Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow MPs Arriving In Taiwan On A Low Key

MPs Arriving In Taiwan On A Low Key PDF Print
Tuesday, 09 September 2008 23:04

TAIPEI: The BN backbenchers arrived in Taoyuan airport near Taipei on a low key, and refused to reveal too much to Sin Chew Daily correspondent.

An unidentified person in Taiwan pointed out that the trip would last six days, and the Malaysian delegation would visit Shangrila Leisure Farm in Yilan county Tuesday.

The delegation will then travel by high speed train to the southern port city of Kaohsiung Wednesday, and make a visit tio Pingtung Technological University. All these are agricultural programmes. However, some of the itineraries "are secret and cannot be revealed."

Shangrila Leisure Farm is located on the foothill of Dayuan Shan in Yilan county. According to the farm's website, it is approximately 250 metres above sea level, and with an average year-round temperature of 25 degrees Celsius, it makes a perfect classroom to learn about nature, with rare animals such as macaques, tree frogs, fireflies, butterflies and a rich variety of plants.

The delegation was welcomed by representatives from Taiwan's foreign ministry as well as the manager of Malaysian Friendship & Trade Centre in Taipei.

However, most of the MPs refused to be interviewed or photographed.

When approached by Sin Chew Daily correspondent in Taiwan, MP for Gelang Patah Tan Ah Heng said it was a study trip on agriculture.

When asked why the trip has been so secretive, special assistant to Barisan Nasioanl Backbenchers Club chairman Liu Nanping told Sin Chew Daily, "One thing is the China factor."

When pursued further by the reporter, he said, "You know it. But I can't tell."

"Does it have anything to do with Anwar?"

Still the same answer: "You know it. But I can't tell."

When contacted by Sin Chew Daily, Malaysian Friendship & Trade Centre manager said he was only responsible for the trade exchanges between Taiwan and Malaysia, and laid his hands off politics. (/Translated by DOMINIC LOH/Sin Chew Daily)

written by Atheist, September 09, 2008 23:26:12
I think it is more like LOW KEY the arrrival of DSAI as PM. It makes sense ... after all ... you know it but I can't tell !!!!!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by PASOK, September 09, 2008 23:26:24

Bunch of lying cowards
written by JustAMalaysian, September 09, 2008 23:26:45
When pursued further by the reporter, he said, "You know it. But I can't tell."

"Does it have anything to do with Anwar?"

Still the same answer: "You know it. But I can't tell."

Yup....that is very telling smilies/cheesy.gif
written by DXB2008, September 09, 2008 23:28:42
Does every one of these MPs have a SB to monitor them? Instead of going to Taiwan, najib should have sent them to Abu Dhabi....to se forest in the deserthttp://1426.********.com/2008/...n-abu.html
written by pulaiman, September 09, 2008 23:36:27
its a great relief to know that theres a SIN CHEW JOURNALIST in taiwan. plse follow these MPS..... BEWARE they might slip off to MACAO. WE NEED to know what actually they are doing.. spending malaysian tax payers money on.
written by justinlian, September 09, 2008 23:47:12
Hai yah,,,

They already reveal for you guys ma...

Journalist ask , it is becos of Anuar,
And they already say, you know it... ( everyone knows )
But I can't tell it ( they cant say it out )
written by KARMANNGHIA, September 09, 2008 23:51:24
AMBUSH THEM HERE

written by sjs, September 09, 2008 23:53:30
Malaysians Go to Taiwan Amid Strife
By THOMAS FULLER - New York Times

Published: September 8, 2008
KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia — The Malaysian ruling party flew more than a third of government lawmakers to Taiwan on Monday in a hastily arranged trip, ostensibly to study farming techniques.

But the trip was widely interpreted as a desperate government effort to try to stop lawmakers from shifting their support to Anwar Ibrahim.

Mr. Anwar, the country’s most prominent opposition figure, won re-election to Parliament last month after a 10-year absence and needs 30 more seats to oust the current government and form his own. His National Justice Party is openly wooing members of the ruling coalition.

Salehuddin Hashim, the National Justice secretary general, called the trip a “kidnapping” meant to protect the coalition, Barisan National, or National Front, which has ruled Malaysia for 51 years but is fracturing.

“This has obviously nothing to do with agriculture,” Mr. Salehuddin said. “It’s a very clear sign of the anxieties and insecurities inside Barisan.”

Top officials have dismissed the challenge by the opposition as unrealistic. But they have also publicly asked government lawmakers to sign pledges of allegiance to the ruling coalition.

Officials insisted Monday that the weeklong trip by about 50 members of Parliament was strictly for study purposes.

“We are going to Taiwan to study about agriculture,” Bung Mokhtar Radin, a member of Parliament from the eastern state of Sabah, told Reuters. “There’s nothing political about this trip.”

But Tricia Yeoh, director of the Center for Public Policy Studies, a Malaysian research group, said the trip would give Barisan officials an opportunity to try to dissuade potential defectors. “The Barisan government is really grasping at straws,” she said.
written by KARMANNGHIA, September 10, 2008 00:10:10
MALAYSIAN VERSION

written by smokingsoldier, September 10, 2008 01:29:18
these BN goons go taiwan, trying to escape 916 and using taxpayers' money to visit "PAPAYA FARMS" over there. may they come back with incurable VD & STD.
written by YMA_kuantan, September 10, 2008 04:38:30
Belajar rajin rajin, jangan tingkah laku kerana kita orang Timur. Balik nanti mungkin boleh buat projek pertanian berkelompok skala Mega. Awasi videocam tersembunyi, manalah tau kan
written by SocratesI, September 10, 2008 04:49:43

Itineraries that are secret and cannot be revealed are :- Golf courses, and fcukshops of course, what else ??!! Also, more than 50 km from home, no more fasting, so Big Feast breakfast, Lunch & Dinner on RAKYAT's hard earned money-lah !

Taiwan got halal food-meh ?? Mostly if not pork, all cooked and fried in pig's lard, too ! What a Ramadhan diet !!

written by Engineer, September 10, 2008 08:35:25
I foresee the idiot Bung from Binatangan being gang raped by the islanders poofter; his habitual two hand vulgar sign will be interpreted by the islanders as "cum fcuk Me".

written by Kelana, September 10, 2008 08:52:09
Today Daily Express News Paper

YONG : My MPs Rejected overseas Trip and RM 50,000 pocket money allegedly given to each MPthat agreed to go on the trip.

Shame on you RADEN, Cakap tak serupa bikin
written by loosecannon, September 10, 2008 08:56:00
I wonder if they ever thought of what will be the consequences if the plane carrying these MPs crash? 50 MPs from the BN get wiped out in an instant? Some countries like the US would not allow their President and Vice President to travel in the same plane. Some corporate entities too. Think about it, BN.
written by miwaki, September 10, 2008 09:19:27
Don't forget to pay Wong meng Chee a visit,he might have new songs to share.
written by Sean E, September 10, 2008 09:35:49
I wonder if they ever thought of what will be the consequences if the plane carrying these MPs crash? 50 MPs from the BN get wiped out in an instant?

That would be godsend for Anwar. 50 by-elections and 2/3 won by PR.
written by JohnQ, September 10, 2008 12:22:54
May be the Exorcist's mental steering power could make it happen!