Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow RPK arrested under ISA

RPK arrested under ISA PDF Print
Friday, 12 September 2008 14:20

(The Star) Malaysia Today editor Raja Petra Kamaruddin was arrested Friday afternoon under the Internal Security Act.

Three Malaysian newspapers - Sin Chew Daily, The Sun , and Suara Keadilan - were also issued show cause letters by the Home Ministry.

Raja Petra’s arrest comes a day after the Cabinet ordered the Multimedia and Communications Commission (MCMC) to re­instate access to all blocked websites, including the controversial Malaysia Today.

Energy, Water and Com­mu­nications Minister Datuk Shaziman Abu Mansor said on Thursday the order was made because there were other “harsher” laws in the country, under which authorities could take action against the owners of blogs and websites, instead of blocking it.

The Cabinet has asked the ministry to direct MCMC to reinstate access to any blocked website with immediate effect.

At the same time, it is asking MCMC to closely cooperate with the police, the Attorney-General’s Office and the Home Minister to monitor any website or blog to ensure that this does not contain seditious, racist or religiously insensitive remarks.

Instead of blocking access to offensive websites, the Cabinet wants authorities to investigate and act quickly against the owners of these sites,” he said in Putrajaya.

Comments (43)Add Comment
written by Umm Adzka, September 12, 2008 14:23:56
masya Allah.. what a double standard practice.. guys... whoever in Malaysia.. please do something!
written by ellyna, September 12, 2008 14:26:00
SHit! SHit! SHit! racist remarks!! Arrest Ahmad Ismail also.
written by Fatcat, September 12, 2008 14:27:14
When I despair, I remember that all through history the ways of truth and love have always won. There have been tyrants, and murderers, and for a time they can seem invincible, but in the end they always fall.

Mahatma Gandhi smilies/angry.gif
written by megatron, September 12, 2008 14:28:29
Tahniah Kerajaan Barisan Nasional Atas Satu Lagi Usaha Menghapuskan UMNO & BN di Muka Bumi Ini.... Semoga Tindakan Ini Akan Menpercepatkan Lagi Kemampusan UMNO & BN! AMIN
written by RBJ, September 12, 2008 14:29:11
Fellow citizens
Look at what's happening
Another wave of attack from the enemy!!!!!!!!!!
Waves of suppression & oppression has started the next few days are going to be trying times indeed.....

Let's STAND together as Malaysian's
MY PRAYERS ARE GOES OUT TO YOU AND MARINA!!!!!!!!!
written by Ray, September 12, 2008 14:29:52
sore losers...the rakyat will hit you back hard when comes the next GE.
written by Fight4Justice, September 12, 2008 14:32:43
The braves never fails... Long Live RPK!!!
written by Ben, September 12, 2008 14:33:01
Now this is the gomen we have frown on and know all these years. When MSM reported the Cabinet decision to remove the block on targeted websites, I was taken by surprise and skepticism. Methods may change but the motive is the same.

If this is not blatant abuse of authority and usurping the freedom of Rakyat, what is? We have to really decide in the next GE, this gomen must be replaced in toto. This is not change, this is more of the same...again and again and again. My vote is cast. My prayers are with you, RPK & family. The whole world is watching.
written by semut, September 12, 2008 14:34:15
Warning: Cool it! Do not post images such as this that can aggravate the situation - admin-ks
written by PASOK, September 12, 2008 14:34:51

The government wants a fight with the rakyat. Let's give it to them.
written by SocratesI, September 12, 2008 14:35:12

What a Despotic Govt. arresting Pete under ISA, because they are Bankrupt of ideas to deal with MT ! Then, sending show cause letters to 3 news publications obviously going on a Blitz to Muzzle the Media again !!

The Barisan NAJIS motto :"Sin, Plunder, and stop anyone from talking about it with ISA !" What a bunch of Lanun worse than those in Somalia !

Wait till you get your Just Desserts after Sept. 16th 2008 !!

