain as constructive as we possibly can. Times are not good nowadays really. Regards.
written by onnetline, September 13, 2008 01:48:54
Said AL Blur,

You must be feeling great now putting people behind bars with ISA.

A different set of laws for the likes of Ahmad Ismail and you ????????