Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow RPK arrested under ISA (Update 2)

RPK arrested under ISA (Update 2) PDF Print
Friday, 12 September 2008 15:04

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia Today editor Raja Petra Kamaruddin was arrested Friday afternoon under the Internal Security Act.

Three Malaysian newspapers - Sin Chew Daily, The Sun and Suara Keadilan - were also issued show cause letters by the Home Ministry.

Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar told The Star Raja Petra was detained under Section 73 (1) of the ISA he as was deemed a threat to security, peace and public order.

He said that under Section 73 (1) Raja Petra would be detained for 60 days.

“The police will do an assessment during this period and if they feel he should be held more than 60 days, the police will then refer to me,” he said.

Syed Hamid also confirmed that Sin Chew Daily, The Sun and Suara Keadilan were issued show cause letters.

"They have been given a week to reply," he added.

Raja Petra's wife Marina Lee Abdullah said the blogger was arrested at 1.10pm at their home in Sg Buloh by a team of 10 police officers. She told The Star that Raja Petra was taken away from their house by the police about 1.50pm.

"But I don't know where they are taking him," she added.

She said that the police officers also took some tapes and a computer from her room.

PKR Information Chief Tian Chua told The Star before leaving for Taiwan that he was informed of Raja Petra’s arrest by party colleagues.

“RPK’s daughter sent a SMS to say that her father was arrested about 1.15pm (Friday),” he said when contacted before he boarded China Airlines flight CI 0656, which was scheduled to depart KLIA at 2.20pm Friday.

Raja Petra’s arrest comes a day after the Cabinet ordered the Multimedia and Communications Commission (MCMC) to re­instate access to all blocked websites, including the controversial Malaysia Today.

Energy, Water and Com­mu­nications Minister Datuk Shaziman Abu Mansor said on Thursday the order was made because there were other “harsher” laws in the country, under which authorities could take action against the owners of blogs and websites, instead of blocking it.

“The Cabinet has asked the ministry to direct MCMC to reinstate access to any blocked website with immediate effect.

“At the same time, it is asking MCMC to closely cooperate with the police, the Attorney-General’s Office and the Home Minister to monitor any website or blog to ensure that this does not contain seditious, racist or religiously insensitive remarks.

“Instead of blocking access to offensive websites, the Cabinet wants authorities to investigate and act quickly against the owners of these sites,” he said in Putrajaya.

- The Star

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by Selva, September 12, 2008 15:09:51
Another sad day for the country. I bet this is the work of Najis and his boys who must have used the useless arab minister and the bodowi regime to shut any form of challenge. Ball-less government. Time for Pakatan to shift into high gear and takeover the reins of government.
All Malaysians should hold a candlelight vigil at Dataran Merdeka on Saturday night for RPK. I pray no harm comes to this great Malaysian.
written by pokokmangga, September 12, 2008 15:09:57
O Rakyat of Malaysia. Rise! The time in now. Send DSAI to Putrajay to take over the helm.

We need DSAI,LKS,Guru NA and all PR to be the new government.
written by Ben, September 12, 2008 15:13:26
I ask this nation to think, and then to act, in order to enable Parlaiment to right a very great wrong and to hold accountable those who have misled this nation. I think this is the most impeachable administration in the history of our country.

Our constitutional system of checks and balances assumes a certain leeway between the PM, Judiciary and Eexcutive, but the gomen's refusal to use laws other than ISA is more dangerous and more sinister than just an extravagantly ambitious claim to executive powers. Control of information stifles dissent and insulates an administration from challenge, either by cabinet or its critics. Control of information is incompatible with democracy.

Democracy dies behind closed doors. It is the cabinet's duty to throw the doors open and keep them open in future administrations, PR and BN alike.
written by FTFoong, September 12, 2008 15:15:53
Double standards!!! The bumbling incompetent home minster half bald pastard, you are the scum among the gutter rats you nincomcopooey nitwit dimwit.

If anyone is a threat to security and peace, it is that UMNO Bkt Bendera Div chief and his gang of hooligans.

You will regret this stupidest move to detain RPK under ISA. All Malaysian will remember your discrimination against the cherished RPK. I dare you to charge him in court if you consider M'sia to be a democratic country. But I guess you would be too cowardice to do that.

written by charli88, September 12, 2008 15:21:35
I beg you, the righteous MPs, pls cross over to save the majority peaceful and loving Rakyat from the tyranny. See what your master has done again. Do you still have mind, soul and conscience ? WE need a gomen that focus on Rakyat basic needs and bring Malaysia to greater height. Not crazy for self-interest. Daulat Tuanku. We are crying for change.
written by bodohland_citizen, September 12, 2008 15:25:25
Terima kasihhhhh BN (rasa macam David Arumugam pulak) kerana membuat rakyat semakin meluat dengan anda. Terima Kasih BN kerana kebodohan anda semakin memerangkap dirimu. Terima kasih Syed Hamid, tanpa mu, apalah Pakatan Rakyat. Terima kasih semua kawan kawan menteri kita, MP kita baik di Malaysia maupun di Taiwan. Terima Kasih.
written by joeawk, September 12, 2008 15:28:45
Missteps all the way. The one person who should have been charged with the ISA was given a 3 yr suspension and the person whom the country should honour has been put into jail.