Everone keep calm, and not give this hopeless end-of-its-tether, Govt. any excuse to start an Operasi Lallang II, or to declare an Emergency, or to bring in the military. Let us exercise a little patience and restraint till Sept. 16th !

written by NickChan, September 12, 2008 14:35:18
unblock malaysia today
but use ISA
ISA is signed by Prime Minister
Malaysia today will continue the expos`e
truth prevails
written by avaaz, September 12, 2008 14:35:23
To the adminstrators of MT website.
Please have one article which is constantly updated
of news of RPK.
The readers will want to know updates on him.
The Blogger Boss, The True Patriot and our Freedom Fighter is being
held, are we having a vigil?
written by cicakman, September 12, 2008 14:35:30
What is happening to the Stupid UMNO Bloody racist. Ahmad just get a suspension but RPK detained under ISA.
Pakatan Rakyat lawyers please do something.

We malaysian are in shock again.
written by Agahdemo, September 12, 2008 14:35:30
I hate you all Pak Lah and team.....You all are so low and disrespectful... smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by budakindia, September 12, 2008 14:37:00
Double standard enforcement! They let Ahmad the criminal go and Pete they sent to the jail! Guys it's time we do our part! Start the boycott! Don't cooperate with any government bodies anymore! They want anything make them work for it!
written by Ben Nordin, September 12, 2008 14:37:27
Cowards. They know that they'll find it hard to win in court because there is nothing seditious in RPK's articles. They've tried almost everything to discredit RPK and MT even using religion (although none of them could state the specifics phrase or paragraph that allegedly insulted Muslims). Bye bye UMNO. Bye Bye BN. See ya, wouldn't want to be ya.
written by Raizzen, September 12, 2008 14:37:36
Is there a recruitment day or something in our jail/ISA cells ? The police seems busy.
written by DezMalaysia, September 12, 2008 14:38:15
Nah Bu Lu Botak Hamid !

Why those UMNO bastards never learn ?
written by SamSan, September 12, 2008 14:40:21
Tuan Guru Nik Aziz and the rest of the true Ulamas together with the millions of truth and justice seeking Malaysian need to start a very big prayer session soonest and pray in concert for Allah to once and for all rid us of all the evil. I believe if Tuan Guru starts this prayer seeson and if we all join him in earnest, Allah will awaken and send his wrath to those evil doers. I have already started praying and meditating in earnest for long hours as of today to seek divine intervention in securing victory for our beloved Raja Petra.
written by bigiblue, September 12, 2008 14:40:27
Our prayers are with you and your family, you will be released very soon....
God bless you and your family smilies/smiley.gif
Do not undersetimate the power of prayer and faith....
written by Delima25, September 12, 2008 14:41:09
The only concern of the floundering government is to ensure its own survival. If RPK is arrested for sometime he purportedly did against the country, why are others who are raging on about other races not being given the ISA treatment. Instead they are probably told to take a 3 years break and promised something when everything cools down. It looks like the leaders are trying to create a strong public outcry over this matter so that they can recreate the actions they took when they felt threathened.
DSAI, you should not brag about when you can take over the reins of the country. You should focuss on getting it done. People like RPK have unselflesslly sacrificed their freedom so that the sun will continue to shine over our beloved Malaysia. Make your move soon. To all true Muslims in this holy month of Ramadhan, please do what your conscience tells you is right so that your fasting is not in vain. May God bless all God-fearing Malaysians.
To Marina, RPK is a real hero and we are proud of him.
written by KBodoh, September 12, 2008 14:42:02
What RPK said is back by facts and logic. So the gomen knew they would loss if they take RPK to court. Yah....ISA is the best solution that is always used by the chicken. Shame on the malaysia gomen. Now we are no better than myanmar.
written by future, September 12, 2008 14:42:43
To Marina and family BERSABAR dibulan yang mulia ni.
You are not all alone and when the times comes the rakyat will proves it.Insyallah.
written by Fido, September 12, 2008 14:43:02
OK who let the Dogs out??

Malaysians, are we going to just sit back while one fellow malaysian is intimidated and unlawfully detained while racist instigator mamak ahmad walks free from any civil action?

How much more do we want to get beaten down by them?

Rakyat Malaysia , all races , muslims or non muslims.. Amar Maa'ruf , Nahi Mungkar!!
written by RKPIST, September 12, 2008 14:44:47
Tabahkan hati mu Marina , kami akan sentiasa di sisi mu ..... smilies/cry.gif
written by HHKim, September 12, 2008 14:45:01
Refers to the arrest of RPK, can DAP, PAS and Keadilan start a campaign against the BN to free him? There ought to be something like giant protest and rally against this political hegemony against voice of dissent.

