Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Dr M: Chinese don't mind race politics, it's Pak Lah they can't stand

Dr M: Chinese don't mind race politics, it's Pak Lah they can't stand PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 12 September 2008 16:30
By Wan Hamidi Hamid, Political Editor

KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 12 ~ The Chinese do not reject Barisan Nasional's race-based politics, but instead they just want to get rid of Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, said Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

In his latest attack against the Prime Minister, the prolific former premier said the Chinese were more interested in the economy and Abdullah had failed them.

"Even hawkers and small traders; the subcontractors, the retail shops owners are unhappy with the government. They are however very cautious about criticising Datuk Seri Abdullah but when pressed they admit that they wanted Abdullah out but dared not say it aloud for fear of being accused of rejecting Malay leadership.

"They also worry about their businesses being singled out for some unpleasant treatment like being investigated by the Inland Revenue Board," he wrote in his blog today.

Unable to do anything else, he said the Chinese cast their votes for the opposition and BN achieved the worst result in its history.

Dr Mahathir insisted that the votes for the opposition were not due to a desire to replace BN with Pakatan Rakyat, but were actually protest votes.

"But is it protest against the BN parties? Is it a rejection of race-based politics? I don't think so."

The former prime minister said it was a protest against BN's poor leadership as the people saw "a BN leader who was indecisive, unable to deal with the increasing cost of living, flip-flopping, unable to stimulate the economy and above all is known for putting his family's interest above that of state".

"Everyone knows about the 4th Floor and the role of Khairy Jamaluddin's cronies in determining policies and deciding on the business activities of the country. People consider these arrogant young people as contributing to the poor performance of the Prime Minister," he added, referring to Abdullah's son-in-law and his advisors.

He also said BN's success for the past 50 years reflected the people's total acceptance of the ruling coalition.

"And why not? Had not the BN built this country until it has become the most developed of developing countries, conducted free elections, brought stability and unprecedented economic development and achieved a degree of racial harmony which is the model for many multiracial countries of the world?"

The former PM did not, however, comment on long-term criticisms that the BN government had been accused of manipulating the elections, enacting draconian laws such as the Internal Security Act, Official Secrets Act, Printing Presses and Publications Act and a host of others to silence critics, and that they were most harshly enforced during the Mahathir era.

Dr Mahathir admitted that there were people who criticised the lack of democracy in the country but believed they were the minority who had never been able to influence the voters to reject BN.

"After the stunning victory of Barisan Nasional in 2004 why has it been clearly rejected in 2008? What happened between 2004 and 2008?

"Can it be that after almost 50 years of supporting race-based politics the voters have decided to reject it and opt for non-racial politics?

"Have the people in the kampong suddenly yearned for more liberalism? If so why did they give strong support to Pas, a race-religious party which is anything but liberal?"

- The Malaysian Insider

Comments (109)Add Comment
written by Mark C, September 12, 2008 16:36:44
senile and pompous old twit. I am chinese and I don't agree on race based politics.
agree 456
written by panca, September 12, 2008 16:38:00
Kerbau sudah masuk kandang.

Stop propagating your own political agenda.
agree 294
written by CMohan, September 12, 2008 16:38:16
Dr. M, please wake up from your dream and smell the coffee. You're almost as bad as Badawi with these kinda statements. Wake up for heaven's sake!
agree 287
written by chin, September 12, 2008 16:38:21
LETS MAKE THIS CLEAR.

MALAYSIAN CHINESE HATES UMNO'S RACE POLITICS.

Badawi is just incompetent, UMNO is insufferable.
agree 398
written by Dominic, September 12, 2008 16:38:49
Awww...

SHUT UP you Racist imbercile. No one ask you to speak for Chinese. You Tun Dr. Racist is the most hated by ALL Malaysian...on your TOMB...we will Graffiti "BAPA RACIST & KEMEROSOTAN MALAYSIA".

Rakyat must now rise up. We must organise in a manner that does not involve the Leaders of Barisan Rakyat. Disrupt all UMNO-BN tools.!!
agree 271
written by Concerned Malaysian, September 12, 2008 16:41:29
Ayahanda yang di kasihi,

Yang tengah tidur bukan saje AAB bahkan juga Tun,ape ynang hang habak ni, mengarut betul.When did we said we liked race based politics, is it during your period? Helo nyayuk we were pressed down by your draconian system, no freedom of expression..remember ISA.Let me tell the truth, we despise race politics and we demand changes not just AAB but also the entire BN mechanism.

Jadi ayahanda sila tutup mulut hang. DIAM AJELAH.......you are entirely responsible for the current situation.......
agree 247
written by indianputra, September 12, 2008 16:43:08
Dr.M... stop blaming Pak Lah. Agreed that he is a weak mosquito, but things were no different during your regime. People just kept quiet because you were a tough leader and would do anything to have your ways.

