Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow STATEMENT BY SIN CHEW DAILY

STATEMENT BY SIN CHEW DAILY PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 09 September 2008 00:15

The Ahmad Ismail Report: We Stand By Our Story

On 25th August, Sin Chew Daily reported the speech made by Bukit Bendera UMNO Division Chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail at a BN ceramah in Kampung Pelet during the Permatang Pauh by-election.

The report comprised only three short paragraphs and appeared on page 8 as a side-bar to the main article which was on the speech on the same occasion and made by Deputy Umno President Datuk Seri Najib, who is also the Deputy Prime Minister. The report contains 144 words, and was a mere 1.89% of the total layout of that page. The reporter was reporting the event factually and did not have any intention to play up Ahmad's speech.

The Deputy Prime Minister was present throughout Ahmad’s speech. On 2nd September, on the basis that part of Ahmad Ismail's speech could hurt the feelings of different races, the Deputy Prime Minister, who is also the Deputy President of Umno, tendered a public apology on behalf of Umno. It is believed that such apology was made because he has heard Ahmad's speech and not because of the report in Sin Chew Daily.

After the incident, certain newspapers, websites and bloggers have started to make allegations against Sin Chew Daily. Some of these were that the report by Sin Chew Daily contained a racial agenda and personal agenda, sedition, lack of professionalism, provocative, irresponsible journalism and the like. Some have even tried to link the report to the revocation of the publication license of Sin Chew Daily during “Operation Lalang” in 1987.

At the same time, various political parties and association leaders have also expressed their views.

Ahmad Ismail did not make any clarification or denial of the report, neither has he requested Sin Chew Daily to make any correction. It was only 10 days after the report was published, Ahmad Ismail held a press conference. He admitted that, he said that the Chinese are lodgers, but it was an interpretation of the history which depicted the role of the race prior to Merdeka. He said: “As I have not made any statement to state that the present Chinese race are lodgers in this Country, I maintain my position.” He accused the reporter in question of having a personal agenda and claimed that she does not specialise in political news coverage. Supporters of Ahmad queried the command of the Malay language of the reporter, and claimed that she could not have heard the statement clearly.

The reporter, Tan Hoon Cheng, is a Mass Communication graduate from Universiti Sains Malaysia. Her command of the national language is at least that of university level. In her nine years experience as a reporter, she has covered various political conferences and speeches, and no mistakes were ever made. If she had a personal agenda, she will not stop at just making a factual report of Ahmad's speech. She did not use a single adjective in her report.

On 8th of September, Ahmad has through a press conference reiterated that he would not apologise.

It is normal for news reports or commentaries to be challenged and questioned. But in this incident, unlike any other we have faced before, Sin Chew Daily has not only to face the person involved, we also have to face intentional challenges and accusations from various websites, bloggers and certain newspapers. We do not know the motive of these particular individuals or organisations, but to us, these allegations are not only unfair but false.

As a newspaper, we do not have any powerful back up, our financial and human resources are also limited. These restrictions have however never prevented Sin Chew Daily from performing its role as a media, protecting press freedom and the right to information of our readers.

After the incident, a lot of readers have shown their support and friends from all over have called Sin Chew Daily to express their support. To all of them, we at Sin Chew Daily express our gratitude. Over the years, readers and all open-minded parties have shown their support and this has been our strength.

In relation to our manner of handling the news report for this incident, our conscience is clear. We believe firmly that we have to handle it in the manner we had, and it is only right for us to handle it that way.

We adhere to high ethical and editorial standards. We only seek to publish news on a timely, accurate and unbiased basis. There are no hidden agendas. We stand by our story.

Issued on behalf of Sin Chew Daily
Comments (33)Add Comment
written by Michael Sun, September 09, 2008 00:27:38
To the brave journalists of Sin Chew.

Do not fear to write and do not write out of fear.

The truth will set you free.

Throughout history, good will truimph over evil.

