Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Half Kangkong, Half Kailan

Half Kangkong, Half Kailan PDF Print
Thursday, 11 September 2008 12:48

By Biological Organism

Last nite, I was at my mother-in-law's. I am grateful to God in that I have one of those really nice mothers-in-law who do not speak to me much. It's not that she is angry with me or anything. But that's the way it has been. I also do my best to keep it that way, very politely of course.

So, during those visits to my in-law's (when there is always plenty of food, with the rarer promise of tasting nice - my son will attest to that) I just 'assume the position' on the sofa and watch Astro, which I had installed so that my mum-in-law can watch her favorite shows. (Now she actually has three Astro connections in the house. Maklumlah, orang kaya) 

But last nite there was something wrong with Astro in my mum-in-law's upper-class neighbourhood - no picture. So while the wife and kids were visiting with their grandma, I 'assumed the position' and caught up on some 'shut eye'.

Then I started thinking about all the racial crap that is going on right now. First of all, it is obvious that the people who are not superior in any way at all are being misled that they are somehow superior to others who are actually quite superior, in many ways. This is a very sad joke indeed. Although it is actually a political play now, there does seem to be more of this 'superiority' crap down at the street level.

But I feel that this superiority complex is superficial. It is not real. All of us Malaysians should take cognisance of this. After 50 years I get the feeling that there is substantial bonding between the races in the country. People really get along quite well. To illustrate this 'racial blurring', try to guess what is my race, from reading what I have writtten here?

The only exceptions to this rule are the marginalised Indians (the Hindraf type people) and many Malays who have been imbued with too much religious indoctrination. These two groups are still physically and practically removed from the rest of the country. The Hindraf type Indians are a minority, yet they can be a significantly 'unhappy' sector of the economy. The religiously inclined Malays are a large number. We really need to address these two groups of people. We cannot just let them be, to fester in their own passions. It may not be healthy for the rest of us.

But the actors who have recently kicked up all the fuss about race are second rate politicians, one is a wannabe ketupat from the BN and the others are has been dim sum also from the BN. Its a BN vs. BN thing. Ketupat BN vs. dim sum BN. It does not go beyond that.

At the street level, the vast numbers of Malaysians who did not vote for these two clowns could not really be bothered. They are just waiting for the next round of general elections to, again, kick them out of office completely. Just wait and see.

Then, while I was 'assuming the position' at my mum-in-law's, I also started counting the number of people I know who are of mixed racial parentage. 30 years ago, meeting people of mixed racial parentage was still a novelty. 'Hey Krishnan has a Chinese mother lah!'  Fazlur Rahman Ebrahim's mother is Chinese his father is Indian lah! And so on.

But today, the racial mix in the country is astounding. There is hardly a Malaysian family, especially living along the West coast, which does not have at least one family member who is married to another race. The mix is so thorough that even the offspring of kangkong and kailan have  'assumed the position' of head vegetable! Now isn't that a show stopper?

No one knows know what is going to happen to them tomorrow. Try peering into the ball to see another 30 years ahead. Let's wait and see.

written by junjun40, September 11, 2008 13:12:58
Hi Biological Organism,
Let me be the first one to guess your parentage.
You are of a mix parentage with some kind of Malay lineage.
You do write well, seems to be related to food and cuisine
written by apanama, September 11, 2008 13:18:21
anak kangkong siapa ya?
written by me_in, September 11, 2008 13:30:29
How true it is.

My late father came from India... he is called MAMAK
My mother is a Malay, she is called Melayu.

My son married someone from Sabah.
Her father is Dusun Kadazan, her mother is Chinese.

My granddaughter used to say.
Datuk Kuala lumpur .... India ( I speak a bit of Tamil )
Opah Kuala Lumpur Melayu
Datuk Sabah... Kadazan
Nenek Sabah.... Cina.

We are all like rojak but lived happily. We respect each other religions and custom.
We are a happy Malaysian Family.
written by Aizad 234, September 11, 2008 13:34:03
Yeah... man.. i do like chinese girls.. i am a malay ,and yes indeed, i do like Chinese chicks.i dont mind to be married to a Chinese gurl... people say,its hard for a malay dude to court a chinese gurl.. 'playing hard to get lorrr'',..hehehe. but i can see things changing right now since the chinese gurls discovered that the malay dudes can be so romantic
disagree 17
written by Agahdemo, September 11, 2008 13:36:38
That holds true for Ahmad Ismail too...Look at him carefully....he passes for someone from Pakistan........I have no doubt his ancesters were from Pakistan stocks.
written by Awaken64, September 11, 2008 13:43:21
The melting pot era is here to stay in my own family the diversity includes
Vikings, Yeah RPK I got Welsh potatoes too in the family tree, chinese, indian ect and off course alot of keluarga angkat Melayu that swear i am on of them too...

the South African have a nice term for this call it "BERIANI" which we eat without really understanding the history of the cuisine.