I agree with you, that Malaysia has hit rock bottom under the admnistration of Pak Lah and he must go. If he continues to stay, well if Anwar is not taking over the Government, the UMNO will kick him out or we will wait for the next GE to nail the coffin of BN never to be reopened. This will happen even if you return to UMNO.
agree 207
written by MikeLabu, September 12, 2008 16:43:30
Can you stop commenting? You started all this... No one supported race-baced politics ever. It's the way you display in the media. It's because your stupid divide and rule policies.. It's you who started all this nonsense.. And now you are scared, having nightmare...am i right?
agree 186
written by jowkg, September 12, 2008 16:45:08
Dear Tun Dr.Mahathir,

I have lots of chinese friends who do not want race politic anymore. I understand ur previous leadership seems fine with race politics but time has changed, do not place ur confident u had 10yrs back and apply it here... If u want accurate feedback fromt he RAKYAT, u should have a team of ppl who do more research... read all the feedback from all the blogs... comments... do survey...... maybe NTV7 Can help out with the SMS poll on this....

agree 190
written by Hitenwolf, September 12, 2008 16:45:11
Hello Dr M when have you been appointed the official spokesman for the Chinese in this country. As evident by the voting trend of the GE12, the Chinese, Indians and even Malays are not in favour of race-based politics. Only UMNO and its BN's lackies are perpetuating it.

If you've so much of hatred for Abdullah Badawi, just admit it and and don't push it to the Chinese as implied in your article. Let me tell you this; the Chinese have been sidelined and marginalised long enough to continue accepting race-based politics and secondly, the Chinese have nothing personal or harbour any animosity against the current PM. It's your insurmountable and disdaining hatred for the PM that is blinding your vision to the reality of the Chinese psyche in the country now.
agree 236
written by ellyna, September 12, 2008 16:45:28
Pathetic old fart!! You are the cause of the nation's downfall today by appointing racist, double standard morons to run this country. Can you just shut up and DIE???!!!!!
agree 184
written by ibabonma, September 12, 2008 16:46:13
Dr Mahathir insisted that the votes for the opposition were not due to a desire to replace BN with Pakatan Rakyat, but were actually protest votes.

Pandangan orang nyanyok yang menghampiri tahap nak mampus. Pencen la.

Are you trying to spam? Please allow '600' seconds between posts.
written by Ann Meng Sim, September 12, 2008 16:46:48
I am Chinese and I HATE race politics. And the reason we have race politics is cos of you! You started it all.

Who are you to speak on behalf of the Chinese?
agree 257
written by 4country, September 12, 2008 16:46:55
I'm Chinese.I mind!
Orang Tua, Pls don't talk on behalf me!
agree 196
written by skc, September 12, 2008 16:47:02
Dear Dr M,
A bit too little a bit too late.
I never look on the side of what NEP has done for the Malay, now I can see it so clearly, I am now very against race-based politics, u are killing of a whole group of good and kind hearted soul and turn them into morons and bigots, this I cannot stand. Wake up oh please wake up, no amount of power is worth turning a group (or race) of people into monster. Luckily not all Malay has been turn, but sad to say your NEP has also turn Chinese and Indian into monster as well, what a dangerous thing this NEP is, throw it away before it become such a huge monster that you can no longer control. If it is not already too late.
written by cheekhiaw, September 12, 2008 16:47:28
MIND YOUR LANGUAGE

Stop talking on my behalf, you sick old idiot.

agree 134
written by Kathy, September 12, 2008 16:47:43
Wrong! This Chinese doesn't like race-based politics. This Chinese wants politics to focus on issues concerning everybody in Malaysia regardless of race and religion. smilies/angry.gif
agree 187
written by Durnfordi, September 12, 2008 16:48:06
TDM, your dictatorial politics kept everyone quiet during the years you were in power! Being quiet doesn't mean we like you ok! We actually abhorred you! You're a cruel man and will do what it takes scare the public and to rule with an iron fist. Look at what you've turned Malaysia into! No one in BN can change the sentiments around anymore! We the rakyat practically hates you and the entire BN regime. You are the one that has started all this problems and Badawi can't do anything to turn it around. So, you think he's the culprit? Actually its you TDM. Please sit back or migrate and leave us alone. We don't need you anymore! I repeat; We, the rakyat don't need you anymore! We need DSAI now!
agree 126
written by foresight, September 12, 2008 16:48:32
He is the cause of it all, even now. This fake Malay has now chosen to be a spokesman for the Chinese.
agree 126
written by FFT, September 12, 2008 16:48:48
written by Hitenwolf, September 12, 2008 16:45:11
Hello Dr M when have you been appointed the official spokesman for the Chinese in this country.

He was probably fed this nonsense by Matthias Chang. You know, the guy who said the world was going to end 2 years ago?
written by captmarco ramius, September 12, 2008 16:50:27
Wahai mahataik firaun,

So all those years you were in power,you believed in this notion lah ?.
So you and your UNMORAL party was always RACIST BASTARDS kah ?.
At least now we know your true colour.
You pig,you not even a MALAY but you acting to be more MALAY than a true MALAY.
Sudah lupa kah lu kerala mari punya,anak haram.
Lu patut MAMPUS CEPAT...Amin...
written by Garend, September 12, 2008 16:52:25
smilies/angry.gif ... Please STOP putting words into our mouth.. How do you know what the Chinese are Thinking? After all the stuff you and your UMNO goons have put us through.. now you DARE to even speak on our Behalf? CAN YOU TELL ME WHAT BADAWI did to the CHINESE that we should hate him so much?

WHAT CAN he do which you haven't done far worst? Please.. GOD.. please accept him fast.. Keep him silent from spreading the Racial card anymore..

