Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Ahmad hopes 'BN council will be fair to him'

Ahmad hopes 'BN council will be fair to him' PDF Print
Wednesday, 10 September 2008 09:06

PUTRAJAYA: Embattled Umno division chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail has reiterated that he did no wrong and said he would take any punishment meted out by the Barisan Nasional supreme council for his allegedly racist remarks.

Ahmad was yesterday summoned to the Prime Minister's Office to explain his behaviour at a press conference at Penang Umno headquarters on Monday night in which he called on Gerakan to be sacked from the BN.

Speaking to reporters after meeting for more than an hour with Umno and BN leader Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and his deputy Datuk Seri Najib Razak, Ahmad said he hoped the BN supreme council would be fair to him in deciding his case.

The Bukit Bendera Umno chief is currently being investigated under the Sedition Act for allegedly describing Malaysian Chinese as "squatters" at a ceramah in the run-up to the Permatang Pauh by-election.

Ahmad yesterday continued to blame Gerakan for the continuing furore over his remarks and stood by his call for it to leave BN. He also questioned Gerakan's move on Monday to sever ties with Penang Umno.

"Is that a professional move? He (Gerakan acting president Tan Sri Koh Tsu Koon) is the state BN chairman and yet he did that. How is he to perform?"

On calls for him to be detained under the Internal Security Act, Ahmad said "if you think that what I did is a crime that warrants my arrest under the ISA, so be it".

He said he explained to Abdullah that his controversial speech in Permatang Pauh was supposed to be confined to a Malay audience.

- nst

written by sjs, September 10, 2008 09:10:57
This is a punishment to save the government!

This is not a punishment to racism!

The circus clowns seem to have many tricks up their sleeves!
written by menggatal, September 10, 2008 09:12:39
After saying all that and by saying it is suppose to be for Malay audience means he admit to it.Yet dumb dumb expect to be fairly treated? He don't even think before talking!!! What a leader!!!! Pak Lah, is this the type of leader you have and want?
written by Malaysiaku, September 10, 2008 09:21:31
How could it be just for the Malay audience when the various newspapers were invited to cover it. Malaysians of all races read all types of newspapers including vernacular papers. Besides, even if it is for the Malay audience only, it is still seditious as it instigates the Malay audience to hate the Chinese. Ahmad's reasoning does not hold water at all.
written by cahaya, September 10, 2008 09:22:50
Ahmad Ismail should be sacked from Umno and barred for life from Malaysian politics. Until he is charged under the Sedition Act and for other offences, he should be isolated and arrested under ISA. This would be a stern warning to others who may be tempted to repeat his recent actions.

written by kc respect, September 10, 2008 09:32:51
When opposition members' seditious remark floats, the POLICE will charge them under ISA. When a BN goon does it, BN/UMNO supreme council will decide WHETHER OR NOT, OR HOW TO PUNISH HIM. I believe MANY police reports have been made on this goon. WHY NOT POLICE CHARGE HIM WITH SEDITION??????? WHY WAIT???
written by Ann Meng Sim, September 10, 2008 09:36:59
Agree with cahaya. The mad cow should be banned for life.

Identify the person who tore up the picture. He should be locked up in an asylum cos he does not look sane. Same goes to all the other supporters who shouted murder.

If the stern action against the mad cow that the PM mentioned turns out to be not stern at all, then I fear for us all.

written by riversnail, September 10, 2008 09:41:31
If any of the Pakatan Rakyat leaders gave the similar racial statement as the Ahmad fellow,all the Umno idiots would be barking in the mainstream medias and demand for Sedition Act.
The Rakyat are watching all this nonsence and bullshits!!!There is NO place in Malaysia for racists!!!It can be Malays,Chinese or Indians.
written by SUV, September 10, 2008 09:45:17
That Datuk worthy for him?? Wonder which Sultan Agong or Governor gave that to him??

That is why we should Boycott the titles awarded and the songkok thing to obtain a title. Why should we be associated with these Rubbish?? Start doing something Agong Sultan...retract the titles or you also not the people's Agong Sultan!! We mean Business Now and the rakyat have spoken!!
written by Democrats, September 10, 2008 09:47:01
Don't worry, Ahmad. I am sure Supreme COuncil will be fair to you. They are always fair to UMNO people. With Pak Lah needing your delegate support, I'm sure they will be very "fair" to you.

written by Rainbowseahorse, September 10, 2008 09:51:18
There is only one justice for that asehole Ahmad, and that is he should immediately be detain under the ISA to languish with those who are innocently detained under that law.
Hopefully the time spent with the innocent detainees would shed some light into that dark brain of his.

Anybody know or did a background check on that Ahmad's family tree? He don't look very 'Malay' to me!
written by qwerty, September 10, 2008 09:51:44
It's my believe that Ahmad Ismail is but a pawn in the bigger scheme of things.

Take a step back & you can see that he is clearly playing the role of a bait in an opening gambit with a knight ready to move in for the kill. (if it has not already done so) Meanwhile the king, sits safely watching his men manoeuvre into position.

Pak Lah & Najib is no match for this grandmaster, for they had taken the bait.