Nation building through food mama mia!!!!
written by ahmadneil, September 11, 2008 13:57:33
Here in Pontan Kechil,Johore, we call 'mix'people 'Chap Jen'.I'm a malay mixed by my Paki father with a beautiful Eurasian mum.So I try to copy my parent by mixing myself with a stunning Kadazan.Then my son also follow my footsteps by marrying a sexy fair skin Indian from Kashmir.But I have a objection when my daughter wanted to marry Ahmad the Racist.I told her that I will disown her if she don't take my advise.Also I don't like her children to be called Ma Mak' children.Luckily she agrees and now she is happily married to a rich Sarawakian timber tycoon.
written by justinlian, September 11, 2008 14:24:09
Hi... Mixture,

Im sure you are a malay decendant and married to a chinese girl.
Anyway, malaysian have been like this all thsi while, it is just the UMNO has been playing racial things for 51 years, It is sad to know this.
Just look back to 60's , everyone was happy to have each other around.
I just hope one day we can be like that as everyone is happy with each other existance.
As for you Aizar,
Im sure you will get one chinese girl as your wife but the problem is malays can married 4 so you should let her know that you are not going for that plus give her your promise and keep it.
If you can change that attitude, you will do fine.
And give her your account so she can spend, hahahahahaha....
Think twice...
Anyway, good luck
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 11, 2008 14:47:33
ahmadneil,
Your family tree:
Malay= Mal
Pakistan= pakis
Eurasian=eur
KadazanDusun= kadu
Indian= Indi
Chinese= cina (assumed your Sarawakian son-in-law)

So that would make your grand children a: "Mapakeukaduincin" or something like that.
To solve that race classification, we should simply call ourselves "MALAYSIAN"

See Ahmad the Racist, isn't that name, Malaysian, much better sounding and in simplicity?
written by Bloodhound, September 11, 2008 15:01:11
What a happy bunch of Malaysians - a good mix of Malaysian hospitality!
Hope we can revisit those good old days again.

Keep up the good work - Cheers!
written by mamak, September 11, 2008 15:24:26
Indian java -> my father.
Bugis Melayu -> my mother.

my father my mother -> I.

banjar Chinese -> my wife.

My wife I -> malaysian
written by non conformist, September 11, 2008 15:46:23
There would be a lot more inter-marriage between the Malays and the non-Malay if not for the OPPRESSIVE religious laws that coerces a non-Malay to become a MUSLIM who marries a Malay.

written by apanama, September 11, 2008 16:07:06
frens: my grandparents came from china. my mother was born in johor. my father in kuantan. they ran from the japanese army. but they were born in malaya, seven years before paklah was one-day old. don't want to ask if paklah grandparents were born in malaya or somewhere else.

my parents toiled this land. we all went to school together. we were only a handful of non-malays in school. less than 10 in secondary school. but we lived happily together. i learnt my BM from malay teachers. to such level my BM was #1 in class (t'ganu bloeh!). i ride on same bike with my tengku friend (now he works in the Istana). he gave me a lift when i forgot my IC to sit for exam. no problem then. no problem at all. we don't talk alot these days. but we are still good friends. like we were before. unblemished.

NOW WHAT is going in this country after so many years merdeka?? some people want us to go back to china? is that our homeland? i don't even speak mandarin enough to survive one day in beijing. mana boleh? malaysia tetap kampung halaman.

che mat, emak kau ada cakap tak? jangan main api. nanti terbakar diri sendiri.

written by Kathy, September 11, 2008 17:04:59
And the nonyas and babas? Did you ever hear them speak Chinese? It was with a Malay accent and interspersed with Malay words. When I was a child I enjoyed listening to them singing keroncongs and admiring the women's baju panjang with the kerosang pins. And the food - wow! The best food in the world! A lovely fusion of China and Malaysia. Today I still enjoy keroncongs and cooking nonya food.
written by samesamemam, September 11, 2008 17:41:52
I enjoyed very much biological organism’s article if for no other reason I`m a fourth generation Malaysian, whose so-called ethnic origins, at least in this land, include a great-grandfather chinaman pendatang who married an orang asli woman in the 19th century, one of the sons from that union then married a peranakan woman in the 20th century, who then gave birth to my father, who married my mother, whose father was a pendatang from what was called Ceylon at that time, and me and my siblings are married to spouses belonging to almost every known other race/religion in this country , producing children who are as colourful as the rainbow.