To all Malays Brothers & Sisters.. Please don't trust anything this Half-Malay Says.. Utterly LIES. More like HE HATE Badawi because He took away his rice bowl.
agree 123
written by Ashleigh, September 12, 2008 16:53:22
What are you talking about? No right-minded human being will accept race-based politics. The truth is that we could have achieved much better than Singapore by now if not for the BN divide-and-rule "ketuanan melayu" regime!!!

Let him continue to live in his oblivion as this can only expedite the long overdue CHANGE!!

There's a chinese saying which says man speaks of truth as one's dying. This old wicked rotten meatloaf is obviously still far from it... I guess this is God's way of punishing him - let him live long enough to witness how BN is sent into hell by his own hands.
written by NickChan, September 12, 2008 16:54:45
DrM it may be true 10 years ago. for some, it is STILL true, but for some others, they now think of morality. Chinese can stand pak lah. Chinese and malays cannot stand Khairy, Hishamuddin and Najib
written by krising1, September 12, 2008 16:55:07
speaks with forked tongue! He should have said that he brought about the most corrupt country in the developing world!
written by non conformist, September 12, 2008 16:55:49
O SENILE OLD man,
Who champions RACIST politics of divide and rule...
May worms divide and rule your body and soul soon...

How can you use the Chinese as a smokescreen to hide such a hideous evil that is burning within your heart is beyond me!
written by kingelvis, September 12, 2008 16:56:26
It's Malays like you they don't like. You supreme racist speak only on behalf of racists like your kind. Don't speak on behalf of race politic victims who suffered under you and continue to do so. You purged Indians to prove to the malays that you were malay to distance from your Indian half. Shameful man..ashamed of who he truly is!
written by PeoplePowerPronto, September 12, 2008 16:58:19
'The Chinese do not reject Barisan Nasional's race-based politics...'

Who gave you that info Dr M? MCA?
written by SocratesI, September 12, 2008 16:59:54

So Maha-Shithead, you are now a Chinaman, speaking on behalf of the Chinese ?? Go back to Kerala, M@m@k ! We are Dead Against Race Politics, and so are our Malay, Indian and other brothers and sisters, fellow Malaysians !

If Bodohwi does not release RPK, he will Know the Wrath of the Rakyat and he will tremble like the coward that he is !! As for you, you Senile, Irrelevant Old Lanun Scumbag, we hope you burn in Hell forever, and while we are at it, why don't you follow Mat Deros and do us all a favour by Dropping Dead ??!!

written by bengali kunday, September 12, 2008 17:00:59
Can you please stop using abusive language towards our ex premier. Thanks to Dr M, we are striving towards our 2020 goal. Prosperity and growth over the last 20 years, you lot just threw it back on his face. Shame on you.

disagree 185
written by Zapper, September 12, 2008 17:03:55
Tun.....please take a look at the politics around the world and see how much had changed this year. Malaysians of all races just want a simple life without the politicians stirring up racial sentiments that will give rise to suspicion. As an elderly stateman, please have a good retirement. Do not habour such bitterness.

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.
written by hiro, September 12, 2008 17:19:55
TDM may be right that the Chinese cares about the economy. But certainly it's not JUST the economy that the Chinese or for that matter other races care about. They care that the Federal Constitution is abused and misinterpreted time and again to serve just one party, UMNO.

The minorities care that there is a dysfunctional dual justice system that is causing the minorities much grief, be it corpse robbing by Islamic religious officials, forcing a child into Islam just because the parent converted, relegating the civil court to second whenever a marital dispute between a Muslim convert and a non-Muslim occurs, and most importantly, contravening constitutional freedom to religion.

The minorities further hate that UMNO uses the non-bumi bogeyman to shore up support of Malays and Muslims.

The minorities mostly hate that despite being a gentle race that is supposedly steep in Islamic teachings, UMNO has become a party of corrupt and criminal opportunists, abusing NEP all the way, stripping the nation of its wealth, ignoring the welfare of the many in order to unjustly enrich just a few.

Yes, the Chinese may care about the economy, but it is not just about the economy. A failed judicial system, failed law enforcement and a partial AG's chambers contribute to foreign capital escaping the nation because there is no security leaving their money here. A government corrupt to the core scares away foreign investors because there is no incentive paying extra for not additional benefit. A government that turns it's back on its pledge as in the case of MSC bill of rights scares away investors because it is an unreliable business partner. A government that locks up political opponents under the ISA scares away investors because a repressed people results in an unstable country.

These are not wrongs committed under Badawi administration alone. These have been wrongs perpetuated under TDM times. The Chinese either did not like it then, or they simply didn't know given tight control of the media, but it was at least bearable because the economy was somewhat working. Badawi simply brought out deeply felt anger because he's been utterly incompetent. Once the will for change comes to the surface, it is irreversible. The non-bumis would not have made that much noise if not for the universal discontent of what is wrong with Malaysia. The discontent over failure of regulatory and enforcement institutions is not just a Chinese, or Indian problem. It is also a Malay problem. It is a Malaysian problem.

Therefore, TDM is wrong. Very wrong. People appreciate Badawi for losing the reigns on the media, for creating an inquiry into Lingam, and for at least speaking in favour for some kind of judicial, police and ACA reform. People are appalled that UMNO stands in his way because of vested interest. People are disappointed that Badawi squandered that golden opportunity to reform Malaysia in a significant way despite winning so much mandate back in 2004.

