Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malaysia government MPs fly to Taiwan as Anwar plan looms

Malaysia government MPs fly to Taiwan as Anwar plan looms PDF Print
Monday, 08 September 2008 16:27

(Reuters) - Malaysia's ruling coalition took 41 of its lawmakers to Taiwan for a study tour on Monday, at a time when opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim has been trying to entice MPs to defect in his campaign to unseat the government.

Top opposition leaders were meeting on Monday to plot their campaign to oust the government by Anwar's self-imposed deadline of September 16.

Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has called for a meeting of his Barisan Nasional coalition on Tuesday to try to deter any defections that could spell the end of its 50-year reign.

Anwar's attempt to overturn a political order that has persisted since independence from Britain in 1957 has sharply raised Malaysia's political risks and rattled foreign investors.

A ballooning fiscal deficit -- partly a result of spending measures to boost the government's popularity after a general election debacle last March -- has also hit the ringgit currency, the stock market and bond prices.

Adding to the climate of uncertainty, Anwar is due in court on Wednesday to face a fresh sodomy charge that he says the government has trumped up to foil his political ambitions. The judge is expected to transfer the case to a higher court.

"PSY-WAR GAME"

Barisan MPs told reporters before flying off to Taiwan for an eight-day "study mission" that their trip had nothing to do with the Anwar plan.

"We are going to Taiwan to study about agriculture," Bung Mokhtar Radin, an MP from the eastern state of Sabah, said at Kuala Lumpur International Airport. "There's nothing political about this trip."

He and 40 other MPs left on Monday. Another eight will follow on Tuesday. Barisan has 140 MPs against 82 for the opposition.

Lim Kit Siang, a veteran opposition leader, said government MPs were forced to flee Malaysia to ensure that they didn't take part in September 16 "political changes."

"The birds have flown," he said, adding that the MPs could be subjected to 24-hour surveillance while in Taiwan with their mobile phones confiscated.

A political analyst said the Taiwan trip could provide a handy excuse for Anwar, if he failed to meet his September 16 deadline.

"Barisan is playing right into Anwar's psy-war game," columnist Suhaini Aznam wrote in the Star newspaper on Monday.

Anwar met leaders of the opposition Pakatan Rakyat alliance

on Monday to discuss the takeover plan, his aides said. Anwar was due to issue a statement afterward.

Anwar, a former deputy prime minister, was sacked in 1998 during the Asian financial crisis and later jailed for six years on sodomy and corruption charges. He won a by-election last month that allowed him to re-enter parliament, putting him in position to become prime minister if the opposition alliance wins power.

(Reporting by Jalil Hamid; Editing by Bill Tarrant)

Comments (53)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, September 08, 2008 16:33:03
They are scouting around for mansions incase they need it when they go into exile when Anwar takes over.
written by Hello Keithy, September 08, 2008 16:43:11
"Lawatan sambil belajar" - Maybe our DPM wants the MPs to learn something from the Taiwanese Parliament, for instance, shoes-throwing in the August house. No wonder Bung Mokthar is so keen to go.
written by miwaki, September 08, 2008 16:43:33
These MPs are not fleeing Malaysia,they went to Taiwan to meet up with suppliers from all over the regions to collect overdue payment just in case DSAI succeeded in forming the new government.Money is at stake man !
written by Anti Jihadist, September 08, 2008 16:45:42
Seeing the BN MPs scurrying out of town as 9-16 looms is like turning on the light at night in the kitchen and seeing the cockroaches scatter.

written by banzai, September 08, 2008 16:48:09
The Birds flown to Taiwan.
But the Chicken remain in office.
written by doggone, September 08, 2008 16:50:06

Don't forget to try the 'urine fish balls' and their famous Woodcock on toast. Of course if you don't like woodcock, you can opt for crap-on-toast. Enjoy.
written by Bourgore, September 08, 2008 16:55:42
I am studying about agriculture with d ***** of d mouse So when all d Graduated MP return home pls compare with me what u have studied n who is more knowledgeable Studying about AGRICULTURE has a favorite subject in Malaysia
written by SuperShyteStirrer, September 08, 2008 16:59:15
Hello, isn't it strange that all these BN MPs are going to Taiwan, CHINA. Have they decided that they are pendatang and now balik Cina????? ROFLMAO
written by binarytan, September 08, 2008 17:04:05
Tahun ini adalah Tahun Melawat Taiwan.

Please all Malaysia MP, do not bring our culture over there and infect Taiwan as they are not as good as us on "Tahun Meliwat Malaysia"

May be all of our MPs are crazy buying Pinang with all the sexy sales girls.
written by densemy, September 08, 2008 17:04:08
Is this the ultimate act of cowardice... AWOL

...or are they planning to blow up the traitors and blame the Kou mintang
written by bunian, September 08, 2008 17:06:43
Saiful isn't an MP, so why take him along?
smilies/shocked.gif
written by teo siew chin, September 08, 2008 17:07:24
it'll be interesting to read the news from taiwan about the malaysian MPs visit - follow the "agricultural" trail eh! smilies/grin.gif
written by Nice n Simple, September 08, 2008 17:16:33
Hooray Malaysia:

1. Never seen such an efficient bunch of MPs:
- Can book flight so quickly, one day before flying. WOW!
- Can pack so quickly, no work in Parliament or Ministry ah?
- Got so much spare cash (reported that trip is at 'own expense')

2. So eager to 'STUDY'...??!!
- and of all subjects: AGRICULTURE. Halo, weather so different, wat 2 study??
- or did they mean learn how to 'AGGRAVATE OTHER CULTURES'??
- are they required to do a report on their studies? If so, in Malay or English?

3. It's a Suicide Mission
- Didn't these idiots know that there is a potentially deadly HURRICANE looming around the China Seas?

4. It's Ramadhan, give them a break man.
- Why deprive them of their family-time of all times? Isn't family buka puasa sort of important to the Muslims?

5. Such Short Notice
- Did they give the Taiwanese authorities time to prepare to receive such a big foreign delegation?
- Did they already draw up the agenda? Just 2 days ago, they didn't even know where they were going.
- And on what basis did Najib approve the study last wk when there wasnt even an agenda or venue.

written by TB Tan, September 08, 2008 17:20:14
The rakyat and the MP's should demand that the "working paper" on this trip be made known to the public. A 'study tour' requires ample time to set out a program and to co-ordinate with the relevant agencies overseas in order for them to prepare for the entourage. The haste in which this trip was put together smells fishy. Normally even the press could be invited to cover the trip, something is really not right and the honorable Prime Minister should demonstrate his so-called 'transperancy' and go public on the agenda and expense of this trip. Would anyone in the cabinet take the 'dare'?
written by TB Tan, September 08, 2008 17:24:11
Is there anyone in Taiwan that we can engaged to follow the 'so-called study trip' of this MP's, I am sure we all caring Malaysians don't mind paying the money to get behind the truth. Maybe RPK can organized a fund to engaged a shadow to this group.
written by aryn, September 08, 2008 17:26:26
Pete, can we have some details about these BN MPs visit to Taiwan?

I'm sure you can get some info from 'sources' about what exactly they are doing and how much change hands.
written by shamsulnizam, September 08, 2008 17:37:31
Yeah learn how to cook taiwanese corn, to sell in Pasar Malam leiii
written by tippingpoint, September 08, 2008 17:37:33
The Star reported 50 members of the BBBC left for the trip and not 41. Does it matter if is 41 or 50. These numbers work out to be 18 to 22% of the BN's representation in the Parliament.

In many corporate policy, senior management staff are not permitted at all to fly together to avoid any untoward incidents that will have a significant impact on its operations. We do hope that both the BBBC chairman and his deputy in their sudden and hurry to leave that they have taken the necessary precaution to avoid traveling as a group. Maybe not because they want to keep everyone in sight from jumping off.

What happens if the unforeseen happens. Not for any one moment that we wish anything bad to happen to them but remember the air crash that wiped out of the Manchester United football team in 1958. It would not augers well for the country to have such a sudden reduction of 19 to 22% of MPs. What's more this will reduce the current Federal Government to 90 MPs and fresh by elections to be called for which may have detrimental results to them securing the same seats return.

let politics be politics. We hope that in the "foolishness" scheme of things that the country's interests have not been jeopardize by improper group travel. Dear PM and BBBC chairman, take note.

We pray for the safe return of all these MPs.
written by KARMANNGHIA, September 08, 2008 17:44:07
They are there to learn from the man himself...............

How Chen Shui Bien enrich himself and smuggle his ill gotten gains into his Swiss bank account.

written by alpha100, September 08, 2008 17:45:38
I hope some press reporters following them to report on what they doing in Taiwan. The trip is so ad-hoc and sudden!
written by Democrats, September 08, 2008 17:50:32
I hope they learn something..... come next election, they need to start "tanam Sayur".
written by Kopi37, September 08, 2008 17:54:35
Evidence has it shown that AAB is so panicking and shit non-stop in his pants now! Despite he continuously refuted Anwars's affirmative claims that 916 is real, he stepped out a stupid and idiotic move of sending the MPs on junket to Taiwan! From the way he behaved wobbling and unsteady, his days are ready numbered!

It's ludicrous to send the 40 MPs to Taiwan to study agriculture as Taiwan is a much more advanced and Industrialize Country than Malaysia and what much special techniques that our MPs can learn and study?! To learn from papaya or rambutan?! If they go to Vietnam, it will be more convincing that they go there to learn how to plant padi of Viet's quality cropping method! Perhaps, the MPs are sent to Taiwan to learn how to cultivate Pinang and hopefully when they come back, they will issue licenses to operate Pinang Chain Stores with the Taiwanese concept of having sexy girls wear in shorts or bikinis at road side stalls selling Pinang and no more tudung!.........See what the monkeys are doing!!!
written by myvoice, September 08, 2008 17:56:24

All this apa nama MP at Taiwan, you better don't play-play over there, or else you will kena so do mi charges when you are back to Malaysia! Beware!!!!!!!!!!
written by zandi, September 08, 2008 17:56:43
Lol....41 flew from the Cuckoo's nest! Just hope they don't have to crashland somewhere...
written by Ben, September 08, 2008 17:59:40
If you're all alone
when the pretty birds have flown,
if I'm still free,
would you take a chance on me?

If you need me, let me know.
Gonna be around.
If you've got no place to go place to go,
if you're feeling down.

Gonna do my very best,
and it ain't no lie.
If you put me to the test,
if you let me try.

Take a chance, take a chance,
take a ch-ch chance chance;
take a chance, take a chance,
take a ch-ch chance chance;
take a chance, take a chance,
take a ch-ch chance chance...
written by OilMan, September 08, 2008 18:05:29
Again a decision by UMNO with an excuse that challenges the intelligence of the rakyat. The UMNO always assume that the rakyat are dumb asses. Bung Moktar is a shame to Sabahans. I would like to see what his antics will be when he enters parliament as an opposition MP.
written by dkkl, September 08, 2008 18:06:23
ambil duit rakyat untuk bercuti?
written by cahaya, September 08, 2008 18:25:25
Perhaps Taiwan news reporters will follow them and report what such a large delegation does on a study tour!
This must be making news, first time such a large group of Asian politicians chose to study agriculture in Taiwan.
written by kent chong, September 08, 2008 18:30:38
NAMEWEE, better wait them at taiwan airport and sing NEGARAKUKU!
written by FFT, September 08, 2008 18:37:35
Are these bozos going to learn about agriculture or going to play golf?

written by FFT, September 08, 2008 18:39:05
written by bunian, September 08, 2008 | 17:06:43
Saiful isn't an MP, so why take him along?

In case it gets lonely, and the Taiwanese girls don't layan them.
written by Dreamlander, September 08, 2008 18:39:18
The 50 MsP joining the Taiwan trip are the BN die-hard LOYALISTs.
This is the last chance for them to go on an overseas "study tour" paid for by the government as by the time they return back to Malaysia from Taiwan, they are members of the Opposition.
The main purpose of the "study tour" is to learn from ex-President Chen Shui-Bien how to set up off-shore banking accounts to hide their ill gotten gains.
written by shissun, September 08, 2008 18:45:26
Another shameful news from Malaysia by foreign news agency. Another news to make us a laugh stock around the world. I think Sporeans are laughing so loud now. Even our poorer neighbors such as Indonesia, Cambodia and Laos are pity at us. What a shameful country. All this because of UMNO-BN goons.
written by arazak, September 08, 2008 18:48:40
Dedicated to the citizens of Malaysia yearning for change;

WIND OF CHANGE - SCORPION

http://in.youtube.com/watch?v=0yQeSKa4RsU&feature=related

smilies/smiley.gif
written by binkah1, September 08, 2008 19:00:30
At a trying time like this our govt still has the cheek to send so many mps on so call 'working trip'overseas. I wonder where is their concience and obligations. Surely this is no time to spend lavishly when the rakyat have had a hard time just trying to make end meet. Where are all those advises to change lifestyle? Are those advises only applicable to the rakyat and not the ruling elite? Are they beyond shame? especially the top leader who endorsed and approved such trip??
written by binkah1, September 08, 2008 19:02:08
Hope God is great and have planned something for them.
written by delCapo, September 08, 2008 19:03:40
Agriculture my ass!... check out the golf bag & the business class sign on the pic

btw... they can Rm0.5mil to RM0.75 mil EACH as spending $$!!!!!!!!