Those who are up their are stupid or those of us, the average hardworking man on the street.

They think we are stupid but we think thay are stupid.

Only stupid people, people who cannot win legitimately resort to such draconian conduct.
written by Lim Lim, September 12, 2008 15:29:17
the umno/BN goons are jus COWARDS,good for nothing n nothing else!!!!
written by Msian 2, September 12, 2008 15:29:32
True colours of power that corrupt exposed. If speaking the truth & walking the talk for righteousness is a crime, then this govt got to go. Hang on there Marina. Its a terrible miscarriage of justice. This would hasten the fall of this useless govt who have too many warlords with personal agendas & they will use race & islam to justify their actions. They are BULLIES & if there is any decent minister, they should stand up & quit BN.
written by jdoe, September 12, 2008 15:36:40
Ahmad Ismail no arrest, just a suspension. But RPK gets ISA.
written by budakindia, September 12, 2008 15:38:47
syed hamid, abdullah, najib & all other b*stards, please go to hell! smilies/angry.gif I'm sure you all won't be anywhere near Heaven. Godspeed, we'll see you'll be punished in this lifetime! smilies/angry.gif God is fair and just! He'll hit you where it hurts the most! smilies/angry.gif
written by FFT, September 12, 2008 15:39:08
“The police will do an assessment during this period and if they feel he should be held more than 60 days, the police will then refer to me,” he said.

Unfortunately Mr. al-Blur, in 4 days time RPK will be out of ISA and you will be in there instead.

Now would you like a cell with a hard, cold, cement floor infested with cockroaches, or would you prefer one infested with rats?
written by MT682, September 12, 2008 15:44:53
Wouldn't it be nice if the new PR government would round up all the UMNO goons, give them a dose of their beloved ISA and threw the keys away.
written by ngiuchap, September 12, 2008 15:49:12
Let us all offer our respective prayers to RPK for his health, safety and quick release. Let us all do it in one go at 10:00 pm (Malaysian time) tonight, 12.09.08 and rock the country to the core!
written by coolandy, September 12, 2008 16:05:53
It is time again to call upon all right-thinking Malaysians and Sultans to do the right thing.

The rakyat needs leadership to rectify the ills cone under the present BN government.

Daulat Tuanku Daulat Tuanku Daulat Tuanku
written by Cyber DNA, September 12, 2008 16:33:07
I somehow feel Din Merican has a point. Badawi has lost control over the BN government. Question is who is in control?

I can't think of anybody else apart from Najib.
Mahathir is back. He is supporting Ku Li and Muhideen. Najib knows that this is his ticket out of government.

Najib's father did the same thing to Tunku. If it is really so GOD HELP MALAYSIA!
written by Frankfurtguy, September 12, 2008 16:38:07
Pakatan Rakyat please make your move
throw the BN and UMNO

free RPK
lower petrol price
abolish ISA
show us that you are our voice and our representative!!
written by CheGUvera, September 12, 2008 17:24:56
yes...flip-flop "the press should report the truth without fear" yes..yes..dude, do you know what you say or are you sleep talking. Or do you mean, the press should report the truth (from you) without fear..& ISA for some you know very well have not dun anything wrong(even in your sleep), ISA for pea brain money hungry cowards with no true solution to stop the truth. RPK our thoughts are with you.
written by lynn, September 12, 2008 19:23:36
People, pls show your solidarity, love & support for RPK at Kelana Jaya Stadium at 8pm on 15/9/2008.
written by miwaki, September 12, 2008 19:25:54
Weeks ago,someone from Penang was suffering from "mad cow disease" and gone berserk.Now it is our BN government which is suffering from the same disease.We have no time to wait till the next GE to bundle them out,MPs have to jump ship to expedit the transformation.Lompat,lompat apek lompat !
written by PublicStranger, September 12, 2008 23:39:24
who is playing wit racist? see.... he ask MCMC to monitor n block any blog that has racist intention.

and then... he release the tak guna punya Ahmad Ismail and arrest The reporter. well who is the racist politician? damn!

anyway thank you so much bodohwi and najis! at least our history/sejarah malaysia is now more exciting than before. I can imagine in future our buku sejarah with this stupid PM and DPM. I cant wait they include the Altantuya murder case by DPM in our buku sejarah. and out of 5 PM the paling lembik and tak guna is bodohwi. keep it up otherwise every year read sejarah also boring!

DSAI/parti Pakatan Rakyat... its time to do your job. Take over the country and kick all the perut besar, tak ada otak, tak ade kote, tak ade pengetahuan punya menteri menteri!memalukan!