Reform is now inevitable, irreversible and hopefully imminent. TDM may go back to UMNO and support someone to beat Badawi at the coming UMNO elections, but this will not satisfy the thirst for change in Malaysia by all races. UMNO is beyond redemption, and the only way forward to rescue Malaysia is to replace the gangrened heart of power and replace it with a new entity called Pakatan.
written by bluefire, September 12, 2008 17:21:13
They also worry about their businesses being singled out for some unpleasant treatment like being investigated by the Inland Revenue Board," he wrote in his blog today Is this what this bastard has been doing during his tenure? Hei Maha Firaun, Kami tak hendak dengar cakap kamu, jadi diam lah. You messed up this country. Now I am not interested in economics but for the well-being of this country's people. The rakyat comes first. End this nonsense, go far away else you will be kena sula for sure.
written by Admiral Tojo, September 12, 2008 17:25:32
I think you should ask The Lord to take your life TODAY Mahathir, you hypocrite. You engineered the May 13th episode, you divide and rule, use race based politics for your own and your childrens' benefit. How rich in Mokhzani? How much money you have stolen from the people? All that is Badawi is your own creation. You do not speak for anyone, the Chinese, Indian and Malays included.

Yes, Die Mahathir Die and hopefully soon.

Salaam
written by spinderin, September 12, 2008 17:26:52
We do not want an idiot to put words into our mouth.
If you are not a chinese, you are not fit to speak for chinese.
Don't use chinese as a tool to achieve your evil objectives.
The chinese in fact suffered during your tyrannous rule.
Shut up and go to sleep !
written by rockli, September 12, 2008 17:36:37
Mahathir speak for yourself

I can't stand you more than Badawi
I think that goes for other Chinese as well!!!

When will they charge you and sentence you for crimes, misdeeds!
written by Sam W, September 12, 2008 17:47:33
In appointing himself the spokesman for the Chinese, Mahatir is basically telling the Chinese that they have no right to say anything, and he'll say it all for the Chinese.

And who the hell say that the Chinese are only interested in the economy? Maybe Mahatir should spend some time talking to the ordinary Chinese citizens and not just the businessmen.

All right thinking Malaysians reject race based politics. Only Mahatir and UMNO still believe in it.
written by mvivek, September 12, 2008 17:48:51
Gone are the days, Sir, when Malaysians took your words for granted. We are all now a little more intelligent, wiser to ways and words of Barisan politicians. We have all now opened up our minds and eyes and we all know the road we are taking. We care not to what you think, and please, do not speak for us.
written by arazak, September 12, 2008 17:51:26
The Chinese do not reject Barisan Nasional's race-based politics, but instead they just want to get rid of Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, said Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.
_______________________________________________________ __________________
How wrong you are! . . .The Chinese, Malay, Indians, Kadazans,. . . and all races in Malaysia have rejected UMNO/BN, Sleepy Head PM and you too!!!

Put this in your thick skull. . .,stupid old man!
written by Anak_Asia, September 12, 2008 17:52:07
OLD MAN,

Just shut up and fart off !!
written by Old Man, September 12, 2008 17:57:55
Dr M, very soon you, your cronies and your children will have a dose of your own medicine. This the only the beginning.... smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by jason, September 12, 2008 18:00:43
You are really brain dead! Chinese hate race politics!!! We hate the Kris maniac, we hate the Penang Ah Mad and we hate people like you who are insensitive to other race feelings. AAB is not the number 1 reason we voted opposition, racist comment is.Its people like you that we voted for DSAI because he gave us hope and a Malaysia for everyone minus racist like you. Please shut up (R.I.P).
written by funfac3, September 12, 2008 18:05:57
'M' is for MORONS!
written by ez24get, September 12, 2008 18:08:05
TDM,

You must be not awaken from your anesthetics from your last heart operation to say that the chinese do not mind about racial politics but the economy!

If the chinese are not incensed with the racial antics of Kris-hammudin and the racial tauntings in the past UMNO General Assemblies, there would be no tsunami on March 8. There are pictures of Hishammuddin holding the kris everywhere on the streets and on the internet to constantly remind the chinese of the racial politics UMNO is playing.

If we are not incensed being racially called "pendatangs", Badawi would not have urgently called a BN meeting and slapped Ahmad Ismail with what he deserved. There would not be a near May 13 chaos on that incident.

If we are not concerned with racial politics, we would not have deserted BN in doves to the side of Pakatan Rakyat!

If chinese are given the hard choice to choose Mahathir, Najib or Badawi for the Prime Minister post, 100 out of 100 chinese will choose the obvious, less racially inclined choice which you know who.

You must be blind not to see all the ominous signs appearing every where! Or you choose not to see the ominous signs because of your own personal political agenda.
written by johntyc, September 12, 2008 18:10:32
Halo Dr.M. Used to had some respect for you. I don’t like Abdullah because he is incapable in various aspect. I hate UMNO, MCA & MIC because of their race politicking. Always claim they fight for their respective race but in fact only for themselves. Every General Election UMNO said they will ‘basmi kemiskinan Melayu’. How many years must they take to do that? Melayu already fed up lah! Most Melayu now ‘sokong’ PKR, PAS or PR generally!
written by benjo, September 12, 2008 18:11:32
Nonsense. I can't even bring myself to express my disgust
written by angkasawan bocor, September 12, 2008 18:19:01
Maha Tahi