But I must take exception to this one para of biological organism, especially the last sentence:

The only exceptions to this rule are the marginalised Indians (the Hindraf type people) and many Malays who have been imbued with too much religious indoctrination. These two groups are still physically and practically removed from the rest of the country. The Hindraf type Indians are a minority, yet they can be a significantly 'unhappy' sector of the economy. The religiously inclined Malays are a large number. We really need to address these two groups of people. We cannot just let them be, to fester in their own passions. It may not be healthy for the rest of us.

Totally uncalled for. Creating another ‘us’ and them’, which I refuse to be a part of. I say to you: go fester in your own ‘us’. You don't represent the racial-mix Malaysians your suggest to be.
written by Aizad 234, September 11, 2008 18:00:16
to justinlian..

im a one on one person ma.. one is enough..hehehehe. Chinese also dont make any difference. Ok, the malay can have 4 wives, but the chinese can have 4 ,5 mistresses..ehehehehe.. so what's the different?.. Ok justin,saying that the chinese women what ur account to be spent, .... same goes to the malay ladies nowadays... smilies/smiley.gif but every thing has vice-versa /ying and yang.. not all women are gold diggers no matter what races they are.

p/s: Chua Soi Lek is my idol..ehehehe... energetic.
written by myvoice, September 11, 2008 18:00:25
Still remember during my primary school period, that was somewhere the 70's, I was one that studied in Sekolah Kebangsaan in Malim Nawar Perak. We, the Chinese, Indian, Punjabi and Malay will never ever in our mind thinking about you are from other race, we played, mixed and even curi someone mangga/rambutan together and we just act like brothers. During Hari Raya, Chinese New Year and Deepavali, we will wake up so early, gathered to celebrate the festive together, with my pa's big 2 roda, we cycled together from one house to another. we enjoy the food and we got angpow too. But sad to see that such has rarely taken place today and wonder down another 10 to 20 years, what will happen to our next younger generation? With the racist kind of Ahmad Ismail, can our children/grandchildren able to live without fear in Malaysia?
written by Alice, September 11, 2008 18:36:10
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif Nice. I love Malaysia for these reasons ;multicultural,multi ethcnic ,multireligious and most of all multi racial people who are soooooooo interesting and has the capacity to live harmoniously . And not forgetting the rich array of yummy foood.

LETS GET RID OF RACISTS AND RECREATE A BEAUTIFUL MALAYSIA.
written by budakindia, September 11, 2008 18:43:16
Why all the fuss about race? It's just that somebody now couldn't get contracts from the state government anymore! smilies/cheesy.gif Even now he has accidentally touched on other non-related Jews! Maybe unwittingly. smilies/grin.gif His story was carried in the Jerusalem Post. If I remembered correctly one former PM also did made an anti-Semitic remark and he apologized in the one of their world forums. smilies/grin.gif
written by Cyber DNA, September 11, 2008 21:09:19
My wife ...Malaysian chinese...!
Myself an Malaysian Indian ( from Maharastra...more than 180 years in Malaysia)!
My son A Malaysian Chindian!
WOW DO I LOVE MALAYSIA!
written by cwy, September 11, 2008 21:23:51
When you fry 'kangkong, it is good to add 'balacan'.
When you fry 'kailan, ti is good to add some lard.
I guess the writer could be Chef Wan.
written by profpolitico, September 11, 2008 22:28:56
i tell you...the DLLs will be the biggest race in Malaysia. just watch.

http://kudaranggi.********.com/2008/09/antara-pendatang-dan-penumpang.html
written by Kathy, September 11, 2008 22:56:59
Why don't we organise a peaceful march to demonstrate the unity and diversity of Malaysia, dressed in our beautiful traditional outfits such as the baju kebaya, sari, cheongsam, and the men in theirs? It will be like a display of all sorts of exotic flowers. smilies/grin.gif
written by Fat Zorro, September 12, 2008 07:05:34
I dont think Ahmad Ismail is Paki stock. He looks like Mahathir stock, from Kerala