Carry on! May our good God watch over you always.
agree 245
written by Thee Chan Kong, September 09, 2008 00:29:06
We, Malaysian, have the right to knoe the true!!!
Please support Press Freedom!!!
Go to sign the petition!!

http://www.benar.org/

UMNO is lier & racist!!!!
written by Lim Gee Hern, September 09, 2008 00:29:39
personal agenda? what a mare reporter will get from her so-called fraud report? what u want anyway? hero of orang melayu?
written by Low Yin Sen, September 09, 2008 00:29:43
Sin Chew, you have my respect !
agree 134
written by Fawzia Hanoum Ariff, September 09, 2008 00:32:21
This melayu kutty needs a good smack across his face by his mother/father. If no parents, then his ustad should do it. There's no reason to be unIslamic with other races. After all, during the Prophet's (s.a.w.) time, non Muslims have lived with Muslims in peace and harmony because those Muslims treated the non Muslims with respect - La kom di nukom waliyadeen - you practise your faith, I practise my faith - in PEACE and HARMONY.
agree 139
written by WS Hiu, September 09, 2008 00:43:44
No worries people, if that bigot and his cohort try and start a pogrom like ethic cleancing, we now have the Hague for War crime, there is no escape, blood might be spilt but justice will come to those racist bigots, there is no place for them to hide in this era of world justice.
written by TK Tan, September 09, 2008 00:50:12
Any blind can see him through. He think he got all the morons to back him and he is right. Well, the truth will prevail.
I salute you righteous reporters of Sin Chew in this one.
written by WS Hiu, September 09, 2008 00:53:39
I like it, no more anonymous commenter; we can now have an opinion that does not dwell on incitement.

written by Rohani Hitam, September 09, 2008 01:03:52
Hai Aidan Yong. Don't get emotional. We have already seen many changes where multi-racialism is the choice. Everybody under PKR can be assured of social justice and equality.
BTW there is no evident that Hang Tuah existed. It is only an epic developed on national feelings originated from the palace to instill loyalty to the Sultans. The real Malayan hero was Tun Perak. He was the one who could be a Chinese. Ask Admiral Cheng Ho.
written by Ben Yap, September 09, 2008 01:13:14
We applaud you, Sin Chew Daily as a responsible news provider and employer who takes good care of their staff and your integrity. You have demonstrated the kind of courage others have failed like a recent incident involving a hospital.

However, it is sad that attempts to bully you into submission have been promoted and allowed to continue without a regard to your preofessionalism and track record. Instead the people who walk callously in the corridors of power and oppression have flaunted their power in the most ugliest manner. Even your peers in the MSM have failed to defend the immunity of journalist from such undeserved attacks.

We look forward to many more independant and courageous reporting from your team of well trained journalist who takes pride and excel in their chosen profession. Berani kerana benar, syabas!
written by Alvin Pang, September 09, 2008 01:21:42
I fear for the safety of the reporter. If those UMNO thugs can tear apart a poster of Koh (Well...he's an idiot, but its nice to see him having a backbone for once) just because he criticized Ahmad Ismail, imagine what they will do to the reporter if they can get their hands on her.
written by megahyper, September 09, 2008 01:25:14
Rohani hitam,

Aidan maybe a malay chinese or kadazan. Who cares? Hang Tuah maybe a malay a bugis or a mixture. Who cares?

If you guys still wanna play the racial games, you are falling into Ahmad's plan and someone's grand scheme. Why do you guys still wanna live in the past? Hello, its already half a century since we got independence. Can we look to the future and face the challenge together?
written by Paul Chan, September 09, 2008 01:30:11
The safety of the reporter is not an issue. 27 million population, less a few handful of the hardcore, would stand by her. Just like what her employer is doing right now. The facts do not lie. Nevertheless, how you interpret those facts could be subjective. This is one statement that should never be uttered in the very first place. Irregardless of the maker's intention or whatever his sincerity. The insinuation is essentially damaging. Ahmad Ismail is smart enough to realise the consequences. It was utterred in a reckless manner, to say the least.
written by Cha Swee Leong, September 09, 2008 02:02:46
I feel sorry for the recalcitrant Ahmad for his limited capacity as a descent human being. Any right minded person will be able to see through Ahmad as a person of limited substance and intelligence. Due to his lack of substance(in has head) and idiocy, his true racist nature took over in Permatang Pauh.