As it is now, to severely punish Ahmad Ismail will mean alienating UMNO Penang so close to party election. On the other hand if Ahmad Ismail is only given a slap on the wrist, that will mean an end to MCA & Gerakan's relevancy in BN.

The grandmaster says...

"C H E C K M A T E!"
written by bikerzon, September 10, 2008 09:58:14
Ahmad the Racist Clown,

He said he explained to Abdullah that his controversial speech in Permatang Pauh was supposed to be confined to a Malay audience.

Come on, do you think people are that stupid? You are making a by-election public speech and you expect only Malay live there? There're also Chinese & Indian community living there, idiot!

Anak Penanti in Beijing.
written by PRman, September 10, 2008 10:07:36
Punish the racist is necessary to prove to the world that Malaysia is fair to all races. If not, foreign investments will be shying away from Malaysia.
written by chrislow, September 10, 2008 10:08:56
You are damn right " bikerzon", ONLY MAMAKS live in PP ......
written by Garend, September 10, 2008 10:31:03

MY goodness.. how illiterate is this person.. what is Inciting...???? please check it on the dictionary. So now you are trying to tell us that behind every UMNO meeting.. it is common for you all to talk bad things abt Non-Malay? and then in front of us, you all praise the virtue of UNITY & Harmony?

My goodness... what a two-face. AND you dare to say that telling it to the Malay audience means you are not Inciting? You are causing them to HATE the chinese.. you ARE asking them to treat them as Non-Citizen.. and you have the guts to say that it is not inciting? It is seditious...

At least I salute your guts for standing for what you believe.
written by Chaptokam, September 10, 2008 10:31:18
CALLING ALL PENANGITES

BOYCOTT SHELL GREENLANE NEXT TO MCDONALDS

STOP BUYING PETROL AT THE SHELL PETROL STATION NEXT TO GREENLANE MCDONALDS.
THAT STATION BELONGED TO AHMAD ISMAIL THE RACIST .
written by slim8, September 10, 2008 10:32:17
You are so so stupid and contracted the MAD COW DISEASE that has dampened your brian from thinking logically. After all the damage you have done to the millions of rakyat, you now crying for fair treatment??? Please stop taking the "beef".
Listen to the public, if you want fair treatment - APOLOGIZE pea brain! Are you so blind that you cannot see how badly you have caused the sentiments of all people from all races, including your UMNO leaders!
written by NSS, September 10, 2008 11:19:48

Does that make it OK...??? If his statement was supposed to be confined to a Malay audience.

"PERPADUAN TERAS KEJAYAAN" has just lost its meaning... Infront of us they pretend that perpaduan is important then they turn around show their true color..

Double standard, Double headed snakes, talam dua muka... How can people like Ahmud be representative of the people in a country like Malaysia.
Havent they learned how important true perpaduan is.

The perpaduan song goes on air and This Mud.. tells his confined Malay audience otherwise.. is this what all Umno leaders are doing. Unwritten laws and rules..

If you are not true to yourself how can u truly achieve perpaduan..

SHAME ON YOU...
written by trublumalaysian, September 10, 2008 12:40:14
To put this whole situation in the correct perspective; This is what that SHOULD be done by the supreme council:-

* Give him the permanent sack from UMNO, so he holds no positions anymore
* Strip him off his title (whichever state he bought it from)
* The supreme council should chastise him like a pariah. As, that's what he is.
* The same treatment should be accorded to that rabid mad cow who tore down the poster.

Then, we'll see whether they will still carry that arrogance on their shoulders.

But then again; it's the UMNO supreme council. When; ever have they made a decision which is fair to all Malaysians......

No need to hope for anything. Just strive to make the positive changes via KETUANAN RAKYAT. May God Bless Malaysia for all Malaysians. Amen
written by Admiral Tojo, September 10, 2008 12:43:39
The only fair judgement for Ahmad Ismail is to send him back to his ancestral home, India. Let him see the glorious history of India for over a period of thousands of years. He is ashamed of it and wants to be a Malay, whatever Malay is. Bollocks to him for stealing the peoples money for personal gain over these years.

written by tenang, September 10, 2008 13:18:47
On calls for him to be detained under the Internal Security Act, Ahmad said "if you think that what I did is a crime that warrants my arrest under the ISA, so be it".

I am the one not believing that you should be arrested without trial under ISA. You should not be made a hero for being thrown into jail. Instead, I think the common people of all races should put you on trial in the public court. We the people should strip you your political future for being un-remorseful for uttering degrading racial slur to one of the community. There are many ways to execute political death sentence to Ahmad Ismail. I think we the people should be patient and execute the sentence that causing "slow death" of his political future. I think RPK's "Mad Cow Decease" article is a master stroke by throwing "humor" into serious incident. His unequivocal stand to defend all people regardless of races in "Hari Reformasi, the day of a new dawn" is also a big blow to Ahmad Ismail. More article and ideas like those will send Ahmad Ismail political future into dustbin. At the end, we the people of all races shall claim the victory.

No, we don't need ISA. We shall be able to take care of Ahmad Ismail ourselves -- provide the government don't use ISA on people such as RPK. We should have the confidence that our collective brain power is more than enough to take care of Ahmad Ismail.