Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M’s return to Umno welcomed, says Zahid

Dr M’s return to Umno welcomed, says Zahid PDF Print
Wednesday, 10 September 2008 13:49

By HAH FOONG LIAN, The Star

IPOH: Having Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad rejoin Umno is a good move as he could help strengthen the party that is facing various problems now, Umno supreme council member Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi said.

Personally, I think bringing Tun back is a good move,” he told reporters after attending a buka puasa gathering with Perak Umno leaders on Tuesday.

Zahid, who is also Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, was responding to a news report on Wednesday that the former party president had agreed to rejoin Umno after having resigned from the party in May.

Zahid said he was certain that Dr Mahathir had not been persuaded to return to Umno.

It might be because Dr Mahathir was of the view that it was time for him to return to Umno to strengthen the party which was now facing various problems,” Zahid added.

I don’t think anyone in Umno should be worried about Tun returning to the fold,” he said.

On how party leaders would handle Dr Mahathir if the former prime minister continued to make strong statements against the current leadership after his return to Umno, Zahid said:

We really need Tun to give his advice and views but those opinions should be made behind closed doors and not openly through the media.

His views should be deemed opinions of a statesman. We respect Tun as a statesman and the former leader of the party,” he added.

Zahid also clarified that the media included the blog which Dr Mahathir had been using to air his views.

Instead of blogging them, Zahid said it was better for Dr Mahathir to discuss them through the proper channels.

Personalities like Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak or any of the party’s vice-presidents are very good listeners and very open-minded people,” he said.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by Ann Meng Sim, September 10, 2008 13:54:32
Now we have a comedian in that party. Zahid oh Zahid ... Lucu betul you...
written by onmu martin, September 10, 2008 13:59:55
The biggest Racist is rejoining UMNO so as to make all the all the racist in UMNO happy. Welcome back to UMNO, Dr.Racist! All the racist in UMNO are waiting for you to make more racist statements! so that they can feel elated.
written by asiaone, September 10, 2008 14:09:24
the reason behind Tun's re-entry is for 3 purposes. To make sure Mukhriz get the youth chief(main reason),chop off Bodohwi(2nd reason)and again to chop off KJ's dick (3rd reason). Mujahidin Yazzine gets overwhelming vote, Ku Li back to the main picture and najis to ride into the sunset slowly. And he is back as a powerful mentor minister (after LKY of S'pore). Maybe to bail out crony companies AGAIN in this unsure times???
written by humanist, September 10, 2008 14:09:52
Mahathir is the Education Minister that changed everything into Bahasa Malaysia during 70s, look at damages done.

No need to say more.

-Al
written by Malaysiaku, September 10, 2008 14:10:20
“His views should be deemed opinions of a statesman. We respect Tun as a statesman and the former leader of the party,” he added."

Yeh, you only. The rest of Malaysia thinks otherwise.
written by Sitora, September 10, 2008 14:11:32
Ezam rejoined UMNO when Dr Mahathir quits. Now he is back, will Ezam now leave UMNO again?
written by scottthong, September 10, 2008 14:15:17

From http://scottthong.*********.co...ning-umno/
written by Racheljansz, September 10, 2008 14:26:03
Welcome back! Time for you to get the party name right. Welcome back to United MAK MAK National Organisation. True Malays join PKR!
written by jasongaust, September 10, 2008 14:28:13
Do you really want to come back into the burning house for an early cremation?

Hear my advise Dr M, stay where you are, close your eyes and block your ears and enjoy the last few days of your troubled life in peace!
written by aryn, September 10, 2008 14:31:49
"Ini bukan hotel. Suka suka nak keluar masuk", Mahathir said when Parti Bersatu Sabah sought for reentry to BN in 1990s.

Nak sekarang, ambik ko. If Mahathir is still Umno president, dah mampus dah orang yg keluar Umno macam cara Mahathir dulu.
Lantak lah kamu di Umno!
written by Celestial, September 10, 2008 14:41:58
What happened to his statement that he will only return to UMNO on the condition that there is a change of leadership or is that now not a condition?
written by Rundukon, September 10, 2008 15:26:16
“It might be because Dr Mahathir was of the view that it was time for him to return to Umno to strengthen the party which was now facing various problems,” Zahid added.

