Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Politically blind and tone deaf?

Politically blind and tone deaf? PDF Print
Tuesday, 09 September 2008 09:55

For some Malaysian Chinese like myself, to be called a "squatter" is an insult. My forefathers came to Malacca in 1771. Even in August 1957, my family had been living in Malacca for 186 years. How many other Malaysians can claim this long period of residence?

IRISH author of Gulliver’s Travels and the foremost political satirist of the early 18th century, Jonanthan Swift once wrote: "There’s none so blind as they that won’t see."

This quotation comes to mind when I read the flurry of statements commenting on Bukit Bendera Umno division chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail’s multiple claims – that his statement "the Chinese are immigrants" was taken out of context by newspaper journalists because he was referring to time when the community were squatters before being granted citizenship during independence; that he has received tremendous support from Malay-Muslim groups; and that he does not owe anyone an apology.

Regardless of the truth or otherwise of Ahmad’s multiple claims, there are several facts that should be noted by all politicians, regardless of ethnicity and political affiliation.

First, a basic rule in politics is subtlety and nuance. Take for example, the suggestion that Ahmad should apologise for his statement on the Chinese being squatters. As every politician in this country should know, there are two types of apologies.

A person can apologise for the statement made. Alternatively, he or she can express regret for the hurt caused by the statement. This means the person implicitly stands by what was said but apologises if the statement was regarded by some as hurtful or offensive. Provided the person trying to make amends is sufficiently contrite and is seen as sincere in trying to ameliorate ruffled feelings, this apology is usually accepted.

Second, borrowing from the credo of environmentalists, the mantra of a politician who hopes to be successful in a multi-racial country like Malaysia should be this: do no harm. Politicians may feel that so long as they have the unswerving support of their own community, the outraged feelings of those from other ethnic groups are irrelevant.

These politicians clearly suffer from political amnesia. They have forgotten the resounding message sent by voters during the March 2008 general election.

Fed up by the arrogance and uncaring attitude of Barisan Nasional (BN) representatives, a significant number of Malaysian Chinese and Malaysian Indians voted for Malay candidates from Keadilan and PAS. Similarly, disgruntled Malays also voted for the DAP.

Some Penang Umno division leaders may take comfort from their success in retaining their seats at state level. This stance is myopic. Because PR is multi-racial and because two out of three leaders of opposition parties are Malays, no seat – whether Malay-majority or otherwise – is safe. Have they forgotten the roll call of Umno luminaries who lost in the March general election?

Reminding the Malaysian Chinese that they were once squatters – even if this is historically accurate – is gratuitously offensive. It is like tagging the words "college drop-out" whenever anyone refers to Bill Gates, the world’s richest man and founder of corporate giant, Microsoft.

And for some Malaysian Chinese like myself, to be called a "squatter" is an insult. My forefathers came to Malacca in 1771. Even in August 1957, my family had been living in Malacca for 186 years. How many other Malaysians can claim this long period of residence?

Third, less than two weeks ago, the whole country was celebrating Merdeka. What some politicians have conveniently forgotten is Independence was won by the leaders of Umno, MCA and MIC working together. Indeed, the British made this multi-racial cooperation an essential pre-requisite for granting Independence.

Fourth, an issue that should be about politeness and political sensibility has assumed an alarming racist overtone. Apart from Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi, Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib and cabinet ministers like Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz and Datuk Shahrir Samad, few other Malay leaders – whether from the BN or opposition – have stepped forward to challenge Ahmad Ismail’s stance.

As PR leader, a politician from Penang, and a man who says he will abolish the New Economic Policy and by extension an economic policy based on racial requirements rather than need, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has yet to take a public stand on this issue. His silence is disappointing. It also suggests political analysts who laud PR as breaking the mould of racial politics are deluding themselves. What was heralded as a "new dawn" in Malaysian politics may well turn out to be a "false dawn".

Finally, this issue underscores the belief of some analysts who believe that political change in this country can be effected only by voting out of office politicians – whether from the government backbenches or from the Opposition – who stubbornly persist in being politically blind and tone deaf.