Don't put your words into the Chinese mouths. The Chinese do not need you to be their spokesperson!
written by lamakawan, September 12, 2008 18:22:13
You are telling a pack of lies MAHATHIR. The chinese has firmly rejected the racial politics as practised by you and your follower. Have't you seen the March 8th election results? You pretend that there was no march 8th elections. The chinese and their malaysian brothers had rejected BN, that is why there is no 2/3 majority of BN anymore. And BN lost 5 state governments? Is not this that they reject racial politics of yours? Please do not pretend. You are a man of no principles. Pohra..
written by truthbespoken, September 12, 2008 18:28:48
Mahathir, go hug Mathias and tell him to say what you have said about how the Chinese are feeling now are correct. Maybe all the Chinese will then listen and believe you both. Try, just try and see what happens..
written by mucking fuddled, September 12, 2008 18:28:52
there you go....the old senile has unwittingly admitted he still worship Hitler....i am not surprised he has a secret bunker at his residence where he goes to chant 'Hail Hitler' everyday....
he still fancy he can manipulate the rakyat with sly commends.....
written by sonofman0, September 12, 2008 18:30:47
Dear P.L,

You are my P.M. I "can't stand" to witness the amount of venom being spat at you. Even a spitting cobra cannot perform so efficiently when delivering its liquid poison!

There might be a simple solution to this problem. Just drop a hint that you might be prepared to discuss the crooked bridge to straighten a strained relationship.
written by Mik, September 12, 2008 18:49:35
Hiya tun. Its u and ur umno we cant stand. Please please go away and dun ever come this way. Hey, why am i writing here. U dun read this . Ur ego cant accept it.
written by Tok Din, September 12, 2008 18:53:57
What a stupid thing to say for a former PM. It is self evident that racism and racial discrimination in whatever form is regressive. Do not think that the people are stupid and blind. Wake up Tun and look around. What harm has racism done to this country.
written by ganbing, September 12, 2008 18:57:12
To say that he Chinese do not reject race based politics is like saying the Chinese don't mind being robbed. There's no fool who embrace race based politics when such politics has given them the short end of the stick.

The reason why the majority of non-Malays have voted BN until 2008 is only because there was no other choice. Now that there is a choice in PR, 80% of Chinese and Indians have swung to PR.

This racist Ma-mak should stop spouting his lies, deceit and twisted facts. Either he's senile or he's stupid enough to think that whatever he spews from his gutter mouth will be accepted as truth. This Ma-mak has no respect for people's intelligence.
written by Clive, September 12, 2008 19:06:05
I am Chinese, ofcause I am more concerning about Educations, Economy and Racial Harmony. I mind that our country being played by Race base polity, so, TDM dont make your comment on my behalf, and you are not real malay either.
Mind your words.......TDM.
written by sampalee, September 12, 2008 19:06:31
Dr M.please recognise the grace of Allah,giving you a sound mind to reflects on the evil sins you committed on the peaceful rakyats of this country.Your concept of racialism is Totally against the Truthful teaching of Islam.You may have succeeded in your evil ways as do company like Genting highland,a company licensed by the govt under you to profit from the sinful trade of gambling.If you are a muslim,you should know BEYOND any slightest doubts that great accomplishment in this world can mean great punishment in the hereafter.Can you hear the cries of those now burning in hell?Somehow Tuhan is kind to you to let you have sanity and good health to PROPERLY taubat.Do not boast of your success by ungodly ways but instead use your talent is service of Allah and lead them to safety in the Akhirat.
written by cahaya, September 12, 2008 19:09:34
The Chinese do not reject Barisan Nasional's race-based politics . . . .

It is amazing that he is still in denial, that he refuses to accept reality. Somehow it does not make any sense to him that the Chinese, the Indians, and other Malaysians have rejected Barisan Nasional's race-based politics.

Many years ago, he dreamed of Vision 2020. A Malaysia without racial politics. A united Malaysian nation made up of one people.

That dream is gradually becoming reality under multi-racial Pakatan Rakyat. On March 8, many Malaysians rejected the race-based politics of BN. They showed that Malaysians are now mature enough to embrace Vision 2020, his ideological expression of ‘mature’ nationalism.

But instead of being excited about his dream becoming reality, he is angry. Why? Perhaps because he never thought his dream could be reality in his lifetime.

Vision 2020 specifies its first strategic challenge lies in ‘establishing a united Malaysian nation’ possessed of ‘a sense of common and shared destiny’, shored up by a ‘full and fair partnership’, and made up of one ‘Bangsa Malaysia’ or ‘Malaysian race’. – page 331 in Paradoxes of Mahathirism: An intellectual biography of Mahathir
Mohammed, Khoo Boo Teik, 1995, Oxford Uni Press

Many Malaysians are ready for a Malaysia without race-based politics.
Malaysians of all races increasingly want to become one people: a multi-racial, multi-cultural Bangsa Malaysia.
More and more Malaysians look forward to a multi-racial government comprising qualified leaders of integrity, people who are able to take their appropriate place in this modern world. . . . learned and knowledgeable, sophisticated, honest, disciplined, trustworthy and competent. , the kind of leaders that he once dreamed about.

. . instead they just want to get rid of Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi
. No, he is in denial that the Chinese, the Indians, and other Malaysians only want to get rid of Barisan Nasional's race-based politics.
written by Agahdemo, September 12, 2008 19:12:29
C'mon TDM, don't take us for a ride....read my lips.....NO RACIAL POLITICS!!!!!!

