Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Anwar says govt to fall by Tues

Anwar says govt to fall by Tues PDF Print
Wednesday, 10 September 2008 14:45

(The Straits Times) KUALA LUMPUR - OPPOSITION leader Anwar Ibrahim said on Wednesday he will topple Malaysia's government by early next week despite a trip abroad by ruling coalition lawmakers that he claims is aimed at thwarting his plans. 

The three-party opposition alliance can seize power if at least 30 members of Parliament defect from the National Front coalition, and Datuk Seri Anwar said he would fly overseas if necessary to meet with lawmakers he hopes to lure to his side.

He has vowed for several months to take power by Sept 16.

About 50 National Front lawmakers left for a farming study tour in Taiwan earlier this week amid opposition accusations that coalition leaders had sent them there to keep them away from Mr Anwar and to dissuade some of them from defecting.

Anwar claims to have made tacit pacts with dozens of lawmakers in recent months, and insisted that he was still 'very much' on track for his target date of next Tuesday.

'We're working on it,' Mr Anwar told reporters. 'There are technical problems because (the lawmakers) have been shipped away.... God-willing, it will (still) happen. If need be, I will fly to Taipei.'

The government has denied the tour is politically motivated.

Mr Anwar, who is battling a charge that he sodomised his 23-year-old former male aide, made the comments after a Sessions Court delayed a preliminary hearing for his sodomy trial.

Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has pledged to foil Mr Anwar's attempt to unseat the National Front, which has governed Malaysia for 51 years but suffered its worst electoral result ever in March national polls.

The National Front won 140 seats in the 222 member Parliament, losing its two-thirds majority for the first time since 1969.

Mr Anwar won a by-election last month that enabled him to re-enter Parliament and to become prime minister if his alliance takes power. -- AP

written by riversnail, September 10, 2008 14:52:23
YB DSAI,we are waiting for it to happen.Just be prepared and be alert for the dirty tactics from the present corrupted and dirty govt.
agree 197
written by ahmadneil, September 10, 2008 14:59:22
Anwar,if they don't return by Monday,then use my private jet and my pilot Raja Labisman will fly you to Taiwan free of charge.There I have already arrange for my friend to bring you straight to Mei Mei street.That is where Ai Le brothel is located.They are all loitering around there hoping that the 2 remaining pimps will appear.Anwar I'm waiting for you green light.I'm on standby,roger.
written by gogsard, September 10, 2008 15:00:21
I'm not suprise if they come up with another reason to extend their stay. Or maybe fly somewhere else. Or infected with infectious deasease and need to be quarantine.

What happen if the whole plane crash ? Another by election ?
written by Rundukon, September 10, 2008 15:00:45
Knowing DSAI is flying to Taipei, I believed Dollah and Najib are now planning to fly the MPs to unknown destinations. Perhaps Timbuktu!
written by Loi Bih Siang Benjamin, September 10, 2008 15:15:53
Dear Friends:
We can celebrate Hari Raya this year with a New Meaning!
Please read my letter to all Muslim friends in Malaysia.
http://benjaminloi.********.com

benjamin Loi
written by bodohland_citizen, September 10, 2008 15:21:54
Pls follow the link :

http://www.malaysiatoday.com/Berita/anwar-mungkin-ditahan-hari-ini.html

There's something bad said about RPK & DSAI in the commentator section by one Wawasan Melayu. Check it out.
written by magen, September 10, 2008 15:38:51
Aiyoyo itu samy vellu apa macam takda ikutkah. aiyo samy
written by Ben, September 10, 2008 15:59:00
Houston to agent ahmadneil, countdown has begun. We cannot wait for them, I repeat its a negative. Leave the fence sitters where they belong. This one eye moon rocket is launch-ready, roger and out.
written by SocratesI, September 10, 2008 16:00:43
Nah ... I think the Barisan NAJIS is going to hatch some plot our Agong to go to Mecca, so that he cannot appoint DSAI as our beloved PM !!