- Tan Siok Choo, The Sun

Opinions expressed in this article are the personal views of the writer and should not be attributed to any organisation she is connected with. She can be contacted at This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

written by Umm Adzka, September 09, 2008 09:59:14
If Ahmad Ismail were a Chinese or an Indianhttp://umm.adzka.com/?p=751, he might not even have the chance to repeat his remarks and came out with his offensive 14 pages public statement! Surely the government would not hesitate to take a stringent measure in this case (sigh)
written by chiongguo, September 09, 2008 10:16:49
Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has yet to take a public stand on this issue. His silence is disappointing. It also suggests political analysts who laud PR as breaking the mould of racial politics are deluding themselves.

Actually DSAI chastised Ahmad shortly after he made the remark. I remember it because when I read his statement I was wondering what he was saying as I do not read the newspaper....and for a long while I did not tune in on the news.

Even if he did not comment on the internal squabbles of BN that had boiled over it doesn't represent the stand of PR. Afterall PR had made their stand clear as far as racial politics are concerned.

written by lamakawan, September 09, 2008 10:17:08
We need more "squatters" like you, Tan. If I were sarcastic to use the uncivilised word as had been used by Ahmad ismail. Surely Ahmad's grandfather would have arrived later than your granfather or my granfather. he arrived in Sabah in i880. Any remarks from you Ahmad Ismail? Ahmad you are not worthy of your existence in our society which we call Malaysia. We can do without you. Haven't you wake up to the results of March 8th or August26? Haven't you got a brain to think that the tide is now against you in politics? The trend is there for the world to see that you and your uncivilised members in UMNO is now running out of time? What Pakatan now needs is to let nature run its course and you will eat humble pie.
written by The Voter, September 09, 2008 10:24:56
As PR leader, a politician from Penang, and a man who says he will abolish the New Economic Policy and by extension an economic policy based on racial requirements rather than need, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has yet to take a public stand on this issue. His silence is disappointing. It also suggests political analysts who laud PR as breaking the mould of racial politics are deluding themselves. What was heralded as a "new dawn" in Malaysian politics may well turn out to be a "false dawn".

If I am DSAI, I will not step my foot in this mess.
Remember OPERASI LALANG ???. The quarrel between UMNO and MCA on the racial issues
Who were put in the ISA? The opposition leaders, Mat Sabu, Mahfuz Omar from PAS, Lim Guan Eng, Karpal Sigh from DAP, etc.
This is the ploy by BN to create the unrest so they can justify the next step of Operasi Lalang and May 13th.
Do not forget among the leaders of DAP in May 13th 1969 were Tan Chee Koon who was made Tan Sri and Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye, now associate with the BN government. Sometime I wonder who was behind May 13th 1969?
written by NickChan, September 09, 2008 10:29:09
come on, admit it. at least 1/5 of malays have chinese blood.
written by SocratesI, September 09, 2008 10:29:45

The writer, Tan Siok Choo comes from a very distinguished lineage, her father is TUN Tan Siew Sin, and her grandfather TUN Tan Chencg Lock. Two TUNs in one family says it all ! They have made tremendous contributions to Malaysia and ALL Malaysians !

Her comment on DSAI is relevant, but DSAI has maintained a decorous silence on the UMNO MESS and has taken to task Zul in PKR, and that should send the right message to all the RAKYAT, where he stands. That is good enough for me while he concentrates on Sept 16th without losing focus !

written by JohnQ, September 09, 2008 10:38:40
What is there for any guy to make a stand for statement made by a inferior chap who screamed inferiorism and supremacy behind NEP curtain ? Let alone DSAI, who has noble tasks ahead ?

written by Bigjoe99, September 09, 2008 10:48:29
The Tans are more Malaysian than most Malays. Even today, their contribution to Malaysian history is white washed. They were underappreciated by both Chinese and Malays and yet their children fight for inclusive Malaysian. If they are not Malaysian, then no one else deserve this country...
written by Rundukon, September 09, 2008 11:21:07
The Voter, DSAI doesnt have to make a stand on this issue. Its not PR's problem. In fact its a trap set by Penang UMNO to drag PR into the mess.
written by PakItam, September 09, 2008 11:31:58
"For some Malaysian Chinese like myself, to be called a "squatter" is an insult. My forefathers came to Malacca in 1771."

The only conclusion in this issue of squatting is that one can never be too sure about who's actually squatting or more importantly; who squatted earlier.

If we were to determine who squatted earlier then we should perhaps check out Ahmad's lineage and see whether his ancestors were here first or the Babas and the Nyonyas or any other race were here first for that matter.