You want to pursue your racist UMNO racial politics....go ahead..sink with it... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by est, September 12, 2008 19:13:54
I hate race politics
written by CTSG, September 12, 2008 19:14:03
Dr M, for someone supposedly of your calibre, experience and intelligence, you sure do not have the wisdom. I am a Chinese and I I damn bloody well MIND race-based politics at all levels!!!!!!
written by mikewang, September 12, 2008 19:30:55
I am a Chinese and I can tell you I have nothing against BN.
However it's UMNO that I cannot stand.

Arrogant, utterly corrupt, cruel, injustice, double faced .... all the sins, you name it, they have it.
written by OrdinaryMan, September 12, 2008 19:43:47
Hey, Mahathir,

I'm a Chinese. If it were only between you and Pak Lah I'll choose Pak Lah anytime. Please don't talk rubbish.

written by michael, September 12, 2008 19:43:51
Am I missing something? Is TDM now speaking for the chinese? Don't tell me he can't get back to UMNO as a "Malay", so trying to be a Chinese so that he can join MCA instead to get back to BN. Hahahaha
written by karyeowl, September 12, 2008 19:57:47

Why do ***** always treat themselves as Malay?

Tun M, please retired gracefully and please SHUT UP.
written by Vincent, September 12, 2008 20:17:55
SHUT UP ! MAK ANG TIEW.
written by onmu martin, September 12, 2008 20:18:06
Speak for yourself! Don't put words in the Chinese mouth, Dr.M. Who gave you the right to speak for the Chinese.
written by asguard, September 12, 2008 20:21:01
Nasi sudah jadi bubur... that is what happening now... people intend to see BN in different spotlight... the badside... and for the PR... is saviour of the people...
written by dumbfounded, September 12, 2008 20:27:52
speak for yourself
written by Lim Lim, September 12, 2008 20:43:05
this hamkachan is talking rots again,hey,kutty!racial politic is sending malaysia nowhere except to the temple of the doomed!!!senile old lizard,do u get it???
written by jenny, September 12, 2008 20:45:56
As the leader of Malaysia for the past 20 years, you still does not know what the chinese want, unbelievable! You were the one who started the race-based politic, use your commonsense before you bark!
written by charli88, September 12, 2008 21:02:23
Soooooooo cunning ! Do you think TDM purposely step down in 2003 ? He has no choice becos' he knew 2004 will be his curse and the fall of UMNO/BN, that's why he picked the then Mr. Clean to replace him as PM. TDM 2, OPS LALANG 2, SODOMY 2 will not work this time around.
written by Daryl, September 12, 2008 21:37:00
TDM...
WTF.... pardon my french but are you senile or you are speaking through your arse. I just freaking lost all respect for you and the type of leader you are. Chinese do not mind race politic but they hate it.... REad the line don't make that determination for us.
written by Malaysiaputra, September 12, 2008 21:49:53
The Chinese abhor raced based politics and race based discrimination. The Chinese supports fairness including all help given to the less fortunate in all forms but it should be for all races of Malaysians and not be selected based on race.

TDM it is you who are instilled into the Umno Malays into being racist as it serves you and your cronies in Umno.
written by lamakawan, September 12, 2008 21:58:47
You are the most wretched ex prime minister the world has ever known. Why didint you try to champion the Chinese when you had over 20 years to do it? The chinese don't need you to embrace them. They had had enough of your stubborn administration, your dictatorial rule, your corrupted rule, your racial biased rule, your draconian rule etc etc. You are the worst leader malaysians had since independence. You turned upside down the judiciary, you propagated corruption, you comparmentalised the various people so that they enjoy the most benefits or the worst benefits to suit your ego.
written by Xpax, September 12, 2008 21:59:53
You dont speak for the chinese. You bludy old man. Fxxx off and got wait for your judgement day.

For you information, my birthday wish this year is Umno disappear form the politic.
written by lynn, September 12, 2008 22:17:51
You old fox, you don't speak for us Chinese - you are speaking behalf of your handful of Chinese cronies!

We hate your umno racist policies. The hatred we harbour chill our own blood. We hate the corruption, cronyism & nepotism which breeded by you to this day & difficult to get rid of. Betw you & Bodowi, we "prefer" to retain the latter. But our number 1 choice is Anwar, regardless of your sodomy nonsense. More & more non-Malays are supporting Anwar now.
written by megabigblur, September 12, 2008 22:30:55
Chinese people didn't support MCA because they liked "race-based politics". They supported race-based politics because they were frightened into it by the spectre of May 13th.