details here.... (sori didn't wanna make this a monster post)
http://delcapo.*********.com/
written by KKchan, September 08, 2008 19:15:34
Business class, golf bags, and flying Cathay Pacific. MAS not good for our BN MPs?
written by Sabahfan, September 08, 2008 19:29:03
Ikat perut, spent less even on food, because of our poor economy, yet our taxes get spent on 51 barisan useless MP to enjoy themselfs playing golf and bringing back nothing in benefits....

Hidup pakatan, to the hell with UMNO...
written by mob1900, September 08, 2008 20:00:30

These are not Lawmakers but LAWNMAKERS.
written by FFT, September 08, 2008 20:15:06
I think the most interesting question from all this is WHO is the sole MP who is reportedly paying for this trip?

Does anybody want to wager that it is Najis who is footing the bill, in order to launder his commission money before 9/16 when Anwar will fry his rosy-red goose?
written by banzai, September 08, 2008 20:15:43
bunian,
They took Saiful along to serve that Bung.
written by banzai, September 08, 2008 20:19:33
bunian,
It's LIWATAN di Taiwan.
written by Australian Malaysian, September 08, 2008 20:25:03
Aiyah, I was waiting at the Burswood Casino with my camera lah! Somebody must have told them. I wonder if there are any casinos in Taiwan??? I know there are lots in Macau & the ferry ride takes about an hour and a half from Taiwan. Don't worry too much lah, I'll try to organise a welcoming comittee for all you BN gamblers there as I have some friends over there too. Have a nice trip....to one of your final all expenses paid trip at the expense of your heavily exploited "rakyat tax-payers" back in Malaysia!!!!

Oh, I just felt the need for the "barf bag"
written by Australian Malaysian, September 08, 2008 20:31:02
Is this massive contingent of !@#$BN%^% required to declare how much $$$ they are siphoning out of the country? Please someone tell me as I need to know what I'm going to be against at the "Russian"(oops, Freudian slip again)roulette table!
written by FFT, September 08, 2008 20:51:22
written by banzai, September 08, 2008 | 20:19:33
bunian,
It's LIWATAN di Taiwan.

"Liwat Sambil Belajar".

UMNO and BN's official activities until they are shipped off in straitjackets to Tg Rambutan.
written by DezMalaysia, September 08, 2008 21:17:57
written by anakperlis, September 08, 2008 21:59:48
They fly to Taiwan not to learn about new technology of agriculture but to learn the "new corruption technology" from Chen Sui Bien. That is the reason they bring the golf set along to play golf with Chen Sui Bien and learn the "new technology" from him.
written by Semut Jantan, September 08, 2008 22:18:24
Does anybody know that flying last minute cost many times more than if you make early reservations? Whose money is that, hah? They don't mind as long as they thought they could stay away from September 16.

DSAI, when you are in charge, make sure you get someone who does not know how to waste the rakyat's money, ok? Make reservations two weeks or two months prior and fly coach ok? Better still, take a bus to Singapore to have field trip 'study' ok DSAI?
written by JohnQ, September 08, 2008 22:31:03
If you all do not announce defection en bloc in Taiwan, pls do come back in one piece!
written by Ho Chee Seng, September 08, 2008 23:45:46
written by TB Tan, September 08, 2008
Is there anyone in Taiwan that we can engaged to follow the 'so-called study trip' of this MP's, I am sure we all caring Malaysians don't mind paying the money to get behind the truth. Maybe RPK can organized a fund to engaged a shadow to this group.

Yeah we can engage namawee to look out for us, he is in Taiwan smilies/grin.gif

"We are going to Taiwan to study about agriculture," Bung Mokhtar Radin, an MP from the eastern state of Sabah, said at Kuala Lumpur International Airport. "There's nothing political about this trip."

What can we learn from Taiwan on agriculture?
written by Dr. Tan Chee Hong, September 08, 2008 23:47:15
The plan is to feed them with women and then film them in action. Blackmail. I hope those who went are not so stupid.