Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow All must condemn Raja Petra's arrest and show-cause letters

All must condemn Raja Petra's arrest and show-cause letters PDF Print
Friday, 12 September 2008 20:27

It is blatantly obvious that the state is now resorting to the use of dictatorial and draconian measures to intimidate all those who wish to tell and reveal the truths, observes Aliran member Toh Kin Woon. Even those who merely do their job honestly as journalists and the newspapers that they work for are not spared. It is increasingly obvious, too, that the present Federal Government is not prepared to allow the space for freedom of speech, including the freedom of the press.

I learnt with great alarm and concern just a while ago of the arrest of famous Malaysian blogger, Raja Petra bin Raja Kamaruddin, also popularly known as RPK, under the highly obnoxious Internal Security Act (ISA) by the Federal Government. I am equally concerned over the issuance of show cause letters by the Ministry of Home Affairs to the Sin Chew Chinese daily, theSun and Suara Keadilan, the official weekly of Parti Keadilan, as to why their publishing permits should not be withdrawn.

RPK is a blogger known for his courage and commitment to justice, fair play and a non-racial approach to nation building. His blog, Malaysia Today, is extremely popular as it reveals the truth behind many issues that have hogged the limelight. But the truth often is not what our leaders in the Federal Government would like Malaysians to know. The reason is obvious; such truths put them in a bad light. They therefore attempt to whitewash them with their own spins or non-revelation of the facts. But by revealing them, RPK has made Malaysians more aware of the many cases of abuses and corruption that have drained the country of its precious assets, and demoralised the nation’s workforce. By doing so, he has also advanced the cause of justice. It is shocking that immediately after promising not to block access to the electronic media, the Federal Government should resort to this draconian measure of using the ISA to detain RPK. I condemn this arrest and call on the Federal Government to immediately and unconditionally release RPK. If the latter has violated any laws, he should be brought to court for a fair and impartial trial.

It is equally shocking that the Ministry of Home Affairs should issue a show cause letter to the Sin Chew Daily, theSun and the Suara Keadilan. From what I know, they merely reported on what was said by some leaders during the Permatang Pauh by-election. If these news reports contain racial undertones, the fault lies with those who made those statements, and not those who reported on and published them. Yet the same Ministry did not see it fit to take any action against those who uttered racist and seditious statements, but instead chose to punish those who reported and published them. This is clearly turning justice on its head. Again, I condemn such a high-handed action of the Ministry and call upon it to withdraw such show cause letters.

It is blatantly obvious that the state is now resorting to the use of dictatorial and draconian measures to intimidate all those who wish to tell and reveal the truths. Even those who merely do their job honestly as journalists and the newspapers that they work for are not spared. It is increasingly obvious, too, that the present Federal Government is not prepared to allow the space for freedom of speech, including the freedom of the press. But Malaysians want such a space. The obvious way for them to realise their goal is to support a change of government at the Federal level.

- Toh Kin Woon, Aliran

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, September 12, 2008 20:34:39
I'm still in profound shock.A pillar of democracy has been hit.
agree 131
written by fastorm81, September 12, 2008 20:37:08
It is blatantly obvious that the state is now resorting to the use of dictatorial and draconian measures to intimidate all those who wish to tell and reveal the truths. Even those who merely do their job honestly as journalists and the newspapers that they work for are not spared. It is increasingly obvious, too, that the present Federal Government is not prepared to allow the space for freedom of speech, including the freedom of the press.

I'm not surprise that this will come up:

"It is obvious that the present Federal Government will impose ISA to anyone that will be threatening the administration."

written by SocratesI, September 12, 2008 20:43:07

Newton's Law: For every Action there will be an opposite and equal Reaction.

Let Barisan NAJIS be forewarned. If they continue with arrests under the ISA to forestall Sept. 16th takeover by Pakatan RAKYAT, and do not release RPK soon, there will be repercussions that you, in the Barisan NAJIS can feel before too long.

Today is the day we have descended to the level of Zimbabwe ! How sad !

written by Fatcat, September 12, 2008 20:44:41
The only stable state is the one in which all men are equal before the law.