Where is the Royal Malay Regiment ?
written by axeltung, September 10, 2008 16:04:19
I believe those crossover BN's MPs not just from backbenches club who flew to Taiwan...it's political tricks~~smoke screen of the show!!! On 916, you will know the answer!! smilies/wink.gif
written by Tom n Jerry, September 10, 2008 16:05:22
A little advice for my dear DSAI;should you ever go to Taiwan;please make sure you buy the ticket at last minute & board the flight;neer let your opponents know about your itinerary;remember 6/6/76 when the plane was sabotaged! smilies/shocked.gif
written by Wisdom above, September 10, 2008 16:22:15
The Supreme Court allowed cross-overs in 1992 for Kelantan & in 1994 for Sabah. The law of the land in relation to “cross-overs” has long been settled in the case of Dewan Undangan Negeri Kelantan & Anor v Nordin Salleh & Anor decided in 1992 by a 5-member panel of the Supreme Court, our highest Court.

The Court struck down provisions of the Constitution of the State of Kelantan that sought to prevent such cross-overs on the basis that it offended the fundamental right to freedom of association enshrined in Artcle 10 (1) (c) of the Federal Constitution. So let the events of 916 or 920 materialise. Syabas to all Peacemakers.
written by johanssm, September 10, 2008 17:02:57
May i suggest to Anwar not to mention any dates.
So that it will be a total surprise.
because umno panics whenever the deadline gets nearer.
Polis anjing panics too by blocking all major roads.
saifool panics too and can't shit for entire week
Tun M amak panics too and scrambles to help umno
Gani patail have the major panic and starts signing on any god damn piece of paper he can finds in his office this morning.
you see, Anwar made everybody from the government panic.
They even send off 50 MPs to taiwan to loiter around.
written by capcomangel, September 10, 2008 17:43:18
Pakatan Rakyat must take control fed gov or else face to hardest challenge. operation lalang could appear again since Tun plan active back in politic arena to save omno. anything could happen, any tactic will used in order to save they parties!
written by SimpleSoul, September 10, 2008 17:47:29
Dear Pakatan Leaders,

We get quickly get this moving... Honestly I have not been doing any work in the office. Had been reading articles and posting news to all my network of ppl..

I guess many ppl here share the same sentiment. Can concentrate on work...
written by my oumrie, September 10, 2008 18:04:50
Hey Ahmadneil, you nutcase, you really crack me up. Here I am holding my belly and trying to bear down and push BEE END out the back and you make me relax my muscles. On standby, roger konon....
written by ahmadneil, September 10, 2008 19:53:54
Anwar,Just now that MP have just send me a sms .I cannot release it here becos umno spy will read it. So here is the coded message that MP ask me to relay it to you..rawnA uoy nioj lliw ew.Please keep this code and if you have any problem let me know.My MT friends,now don't let umno guy see this.You can read from right to left.shhhhhh!secret
written by Sitora, September 10, 2008 20:24:28
Its high time that BN Mps who are honest, sincere and willing to serve the rakyat to decide wisely whether to switch side or remain being hypocrites and allow corrupt leaders to run the government.
written by Angel, September 10, 2008 20:53:08
Timing is not important. If Sept 16 cannot, another date also can. Even a month later also possible, when all are back and rested and no where else to go. King will also be back from Mecca.

Today's news shows them on sight seeing tours and eating mooncakes (halal???).
Anyway, let them go enjoy themselves on free holiday then come back and resign!
No hurry!!
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, September 10, 2008 22:40:43
Anwar's "916" will bring about some major jolt. As a master strategist and a wiser politican, he is scripting the history of Malaysia as we watch the dates unfold. If he has established what he has set out to do, something big will happen on September 16. No questions about that. No court date nor any agro trip can stop this.

More on http://proud2bmalaysian.******...tember-16/