But now we and our Indian and Malay neighbours have sat down and said to one another "Okay, we refuse to inflict another May 13th on one another again." So BN can't scare us into voting for them any more.
written by bumiku, September 12, 2008 22:37:32
Wei!! senile old tard, you are not worth the Tun-ship, a disgrace to Malaysian as a whole. Who are you to speak on behalf of the chinese? Between you and Pak Lah, we chose DSAI anytime.. Seriously, between you and Pak Lah, he will win the chineses' vote hands down, if they were to choose!!
written by Jun Jan, September 12, 2008 23:38:40
**** U MAHATHIR! i know it is convenient for you to say that we chinese dont mind race based politics, BUT I WANT TO CHANGE THIS!! YOU ARE NOT HELPING AT ALL!!!!!!! TUN OR NO TUN, **** U!
written by Fat Zorro, September 12, 2008 23:49:01
Who are you to talk for the Chinese? You are a doctor and as a doctor you should know you display all symptoms of a psychopath
written by DanInJap, September 13, 2008 00:08:09
he just talked whatever he wanted to hear... I condemn ace-based politics!!! smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by Namolos, September 13, 2008 00:19:35
dr M...please only talk on behalf of your FAKE *****'s MALAYS..not on REAL Chinese or the REAL Malays.
written by myke, September 13, 2008 00:24:38
OLD fart go to hell.!!! Don't put words into others' mouth.
written by Mirage, September 13, 2008 00:46:45
Dr Mahathir's comments does not carry any weight anymore after his comments earlier for Ahmad Ismail. He may have tried to reverse that ......I used to believe in him and his ideology but the recent spate has change all that.
written by joeawk, September 13, 2008 01:14:54
the older he gets, the more shameless he becomes. This racist mahatir has grown forked tongue.

Mahatir, non malays voted against the BN not because of Pak Lah. In fact, we can tolerate him but we just can't tolerate UMNO, more so with you trying to put Pak Lah down.

Let us make it clear to you one more. We voted against the BN because of the racist politics of UMNO and UMNO's refusal to change and also because you were pushing for your own agenda.

You have cause the BN and UMNO to suffer and it was not Pak Lah who was the cause.

Having said that, we do not want Pak Lah to continue as PM, less still we want Najob or anyone whom you endorse. WE want a change in govt not in the PM. We want Anwar to be the next PM of Malaysia.

Mahatir, you get it or shall I repeat. Isn't it your idea that the ISA is being thrown all over the place now? It won't help. It has now become a matter of time when Anwar will ascend to become th next PM.At least, Anwar is true malay unlike the many pseudo malays.
written by Vik, September 13, 2008 01:51:23
Can you believe that guy?! I mean.. that stubborn fella will never accept his mistakes... That he was the champion of race based politics... That most educated malaysians hated it. What a stupid old twit!
written by Taiping60, September 13, 2008 02:17:53
Dr M,
In due respect, Chinese have never and will never condone racial politic. The different was that previously, many of us we too selfish to standup for our right. Not again as we are no longer selfish.

We never have any intention to undermind the rights of Malays, Indians or other races. What we want is for everyone to be treated with respect and equally. As majority race, Malay has the power as well as responsibility to maintain harmony in this country. Chinese will never object to any government from helping the poor regardless of races. I am sure Malays, Indians and other races feel the same way to.

As a former PM, you have great influence over Malays and Malaysia at large. With such power, you should use them wisely and to ensure peace and progress in Malaysia.

Do that if you love Malaysia.
written by KotaDamansara73, September 13, 2008 02:26:58
Mahathir,

Yeah! yeah! Chinese don't mind being sidelined.
Yeah! yeah! Chinese don't mind being discriminated in goverment jobs.
Yeah! yeah! Chinese don't mind being discriminated in education.
Yeah! yeah! Chinese don't mind being called as pigs and immigrants.
Yeah! yeah! Chinese don't mind being discriminated in business license.
Yeah! yeah! Chinese don't mind being outcast.
Yeah! yeah! Chinese don't mind being push around in this country.
Yeah! yeah! Chinese don't mind that the country economy is being run incompetently.

Mahathir, you are out of your farking mind.

Chinese are the one that build this country with their blood, sweat and brain.
CHinese are the one that love this country and that is why they don't spend lavisly like the UMNO leaders.
Chinese are the one that bring progress to Malaysia.
Chinese are the one that manufacture steel, PVC pipe, bricks and cement so that you can build your Putrajaya, KLCC and all your white elephants.
Chinese are the one that pay 90% of income tax so that the UMNO goverment can sit of their fat ass and spend it, shopping in London.
Chinese are the true Malaysians. More true than those UMNO fark heads.
written by yizhenuk, September 13, 2008 06:29:22
Don't think you can speak for the Chinese just because you once had a Chinese political secretary. If you must speak for a race speak for your own, *****.
written by csm_81, September 13, 2008 07:29:19
Any little respect I had left for the old fool has gone down the drain. What the hell do they mean that Chinese don't mind race politics? The old fool's been spewing bull crap from his mouth faster than Chris Rock in Rush Hour.

No one will ever condone racial politics, regardless of race. Only dogs who gets fed by the scraps thrown by BN will wag their tails when beckoned by their masters.

You old fool, DO NOT EVER TRY TO SPEAK ON OUR BEHALF. You can go around screwing people for your political gain but don't treat us like idiots with no brains of our own. Saying the chinese don't mind race politics is the same as claiming that the malays don't mind having their bumi privileges removed and being treated the same as everyone else.