Aristotle (384 BC - 322 BC)
written by lamakawan, September 12, 2008 20:51:12
Any right thinking Malaysian will agree with Aliran on what you had expressed on the arrest of RPK. It is totally a blatant abuse of power to arrest RPK for no reasons whatsoever. The recent racial remark by BN Ahmad Ismail at Permatang Pauh is certainly a very clear reason for his arrrest under the ISA. Has the government made a bungle by arresting the wrong person? All Malaysians must join together to oppose the use of ISA on any person which only the authorities think fit will do.
written by Admiral Tojo, September 12, 2008 20:54:31
The ISA is UNISLAMIC and anyone who uses it is a Disbeliever and Munafeeq (Hyprovite)

SALAAM
written by zhugeliang, September 12, 2008 20:55:23
Heal Malaysia...
make it a better place...
for you and for me and for RPK...
I hear people crying...
If you care enough for the RPK...
Make Malaysia a better place...
for you and for me...

Amithaba...may God protects RPK from harm, wherever he is right now...
written by sjs, September 12, 2008 21:03:51
Raja Petra Kamaruddin, the defender of true Islamic faith, the hallmark of freedom and justice of Malaysia!

You have carried with you the aspirations and dreams of millions of your fellow countrymen! Whatever form of injustice the enemies will use to imprison your mind, will not succeed, for the prayers of millions of your countrymen are devoted upon you today!

You are one and only one who always makes the majority!

To the enemies of this nation! This time you have miscalculated! And miscalculated badly!
written by krising1, September 12, 2008 21:04:34
So what did Pak Bodoh mean when he told the media last week not to be afraid to write the truth?
written by Lim Lim, September 12, 2008 21:09:47
krising1,it would be suicidal to believe what bodowi n the umno goons say!please remember,they are jus a bunch of lanun,robbers n thieves without integrity n conscience,cakap tak serupa bikin,bikin tak serupa cakap!!!
written by pedagogical, September 12, 2008 21:12:57
When the Gov can't shut RPK up,they use ISA....now,will they haul every reader on MT under ISA? Speak up everyone....we'll show them

written by johntyc, September 12, 2008 21:13:27
Malaysia, Truly Zimbabwe smilies/angry.gif
written by binkah1, September 12, 2008 21:14:36
All opposition MPS should boycot the parlimentary session until RPK is release to show the rakyat disgust as to this high handed action.
written by born2reign, September 12, 2008 21:17:31
This smells like Dr M
written by Kuku Burung, September 12, 2008 21:22:14
ALL MUST CONDEMN RAJA PETRA'S ARREST AND SHOW-CAUSE LETTERS, including you MCA, Gerakan, PPP, MIC, those who have clear conscience in UMNO. Otherwise you guys are no better than evil hypocrite.
written by Angel, September 12, 2008 21:30:37
RPK is the one true Malaysian who has the guts to stand up for what he believes without fear or favour and yet he gets procecuted. How ironical! If he is at fault, try him in court and let this victim of justice fight his case. The truth will eventually come out and this will set one free. Only cowards fight behind the guise of the ISA.

If anything RPK is among the few Muslims in this country who has given Islam a good name. As a non Malay I respect Islam more today than before from the enlightenment I have got from RPK's explanations. It is face of Islam that we non Malays can respect, not the Osama bin Ladin brand. So, how can anyone say or accuse him of insulting Islam when he is a credit to the religion. I wish more Muslims are like him. Then we can have racial harmony in Malaysia.

Do the right thing and set this innocent man free.
written by wood, September 12, 2008 21:38:31
RPK is not a threat to me and my family. I think he is sent by God ! Please release him for the sake of his family and the rakyat who look up to him, not forgetting the others who are already detained whose family missed them too.

Win over the rakyat with love ! This is the better way I think. The rakyat will respond accordingly, believe me. Remember the Golden Rule which is something like this : Do unto others, as you would want others do unto you !
written by lynn, September 12, 2008 21:42:25
People must again be reminded, the government comprises of civil servants who are the employees of the People. We the People must make our stand clear to these civil servants who work for us. If we are not happy with our employees, we get rid of all of them. Remember, we are the Employer.

When Anwar becomes PM, we shall demand that Syed Hamid be arrested for abuse of power! Putting our dear RPK under ISA is sheer abuse of power & office. To hell, with you, you slimey arab!
written by Kuku Burung, September 12, 2008 21:54:31
Sin Chew's journalist Tan Hoon Cheng has been arrested at 8.30pm. The government is getting jerky every minute.
written by wood, September 12, 2008 22:02:09
I hope this news of Sin Chew's journalist Ms Tan Hoon Cheng being arrested is not true
written by foresight, September 12, 2008 22:10:35
This government is totally bankrupt of ideas. Never ever give your vote to this despicable BN coalition again. They can use all kinds of tools to silence and persecute its citizens but they can't break the will of the people. It may not be Sept 16 but eventually the day will come when they will all be thrown into the sewers for good.
written by Jack Hui, September 12, 2008 22:10:50
Sin Chew's journalist Tan Hoon Cheng has been arrested at 8.30pm. The government is getting jerky every minute....

