Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Press Statement on Arrest of Raja Petra by the Leader of Opposition, Anwar Ibrahim

Press Statement on Arrest of Raja Petra by the Leader of Opposition, Anwar Ibrahim PDF Print
Friday, 12 September 2008 19:29
I condemn the arrest of social activist and blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin under the draconian and infamous ISA. By sanctioning the use of the ISA to avert the process of transformational change in Malaysia, the UMNO-led BN government is confirming that it has lost touch with the will of the people and is no longer capable of leading within the framework of a just and democratic society.

Raja Petra should be released immediately and any allegations leveled against him by the Ministry of Home Affairs must be resolved swiftly by the due process of the law. Raja Petra should be given access to proper legal counsel, and his wife and children should not be denied an opportunity to visit him while he is held captive under this illegal detention.

Raja Petra’s detention and the show cause letters issued today to Sin Chew Daily, The Sun and Suara Keadilan, and its earlier banning of prominent political websites, demonstrate clearly the government’s willingness to subvert the freedom of speech at a time when expression of dissatisfaction with the government’s policies is at an all time high.

In the aftermath of the March 8th elections and the Permatang Pauh by-election the Malaysian people have demonstrated their courage and commitment to building a mature democratic society. The dastardly act of detention without trial will do nothing to abate the current government’s declining credibility, and in fact will likely hasten its eventual collapse.

KeADILan reiterates its vehement opposition to the practice of arbitrary detention without trial. We have consistently called for the immediate release of all ISA detainees, as such practices have no place in a democratic society. The ISA is used to quash dissent and smother those who in exercising their right to free speech voice opinions contrary to the preferred views of the ruling clique.

Invoking the ISA just days before September 16th is clearly an attempt to engineer an atmosphere of fear and instability that would justify the government’s heavy-handed tactics against those aligned with the political opposition.

ANWAR IBRAHIM
LEADER OF OPPOSITION

written by shan, September 12, 2008 19:34:16

agree 288
written by snailriver, September 12, 2008 19:35:43
Dear DSAI,

Please make our dreams happen soon and show us a new dawn in our beloved Malaysia.

RPK need to be freed and only you can do it !

Thank you sir
agree 202
written by pokokmangga, September 12, 2008 19:37:32
YB DSAI,

I stand beside you to fight this injustice. I stand bseide Professor Art Harun that let the events unfold and the truth will prevail.

We must stand together. We must stand firm. We must stand in defiance of this common evil enemy who is destroying our beloved Malaysia. We must not waiver. We must march forward in our resolute to show them that we want our beloved Malaysia back where she belongs. Malaysia belons to the Rakyat and we belong to our Mother land.
written by SocratesI, September 12, 2008 19:47:00

Indeed, Pakatan RAKYAT & DSAI are our only hopes of securing the release of Malaysia from the hands of these Despots called Barisan NAJIS, and thus secure freedom for RPK, and the other ISA detainees.

I should qualify that. Pakatan RAKYAT & DSAI are our only hopes for a peaceful transition of power from the old and tired Barisan NAJIS Govt. to the Pakatan RAKYAT Govt.

Should Pakatan RAKYAT and DSAI fail for any reason whatsoever, the alternatives would be have very grave consequences ! Either the RAKYAT succumb to the UNJUST Rule of the Barisan NAJIS, and submit to their plundering, or we have a revolution on the scale of the French revolution where we STORM Kamunting as the French stormed the Bastille ! The costs will be high all round.

Frankly, I am ready for all the alternatives, so Barisan NAJIS had better not assume the Rakyat will skulk away into the shadows quietly. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH !!

written by EDLYK, September 12, 2008 19:53:13
Hatred towards gov will deepen
written by K W Waran, September 12, 2008 19:58:38
YB DSAI,

Thank you very much for your strong-worded Press Conference which soothes our frayed nerves somewhat. Having said that, what we, the millions of the MT Community memebrs are praying for is for you to helm the Government as soon as possible. We are also extremely worried about YM RPK safety while in detention which nobody can deny, especially what happened to you right in Peace Hill. We have all heard of horrible things happening behind those walls and we are not prepared to wait even 6 days.

You as the Opposition Leader of Malaysia can demand to know of YM RPK's status on a daily basis till he is freed by You and Your Government at the soonest. Please exercise your powers, YB DSAI, for we don't have anybody else to turn to is these trying of times. Thank you, Sir.
written by PRman, September 12, 2008 20:07:20
Dare the govt to call a snap election. BN will surely lose this time around.
written by johntyc, September 12, 2008 20:09:52
Lebih daripada 30 orang Wakil Rakyat dari BN menyertai Pakatan Rakyat. Pakatan Rakyat memiliki majoriti kerusi di parlimen. Yang di-Pertuan Agong melantik Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim sebagai Perdana Menteri Malaysia. Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim adalah Perdana Menteri Malaysia yang keenam dan yang pertama bukan berasal dari UMNO. Akta Keselamatan Dalam Negeri dimansuhkan.