If this goes uncheck, the present BN just has a hay day doing what it wishes.
We need to have a united voice and actions to demonstrate this despicable act.

Meantime, we hope Marina stays strong and keep updated.
written by fergie, September 12, 2008 14:45:47
The MAD COW disease is spreading fast .. affecting ONLY EVIL minds! Desperados losing all rational thought! Racists get a tap on the wrist and a God-fearing man fighting on behalf of GOOD Malaysians gets arrested! DSAI PLEASE speed up your plans, we beg of you! These actions taken during the Holy month are UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!!
written by zack2009, September 12, 2008 14:46:26
Raja Petra has promoted the idea of BANGSA MALAYSIA. He has made all of us unite under one Malaysia. He fights for all Malaysians, regardless of race and religion. And his ideas will not die. I love to present to us an exerpt of quotes from V for Vendetta (2005):

"We are told to remember the IDEA, not the man, because a man can fail. He can be caught, he can be killed and forgotten, but 400 years later, an IDEA can still change the world. I've witnessed first hand the power of ideas, I've seen people kill in the name of them, and die defending them... but you cannot kiss an IDEA, cannot touch it, or hold it... IDEAS do not bleed, they do not feel pain, they do not love..."

No matter what happen to RPK (God forbid!), we have to fight this IDEA. Ayuh rakan2! Let's come and fight this IDEA together! Let's unite and take down one of the most corrupted governments in the modern world! LETS REFORMASI!!!
written by Wudan, September 12, 2008 14:47:26
Last act of desperation by Pak Lah and his goons. Remember also Najib cannot be PM of Malaysia.

Meanwhile, keep calm and say a prayer for RPK. The 'light' will not extinguish. It is in everyone of us.
written by slash n burn, September 12, 2008 14:47:37
In this Holy Month of Ramadhan, UMNO release their own devils earlier.
written by krising1, September 12, 2008 14:47:58
The UMNOputras have provoked another tsunami. They will get it with compound interest. The hairless and brainless arab has started to bark again!
written by malaysian, September 12, 2008 14:49:29
3 years paid holiday and nation-wide roadshow for Ahmad Ismail.

ISA for RPK.

Typical UMNOputra justice.

Badawi has ceased to be Prime Minister of Malaysia.

He is now Prime Minister of UMNO. He has only UMNO in his heart, just like Tun Razak in May 1969.
written by SamYap, September 12, 2008 14:49:35
RPK knew it was coming, it was just a matter of when. BUT the real issue is not about RPK per se. Its about the BN govt versus the wishes of the Rakyat.

So, now the lines are clearly drawn.

Lets see what happens on 16th Sept. IF Anwar's plan is thwarted, then in the next GE, make sure BN is buried. And buried for forever.
written by megahyper, September 12, 2008 14:51:36
They are winding back the clock for all of us. Welcome back to the Komunis era. Now now, who is the komunis?

They are now unleashing everything thats in their spellbook. Printing Act, ISA, Sedition Act, Web blocking, Criminal defamation..... as good as it gets.

The Sun, Sin Chew was issued with show cause? Utusan have not got one. can you believe it? They must comply with Syed albar's guidelines, but only he himself know what the guideline is. I am not sure is report based on facts within the guideline?

Whats the point of Ahmad's suspension? If he is not wrong, what for suspend him? suspend Sin Chew I say! Why suspend Ahmad, then show cause to sin chew? The whole world know whats "intimidation" when they see one.

Malaysia, truly Asia?
written by laksa maner, September 12, 2008 14:54:32
Polis ajak solat Jumaat kot or polis jenis orang UMNO yang tak pergi solat Jumaat.

For their political survival, they will do anything possible included killing.

Very very very BAD.

Kamunting will exist if it not demolish.

BN & UMNO still exist if also not being demolish by the opponent or by themselves.