I wonder how would the majority of Malays see him? Would they regard Ahmad as a hero guarding their special rights or would they regard Ahmad as an idiot who had just turn a small mistake into a shameful manifestation of an unrepentant racist. I really like to know.

The sparks he is creating now may potentially instigate and provoke racial tension in this multi racial country we so loved. The racial harmony we created and enjoy over the years is in jeopardy over night. Are we going to let this insanity ruin us? What go through your minds now whenever you see the advertisement on CNN: MALAYSIA, TRULY ASIA we so proudly advertised!!??

Now for the unruly Ahmad supporters, what do you think the Rakyat would regard you as? Your barbaric behavior and threats will only ensure that your social circles and whatever political future you may have will retreat significantly, the ramification of your actions may come back and haunt you for eternity.
written by FFT, September 09, 2008 02:03:07
...we also have to face intentional challenges and accusations from various websites, bloggers and certain newspapers. We do not know the motive of these particular individuals or organisations, but to us, these allegations are not only unfair but false.

Here, Sin Chew...lemme throw you a bone. This is the source of your troubles. He is trying to pull a May 13 out of his Nehru suit, to ascend the son of he who ascended under similar circumstances.

written by aiyomanaboleh, September 09, 2008 02:04:34
The issue is what can we learn from this episode? Remember we have the experience of a similar storyline from a recent past. Are we making the same mistake facing the problem head on? Will the outcome of it be beneficial to all?

Our friend has just up the ante and I think we should not be fools to be drawn into the trap. It is obvious he is looking for a fight and the best way to win is to ignore him.
written by Kopi37, September 09, 2008 02:06:47
No wonder those UMNO mongrels were making such a big fuss of the reported news because the mongrels were from the kindergarten schools from their kampung and the reporter was a post graduate of USM! They better go back to their mothers and start learning ABC before they query someone professional's proficiency in Languages! Bangsat! smilies/angry.gif
written by James Wong, September 09, 2008 03:17:35
Congrats SC,

Well iterated and appropriately diplomatic (although I can 'feel' your disdain in having to be so).
Very professional, well done.

written by Liew Peng N, September 09, 2008 03:44:07
We are playing into his hand ny responding and countering every move that brinjal makes. Why lower ourselves to his shity level???

Nothing can be gained by doing that... instead ALL the more to gain by turning away... and when he finds that NOBODY is responding to his brainless moronic actions... he'll perform self castration.

There are more important issues to condider. waste time on some dickhead with kidneys for brains.
written by Khairul Azizan Suda, September 09, 2008 06:23:36
Tun Mahathir stated as 9. The person who should apologise should be the culprit himself. If he refuses then he should face the UMNO disciplinary committee. in his article titled Pohon Maaf (2).

written by TK Tan, September 09, 2008 06:35:50
Even I have dumped Sin Chew due to their political remarks but this time I have to pay respect to them.

I suppose it is better for them to boycott in reporting any issues on UMNO as whatsoever you report will not be appreciated.

Just one word for Sin Chew and Gerakan, 士可杀,不可辱!