Semua ini bakal berlaku dalam jangka masa terdekat.
written by Tom n Jerry, September 12, 2008 20:48:46
All moral supporters of RPK must pray earnestly for his immediate release;insyah Allah PR takes over soon;this BN is heading for disaster! smilies/angry.gif
written by The Mirror, September 12, 2008 21:13:21
I am a PR sympathyser and wanted a PR government during the last elections.
But I was against taking over of the government through turncoats for the simple reason that those willing to jump are normally the worst of the lot.

As of today I have changed my mind. The only sane news I got every day was through MT. And the goons arrest the Moderator. The most revered Royal Patriot Kamaruddin.

Its an insult ... but just the same... who ever signed the arrest warrant JUST SIGNED the Government's DEATH WARRANT.

ANWAR MUST SAVE MALAYSIA!

MAY GOD GIVE STRENGTH TO ANWAR. GOD BLESS MALAYSIA.
written by supplier, September 12, 2008 21:30:09
ABuse of Power and that botak Hasmid or whoever signed that order should be charge for that
written by Limang, September 12, 2008 21:40:22
Without opposition, democracy dies.
Without democracy, dictactorship rises.
With dictactorship comes oppresion,
With oppression comes terror,
With terror comes sufferings,
With sufferings,a nation falls.
When a nation falls, a new nation is born!
It is time for change.
Arise, my fellow Malaysians, change this oppressive gomen.
Let freedom rings, let justice rings, let evil beware!
written by Saint, September 12, 2008 21:40:46
YB DSAI,
Please start a silent economic boycott of items that will hurt UMNO most.
Non purchase is legal, silent, peaceful but very powerful.
written by Counterpointer, September 12, 2008 21:56:55
This gomen says it's immoral for the way Anwar wants to take over the gomen. Now what can be more immoral than them using the ISA to lock up without trial people who exposes their abuses of power,corruption and even murder?

I for one can't wait for Sept 16 to happen. Let's hope when that happens Anwar would retain the use of the ISA just for their benefit and lock them bastards up before abolishing it once and for all.
written by Kyle, September 12, 2008 21:59:48
UMNO-led-BN must fall.
The sooner the better.

DSAI, please bring us a NEW MALAYSIA !
written by cubi76, September 12, 2008 22:09:46
Malaysia is officially a POLICE STATE! Democracy in Malaysia is totally destroyed in the hand of UMNO-BN!

People of Malaysia... Do not let UMNO-BN takes away our hope. Evil can never win.Stand firm and hold on to our belief.
written by Angel, September 12, 2008 22:13:48
Let us pray for a swift turn of events that will liberate RPK from the draconian ISA law. It is immoral that anyone in this day and age can be subjected to this. A real insult to human rights.

RPK is one of the few Muslims who has given me a more positive view of the Islamic religion and yet he is accused of betraying Islam. How ironical!
I wish more Muslims are like him. Then we will have racial harmony in Malaysia!
written by hiro, September 12, 2008 22:39:26
Anwar should be careful because when the wounded animal is cornered, it will lash out indiscriminately. There won't be a nice reason for them to use ISA on Anwar. It's perhaps time to work quietly and then spring a surprise on them. Anwar will need the full support of the media, and in the full glare of the international community, to achieve a takeover, otherwise the BN government can just arrest everyone under ISA. After all, they have nothing to lose now and everything to gain.
written by Highway16, September 12, 2008 23:04:00
Watch out! Operasi Lallang Part II is ON. They are desperate and will do whatever it takes t stay in the Government. If they loose, all their dirty laundry (corruptions) will be exposed. So,its life and death for the BN.
written by Kathy, September 13, 2008 00:07:27
My plea to all the leaders of PKR. Please make a concerted stand and appeal to all Malaysians not to take to the streets in the wake of the arrest of RPK and Ms Tan Choon Hong under the ISA. This is what the govt. wants to happen and the people must not rise to their bait. smilies/sad.gif
written by Highway16, September 13, 2008 00:16:55
To all PR MPs, stay calm and do not say or do anything that might let the Gov. have any reason to use ISA on you. Everyone of you counts.

Its not much longer, even if it takes another 30 days, to replace the Gov. I believed those who are detained now will be able to sacrifice you time and god bless you and your family.

written by joeawk, September 13, 2008 00:48:13
UMNO has lost the 916 mind game, It is so interesting that they even find it fit to create a situation to justify using the draconian ISA.

DSAI is brilliant, it is so much easier to trap UMNO than to trap a wild boar-babi hutan in the jungle.

It confirms that there will be a change in govt, it has become just a matter of time.

Malaysians,let be calm and see how far and how greedy UMNO can be, to want to stay in power even when they are unwanted.