Was Zahid implying that the current UMNO leaders including Dollah and Najib are useless that they cannot solve the various problems, and that they are all half past six leaders as charged by Mahathir?
written by Mangan, September 10, 2008 15:30:56
Welcome to the Hotel of Kari Punya...Very funny, indeed!!!
written by onnetline, September 10, 2008 16:12:18
Zahid,

You mean the ' pendatang ' of Kerala got lost and found his way back to his adopted party and country ?

Thank God, or we would have to organise a search party to look for this piece of deadwood.
written by Kopi37, September 10, 2008 16:26:34
Is he a good Statesman or a lousy Stake-man?!

One who can anytime stake the national interests and his Party's unity on top of his ego and self-interests cannot befit the moniker of a Statesman!! He is a mere old horse which failed to show his disgruntlement and to accept the verdict that he was too old to circle the ring, revoltingly ran away from home and now he makes a come back sheerly because there is no hay outside better than haystack at home! When he was outside UMNO, what had he done to help mend the potholes in the dented UMNO titanic which capsized during the 308 tsunami?! He continued to add more fire and rocks to help burn and turn the sinking ship even faster! Perhaps the rakyat may in a way say well done to help sink the pirate ship, but definitely no kudos from the goons pro-AAB!

Perhaps also umno being a whorehouse, will happily accept the return of the old disgruntled pimp who as he likes walked out and walks in to engage in the cheap sales spree of the old corks and the old whores!!!!!
written by SocratesI, September 10, 2008 17:06:28
Looks like Maha-Shithead has contracted the Bodohwi disease !
written by ksmaniam, September 10, 2008 17:29:53
AAB I hereby provide you seven reasons(or Dalil) why TDM should not be allowed to join UMNO:

1. If a member leaves your party in disgust and creates such a ruckus about it, should he be allowed to reenter the party, does it show any good standing about the party,
2. If a member leaves your party today and wants to rejoin tomorrow does it look like a good precedent for others to emulate,
3. If a member leaves the party in a high handed manner putting conditions for his return, does it suggest a personal agenda or for the good of the party,
4. If a member leaves your party does it ever portray any goodwill to your party. And if the same member wants to join the party does it mean that any badwill earned by the party when he left is nullified.
5. If a member leaves your party and INVITES OTHER MEMBERS TO LEAVE WITH HIM and if the members had left at that time (fortunately for you they did not) would there be a party for him to return. (Is this a good precedent).
6. If a member leaves your party, because he is disgusted with the leadership, if the leadership is still the same, and he returns, is he still disgusted or not. What is the reason for him to be allowed to return because he is disgusted or not.
7. If a member leaves your party, and continues to ridicule the works of the party, do you think that it is crucial he returns to the party or let him harp outside the party. Would anyone let a rat and a pumpkin together? Or would you say that he is not a rat but a cat. But then what leaves a ship when it is sinking. Perhaps you opine that the ship is sinking. well that is your problem.
Think about it.
Everything depends on you.
written by Fat Zorro, September 10, 2008 18:22:12
Zahid Hamidi, you are really a lalang. You were at Anwar's house throughout his ordeal from the time he was sacked until arrested in 1998. You gave him support only to turn back to Mahathir and now you are supporting Mahathir's return to further opress Malaysians. You dont even know what your principles are and you are not fit to even be a minister
written by adan, September 10, 2008 18:30:12
EN ZAHID SEEMS TO BE CONVINCED THAT THE RETURN OF .....KUTTY WILL ' STRENGTHEN THE PARTY THAT IS FACING MANY PROBLEMS" THE IRONY IS THAT ALL THE PROBLEMS FACED BY UMNO CAN BE DIRECTLY ATTRIBUTED TO HIS TWO DECADES OF CORRUPTED REGIME.
written by CPY, September 10, 2008 19:14:15
Dr M is going to be UMNO's undertaker. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by asguard, September 10, 2008 22:10:51
With DR M return's to UMNO will certainty create a havoc for those in 4 storey building in Putrajaya...and let the sandiwara begins...