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Capt (R) Azhar, September 09, 2008 07:22:26
What I see are a bunch of overfed undereducated class F contractors who have run out of projects to milk. Minus the reporters who were 'instructed' to give such prominent coverage of this non-event, it would have be nothing more than a bunch of retards farting into the wind.
written by Peter Chan, September 09, 2008 07:39:13
ISA Ahmad. He is dangerous to the country. ISA that *******. Ahmad, you adalah orang Melayu yang paling bodoh sekali.
written by Eric, September 09, 2008 07:44:08
Hi Megahyper,

Rohani hitam was not making any racist statements or comments. She was just trying to make a friendly gesture - there was no malice in the tone of her comment. Do not get too excited and make emotional comments. Cheers
written by NG TECK GUAN, September 09, 2008 08:39:30
After the incident, certain newspapers, websites and bloggers have started to make allegations against Sin Chew Daily. Some of these were that the report by Sin Chew Daily contained a racial agenda and personal agenda, sedition, lack of professionalism, provocative, irresponsible journalism and the like. Some have even tried to link the report to the revocation of the publication license of Sin Chew Daily during “Operation Lalang” in 1987.

HEY AHMAD TAHI, WHY OPEN YR F**K***G MOUTH IN THE FIRST PLACE?? SO YR HEART IS SO FULL OF GOOD FEELINGS FOR THE OTHER COMMUNITIES EH?? IT IS TYPICAL OF RACISTS TO MAKE UTTERANCES AND THEN TRY AND BLAME OTHERS. WHEN WE HV A NEW GOMEN, WE HOPE TO PUT THE LIKES OF YOU, TOYOL, KERISM, NAJIS, TDM IN ONE BASKET SO U CAN BE ONE BIG HAPPY FAMILY OF BIGOTS TOGETHER FOR GOOD.
written by Sam, September 09, 2008 08:52:02
Since Najib was there why can't he just confirm the exact words used by Ahmad and put an end to this mess.
written by teongwha ong, September 09, 2008 09:09:44
Ahmad cannot understand Chinese and Tamil but all malaysians understand bahasa malaysia.Just say sorry and repent,God will forgive you.
written by Neil Ahmad, September 09, 2008 09:10:34
To Tan Hoon cheng,you have my support.The judgement of the rakyat is final.Ahmad have said it and he is to be blame.Now after this unexpected uproar, he is trying to find a scrapegoat.Do your job,Tan,and to Sin Chew she deserve a pay rise for her job well done.
written by chang mei wan, September 09, 2008 09:23:41
In Bolehland, anything is possible to happen. Politicians tend to belittle us, the anak-anak bangsa Malaysia. However, we, the readers are no longer a fool or that naive as in the past. We know who speaks the truth. In short, I'm with you, Sin Chew & keep up the good work smilies/smiley.gif
written by Jamaluddin ahmad, September 09, 2008 09:43:11
PM of Malaysia is to be blamed for allowing Ahmad Ismail to be hard headed. He echoed the words of Ahmad Ismail and sai the news report has misquoted and made an issued. Damaged has be done, the PM should be held responsible for this joker Ahmad to go hard headed and moved to stage of mess. Gerakan should by now blame the PM together with the hard headed Ahmad . The only way for Gerakan is to leave the BN
written by FFT, September 09, 2008 12:20:47
written by Sam, September 09, 2008 08:52:02
Since Najib was there why can't he just confirm the exact words used by Ahmad and put an end to this mess.

Because he wasn't paying attention....he was busy looking at and fantasizing about Ahmad Ismail's wife.
written by ibabonma, September 09, 2008 13:24:50
Sin Chew is very much unlike Utusan or Berita, yang selalu tidak cakap benar, dan menipu orang Melayu.

written by tlashmi, September 09, 2008 14:11:57
"I want them to know, I want them to take this as a warning from the Malays. Malays and Muslims have been provoked many times. We have been patient because we want to maintain stability in the country,"

Hmmm.. I don't understand now... Who made the speech is it Ahmad or the Malays and Muslims? I think it was his speech! Why now he is grabbing Malays and Muslims in? It was his personal speeches! He should answerable, not go around and seek for supports from Malays or Muslims! He has no guts to stand for his speech! Next time don't give speech if you have not guts to stand for you speeches!

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009