Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Abdullah Expresses Surprise Over Muhyiddin's Statement On Transition Plan

Abdullah Expresses Surprise Over Muhyiddin's Statement On Transition Plan PDF Print
Thursday, 11 September 2008 18:22
PUTRAJAYA, Sept 11 (Bernama) -- Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi today expressed surprise over a statement by Umno vice-president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin that his transition plan to step down in June 2010 was too long. Abdullah, who is also Umno president, said the Cabinet understood and agreed with the transition plan and the Umno Supreme Council had also agreed to it.

"I'm surprised that a member of my Cabinet should come up with that kind of statement. It is against what has been agreed to," he told reporters after chairing the 20th MSC Malaysia Implementation Council Meeting at his office here.

Abdullah was asked to comment on the statement yesterday in Singapore by Muhyiddin, who is also International Trade and Industry Minister, that the transition plan had "sunk away" and that people were not thinking about it anymore.

Abdullah also said he was surprised that Muhyiddin came up with such an opinion as he had agreed to that (transition plan) before. Under the plan for transition of power, Abdullah is to hand over the post of prime minister, the chairmanship of the Barisan Nasional (BN) and the presidency of Umno to his deputy, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, in June 2010.

Abdullah said: "I'm not staying on just for the pleasure. I tell you this is not work that I can regard as pleasure."

The prime minister said there were many political matters and problems that had to be attended to and "lots of programmes that I have already indicated that I must do my best to complete".

Abdullah said these included the reform of the judiciary and the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA).

"And I still have the IPCMC (Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission); a matter to look into, the last part of the police reform. At the same time, I have promised that we would like to achieve eradication of hardcore poverty.

"I would like to work very hard on it and, at the same time, there is a lot of work that needs to be done, to reform the Barisan Nasional (BN) and also to add more, to expand the (BN's) capacity to serve the people," he said.

Abdullah said that as for Umno, there was also a lot to be done, as well as to help his deputy, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, to achieve the objectives of the stated programmes.

Asked whether he would ask Muhyiddin to explain why he had come out with such a statement, Abdullah said: "There is no need to ask me what I'm going to do."

On former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad's decision to rejoin Umno, he said the subject was not discussed (at yesterday's meeting of the Umno Supreme Council).

"My view alone is not enough ... this is a matter for the party. I cannot make a stand on this," he said. Dr Mahathir resigned from Umno on May 19.

-- BERNAMA

Comments (36)Add Comment
written by Heaven8402, September 11, 2008 18:32:43
There are still more surprises in store for you and this is just the appetizer. The main course is yet to come.

All Malaysians are waiting for the grand finale.
written by IbnAbdHalim, September 11, 2008 18:33:47
That means Muhyiddin sees the incompetency in running the government by Hang Lah. Hang Lah can't deliver all his promises. The longer Hang LAh sticks to the job the more harmful it costs UMNO.
written by Jivathma, September 11, 2008 18:34:51
Is he (Muhyiddin)the only man asking you to resign? For you Dear Pak Lah, most of everything must be a suprise, only because you're sleeping most of the time. Wake Up LAH please!
written by mymalaysia, September 11, 2008 18:44:18
Agree of force to agree to the transition plan? Aiya .. Muhyiddin, watever-din or Kuli-li .. watever la, the point is if UMNO don't change and keep harping racial issue, Malay rights, corrupted practice, etc. I think they will loose and be a history la. May be THAT'S for betterment of Malaysia? Hmmm .. no too bad come to think about it smilies/grin.gif
written by ahmadneil, September 11, 2008 18:44:48
So that mean Muhyiddin has been brainwash by mahathir or is it that they are ganging up to challenge you.AAB think!Another front has open up.WOW! can you withstand all this attack?
written by budakindia, September 11, 2008 18:47:32
He made me surprised too. smilies/wink.gif Muhyiddin and others have been making statements since March 8th. Has he fell asleep again? smilies/cheesy.gif

Regarding him not staying for pleasure. It seems that you are having too much good time in screwing us over and over again. smilies/angry.gif Are you there just to punish us? You have the orgasm each time you see us suffered? smilies/angry.gif
written by cubi76, September 11, 2008 18:54:42
Please, Please do not condemn our beloved AAB.

Please let him stay on.... to become Opposition Leader!
written by zandi, September 11, 2008 18:58:16
Aaaah, dear AAB sir, you must have been taking much longer naps again, huh? So, our worst fears are now confirmed, that you've actually been sleepwalking all this while?!!!
written by deemah, September 11, 2008 18:59:58
tak faham faham. Makna nya orng dah tak sabar-sabar lagi menunggu perubahan. It means the rakyat have had enough. macam mana nak explain lagi.
written by Celestial, September 11, 2008 19:07:15
Et tu Brute??????
written by Motherchell, September 11, 2008 19:08:02
Yes Paklah , we all know you are working hard on the anvil .in the Process of all your hard work , more Citizens are disappearing , more are being interned under the ISA , while the CORRUPT have quadrupled.

