Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Cops: Stop commenting on sensitive issues

Cops: Stop commenting on sensitive issues PDF Print
Thursday, 11 September 2008 10:47

(The Star) - The police have warned of stern action against people who make racially sensitive statements which can cause tension and undermine public order.

Deputy Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Ismail Omar said the police would not hesitate to take stern action against anyone, regardless of their background and political affiliations, if they are found to be exploiting racial and sensitive matters.

“The recent (racist remarks) issue has been exploited by many irresponsible parties who have used various media including blogs, SMS, and MMS to threaten peace in the country.

“I also warn everyone to stop issuing such statements in the print and electronic media,” Ismail said during a press conference at Bukit Aman police headquarters yesterday.

He said the investigation into the remarks made by the Bukit Bendera division chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail would be concluded as soon as possible.

Ismail said police would not entertain requests by any party or group for permits to hold street demonstrations with regard to the issue.

He said the current situation is under control but police would continue to monitor things to maintain public order.

“I have briefed all state police chiefs and district police chiefs to keep a close watch on the situation.

“The public are welcome to contact district or state police chiefs for clarification,” Ismail said.

written by Democrats, September 11, 2008 11:10:08
Deputy IGP,

There's someone making these remarks. His name is Ahmad Ismail.

No need to investigate, there's the video plus his own acknowledgment and confession.

Go take the stern action now. Or is the suspension from UMNO sufficiently called stern?
written by MT682, September 11, 2008 11:11:19
If that's the case, why is Ahmad Ismail still running loose?
written by miwaki, September 11, 2008 11:16:23
Cakap tak serupa bikin,what is the point ?
written by Anti Jihadist, September 11, 2008 11:20:19
The cops want everyone to shut up, the typical Malaysian reaction to so many 'problems'. This does not solve anything--rather, it only temporarily suppresses racial tensions, prevents open discussion and debate, and hinders the search for more permanent solutions.

Everyone should be free to speak their minds, as the Federal Constitution supposedly guarantees freedom of speech. Even that despicable Ahmad should be free to utter his racist thoughts, so long as he is a private citizen while doing it.

The only real solution to the 'problem' of free speech...is more free speech.

written by lamakawan, September 11, 2008 11:21:05
I agree fully with democrats and mt682. No need to say anything more. Have Ahmad behind bars in local police lockup while investigations are still going on. Do not allow him to make any more comments to the press.
written by oct, September 11, 2008 11:27:42
Hello Mr Policeman. The person you should go after is Ahmad Ismail. He has made so many racial remarks. Police reports have been lodged. Why is there no action against him? If he is the opposition, we believe he will be at Kamunting now!!! So stop warning rakyat when the one who is causing the problem is still around. Police must show sincerity and trust to the Rakyat. So far this is not perceived by the Rakyat. Walk the talk Mr Policeman!!!
written by apa jadi, September 11, 2008 11:27:55
What the chinese say, this guy is slower by 3 beats to response. The Arm force chief is supposed to be the last level to say this kind of thing. He said before this Musa guy. The cart and the horse, which one first? Where has he been all these times when mad cows went rampaging Penang Island. Now that the people up there has made a decision, he comes to repeat what the top said. What about mad cows?

There goes the Malay Idiom:
"Gajah seberang laut nampak, kuman depan mata tak nampak"
(Elephant across the seas can be seen, germs in front of the eyes is unseen)
written by RumahPanjai, September 11, 2008 11:29:12
The horse is talking through his nose! His men reined in Anwar but are too scare to touch Ahmad. There are enough evidence but then their boss the AG have the final say....and of course the result is obvious.
written by densemy, September 11, 2008 11:29:45
WTF... first it was the Army telling us how the country should be run. Now the cops are getting in on the act

I know that its depressing living in la la land with a flip flop PM, but I should remind both the ARMY AND THE POLICE that they are EMPLOYEES of the government and hence OF THE PEOPLE

It is NOT their role to decide how the country is to be run. Their role is to maintain law and order and protect the nation
written by Daryl, September 11, 2008 11:31:40
You are only few days late. But, is okay we already know your kind and when the PR come to power we will make sure we have more credible PDRM in charge....
written by chanatak, September 11, 2008 11:45:59

FOOLISHNESS!

The answer does not lie in stopping people from raising issues for discussions, or even in criticism. There is nothing wrong with healthy open criticisms and debates.

THE SOLUTION LIES IN TAKING LEGAL ACTION AGAINST THOSE PEOPLE WHO ACT VIOLENTLY, REACT VIOLENTLY, OR INSTIGATE VIOLENCE based on these so called sensitive issues.

The more this foolish authorities prevent discussions and practice molly coddling, the longer the problem remains.