The racist Ahmad is free from ISA. What the fairness treatment by UMNO & BN?

written by DezMalaysia, September 12, 2008 14:57:06
Launch FREE RPK campaign !
written by brucelee, September 12, 2008 15:01:36
To all the 'frogs': Is time for you to make history. Jump or be condemned forever. Our country and our future depends on you. Help DSAI to complete the journey and save RPK!
written by Daryl, September 12, 2008 15:05:40
My country my voice my life. You can take one away and ten shall rise. Someday your rule shall come to end and your injustice shall be rewarded handsomely. Just wait for your time to come and we shall handle you with much love...
My tears and prayers for Malaysia and a person that care so much about where Malaysia is heading... RPK.
written by jagz, September 12, 2008 15:06:38
To the Admins of this site:
- Set a page where all RPK supporters are updated with the latest updates on RPK well being..
- As RPK has said, even if he is arrested the site will go on. So lets show the govt even if having RPK arrested is not going to silence the "RAKYAT"
written by ez24get, September 12, 2008 15:07:06
Ahmad Ismail has done far worst than Raja Petra. Why isn't he detained under ISA? Ahmad Ismail has brought the whole nation to the brink of chaos, almost on the verge of May 13! He is not only unrepented but has even given notice that he will be going on a national road show to create further racial hatred and tension in the country!

For doing worst than RPK, Ahmad Ismail is only suspended for 3 years? He can appeal when the storm blows over and could easily be pardoned soon next year. Anyhow, he is still eligible for the next election in 4 year's time.

Now the sandiwara becomes clearer - why Ahmad Ismail was so brave in playing up the racial sentiments of malays, going head to head with Gerakan while ignoring the president and vice-president! He has taken this punishment as a joke even to the extent of praising Badawi and Najib for the bold action. He looks almost happy that he is suspended and knows he will be rewarded in future for doing his duty.

The real target was Raja Petra and later those people who are responsible for UMNO’s slipping grip on power in Malaysia.

By sacrificing Ahmad Ismail, they could turn around and say that in order to be fair and show that they don’t practise double standard, all people considered as threat to racial harmony will be rounded up and detained under ISA. In doing so, NGOs, foreigners and oppositions in Malaysia cannot argue that only action is taken on Ahmad Ismail for creating racial tension but the others like Raja Petra, Bloggers and opposition parties would be spared from action.

They would sacrifice only one low level UMNO politician, albeit Ahmad Ismail, but they are able to put the big fishes like Raja Petra, LKS, LGE or Anwar behind bars which would slow down or stop completely their march to Putrajaya!

At the moment, the UMNO malays are very worked up and angry; they want equal action treatment and heads to roll. To satisfy this group of people, UMNO will present the head of somebody important, for the time being RPK!

MCA, Gerakan and MIC have fallen all over themselves in praising UMNO for practising fairness and justice to the non-malays. They have been duped into believing that BN will be setting up a code of conduct but when the punishment comes, UMNO will be the one deciding on the type of punishment - one set of rules for itself and another set for the rest of BN members.

Ahmad Ismail has no intention of repenting and UMNO is still supporting him as shown in the press conference held by him using the facilities meant for UMNO and Badawi with the support of certain UMNO leaders. It just shows that UMNO, MCA, Gerakan and MIC are all in cahoots in acting out the sandiwara.

Very soon, they will go after more targets with greater zeal and greater force!

It is a slap on the wrist for Ahmad Ismail but SA for Raja Petra for the lesser offence of going against the powers that be! Ahmad Ismail is due to go on a holiday while the punishment is meted out but Raja Petra and those people who will be targeted by UMNO will be sitting in Kamunting for a long, long time!

This beloved country of ours runned by BN has gone to the way of Zimbabwe and Myanmar!
written by Apek, September 12, 2008 15:45:45
To the Government of Malaysia to which I pay taxes to.

Raja Petra is not a threat to the security of Malaysia as much as he is a threat to the injustce that your government perpetrates. You cannot in good conscience do what you have done without knowing that what you have done is an injustice in itelf that will return to haunt you in due course. Your acts of injustice shall be your undoing as you will shortly be reminded that no amount of prisons, injustice, oppression and force can extinguish the indominable spirit of the human heart seeking freedom and justice.

I am dissappointed that my taxes have been used by the Federation to deprive the freedom of my fellow brother.