Take your time Paklah , afterall you need 2 years to get all your balance sheets ready ,plant the grass , and the palms , and buy the baggage , plus not forgetting to fill your tanks . Take your time , Paklah , Titanic took 2hours and 40 minutes to sink !!! WHoo !!! it was a cold winter night with gales hitting at the potholes!!!
written by magen, September 11, 2008 19:15:03
The prime minister said there were many political matters and problems that had to be attended to and "lots of programmes that I have already indicated that I must do my best to complete".

1.Reform of the judiciary
2.Reform Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA).
3.IPCMC (Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission)
4.Police reform.
I have promised that we would like to achieve eradication of hardcore poverty.

Can someone wake this fellow from deep shit.Hello MR Davi even my 7years old daughter know you never keep the promises, even you cant tame Ahmad Ismail then how in the world you can tame this dinosaures??? Dont ****ing around your with stupid stories. We DSAI and Pakatan Rakyat,We need not above said Reform, the rakyak is going to govern this nation. You just sit and see.

written by smokingsoldier, September 11, 2008 19:17:15
OF COURSE BODOHWI SAYS ITS NOT A PLEASURE BEING A PM NOW. HIS EASY-MONEY-SCHEMES ARE OVER, IN ORDER TO FILL UP MORE OF HIS POCKET HE HAS TO WORK MUCH MUCH HARDER. HE FEELS THE FIRE FROM HELL BURNING AT HIS SCROTUMS AND ITS PAINFUL FOR HIM.
written by omarkhayyam, September 11, 2008 19:19:53
i dun blame dollah, if he is surprised he really is surprised folks

believe me everything that has happened from the time he took office is a surprise when he leaved putrajaya on the 16th sept will also be a surprise for him

written by Ravee, September 11, 2008 19:20:20
Ayooo - Muhiyiddin slapped you la, only then you woke up ... Never mind, the Rakyat will put you back to sleep on 16 September. You can go into permanent retirement in Perth, but make sure you leave the Rakyat's money in Malaysia so that it can be used to eradicate hardcore poverty.
written by Umm Adzka, September 11, 2008 19:21:05
"I'm surprised that a member of my Cabinet should come up with that kind of statement. It is against what has been agreed to," he told reporters after chairing the 20th MSC Malaysia Implementation Council Meeting at his office here.

Oh come on, you are a stateman right? no, not only that, you are the PM of Malaysia. be a man! Tunku Abdulrahman would appreciate this kind of honesty. All you need to do is to open your eyes and ears - what Muhyidin had asked you was not a personal request. The Rakyat wants that too! Except, of course, they do not want you to surrender the seat to Najib. You do not own Malaysia, you can give away what you do not own! (the contrary is also true, you can't keep to yourself something that you do not own)

umm.adzka.com
written by Krepot, September 11, 2008 19:21:54
Fark-lah, Go back to sleep-lah. That way, you won't get surprised.
It was all a dream.

To Malaysians, you were our worst nightmare!
written by riversnail, September 11, 2008 19:32:14
Dollah...Dollah...apa nak surprise sangat.Since day 1 ,Din has been telling you to get lost.Lain kali nak tidur,pakai Alarm clock la...ini bangun lambat... lepas tu kata terkejut pulak.
hello Dollah...Maha Firaun nak balik ke UMNO....tau tak....jgn nak cakap terkejut lagi...
written by *********, September 11, 2008 19:43:39
Don't be surprise Badawi over Muhyiddin. The real BIG surprise is just around the corner...Stay tuned http://*********.********.com
written by Raizzen, September 11, 2008 19:47:15
It wouldn't have made any difference my dear Future Ex Prime Minister, if he was to tell you now or then - because you'd still view it negatively, wouldn't it ?

You wouldn't take this is a polite refusal by your own members of cabinet, instead be sounding 'shocked' or 'regret'.

Shush.
written by arazak, September 11, 2008 19:57:27
Abdullah said these included the reform of the judiciary and the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA).

"And I still have the IPCMC (Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission); a matter to look into, the last part of the police reform. At the same time, I have promised that we would like to achieve eradication of hardcore poverty.

"I would like to work very hard on it and, at the same time, there is a lot of work that needs to be done, to reform the Barisan Nasional (BN) and also to add more, to expand the (BN's) capacity to serve the people," he said.
_______________________________________________________ _______________

Dear Sleepy Head PM,

Again, rhetoric and empty promises. The Rakyaat have heard this before . . ., countless times. I suggest in this holy month of Ramadhan, you had better stop lying.

Please, and when we said stop lying, it is not for us. . ., but for you own sake! We do not want you to be remembered as a lying PM . . ., in the history books and for generations to come!

We do not want you to be remembered as “Bapa Penipu”.

written by peace, September 11, 2008 20:03:48
Hey Mr. Pak Lah, people need only one hour to complete a task but you need 24 hours to complete it. Do we need such un-productive and incompetence PM in Malaysia? Why you so thick face?
written by justme bc, September 11, 2008 20:33:30
Pak Lah, dare you to sack him! this Mujahiddin is belittling you as the president and an insult to UMNO in general, anyway nobody cares. You are a puppet UMNO president without POWER, no ammunition or firepower to act, a weakling.