Are you sure Kuku Burung???

written by Xpax, September 12, 2008 22:26:37
Sin Chew Daily journalist Tan Hoon Cheng has been arrested today under the Internal Security Act at 8.30pm at her home in Bukit Mertajam, Penang.

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/89602
written by budakindia, September 12, 2008 22:27:50
We'll make sure this government will be condemned for good! You bet! You bet this government will go down this year!
written by A MI, September 12, 2008 22:37:50
BN's behaviour can only be classified as jahil. Uncivilised and um-Muslim akin to being barbaric. Karma will come back and bite each one of you who engineered this when you least expect it and your offsrings will not be spared either.
written by Watcheyes1, September 12, 2008 22:58:21
budakindia wrote:

"You bet this government will go down this year".

Corrections....in a few days mate!!
written by alvin 5, September 12, 2008 23:55:00
3 down, more to come
1. RPK
2. Tan - Sin Chew reporter
3. Teresa Kok

together with the cue from Muhyiddin, the implosion of BN has begun
this augurs well and in time for for 916

The use of ISA only hardens the rakyat’s little faith of what’s left for the administration of AAB.
The originator of the racial incident gets a suspension while the reporter of a factual situation is held under ISA
I can see us any better than Zimbawe
This is absurdity of the current administration beyond redemption.
As for RPK, the police has interogated him numerous occasions, assuming finding nothing much they can do to charge him they now use ISA.
AAB has clearly and loudly said ISA will not be used, can you believe him after countless flip flops.
Any strand of faith i have in BN is now washed away forever.
i am certain i am not alone,
i am positive there are so many of you out there sharing our concern and care for RPK and all those detain under ISA
We need another Tsunami - TSUNAMI II to dislodge BN and replace them
in my opinion anyone is better than what he see in BN
WE MUST AND WE HAVE TO !!!
written by Bigdawg, September 13, 2008 01:47:24
Let's all start mass praying that all the responsible amno goons die in the coming nights!
written by Man In Black, September 13, 2008 04:01:45
The BN and UMNO is nearing death. 916 is haunting them..They will rot in HELL for what they are doing to people who love JUSTICE and PEACE...
written by ROBERTNGTG, September 13, 2008 07:49:24
All must condemn Raja Petra's arrest and show-cause letters

LAST RESORT GE13 TO "SCREW" THIS GOMEN AND THEIR SELF SERVING GOONS
FOR GOOD.
written by ramlisdar, September 13, 2008 15:30:30
Sin Chew's journalist Tan Hoon Cheng has been arrested at 8.30pm. The government is getting jerky every minute.

But what really surprised me, the culprit(Ahmad Ismail) who uttered the despicable phrase, escaped scot free. Well just a slap on his wrist.
written by Henry, September 13, 2008 16:36:12
My wife and I feel so sad to read of the latest actions by the morally corrupted UMNO Government. Are they trying to tell the non malay that the malays can make sensitive issues and the non malays have no right to report it ? Re Raja Petra's case, over the years they passed so many laws and don't tell me they cannot find a single law to charge Raja Petra but have to use the ISA ? It is because Raja Petra has been telling us the truth, nothing but the truth and the only way is to lock him up under ISA ? Shame to Syed Hamid and Badawi ! Your actions have angered us and made us stronger and more determine to kick you guys out of office ! Meanwhile we will pray for God's blessing that Raja Petra be protected from all harm and danger and comfort her wife.
written by apaimambang, September 13, 2008 17:39:49
RPK,WE ARE ALL PRAYING FOR YOUR SAFETY..SEE U SOON...
written by Ruby, September 16, 2008 09:57:09
RELEASE RPK... WHOEVER DUM ASS**** has arrested him. smilies/cry.gif
written by Ruby, September 16, 2008 10:41:06
well said & well written.
I fully agreed with Alvin 5. come on Malaysian, its now time to change all the people in BN esp. No. 1 & No. 2 pls step down for heaven's sake !!!
Release RPK....................... smilies/angry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif