Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Ahmad Ismail blames Koh for tensions

Ahmad Ismail blames Koh for tensions PDF Print
Tuesday, 09 September 2008 00:00

Umno gila

By Adib Zulkapli, The Malaysain Insider

It was supposed to be a press conference for the Bukit Bendera Umno chief, Datuk Ahmad Ismail to diffuse the situation.

What happened instead after the press conference was his supporters tore up in anger a picture of former Penang Chief Minister Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon and engaged in a shouting match with reporters.

This happened after Ahmad, while defending his position, urged the Barisan Nasional leadership to expel Gerakan from the coalition.

His supporters also engaged in a shouting match with a reporter from an English language daily that reached its lowest point with death threats hurled at her.

Ahmad had been directed by Umno president Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to hold a press conference today to try to diffuse the tensions sparked by his controversial remarks during the recent Permatang Pauh by-election campaign in which he referred to the Chinese in Malaysia as "squatters".

He read from a prepared statement, in which he defended his decision not to apologise for his remarks, and repeated his stand that he had been quoted out of context.

Ahmad put the blame for mounting racial tensions squarely on the shoulders of Koh, whom he accused of being a good actor who was instigating the Chinese.

He also attacked the reporter from a Chinese language daily for misreporting his speech.

"I was only mentioning the facts of what was the situation before Merdeka. Nobody can change history," he said.

He said Gerakan leaders were trying to make him a scapegoat, and that Koh was creating a "sandiwara," which caused tensions to rise.

"I have worked with him for the past 18 years. I know him very well. He is a good actor," he said.

He said the patience of Malays had its limits.

"I want to appeal to the Chinese not to become like the Jewish in America. It is not enough they control the economy, now they want political control."

Ahmad only answered one question from the press, before he ended the press conference.

Ahmad's supporters, who were also present during his press conference last Friday, even took down the picture of former Penang Chief Minister, Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon, from the wall of the conference room.

"One reporter insisted that I answer one more question from her, she was being a little bit rude, so some people got upset, you know how we Malays sometimes get angry with this kind of behaviour," said Ahmad when contacted.

"I was already in the office when they were arguing," he told The Malaysian Insider.

He added that he came out of the office when he heard the commotion to calm down his supporters.

Ahmad, however, said that the supporters ended up tearing the picture of Koh, as the frame was firmly nailed to the wall.

"Nothing serious happened," said Ahmad who reiterated that he was subjected to unfair trial by the media.

However, according to eye witnesses present at the press conference, some of Ahmad's supporters shouted, "sudah lah (enough)" and "bunuh dia (kill her)," at one reporter from an English daily who insisted on asking one more question.

"Of course she got angry as she was just doing her job, and the supporters were trying to intimidate her," said a reporter who was present at the press conference.

The reporter who was verbally abused by the Umno supporters said she would check with her employer on the next course of action.

On Friday, Penang opposition leader and state Umno secretary Datuk Azhar Ibrahim said that one reporter from a Chinese daily should be blamed for twisting Ahmad's words.

"What was written may lead to a racial riot. If such a thing happens, he is the first person that should be shot," said Azhar.

On Saturday, during the state Umno liaison committee meeting chaired by Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, Ahmad presented his case and explained that his remark was made in a historical context.

Abdullah later said that Ahmad is not a racist although he did not say whether he accepted Ahmad's explanation.

PICTURES FROM MALAYSIAKINI

Umno gila

Comments (62)Add Comment
written by justice, September 08, 2008 22:09:38
Dr. Koh Tsu Koon, see the picture, where is your dignity now? Still want to stay in BN?
agree 212
written by Anti Jihadist, September 08, 2008 22:22:30
Good lord, my friend's 9 year old has more manners and decorum than these UMNO hoodlums.

agree 108
written by StoneRiver, September 08, 2008 22:26:06
To All Rakyat MALAYSIA dont get hook by BN. they want is racial tension amongst us. Then they will declare to rule the MALAYSIA. if BN loose to PR where are they going to enjoy their special rights to rob our national resources.Think wisely.
agree 127
written by Mark C, September 08, 2008 22:27:39
real mob mentality. Utterly disgusting behaviour that even kids are not capable of doing. Is this the future "leaders" of Melayus in Penang? scary. wonder what KTK is still keeping mum? His reputation of being a lame duck is totally warranted. shameful.
written by sjs, September 08, 2008 22:29:21
They are not only racist! But they are instigating murder! Enough is enough! The jungle has its laws too. Maybe these laws are not as harsh as we think. Maybe the jungle laws are the only real laws there are!

I refused to believe Rudyard Kipling when he used “the laws of the jungle”, to mean an actual law code used by wolves and other animals in the jungles of India! But I have to face the reality when confronted with Barbarians like Ahmad Ismail dictating the Barbaric Laws of this nation! Perhaps the best option for all of us now, is to live and abide by these “civilized” laws of the jungle!

For there are too many Ahmads roaming around under the sponsorship of this Barbaric Regime!
written by Alarka, September 08, 2008 22:30:16
Where is the ISA? I thought ISA goons are extremely efficient in arresting people uttering seditious remarks that can compromise the internal security of Malaysia.

written by boeytahan, September 08, 2008 22:30:35
Well siad Ahmad Ismail. Tai-chi and silat would eventually comes to the puggulistige stance of BN. What nut are you talking about? You cannot be a hero of Umno. You are totally out of guidiance. From saying sorry to countering your controversial statement in the Permatang Pauh speech campaign. Ahmad, you are really made of nuts!

Are Chinese really of a nuisance to you or Umno? If Chinese won't agree and be counted as a rightful community during the early discussion on independence, would the British agree to grant Malays independence? We would still be colonised until today. So what? Have you forgotten? How did we became Independant? Just let me give you a little hint. Indians, Chinese and Malays co-operated to enable us for independence! There are no 2 ways. Happy?

Now you fcuked up the Chinese and still wanted to champion your rights over whatever you think right of Malays of critisizing Chinese or Indians. You are a recalcitrant! Ask your Umno warloards whether they benifited during Koh Tsu Koon's Chief-ministership. You are also one of them as I am mentioning right now. Koh Tsu Koon licked Umno's arsses just to stay on as Penang CM.

Look at PGCC now. Not qualified to process. Luckily this Tsunami did ocured on 080308 or otherwise, Penang would be banckrupt!

Please rakyat of Penang, Malaysians irrespective of races, do reject Ahmad if he is to stand for election as ADUN or MP.

written by angkasawan bocor, September 08, 2008 22:32:57
"I want to appeal to the Chinese not to become like the Jewish in America. It is not enough they control the economy, now they want political control."

This is a statement enough to instigate and provoke a riot. This beast should be put in jail immediately. Shouldn't the PM do something?
agree 119
written by CKLee123, September 08, 2008 22:33:15
Please la, Dr. Koh. be a man and have some self respect la. I plea with you man. Get out from that stinking BN/UMNO coalition la. Nothing in this World is too big to walk away la.
written by malsia1206, September 08, 2008 22:35:21
Yes. Blame Koh. Or he can balme the voters in Permatang Pauh. Or the rakyat of Penang. Or all the Malaysian Chinese. Are they all your obedient servants?
written by Racheljansz, September 08, 2008 22:36:18
Mr Koh!
Time to leave!
How can you let this guy treat you like that!

Worse how can they treat the reporters like that!
Ahmad's supporters shouted, "sudah lah (enough)" and "bunuh dia (kill her)," at one reporter from an English daily who insisted on asking one more question.
"Of course she got angry as she was just doing her job, and the supporters were trying to intimidate her," said a reporter who was present at the press conference.

To the newspaper editors time for you to open your eyes and re-examine your stance.
written by jayenjr, September 08, 2008 22:36:24

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Are you still blur???
written by binarytan, September 08, 2008 22:39:39
KTK, if you still stick with BN, there is no hope for Gerakan and I guarantee you will not win chinese support anymore. I strongly urge Gerakan to leave BN, you may not need to join PR. Possibly by doing this, Gerakan may stay a chance.

If you prefer to join PR, I do not think your rival DAP will reject you. Merging with DAP or PKR is better option. UMNO just taiko and Gerakan is small fly to them.
written by Kamal b. Kasim, September 08, 2008 23:36:28
Yes they want to divert attention to 916 or 16 Sept 2008 on that very day we are going to have a NEW GOVT.

Dont you all realise that.They (UMNO) have no more issue to play, only racial issue to divert our attention and they are trying very hard to coup with DSAI intention to take FEDERAL GOVT by 916.

If our PM are serious he should put AHMAD under ISA at camp Kemunting immediately.This ABB are play with fire now.
written by Alvin Pang, September 08, 2008 23:37:18

If you're not racist as you claim, than you won't be anti-semitic as well. That you are is proof that you are racist. Period. No excuses or explanations needed. You are RACIST!

Nazis oppressed the Jews. Jews oppress the Palestines. Radical Muslims retaliate by attacking America which is perceived to be controlled by the Jews. America retaliates by invading Afghanistan, Iraq, and are now threatening Iran as well. Etc, etc, etc...

When will this cycle of violence end? Only way to stop it is if you guys learn to to stop hating each other.

Sometimes, I wonder if the world might have been better off if the whole of Israel just sank underneath the ocean like Atlantis. If you don't have some piece of land to fight over, than maybe...just maybe...this world might be a safer and more peaceful place.
written by Thum Kenny, September 08, 2008 23:53:15
UMNO infighting again,Out of work Ahmad wants release frusfration with unemployment and also to bodohwi, bodohwi got sept 16 to look over his shoulder now with TDM,ku Li and also may13 toyol to keep watch.bodohwi should ISA him for his political survival, all knives point at badahin, enemy within and enemy out there. there a saying "beware of ur enemy u can seen but importantly beware of the friends by ur side"
written by Lih Song, September 09, 2008 00:13:04
The true UMNO colors are showing.......

First blame the reporter for twisting his words! Now reaffirmed what he said and blame Gerakan pulak.

Better blame your father for creating you and your mother for not teaching you proper manners.

Many people say things just to get headlines and attention, but this guy is really transforming from publicity stunt to belief. Much like Hitler.
written by Shiou Loh, September 09, 2008 00:15:27
If we still would like to engage in this issue, let's focus on Ahmad Ismail's remark alone. I think the people who are concious of the civil right should trying our best to surgically address Ahmad Ismail's remark without expanding the scope.

I think we should not help transform the remark into verbal fighting between races. Neither should we allow ourselve to express our grievances for being racially discriminated from other instances. Instead, we should focus on Ahmad Ismail's remark, his character, and his follow-up action. Only with such a focus we could advance the people's voice -- i.e. a voice that our leaders in the future will listen because "they have no choice".

With that focus, it means we shall for the moment sidestep the grievances arised from other occasion, sidestep the above report of pulling down former CM picture, and sidestep challenge from Ahmad. Instead, we surgically focus on his Permatang Tauh's remark, his follow-up action, and his polical punishment.

With that focus, we should cheer when AAB said :
“He will be asked to explain himself, after which we will decide what action will be taken against him,”
We should cheer even though we don't like AAB's record.

In order to achieve the focus, we need not only the supporting voices from Malay intellects such as Haris Ibrahim and Tulang Besi, but also the supporting voices from common Malays here. Malays, being the majority race, are the key to prevent Ahmad's remark turned into racially divisive incidence, and thus help all of us staying focus on upholding accetable standard expected from our politicians.

Of course, completely ignore Ahmad's remark is another way out -- but I think we can do better than that if we have common Malays join the voices condemning the remark, and only the remark. Then we the people will sooner and later decide the political future of Ahmad Ismail.

We, together, can completely ensure Ahmad Ismail's problem is squarely Ahmad Ismail's problem, not the race problem faced by races in the nation.

written by YLChew, September 09, 2008 00:57:37
All this will not happen if the Sleepy head can command some discipline among their goons. Monkeys also can be trained but these bunch are just too wild. If they don't take action, it will really spark tension.

Hindraf time, wow so efficient. They get whacked and they get arrested. Here, they want to whack others but still walking around to do more damage. 513? Are you sure these goons can stand to lose their worldly possessions?
written by Marcus Yap, September 09, 2008 01:00:48
Alright, if its race they want to talk about, take a good long look at the guy tearing up the photo of lame Koh Tsu Koon.......honestly do you think he is a Melayu?

Frankly a true anak Melayu would never behave this way.
written by Tay Voon Tek, September 09, 2008 01:03:21
Is gerakan waiting for another apology?

written by Fat Zorro, September 09, 2008 01:22:34
You are right Marcus Yap. The guy tearing the picture looks like a pendatang from India.
written by Kopi37, September 09, 2008 01:39:26
Huh, I see a group of samseng, hooligan and mongrel were tearing the photo of someone supposed to be their abang-adik, the one those mongrels used to bow to YAB of the past! I won't be surprised if Koh Tzu Koon were there, he would be gang raped by them!

This is the true color of UMNO, no doubt about it! A bunch of ungrateful and ingratitude barbarians who treat law as dusts and yet their gangster heads are always in their topmost hysteria, yelled and cried for people's obedient in laws, that, according to what they fart, "no one is above the law"! What is law in the eyes of this mongrels, the UMNO outlaws who blatantly threaten a gentlewoman reporter to "bunuh dia" and they consider themselves good Malay and good Muslim?!

I do not feel sorry for Koh Tzu Koon. In fact I got a deep sigh of relief that the incident serves him right! This is the so-called retribution, and now immediately after he lost the capacity to continue feeding them, they the mongrels turned around and bite him in the jugular, lucky that his weenie without balls is still in tact! He deserves it and this is a punishment served on him to remind him of his sins of a lesson ought to be learned by being a hypocrite!

If he continues to behave like a sissy and shows no action to counteract the mongrels' discrimination and insults of such highest order, Ktk better find himself a place in Chow Kiat Road
written by Cheah, Vincent, September 09, 2008 01:59:00
To MR. Koh Tsu Koon and all the Gerakan leaders, do you all still wan to stay in BN after all that happened? ur president got dishonoured in this manner yet you still so blur? please join pakatan rakyat........

they have no respect for you, why are you still waiting?
written by William Tan, September 09, 2008 02:02:56
What is this Mamak trying to tell us? Wanting to be the future PM? Didn't we had enough trouble with the old one that we had? Wanting to have another 2nd Mamak PM??
written by Cha Swee Leong, September 09, 2008 02:06:23
I feel sorry for the recalcitrant Ahmad for his limited capacity as a descent human being. Any right minded person will be able to see through Ahmad as a person of limited substance and intelligence. Due to his lack of substance(in has head) and idiocy, his true racist nature took over in Permatang Pauh.

I wonder how would the majority of Malays see him? Would they regard Ahmad as a hero guarding their special rights or would they regard Ahmad as an idiot who had just turn a small mistake into a shameful manifestation of an unrepentant racist. I really like to know.

The sparks he is creating now may potentially instigate and provoke racial tension in this multi racial country we so loved. The racial harmony we created and enjoy over the years is in jeopardy over night. Are we going to let this insanity ruin us? What go through your minds now whenever you see the advertisement on CNN: MALAYSIA, TRULY ASIA we so proudly advertised!!??

Now for the unruly Ahmad supporters, what do you think the Rakyat would regard you as? Your barbaric behavior and threats will only ensure that your social circles and whatever political future you may have will retreat significantly, the ramification of your actions may come back and haunt you for eternity.
written by NATHAN SUBRAMANIAM, September 09, 2008 02:23:35
bodowi whers ur isa dont they deserve tobe locked up in the zoo or banished to mugabeland
written by Chan Thuan Chai, September 09, 2008 02:50:35
I have only 2 words for Ahmad and his supporters - "Kurang ajar". It is telling that AAB cannot even control the divisions. The press conference was supposed to diffused the issue. Ahmad in his wisdom, had blown it up altogether. Now the issue has gotten a life of its own and looks like Ahmad is now under its control. He is damned if he goes further, damned if he doesn't.
written by Lokman Sardon, September 09, 2008 04:34:18
With the “Critical, Dangerous & Ugly” Political situation developing in this great nation, precipated by the “Evil & Desperate” Powers-that-be, provoking & inciting “Racial & Religious” divide amongst the downtrodden “Anak Bangsa Malaysia.

These “Evil & Desperate” powers-that-be have “check-mate” themselves in their final “Death Throes”.

We have to be virgilant, stay calm, have Faith in God Almighty for His Blessings, Protection & Guidance so that we will not fall into the BN “Trap”.

written by Macdonald Yussof, September 09, 2008 04:41:12
Such disgusting actions by the supporters. The supporters dares to do such evil things because they know their boss will support them. Being a Bumiputera Malaysian I am so ashamed by the supporters actions. Threats to kill (a female reporter) & tearing of photos has never been our culture. Can this be a new beginning for UMNO as the opposition?
written by Macdonald Yussof, September 09, 2008 04:46:06
Ahmad Ismail the racist could have diffused the situation a loooooooonnnnggggg time ago by simply saying that:
- he apologises to the Rakyat for the remarks made eventhough he did not mean it as he was misquoted.
- he will ensure that he will continue to promote the good relationship between all races in Malaysia

See how easy it is..... but due to high ego and damn racist mindset, he just cannot accept that he has to apologise to an inferior race (in his believe) in Malaysia. Maybe he wants to implement the caste system once he rules Penang or Malaysia.
written by Joe Chew, September 09, 2008 04:50:26
Read the wilkepedia and you will find that Melayu juga pendatang!!!!!!
written by Joe Chew, September 09, 2008 04:52:46
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Melayu
written by Joe Chew, September 09, 2008 04:55:12
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malays_(ethnic_group)
written by Khairul Azizan Suda, September 09, 2008 05:51:22
KTsK, is that you called them a friend? a coalition? Harmony?

Come on...don't deny anymore. Pls jump from the turbulent ship. Gerakan have 3 MPs...so..30-3=27 left. 27-Kensiangan = 26 LEFT.
written by michael wang, September 09, 2008 06:29:35
Whatever doubts he tried to plant about his racist speech in Permatang Pauh, he removed them completely by his antics in this latest episode.
His latest actions also showed that he is mentally unbalanced.

Stay away from him.
He is a lunatic.
Sungai Buloh is no place for him.
He should be contained at Tanjung Rambutan instead and let him bring the entire UMNO cheerleading team in Penang with him.
written by Joey Huang, September 09, 2008 06:37:48
Koh & his wife Chiu, this is the KARMA for TRANSFERING the CHARITY FUND out of Penang state government.
Just imangine how much relief can goes to help the POOR victims of this week's flood in Penang, repairing the houses, buying medicines and foods.

The bad Karma you had done is now striking you back.

MCA LIFE MEMBER - BAGAN
written by TK Tan, September 09, 2008 06:37:48
KTK, just one word from me again.

士可杀,不可辱!

There is no future if Gerakan still sticks to BN, there is no respect at all on you.

Leave BN as the world outside may be better!!!

smilies/smiley.gif
written by Halim Tan, September 09, 2008 06:53:46
man, look at the mug of that psudo-malay in this article. hilarious. go on, show the kind of animal you are masa bulan puasa.

written by UZAIMI MUSA, September 09, 2008 07:02:14
I smell a blood here.
AWAS PROVOKASI UMNO MEMAINKAN ISU PERKAUMAN.
OPERASI LALANG II AKAN BERMULA.

Yang bergaduh, Najib, Lim Kim Sai.
Yang kena tangkap Mat Sabu, Mahfuz, Lim Guan Eng, Karpal Sigh.

KHIR TOYO KAYA TRAGEDI 13 MEI BOLEH BERLAKU .
Saya berharap masyarakat China tidak terperangkap dalam isu UMNO-GERAKAN.

written by jerry poh, September 09, 2008 07:05:06
Poor koh tsu koon;you are trampled by babi hutan Ahmad;where is your dignity?just quit before its too late;redeem your prestige;its now or never;do you need to ask Brother HuJinTao to flex his muscles to show the Melayu that we are a force to be reckoned with;perhaps they would not understand this;in simple words;we can start *firing squad*;there is a saying *you must treat poison with penicillin,perhaps its high time* smilies/angry.gif
written by Capt (R) Azhar, September 09, 2008 07:26:00
What I see are a bunch of overfed undereducated class F contractors who have run out of projects to milk. Minus the reporters who were 'instructed' to give such prominent coverage of this non-event, it would have be nothing more than a bunch of retards farting into the wind.
written by Muhammad Iskandar Daniel bin Yahya, September 09, 2008 07:31:56
UMNO ni nak sangat ke orang cina dengan orang melayu berbunuh? ****ing *******s. Hey UMNO, where's your ****ing ISA, or Sedition act now? ****ing dumbasses...
written by Tham Gnew Chye, September 09, 2008 07:33:07
We should not fall into this dirty trap orchestrate by this racist man. It is right that Dr. Koh has kept his cool by advising Gerakan members and chinese in particular no to retaliate this provocation. A Chinese saying that a gentleman will not fight with low class people who habour evil motif.

This again has proof BN policy has failed to foster Malaysian unity. When they are losing power so their interest in the power to corrupt and rob they use this dirty tactic to foll all Malaysian regardless of races into believing that certain race has rob certain race . We must at all time very careful never play along with this dirty game to hold on to the polical power.
written by rozlan abdullah, September 09, 2008 08:05:27
Be careful.This is part of UMN0 classic strategy.Stoke racial tension.MAGERAN will be enforced..Whatever it is do not go to the street.Be careful of SMSes coaxing to meet in some place due to some issues
written by MK Lim, September 09, 2008 08:14:43
Hahaha...Picture of Homer Simpson was torn apart !!! What? Severe ties with the state UMNO only? Why not just pull out, brother. You will save face if you do it. Come on, Gerakan is not only a YES-NO dog...they are a COWARD chicken party!
written by CH Low, September 09, 2008 08:27:28
I think KTK is a geek but I thought KTK got some 'street cred' for what happened here. I don't think he look bad what happened to him. BUT how he react will show what he is made of. If I were him, I call Badawi and ask him to take the issue straight to UMNO Supreme Council. A BN Supreme Council ruling makes little difference and at best a respite before the storm.

Badawi need to walk the halls of UMNO with a big stick now. He has no choice on the matter. If not, he is as good as gone.
written by johan soon, September 09, 2008 08:35:45
Koh and Gerakan , please leave.
Leave in peace , do not challenge them , do not make another fuss.
We the readers and commentators of MT advises you in good faith.
As there won't be any future left with bn .
Gerakan still have roles to play and it will be a tragedy because of adamant.
This time it is not about hero or coward.Its about the people of Malaysia.
Gerakan can starts afresh. Just like a newly formatted PC..it performs better.
PR have friends in Gerakan too. We wants Gerakan to make a real decision.
The decision will be yours, not from PR.
As a people friendly group we wants gerakan to make a wise move.
Make a wise move Mr Koh Tsu Koon.
written by Ngui Yuen Loong, September 09, 2008 08:36:49
Listen to what AI is saying. He is defending Malays and Islam. At first, he put the blame on the reporter of taking things out of context, then he accused Gerakan of making him a scapegoat. Then he urged the Chinese not to be like the American Jews. Wow. He is now defending Malays and Islam against Chinese. And this is not enough to get him charged?

If DPM can apologize on his behalf, doesn't mean he was wrong? And doesn't his insistence of not apologizing a slap to the DPM's face?

If the PM could one day accept his explanation and the other day felt he was overboard, what is his stand actually?

Who is putting up a sandiwara?

It's best not to fall into the trap. Leave it alone. There's more important thing to do than to get sidetracked. Once we get past 916 / 917 or even 1216, we can solve such problems.
written by Ngui Yuen Loong, September 09, 2008 08:39:02
MK Lim, Gerakan has severed ties with UMNO Penang only from what I heard, NOT UMNO as a whole.

And when have you ever seen MCA so brave?
written by Ngui Yuen Loong, September 09, 2008 08:41:18
What I meant, MK Lim, Gerakan is still not ready to get out of BN totally.
written by Mat Jusoh, September 09, 2008 08:49:49
I observe that Ahmad's hatred and anger at Koh Tsu Khoon is very very deep. This is what happens when an Umnoputra could not get benefit for himself as he failed to get Tsu Khoon to bend the ruling that municipal councillors cannot serve more than four terms.

Personal interest is his main agenda not serving the rakyat.
written by Khoh Chun Hau, September 09, 2008 08:59:21
These Penang UMNO behaviors are no different than samseng on the street. Tore up picture, threatened reporters with death, made racist remark, and act against BN's spirit. Where was the police? Huh... police can do nothing ar?

Nevermind, we will vote your out in the next GE!
written by Nick Adam Chan Onn Kum, September 09, 2008 09:01:03
this is indeed very disturbing news
can anyone tell me if UMNO penang is influential within the majority malay community in Penang? I'm very curious. As a Chinese, it is very scary news. How do most malays in peninsula malaysia feel about UMNO penang remarks?
written by Daud Nordin, September 09, 2008 09:06:58
The UMNO warlord blames everyone but himself. And those warlords wannabes are from the same mold. Lets give them the treatment that they deserve. Make them persona non grata in their own state. Let them mingle amongst themselves until they realize the true meaning of being a Malaysian. Well, judging from the pictures, most probably they won't. Pitiful.
written by Sam, September 09, 2008 09:25:40
As far as I know this is not Malay character. It is UMNO character - arrogance and display of hollow superiority.
I am sure they won't muster any following from fellow Malays. So I suggest all non-Malay ignore them and just move on with life.
Sane people don't argue with mad people.
written by JOHN SILVERSTONE, September 09, 2008 09:27:43
By the way, where is Syed Hamid? Why is he not at his post? Is he hiding or cowering somewhere? He seems not in tandem with the pulse of the rakyat. He is utterly derelict of his duties. When he should be on duty, he is AWOL. Why is he not helping out his boss Abdullah who seems lost and frustratingly overwhelmed!
written by Peter, September 09, 2008 09:43:46
Can you ever imagine that one small time politician taking on MCA, Gerakan and the whole chinese community. Where is the dignity and self respect of the chinese?? If the situation is reverse, you will see the UMNO malays threatening to burn all chinese temples, Chinese Assembly Hall(remember this incident not too long ago), wavering of the keris that will be bathed with chinese blood....and all kinds of racial stuff that are deemed justified.
written by Jamaluddin ahmad, September 09, 2008 09:52:54
Blame the PM of Malaysia for allowing this joker Ahmad Ismail to go hard headed.
Damage was done by the PM he allowed him to go on and on to create this mess. The PM an idiot by saying that apology not necessary and the news report has misquoted the joker. Gerakan should challenge the PM in the first place anyway no bxxlls Best leave BN
written by Kuku Burung, September 09, 2008 12:05:25
I am shocked that these people, including Ahmad had violated all the requirements of the month of Ramadan. See below:
Wikipedia: During Ramadan, Muslims are expected to put more effort into following the teachings of Islam and to avoid obscene and irreligious sights and sounds. Sexual thoughts and activities during fasting hours are also forbidden.[Qur'an 2:187] Purity of both thought and action is important. The fast is intended to be an exacting act of deep personal worship in which Muslims seek a raised level of closeness to God Almighty. The act of fasting is said to redirect the heart away from worldly activities, its purpose being to cleanse the inner soul and free it from harm. Properly observing the fast is supposed to induce a comfortable feeling of peace and calm. It also allows Muslims to practice self-discipline, sacrifice, and sympathy for those who are less fortunate. It is also intended to make Muslims more generous and charitable.
written by Aming, September 09, 2008 12:16:16
Serves KTK right. All lap-dogs shall their days.
written by dkkl, September 09, 2008 14:10:06
Abdullah,

No need to explain any more lar.... If you want ppl to respect u, then u should respect others first. So, it is an opportunity for you now to show your power in UMNO.... put that uncivilised & uneducated Ahmad Ismail away for good. Have you forgotten what the previous PM like Tunku & Hussiien ONN will do when ppl utter this remarks? Act like them and you will earn the respect from the nation. Otherwise you will forever a weak PM and a loser.