Out of the 5 Prime Ministers that we have from UMNO, we should also check whether their ancestors actually squatted any earlier than the Malaysians of either Chinese or Indian origin. Tunku is half Siamese, I'm not sure abt Tun Razak (could his ancestors come from Bugis and if so when), Tun Hussein is half Turkish, Mahathir Kutty (whoa... lookihere!!!!!!); we all know where his ancestors came from and last but not least PakLah's Bedouin lineage (Badawi is denizens of the desert) and his Chinese ancestors god only knows when these people actually came to Malaya.

Parameswara came to Malacca from Sumatera in the 14th Century. Before Malacca we have the Kingdom of Bruas and Kedah Tua. A lot of Malays are a mixture of various sub-ethnicities such as Achenese, Javanese, Malays, Bugis, Padang, Minang, Mendailing, Mamak, Siamese and Chinese Muslims; each of whom speak distinctly different tongues. We all came to this land we called the Malayan Peninsula (Semenanjung Melayu) to begin anew. To leave the fertile plains of the Chao Praya and the Javanese rice paddies.

Save for the Orang Asli, we all once squatted in this blessed land we now call Malaysia.
We are all squatters.
written by miwaki, September 09, 2008 11:33:38
Ahmad is also an immigrant,the only difference is he doesn't know where his ancestors came from.Those who know their origin are considered immigrant,ie squatters but those who do not know are pribumi.Very funny !
written by Celestial, September 09, 2008 11:38:53
Ms Tan

My sincere compliments. Succinct, balance and no holds barred. Your grandfather and father would indeed be very proud of you. I remember your father fondly and he was seen a towering giant of a leader (in line with Tunku and Dr Ismail), not only to the Chinese but every true Anak Bangsa Malaysia.
written by hamid, September 09, 2008 11:45:07
If Chinese and Indians are Squatters, then Malays are Illegal Immigrant as they stole the land from the Orang Asli, who actually welcome Chinese-Indians more because they made progress. The True Bumiputera of Malaysia is VERY VERY VERY angry with UMNO Malays. make no mistake about it. When Orang Asli have nothing to lose, don't for a moment think we are nothing in Malaysia. We Orang Asli have rights too. One that is Far Greater than the malays. Yet we do not go on everyday harping about race, religion, quota. UMNO-PAS malays are racist bigots. Sorry to include PAS but they have done Squat, yet continue their Religious Game. Shallow and small minded this PAS-UMNO ideology!
written by shamsul siahaan, September 09, 2008 11:45:35
None of the responses that I read about the statement made Ahmad Ismail regarding the Chinese being immigrants has touched on looking into the reason why Ahmad did all that, despite knowing that the MCA and Gerakan are partners in Barisan Nasional. Someone should try to find out why he blurted out that kind of statement.

On a different note, why can’t the Chinese, especially the Chinese politicians accept the statement and tell the world, “Hey guys, look here. We’re immigrants and squatters, yet our achievements are much, much greater than you sons of the soil have so far achieved!! Get it"
written by slash n burn, September 09, 2008 12:08:36
The Chinese in fact came to Malaya during Parameswara’s era where Hang Li Po herself married to one of the Melaka sultanate. Unlike Mamak Mahathir, his father is recent Indian immigrant from Kerala but strangely enough he converted to Melayu out of shame of his ancestor. Ahmad Ismail is another Melayu celup a.k.a ma-mak a.k.a Arab nerd who does not understand the basic decency of the real Melayu( Watch out for the Zohan).
Why all this celup Melayu always pick fight with the chinese? I suspect the reason is the envy to the Chinese who are more successful in life..well.. dear mamaks,.. anywhere the Chinese go around the globe, mostly they shine a like diamond!
written by NSS, September 09, 2008 12:09:17
Can some one investigate the roots of Ahmud.... we might discover that he too was a "pendatang". Lets teach this victim of Malaysian Education system a Malaysian Life Lesson.
written by Dualties, September 09, 2008 12:18:57
BN:
Each and every visitor to any of the RPK website, BN has lost its future votes.
written by jasongaust, September 09, 2008 12:31:01
Ms Tan Siok Choo, you are a true blue Malaysian! Nothing and no one in this world can take that away from you or change that, ever!

Don't let anyone doubt you my dear, not the least that stupid idiot Ah-mad Is-snail!

Your family generations have contributed immensely to the birth and building of this nation at all stages and on various capacities.