If anyone wants to criticize, let him - but ensure that he that criticizes is ready to debate with threatening violence to the other.

written by DezMalaysia, September 11, 2008 11:54:21
apa jadi,

I think it's better if you put it this way;

"Kuman seberang laut nampak, Gajah depan mata tak nampak"
written by lamakawan, September 11, 2008 11:55:21
This Ahmad already inflicted harm on a local countryman. Customers are avoiding this shell petrol station in Green lane Penang. His father is malay and mum is chinese. he says he is innocent victim of stupid Ahmad's remarks. This cruel Ahmad dosen't care whether people will get hurt or not. If he continues to be stubborn the police must put him behind bars. Already police had received many reports against Ahmad and still we have no news of any action taken against Ahmad. Any news from you police?
written by disgruntled, September 11, 2008 12:00:43
I'd like to ask police a simple question here. If someone other than Ahmad Ismail were to have remarked the same thing as Ahmad, would that person be arrested? Whether under sediton act or isa or what not? If police chose not to reply this question, then we can surmise police is having double standard for arresting people.
written by joeawk, September 11, 2008 12:01:41
What u say? You let the baruah from bkt Bendera has his days without even a warning and when he is suspended, you start to warn others.

What is it? You know or not, what you are saying. Shouldn't you put the baruah behind bars in the first place. What you say? You are a disgrace to all the policemen who had come before you.

Be a good police, be that to the people. use your conscience which you have, be fair and be right to all. Why should the baruah be treated any differently from others.

Because he is datuk? I see him as a baruah, no contract for him, he cause trouble. Malaysians are waiting to see what happen next after the police investigation.

Cannot be fair, don't wear your badge la, buat malu saja.
written by jasongaust, September 11, 2008 12:12:00
Don't just talk, ACT!!

Every now & then, you came out and made silly statements like this? Its becoming a sick joke now each time you open your mouth. What positive action have you taken so far with the madcow Ahmad's recent stupid and seditious remarks?

Ya.ya..the police are still investigating..

Investigating my foot! Warning my foot! Act Now, Act Fast and Act Firm!!

There is overwhelming evidence what that madcow Ahmad had said and done in the past week and the irrepairable damage he has caused to the peace and well being of the country.

He is still allowed to continue steering up racial hatred like a loose cannon out there, and you are telling us investigation into his remarks is still continuing...

Tan Sri, you are another useless man in uniform. Don't bother to polish those stars on your shoulder, they are all fakes!!
written by fairnessforall, September 11, 2008 12:15:56
You cops are the biggest crooks. When UMNO people make racially sensitive comments, you warn them, when other people dont even make racially sensitive comments, you arrest them and put them under ISA. Why the double standards. Why are you just issuing warning, why have you not arrested Ahmad under the ISA. Dont just talk cock, prove that you are sincere the and the same rule stands for everyone. So far you say one thing but do the opposite.
written by lamakawan, September 11, 2008 12:36:02
It is pointless for anyone to be angered by such comments by the police. After all they are law enforcers. What is important is to know who is the boss of the police chief? If the boss is patriotic and fair to the rakyat, the police will follow their instructions to the letter by the boss. Now the boss is under the control of BN leadership. If parliament can rule that the police department must be answerable to parliament, then they can be independent and hence we might see order. For now, the police will not practice what they preach.
written by apa jadi, September 11, 2008 12:52:58
DezMalaysia,

"Kuman seberang laut nampak, Gajah depan mata tak nampak"

Ooop! Thanks! I copied wholescale from wikipedia without even verifying it. sorry for the serious mistake I made (I don't normally proof read my messages, sorry).
written by tenang, September 11, 2008 13:03:50
Police,

You stay out of politic. You have no say in politic. Stop telling the people to shut up.

Your responsibility is to ensure general security. You are not trained to determine what is good or bad discourse; Thus stop to be the mediator of political issues.

We the people are not kids, and you stop act like parents to us.

written by Fight4Justice, September 11, 2008 13:33:03
"Deputy Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Ismail Omar said the police would not hesitate to take stern action against anyone, regardless of their background and political affiliations"..
Yes, 3 years suspension for my beloved crony!!!
Police = Bollocks
written by antares, September 11, 2008 14:10:46
MY FOOT! This the Malaysian Regime reality - the police will forever the UMeNO remote contol robots! Double standard laws! That Ahmad Ismail should be strung up by his ball!
written by albertan98, September 11, 2008 14:18:52
Obviously there has to be a cut-off point and that is Ahmad Ismail. After him all others should be desist from racist statements. The rest lies then on the police coming down hard on ANY party or person that raises issues.

I am prepared, personally, to let the Ahmad Ismail fiasco to rest.

The idea is not to lose focus. The focus is the transition into a Malaysian Malaysia and for those of us hoping fervently for a smooth transition to a Pakatan Rakyat Government which appears to be our best hope for a Malaysian Malaysia, let us not stir the racial pot ourselves.

I am totally against all the garbage and drivel that are coming out from some of the comments in Malaysia Today when National Leaders are called names and cursed and mockery is made of different races. I may be totally against our PM and DPM in their running of the Government but I will accord them civility and respect due to the position they have even if I think they are using foul means to retain power.

Let's retain our humanity in these trying days.

(I believe some will want to shoot me down but it is your privilege as it is mine to express what I have just written.)

written by Kaboosh, September 11, 2008 23:36:17
This warning is obviously directed to the non-umnoputras.And it is with heavy heart and much reluctance that the govt takes action against the malay racists.