Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow M'sia's Raja Petra arrested

M'sia's Raja Petra arrested PDF Print
Friday, 12 September 2008 14:47

Online commentator Raja Petra Raja Kamarudin has increasingly infuriated authorities by publishing numerous claims about alleged wrongdoings by government leaders on his popular site, Malaysia Today. -- PHOTO: BHM

(The Straits Times) KUALA LUMPUR - THE wife of Malaysia's top anti-government blogger says police have arrested him under a law allowing indefinite detention without trial.

Online commentator Raja Petra Raja Kamarudin has increasingly infuriated authorities by publishing numerous claims about alleged wrongdoings by government leaders on his popular site, Malaysia Today.

The government has denounced most of Raja Petra's allegations as lies.

Raja Petra's wife, Marina Lee Abdullah, said police came to their home on Friday to serve an arrest warrant on him.

Mdm Marina said police informed them he was being arrested under the Internal Security Act, a widely criticised law used against suspects regarded as national security threats.

Government and police officials could not immediately be contacted. -- AP

written by the1, September 12, 2008 14:51:20
And Ahmad got suspended for 3 years, sigh...
Malaysia Boleh!
written by FFT, September 12, 2008 14:54:50
written by the1, September 12, 2008 14:51:20
And Ahmad got suspended for 3 years, sigh...

written by lennonist, September 12, 2008 14:55:02
How about Berita Harian? Didn't they publish seditious statements regarding the Azan issue which turned out to be false? Why not give this racist UMNO controlled newspaper show cause letters too? ABOLISH ISA! FREE RPK!

Btw, we can all thank our great leader Mahathir for the use of this ISA tactic to silence the rakyat!!!!!
written by manny_california_usa, September 12, 2008 14:56:11
Coward Bastards!!!!

There is no greater power than the power of GOD.
May god bless you and your family.
I'll go to the temple today to pray for your safety.

Best wishes from California.

written by wannabepatriotic, September 12, 2008 14:59:04
We MT readers and Malaysians alike ought to rally behind RPK - We need all your support now... Im on call 24/7 to help in any way possible...We might need the schematics & blue prints of Kemunting ala Prison Break sytle..
written by Wudan, September 12, 2008 14:59:06
Super Admin,

How can I get the above RPK's t-shirt? My friends and I want to wear it every Saturday until RPK is release.
written by Agahdemo, September 12, 2008 14:59:51
Release RPK NOW.............
written by qwerty, September 12, 2008 15:00:21
With the arrest of Pete, Pak Lah had just hammered the last nail into BN's coffin!

Well done![
written by truthbespoken, September 12, 2008 15:03:13
The feeling is the same, the air around us also begins to smell the same....is it Operation Lallang 2? Times have changed! I hope it is not an act of desperation on the part of government. The results may not be the same this time!
written by FTFoong, September 12, 2008 15:04:33
Brethren,
This is it, the straw that broke the camel's back!!
This bloody blatant phuckin morally corrupt govt must be replaced!!
Malaysians must unite and stand up to the incompetent and flip flopping bastards so called leaders!!
Phui....phui...phui!!!

written by Rainbowseahorse, September 12, 2008 15:05:28
Our bald headed friend should join UMNO to avoid arrest under ISA smilies/grin.gif. Look at Ahmad Racist! He incite racial disharmony but yet he remains free!
written by PASOK, September 12, 2008 15:05:42

A wounded tiger is dangerous. It is starting to lash out. We can either run or shoot to kill.
written by Captain, September 12, 2008 15:06:39
The articles published in MT must be real for the UMNO government to have to use the ISA in an attempt to silence the TRUTH.

If lies & deceit are published, then the courts can be used to sue, no need ISA.
written by magickriver, September 12, 2008 15:08:59
Okay. So Umno won't go down without drawing blood... they've got their bald-headed bull mastiff snapping and biting at anybody attempting to serve them their walking orders... well, this is a case for the Incurable Dr M! He's the Marmark whose megalomania contaminated the entire edifice of government and turned Umno into a den of thieves, liars and backstabbers. Let him rejoin Umno and destroy the party oncer and for all!

As for Pete... I feel he was well prepared this time. His arrest under the ISA is aufficient cause for the Royals to accept the formation of a new government as soon as 44 MPs crossover from BN.

I predict the ISA will be abolished and all political prisoners released two days after Pakatan Rakyat takes over Putrajaya with Anwar as PM.
written by tbsbidayuh, September 12, 2008 15:11:18
Always remember in Prayer. RPK is always know what to do when he mingles with Azilah, Sirul and Razak in Sungai Buloh. The more frequent he got caught the more issue arise.
written by mob1900, September 12, 2008 15:12:38
written by the saint, September 12, 2008 15:15:34
Thank you TDM for encouraging ISA, for Operations Lallang, for Racial Polarisation,for Ketuanan UMNOPUTRA, for encouraging corruption, for destroying the Malaysian Judiciary, for destroying UMNO and Malaysia etc. etc.

I shall pray for your soul !

RPK, I really admire your courage. I wish I had that courage.

LONG LIVE RPK !
written by jenny, September 12, 2008 15:35:30
very sad to hear that. Without changing the govenment there will be no future for Malaysia, not at all!
written by Krepot, September 12, 2008 15:35:59
You may try to shut one,
but one hundred other have now taken up the challenge ....
written by johntyc, September 12, 2008 15:38:58
written by Saint, September 12, 2008 15:52:13
This is not good news to the Malaysian public.
The world is watching.
The BN needs to act wise, not desperatly.
written by Food Thought, September 12, 2008 15:55:49
Arrest one but there're thousands of us who have Pete inside us. Stay strong RPK, Rakyat Power is stronger than those scum who thinks they're above everything. smilies/angry.gif
written by Garend, September 12, 2008 16:09:33
Yeah yeah yeah.. What abt Utusan? which talk back against Teressa Kok especially on the Speaker of the mosque thingie? that is also raising issue on the Racism & religion.. Sensitive issue..
written by TURTLEMAN, September 12, 2008 18:07:13
SUPER ADMIN,

Keep us posted on the updates ok.and me to wan to get the t-shirt RPK wearing and i shall wear it every saturday until RPK is released.Fight for our right.