I wish Uncle Pete, Theresa and the Sin Chew reporter all the best. Rest assured that we true Malaysians are with you guys all the way. Rest of the dogs be damned.
written by Adriftboat, September 13, 2008 09:33:49
Dr M, Please keep your opinion to youself and dont try to speak on behalf of the Chinese. You are obsolete and you belong to the old school of thoughts which does not blend well with the younger generations. You dont speak the same wave lenght with the younger generations so let the younger generations decide the future of Malaysia.
Malaysia now should not have anymore race based parties but rather a multi-racial parties. Do not use racial issues as a tool to obtain one's objective.
I see you as a very bitter man. You have so much hatred in you espicially you hated Baidawi so much that the hatred is eating into you and that keeps you from thinking rationally.
Try to forgive and forget and live your life out peacefully without interferring with politics as you are now history. Live a peaceful and quite life (albeit a zipped up mouth) and you will be a lot happier.
May God be with you.
written by JJFoo, September 13, 2008 11:43:32
Mahatir is a chronic compulsive liar. He twists and turns all facts to serve his own interest only, not the Malays and certainly not the nation. This guy is mentally very sick and totally beyond any form of redemption.
written by renoir, September 13, 2008 12:20:06
No, generally the Chinese hate race politics, and it's you, not Pak Lah, they hate most. About the only Chinese who accepted you are the multimillionaires who benefitted from associating with you. Do give up blogging and go to some old folks home. Ageing almost always result in the death of brain cells, and senility starts creeping in once you're over 60. Often gets worse by 80.

written by EYFF, September 13, 2008 17:05:22
"Can it be that after almost 50 years of supporting race-based politics the voters have decided to reject it and opt for non-racial politics"
_______________________________________________________ ___________________

All Malaysians except for the MALAY ULTRAS, do not support TDM racial politics but were cowed into it to keep the peace and the threat of a blood bath. TDM enforced and perpetuated the trend through his bullying and control of the various BN component parties through blackmail, corruption charges, election frauds and the ISA!

However with the event of PM AAB and his abandonment of these weapons of mass suppression, the suppressed protests of most Malaysians begin to surface as manifested in the result of the last general election!

If TDM thinks that is BAD, then he should stick around and see what will happen to all those corrupted people he helped to power. Therefore to protect his own skin and the UMNO elites AAB must be vilified and put down!

The reality is maybe AAB and the other BN political leaders may not be angels, but at least now we are all given a chance to express our feeling and are not frighten of the ISA etc under AAB. Now the ISA is as much to protect the victims as were used against the perpetrators!

If RPK, Tan and Kok lives are at risk then their safety would lie in "being locked up" under the ISA??

However with all the changes being allowed at the moment, TDM and cliques are fearful and would want AAB to be put down ASAP!

For your information TDM, the Chinese hated the racial political system even from day 1 of the formation of Malaysia!! Wake up ! You are suppose to be smart! Why suddenly such stupid utterance?? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Loh, September 13, 2008 18:31:42
///14. The votes that the opposition parties got were not due to a desire to replace the Barisan Nasional with the unstructured Pakatan Rakyat. They were protest votes. But is it protest against the Barisan Nasional party? Is it a rejection of race-based politics? I don’t think so. ///–TDM in CheDet.com, 12/9/2008

TDM has clearly stated that BN practiced race-based politics, and he still believes that the people do not reject them. The term race-based politics is in the context that policies of the government are decided based on race. Also the implementation of government policies was based on race too. It further confirms that the rule of law is also race-based. This is confirmed by the latest incident where the person who made obscene utterances was able to avoid the clutches of the law whereas the person whose job was to report what happened on the ground is said to endanger national security, and to invite ISA detention. The current arrest says that the government is practicing double standards.

TDM said that he had to balance the interest between the races. AAB shows the world how he balances the interests. When a Malay was reprimanded for his statement, and for showing his defiance against the party leadership, the Chinese reporter had to pay the price of the punishment meted out to that Malay. That is the way Malays could be pacified, in the mind of the president of the party that champions race-based politics. Certainly AAB lives in the dinosaurs’ age in thinking that Malays could not reason about what is fair. Malays having come through the 21 century where they can see first hand through TV and news on how civilized persons live outside the boundary of Bolehland know exactly that everyman is his own keeper, and they success or failure of a Malay, like AAB, need not bring them pride or shame, as the case may be. A Malay is like any other Chinese will pay for his sins, and will be rewarded for his efforts. The wrong done by a Malay and reprimanded will be as shameful for himself whether another person of another race was wrongly punished or not. The wrong of a Malay will not be put right just because a non-Malay is punished, unfairly, for whistle-blowing.

Race-based politics are complicated because they interfere with the proper running of a government based on rule of law. Had AAB made a break from race-based politics before he has nothing to offer the ex-MBs and their cronies in the states fallen to Barisan Pakatan, he needed only to care about good governance, and will still retain his position without giving in to transition plan. But it is because he was guided by TDM’s race-based politics for ensuring captive Malay votes that he finds himself off balance when the racist games of UMNOputras are public knowledge.

TDM seems to believe that race-based politics is still the order of the day? The single mosquito that caused so much trouble to a 26 million population nation should be burnt without sparing the mosquito net.
written by Fart Fart Wah, September 13, 2008 21:32:26
This Mtmak in baju Melayu..wrote the MALAY DILEMMA
NOW THE WHOLE OF MALAYSIA IS IN A DILEMMA

NOW YOU CAN WRITE THE UMNO DILEMMA

yOU USED RACE BASED POLITICS TO HOLD TO POWER FOR 22 YEARS. uNDER YOU DICTATORSHIP...UMNO BECAME MORE ISLAMIC THAN PAS AND ULTRA MALAY.

BETTER YOU GO BACK TO BAKING AND SELLING QUEEN BEE BRANDY..
written by mudtel, September 13, 2008 21:54:15