Why you take so long long time to complete the judiciary, ACA reforms and the setting up of IPCMC?????????

hidup anak bangsa malaysia!!!!!
written by SocratesI, September 11, 2008 20:59:30

Bodohwi, Why so surprised ?? Leader Flip-Flop, Follower ALSO Flip-Flop lah !! At least you know that Muddy-Assassin has really learnt something from you !!

You should remove this Muddy-Assassin as Minister and relegate him to the UMNO BBC-lah ... if you had the B@lls to do it !! So much infighting to watch, better than Astro leh !!!

written by Durnfordi, September 11, 2008 21:00:20
Dollah, there's actually nothing that you have done, besides sleeping on the job, since you became PM so don't come around and tell us you still have lots of things to do! Reforming the judiciary and ACA? Please lah!! These two institutions are beyond reform as long as BN rules the country! One look at the current situation is self explanatory! Judiciary is still under the thumb of the executive. Yes, that's you Dollah in case you forgot! ACA? Aiyah! Catching all those small fries....can lah! Try catching some big fish like Sam-mee well-loo and Rafidah Acid !! These two are well known for their corruption but there's no action to this day!! So, please don't try to con us, the rakyat! Reform my foot!
written by Alice, September 11, 2008 21:25:32
Pak Lah I am happy to have you as PM. With you I see a lot of democracy taking place and freedom to express ourselves here. I see much change under your rule. However between you and Anwar I would choose Anwar cause he seem more dynamic (I am not sure). If Anwar does not make it than you should be PM coz I dislike all the rest. Muhidin is a wolf in sheep's clothings and probably greedy for power. WAKEUP PAK LAH AND BE FIRM. Lots of greedy wolves in your party and one is planning to rejoin. DON'T GIVE UP AND FIGHT FOR MALAYSIA. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Semut Jantan, September 11, 2008 22:07:05
Give that sleepy head a break, will you?

You are interrupting his sleep.

Jangan kacau dia tidur la.
written by fencesitter, September 11, 2008 23:02:23
just hit me....today is sept 11...7 years passed already...Many things had happened within these years in US. More instability in this world with Bush at helm.

So what's new in Malaysia? Sickening news we see everyday.....politics is a big mess, economy is in a bigger mess, everyone is suffering......So? is Anwar the cure? Pak Lah or Najib? Is there anything out there that can brighten up our lives? Any positive news? Frankly, there's none. Pity, pity, pity.

Add 1 more thing.....If any BN reps wanna jump boat to the other side, those reps will be villains in my eyes and other rakyat too. Anwar should do it the legitimate way.
written by jting, September 12, 2008 00:13:14
When we have a weak leader, all shits will eventually surface because he doesnt know how to MANAGE his own people, oppositions & issues. Perhaps this is also a good otherwise, PR may not be able to secure so many Parliament seats & states.

I believe not only MY wants AAB to handover earlier, the whole cabinet wishes that too... AAB, if you cant perform, pls pack & go... stop damaging the countries economy, stability & prosperity. The Rakyat does not have the patience till 2010.
written by onnetline, September 12, 2008 00:59:47
Pak Lah,

This is called twisting the ' thorn ' in your flesh !

You may need to thank that CarTUN from Kedah.
written by miwaki, September 12, 2008 01:33:26
Pak Lah, just ignore Muhyiddin because his name is very difficult to spell.Concentrate on DSAI because he is going to kick you out very soon.Bar the 50 MPs from coming back or send them to Mongolia to apologize to mongolians for the death of Altantuya.Just make sure these 50 MPs do not come back then you are safe.Only let them back when you have quit politic.
written by R.V3, September 12, 2008 02:49:10
Pak Lah, Stay lost. Ignorance is bliss.
written by The dragonheart, September 12, 2008 05:39:50
Dear Mr PM,

You have made too many promises since your victory in 2004. None of your promises comes to reality but instate all your families, cronies, BN people, governmentand PDRM were getting bad to worst...

How can you say you want to make changes in a short period of time whereas you have ample time to do what you want to do but you did nothing...
written by ellyna, September 12, 2008 08:18:54
Weellll....surprise surprise...This is what you get when you sleep too long. Muhyiddin aint the only one who want you OUT!! Seluruh Malaysia want you out except your beruk SIL. And since this work is not a 'pleasure', we would never object to you giving it up now. Why don't you go on to Australia with Jean and take a break...forever..
written by Tom n Jerry, September 12, 2008 08:24:27
Whatever is the outcome is not important,but what is important Badawi must let the reign of government go to PRsmilies/grin.gifSAI is the best choice PM;no one else qualifies at the moment! smilies/smiley.gif
written by Yacob, September 12, 2008 14:55:06
If I were you Pak Lah, I would rather surrender the power to PR. Al least, the rakyat will remember you as their true leader rather than you will be toppled either by your own party or by the PR. In any way, Pak Lah has no more choice save to work together with the rakyat, to wit PR.