Stand firm and head high. You belong in Malaysia; Malaysia belongs to you; Malaysia is for ALL Malaysians!!

Get that, you stupid idiot A-Mad-IsNail?
written by cahaya, September 09, 2008 12:44:26
Anwar's and Pakatan Rakyat’s stand against racial politics is clear and consistent.

Kenyataan Akhbar Majlis Pimpinan Pakatan Rakyat
By Anwar Ibrahim, 8 September 2008
Pakatan Rakyat Menjunjung Prinsip Perlembagaan Persekutuan

Majlis Pimpinan Pakatan Rakyat yang bersidang pada hari ini, 8 September 2008 dengan ini menegaskan penolakan kami terhadap usaha-usaha menyemarakkan politik perkauman yang sedang dilakukan oleh UMNO akhir-akhir ini. Kami amat bimbang isu ini sekarang digunakan untuk mengelabui pandangan rakyat yang sebenarnya merupakan usaha terdesak untuk menyelamatkan kepentingan segelintir golongan elit politik dan kroni mereka.

Read the rest of the statement at
http://anwaribrahimblog.com/20...an-rakyat/
written by Frankfurtguy, September 09, 2008 12:51:02
To ALL Malaysian

be extreme careful about this Penang issue
a small issue created by a small UMNO member ( i don't call him a leader because he is NOT fit to be one)

BUT
It may be a starter for something as BIG as 513!!

UMNO is playing fire here
No single small fellow like him dare to open his stupid mouth unless there is something/someone big behind

UMNO is playing racial card to the maximum, hope to create racial crisis.......
BE careful, my fellow Malaysian!!
written by sairam, September 09, 2008 13:19:44
A pot calling the kettle black.This is exactly what the moron Ahmad is doing.Hey!Don't you all remember a fomer MB who is of javanese origin and a first generation here. When he can claim to be a bumiputra, what about some of the chinese and indians who are 4th or 5th generation citizens here.Then the question is what do we call the orang asli,in other words, the original people of this land?

Hello brothers,we all can live peacefully here only and the only condition is that the UMNO politicians stop being very,very greedy.Remember folks when you die you will not take with you a single thing from here because when you came you did not bring anything.God bless Malaysia and all of us.
written by watermelon, September 09, 2008 14:30:48
They envied the chinese for their fortune and success and in order to enrich themself, these cronies would focus on racial sentiment towards the chinese in order to garner support from the Malays majority. Isn't it not enough having racial discriminated policies such as the NEP and many others? Why can't these BM goons accept facts that fortunes and success comes from hard work itself? As if the chinese and indians got any help from the government!!! And now they want to argue who came first and bumiputra discriminatory policies? Hey Ahmad the moron, without the chinese and indian's contribution to nation building and the economy. Where do you think you'll be now? Sitting at the confort of your kampung and selling curry puff?
written by disgruntled, September 09, 2008 15:41:54
We need more people like you Tan Siok Choo. You have spoken from your heart and you mean what you say. You are not like our UMNOputra brothers who always do not mean what they say, that is they say lies. It is Malaysians like you who come out to reveal your true colours that we can live together in harmony. No hidden agenda or ulterior motives like people from UMNOputra's. We hope all Malaysians will read your comments and take heart from it.
written by temenggong, September 09, 2008 16:54:40
Here is the population census of Malacca from 1975-1737 under Dutch rule. Tell us all a period when there were no Indians and Chinese in Malaya.

Slaves means malays.

http://www.colonialvoyage.com/malaccaNL.html
written by temenggong, September 09, 2008 17:44:26
error: it should read 1675-1737.
written by talk2stop, September 09, 2008 18:43:57
The Chineses in Malaysia will always will be "squatters" because of the constitution. A PM must be a Malay. Chinese, Indians and even the Orang Asli is out. I'm happy to see the Chinese population percentage is getting less and less meaning the Chinese are leaving or taking their future generation to the grave. Me? I just used Malaysia as a stop over. My mum from China and I am now in the free world. BTW thanks Malaysia for putting me up.
written by Tom n Jerry, September 10, 2008 08:24:58
For all the Chinese residing in Malaysia;its high time to reflect & plan for your future;if your ancestors can come from china one hundred years ago in tongkangs;its never too late to migrate to where the grass is greener;nowadays we have so many modes of transport;it takes a little inspiration & a lot of determination to chart our destiny;good luck & may the Almighty bless you all! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif