Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Spitting into the wind

Spitting into the wind PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 08 September 2008 15:04

No, I am not a deviant or a blasphemous Muslim of the worst kind. It is those in government who are. And I will uphold the true Islam and oppose these deviants till my last breath and the last drop of my blood.

It's not wrong for Muslims to have different views on certain issues but it should not lead to a split among them, said Datuk Seri Najib Razak in Pekan yesterday. He said those who had differing opinions should not resort to actions that were prohibited by Islam, including making slanderous remarks or lying to bring each other down.

"We should not practise all these. We should not accuse others without any proof or basis. It's not the Islamic way to tarnish the image of others," he said at a buka puasa function at the An-nur mosque in Kampung Ketapang.

The deputy prime minister said Islam did not allow its followers to tell lies about others, even if they did not share the same views. He cautioned that God might take back all the good things that had been awarded to Muslims if they did not stop bickering among themselves. "All these will split the Muslims and may weaken them further." New Straits Times, 9 September 2008

Hello, brader, apa you cakap ni? You are spitting into the wind lah. Muslims have always been split and have never been united since the day Prophet Muhammad died. They say diversity is the spice of life. Allah says in the Quran that He purposely created us from different communities so that we may know one another. But do Muslims take heed of the word of Allah enshrined in the Quran for eternity?

That’s right. Allah did not boo-boo. He did not blunder by creating us with different colours, tongues, religious beliefs, sexual preferences and so on. No, Allah is not playing sick jokes by creating us different just so that we can kill each other over these differences. If you believe in Allah and believe that the Quran is from Allah, then you would also believe that it is Allah’s 'grand design' in creating us not of one colour, faith, tongue and what-have-you.

Let’s not even begin talking about Muslims not accepting non-Muslims as brothers and sisters. This, ‘true Muslims’ will argue, is a most blasphemous statement and the teachings of deviant Muslims. And did not Syed Hamid Albar declare that Raja Petra Kamarudin is a ‘blasphemous Muslim of the worst kind’? Yes, because Raja Petra Kamarudin espouses the concept of the one-Malaysian and not the concept of ‘first-class’, ‘second-class’ and ‘third-class’ Malaysians based on the colour of one’s skin, then he is a blasphemous Muslim of the worst kind.

Syed Hamid wants the government to detain me without trial under the Internal Security Act. Thus far, an estimated 10,000 Malaysians and foreigners have been detained under the ISA since 1960. This is going to be my second detention but I will probably be amongst the first group of Malaysians to be detained for propagating the concept of the one-Malaysian. That makes me a traitor to my race and religion. That warrants my detention without trial. I suppose that is not as bad as being detained for raping an underage girl or for murdering a foreign beauty and blowing up her body with C4.

It is a bit too late in the day for Najib to appeal to Muslims to remain united. That call should have been made 1,400 years ago. More Muslims have died at the hands of Muslims than at the hand of the Jews, notwithstanding the fact that the Jews are the declared enemies of the Muslims. If at all Muslims have enemies, it is fellow Muslims who are those enemies. And it is statements of mine like these that have got me labelled as anti-Islam and a blasphemous Muslim of the worst kind.

But what do you expect me to do? Can I deny history? Should I distort what really happened over the last 1,400 years just to paint a rosy picture of Muslims and help Muslims ‘save face’? The first step in curing any disease is to admit that one is suffering from a disease. Not doing so would be to suffer from a denial syndrome. In curing an alcoholic, the alcoholic has to get onto the stage and in front of the entire hall admit, “I am an alcoholic!” Then begins the road to recovery. But if the alcoholic insists, “I am just a social drinker and not an alcoholic”, then there is no way he or she can kick the habit.

No, this is not an exercise to defame Muslims. This is not meant to run down Islam. In no way do I intend to insult the Prophet. Let us instead call a spade a spade and admit that Muslims are Islam’s worst enemies. If we can admit that, then we can begin the journey in seeking Muslim unity. Only then can we cure what ails Muslims, in that Muslims have never been united in 1,400 years since the Prophet died.

The problem with Muslims is that they can’t accept differences. In fact, they do not tolerate differences. And this is only talking about differences amongst Muslims. Let us not even begin to discuss the differences between Muslims and non-Muslims. As far as Muslims are concerned, the topic of differences between Muslims and non-Muslims is not even a topic that’s open for discussion. It is a non-starter. It is a topic that only ‘deviant’ and ‘blasphemous Muslims of the worst kind’ would dare venture into. This is how Muslims perceive the topic of differences between Muslims and non-Muslims.

But the government can’t declare me a ‘deviant’ and a ‘blasphemous Muslim of the worst kind’ on grounds that I propagate the one-Malaysian concept. The government realises that Malaysia Today has touched the hearts of the non-Muslims. The government is aware that the Muslims and non-Muslims have finally united under the opposition Pakatan Rakyat, as demonstrated in the 8 March 2008 general election and the recent Permatang Pauh by-election. So the government has to demonise me in the hope that the Muslims will shun Malaysia Today and, in that same process, the unity between the Muslims and non-Muslims will crumble.

When the Prophet died, the Muslims became embroiled in a power struggle over who should succeed him as the ruler of Medina. As the Prophet’s body lay unburied for three days, the Muslims argued over the succession plan. Finally, Abu Bakar was chosen as the First Caliph. Many refused to accept him as the Caliph and refused to pledge loyalty to him. Thus began the split that has perpetuated until today with the loss of millions of lives.

It is said that Abu Bakar was poisoned and died. This suspicion came about because just a day earlier he was eating with a comrade and the comrade told him to stop eating because he suspects the food may have been poisoned. That comrade also died the day Abu Bakar died. But Muslims would rather believe Abu Bakar died of natural causes. The next three Caliphs also died violent deaths.

During the reign of the Fourth Caliph, Ali, the War of the Camel erupted. Aisha, the Prophet’s widow, led an army from Mekah in an attempt to invade Medina and bring down Ali’s government. Aisha lost the war but Ali refused to punish her with the death sentence. He would not even confiscate her property, which is the tribal law of those days when someone wages war against the government. Ali just allowed Aisha to return to Mekah unpunished. And because of that they assassinated him.

After Ali died, power transferred to Muawiyah’s family in Baghdad. The pro-Ali camp (the Party of Ali), now known as the Shia (Shiatul Ali), wanted to oust Muawiyah’s family and restore the lost fortunes of Medina. They asked Ali’s son, Hassan, to lead the movement. Hassan was poisoned and died and the movement appealed to Hussein, Hassan’s brother, to take over the leadership of the movement.

Hussein was the ‘reluctant politician’. Nevertheless, he agreed to lead the army that was supposed to invade Baghdad. Hussein’s small army of 100 or so was massacred at Karbala by an army many times bigger. Hussein and his entire family, including his baby, were massacred. They cut off Hussien’s head and dragged it back to Baghdad like a dead dog where it was put on display till it rotted in the sun.

Yes, Muslims have been killing Muslims over the 1,400 years since Prophet Muhammad died. The Muslims have never been united and will never be till the end of time. That is the fate of Muslims. And why has Allah punished Muslims with such a fate? Islam is supposed to mean peace. Salam, which is from the same root word as Islam (S-L-M), means peace. But there is no peace amongst Muslims. Muslims are at war with one another. And no way can Muslims not be at war with non-Muslims when they can’t even stop fighting one another.

It's not wrong for Muslims to have different views on certain issues but it should not lead to a split among them, said Datuk Seri Najib Razak in Pekan yesterday. For Najib’s call to mean anything, Muslims must first accept the fact that they are not united, that they will always have differing views, and to accept this as the reality.

But no, this is not happening. Whenever Muslims demonstrate differing views they will declare such Muslims as having insulted Islam and the Prophet. They will make police reports against that person, like they did against me. And they will ask that this person be detained without trial under the Internal Security Act, like what Syed Hamid has asked the government to do with me.

Muslims do not tolerate differing views. They will want to silence you. If you do not share their view then you are a deviant and a blasphemous Muslim of the worst kind. You are either with me or you are against me. That is the Muslim way.

Never mind Allah said in the Quran that He purposely created us different so that we may know one another. That is what Allah says. That is what the Quran says. But if you choose to be different then you are a deviant and a blasphemous Muslim of the worst kind.

Incidentally, Islam forbids detention without trial. Islam forbids anyone being punished until that person has been put on trial and is proven guilty in a fair and open court. To use a law that Islam forbids on the pretext of upholding Islam is like bathing in a septic tank. How clean can you get by bathing in shit water? How can you uphold the dignity of Islam by using laws that Islam forbids?

No, I am not a deviant or a blasphemous Muslim of the worst kind. It is those in government who are. And I will uphold the true Islam and oppose these deviants till my last breath and the last drop of my blood.

Sure, punish me with laws that Islam forbids. Today, I will face you in a kangaroo court to face punishment under laws that Islam forbids. Tomorrow, I will be the witness in God’s court where you will then face trial for violating God’s laws. In God’s court, I will be assured justice denied me now. And the punishment you receive in God’s court will be many times worse than what you can do to me in this world.

And God will determine if I am a deviant and a blasphemous Muslim of the worst kind. That is not for you to say. God never appointed you His assistant here on earth. Instead, God said He knows what is in our hearts and only He will know. So, get out of my face and leave me alone. Don’t try to play God.

Comments (75)Add Comment
written by Huador, September 08, 2008 15:26:30
http://in.youtube.com/watch?v=7_IKcMl_a9A
disagree 86
written by densemy, September 08, 2008 15:30:06
Your problem RPK is that you missed out on the early childhood brainwashing

You are that rare commodity a Muslim who can think for himself
disagree 17
agree 613
written by FFT, September 08, 2008 15:35:20
That makes me a traitor to my race and religion.

Really? So what race are you supposedly betraying, as per their allegations?

Last I checked, you're neither Ma-mak nor Arab.

And it was a Ma-mak who ordered your detention the last time and an Arab who is itching to detain you now.

If at all there is a traitor to race and religion, it is UMNO. Their upper echelons have consisted, and still consist of, Melayu celups who have been screwing the real Malays in the name of Ketuanan Melayu and Islam for the decades.
agree 398
written by teo siew chin, September 08, 2008 15:36:15
hmmmm.. so that is why some find it difficult to live the life of a true Muslim/Christian/Buddhist or whatever religion.
It's becos they are trying to play God instead!

agree 150
written by sjs, September 08, 2008 15:37:51
Raja Petra Kamarudin, as a Hindu, who is well verse in Islamic religion, let me shame the BN top leadership for branding RPK ‘blasphemous Muslim of the worst kind’!

Muslim friends, RPK has brought a new meaning to Islam. He has corrected many of the unwanted beliefs and practices of Islam! He has chosen to speak up courageously on issues of Islam, where others consider taboo!

The deviationist teachings and practices of Islam, in the eyes of Non-Muslims, have been corrected to a larger extent by RPK's frank and sharp rebuttals!

Dont punish RPK! Punish the perpetrators of Islam!
agree 374
written by Harpoon, September 08, 2008 15:42:59
And God will determine if I am a deviant and a blasphemous Muslim of the worst kind. That is not for you to say. God never appointed you His assistant here on earth. Instead, God said He knows what is in our hearts and only He will know. So, get out of my face and leave me alone. Don’t try to play God.

Round one. Najib already down with TKO!
agree 150
written by Functioner, September 08, 2008 15:52:49

Enlighten us.......
People in position mainly in Government / BN will manupulate and interpret as they wish for their own selfish gain. Yet, there are still some stupid supporters who follow blindly. Who will God punish? The MANuplator or Supporters??
written by Thambidoorai, September 08, 2008 15:55:35
"...You are either with me or you are against me. That is the Muslim way."

I didn't know Little Bush was Muslim?!

written by Su Dhanoa, September 08, 2008 15:56:25

My friends/families and my prayers are with you and your family. May the Gods look upon you and your family. We know that you are in love with the All-knowing Lord; the ignorant ones try to hold you back - How could you ever break with the One, who owns your soul and breath of life.

As for all those (including their next seven generations) who slander without any proof shall rot not only on this earth but in hell as well.

"The mortal knows everything, and knowing, he still makes mistakes. What good is a lamp in one's hand, if he fall into the well?"

Best of Luck
written by Legion, September 08, 2008 15:57:09
Now, lets see if they dare to use this article to apply ISA or not. RPK is merely quoting based on history like that Penang UMNO guy quoting from history.
written by Anti Jihadist, September 08, 2008 16:03:46
Reading this, I'm just happy to see another column from RPK. After reading his last one, I was very fearful for him and his family.

So, is Malaysia supposed to graduate into First World status by detaining all who disagree with the government and/or the official version of the official religion of the country? Is shouting 'race traitor' over and over and over again the key to success? BN sure as hell seems to think so.

DSAI was also a 'race traitor' too during the run-up to the recent landside in Permatang Pauh, as you may recall, so RPK is in good company.

God willing, RPK will have another piece posted by this time tomorrow.

written by malsia1206, September 08, 2008 16:04:58
The truth may be subjective. While they may not agree with your views, why is it they cannot engage in a constructive dialogue instead of threatening to throw the weight of ISA at you? Such is the poor mindset and bullying tactics of this Government.
written by ahmadneil, September 08, 2008 16:10:55
RPK, after reading this I'm ashamed to be a Malaysian muslim.I don't want to be a muslim anymore.I want nothing to do with this word 'muslim'.I hate being called a muslim.I don't want my muslim name anymore.Don't call me ahmadneil anymore.I hate it, I hate it.I can't face RPK anymore.How can muslims be so bad?Why,why,why!Don't talk to me anymore.I want to a welsh. sorry guys! After reading RPK's script, I'm really lost,lost becos how on earth can he write such a good script and I not only read once but twice.I'm going for a beer now.
disagree 24
agree 148
written by johanssm, September 08, 2008 16:17:34
I found Datuk Shit al-blur very funny with his threat to RPK.
If you wanna charge RPK with blasphemy , why use the ISA to suppresses RPK.
Okay this blasphemy means insulting Allah or prophet or Islam right?
Ain't there a Islamic law for this?..As the ISA is HARAM in Islam.
Tell me here, if the ISA is HARAM in the eyes or book of Islam.
How can you put RPK in ISA?
As the ISA is not inline with Islam and ISA is clearly HARAM.
Now, if Datuk Shit al-Blur throws RPK into Kamunting using the ISA ( which is Haram ) are the umno muslims people trying to tell the Malaysian Muslim that things which are HARAM can be made HALAL?
Is umno trying to prove a point that it can be?
Same as my thinking that we also can HALAL pigs.
IF ISA is haram but can convert to halal , pigs also can what.
Technically its the same right?
But if ISA is Haram , you cannot put RPK under the ISA. As RPK is a muslim.
Wait a moment......some years ago i think somebody from PAS called the umno fellas as KAFIRs.
Okay..i got the point now. PAS was right back then and it still stands.

Another finding are the deviants. Islamic deviants .
How can you use the ISA to imprison them? As the ISA is Haram and therefore the ISA is also deviant from the Islamic point. A case of devil teaching another devil?

I rest my case
written by YSL, September 08, 2008 16:19:07
Raja Petra Kamaruddin, my brother, my friend, my father, my teacher, my preacher, my leader, my governor, my Yang Berkhidmat, my savior, my spirit, my hope for Bangsa Malaysia, please tell us what you need, what you want from us and what we can and should do to make sure ISA will not be used against you.

Please!!!!
written by ellyna, September 08, 2008 16:20:59
"We should not practise all these. We should not accuse others without any proof or basis. It's not the Islamic way to tarnish the image of others," he said at a buka puasa function at the An-nur mosque in Kampung Ketapang.

So why did he set up Saiful Bontot to tarnish the image of DSAI??? Besides....I thought DPM was a 'practicing Hindu'...
written by alberttan, September 08, 2008 16:26:58
Will the Muslims of Malaysia please stand up in defense of YM RPK, a fellow Muslim being victimised by blasphemous corrupt deviants in Government? Where are the Muslim defenders of the Islamic faith? I can safely say that without YM RPK while DSAI was in jail, PKR, PAS and DAP will not be given the mandate by Malaysians to achieve 'Keadilan' and 'Reformasi'.
written by miwaki, September 08, 2008 16:30:35
Dear Pete,10 years ago,I did not know that our UMNO/BN government was such a crook,I knew they are bad but I did not know they are that bad.After knowing you and your blog,I have been reading it daily and you have enlightened me and majority of Malaysians about the jokers we who are currently governing this country.Anecdote after anecdote has been released on your blog to entertain us Malaysians and the world.We know Malaysia more than we learn in schools and sometimes,I was wondering what will happen to Malaysia without Raja Petra.
agree 117
written by sampalee, September 08, 2008 16:36:10
All is the will of Allah[Insyaallah].Do not expect Allah to turn up to our human sense to confirm what is undisputable.Allah's Truth will be revealed through his chosen one[only mukmim can qualify].By the grace of Allah,we have a true mukmim in RPK.Believe too, the Truth of Akhirat to fully understand the exhortation of RPK to fellow muslims and non-muslims.Tuhan want us to see through the differences and diversity to recognised the same GOD's essense beneath.The enduring and immutable essense that give birth to everything and to which all things return[both good and bad].In short RPK,an orang Tuhan.
written by hakuna, September 08, 2008 16:49:54
Pete - A Man who loves God fears NO Man - you are the one, buddy.
written by ahmadneil, September 08, 2008 16:51:46
Ok! I have just gobble down 6 pints of Tiger beer.I'm sobber but not drunk and I'm telling you all again that I don't want to be muslim anymore.To hell with my name,ahmadneil.I don't want to pray 5 times a day anymore.I told the pub owner about this and he ask me why all of a sudden I come to this,so I told him this bloody brilliant RPK said it's always muslims killing muslims.So in order to avoid been called a murderer, I quit my faith and that is final.
disagree 25
written by Mr Smith, September 08, 2008 16:51:54
Syed Hamid lied on Al Jazeera today on the ISA.He said it a just law and those detained can go to court if they are unjustly detained.
Fortunately, Karpal countered by saying the Minister's order to detain is beyond court review.
So who is lying?
Watch the whole story on the abuse of the ISA in "People and Power" on Al Jazeera. Check out the program. I think it is at 5.30pm on Tuesday.
written by RitchieLow, September 08, 2008 16:53:28
As you can see, we humans have come a long way in understanding God
and all we have understood is that we do not understand.
--Ali Sina

And most will be ultra hypocrites too. The Golden Rule, One rule to rule them all
written by Concerned Malaysian, September 08, 2008 16:56:17
I truly do not understand why some Muslims are critisizing Pete for what he has written. Is he saying anything wrong about Islam, doesn't there difference in interpretation of Islam existed and is it not that it has been there for the past 1400 years. The Muslim world has not addressed these differences but continue to threathen both non-muslims and Muslims not to question Islam. People are questioning because there are lost as to the different interpretation and understanding in regard to Islam.Don't the Muslim world and Ulamaks think that they should go back to Quran and make it clear what was thaught by the Prophet so these differences would be put to rest for once and for all.This is what all some of the saudara baru go through when they embrace Islam at least in Malaysia!
written by cruzeiro, September 08, 2008 17:03:40
Keep the Faith, Pete.
God be with you .....

The people's prayers are also, definitely with you.
written by cruzeiro, September 08, 2008 17:06:51
ahmadneil,
I suggest that you repeat that when the beer stops talking .... if you're serious.
And I don't believe this is the place to make such "confessions", huh?
disagree 29
written by panca, September 08, 2008 17:07:39
...what would have happened to Pete for his strong ethics of righteousness, truth and justice done to him if faced with character of najis 1000 years ago that have the same political machinery power abuse of now? Yes, we would have guessed the answer right!

But it is now that it looked like it had come again to different place and at different time....it's like a DEJA VU.

And this time is to correct the wrongs of the political zealots who masqueraded as one (as if) god-fearing politician, the one who spat in the wind in the puncak grassland.

They would swear without hesitation, those were seriously non religious but political cheapos.
written by cruzeiro, September 08, 2008 17:10:34
BTW, RPK never said that Muslims are killers
- only that those claiming to be Muslims have persecuted their brothers for centuries.

That equation actually applies to all & sundry - just becos you ain't Muslim, it don't change your heart and vice versa.
written by zam3886, September 08, 2008 17:17:35
Even normal civic behaviour calls for accommodating differences among people and having a broad and open mind.
written by Pak Pandir, September 08, 2008 17:32:14
ahmadneil.....

Cheers, mate! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by PRman, September 08, 2008 17:39:33
RPK is the man!
written by ahmadneil, September 08, 2008 17:41:29
Pak Pandir, Thanks , mate!
written by PakItam, September 08, 2008 17:54:32
"Let us instead call a spade a spade and admit that Muslims are Islam’s worst enemies."

When I was growing up my ustaz taught me there are 5 confirmed enemies of the Believers:

1. Syaitan (Satan, ie the Devil)
2. Nafs (Our each own selfish, false ego OR google it OR http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nafs)
3. Unbelievers who wage war.
4. The Hypocrites. (Munafiqun)
5. Mu'min 'Asi. (Malefic / Malicious Believers; or simply, Bad-Ass Muslims)

The last three, of course should not be in any general order.

So again, RPK is not really far off. Muslim scholars anywhere, dare you refute this???
written by TwilightYears, September 08, 2008 18:15:28
Up to now, whenever I read of Imam Hussein's death, I would shed tears. I just could not understand how his Muslim enemies could kill the grandson of the Holy Prophet. It is beyond me. This is something I leave it to Allah SWT as I could not understand that a Muslim could do that to the descendents of the best of all men. Just as today, I cannot understand why the Govt have to persecute you in the name of Islam and that you have insulted the Holy Prophet and Islam. I would not forsake Truth which is based on God's words, nor would I bend my knees before insolent might. There is a Great Court that mete out Greater Justice, and in this Court of His HIGHNESS, the JUDGE - no one can escape untruth.

We shall walk together on this great day, RPK.
written by citizenken, September 08, 2008 18:17:07
hope when Anwar takeover sept 16th , better impound al blur passport and charge him for abuse of power.
written by DreamLady, September 08, 2008 18:19:41
Dear Raja Petra,I love you for who you are, and love you for your courage, and most of all, I love you for knowing you. May God bless you and family. You are always in my prayers.
written by hamid, September 08, 2008 18:56:21
You sound like this BUMI NON MALAY! Just more refined in the manner you write. What happen to him?
written by SamSan, September 08, 2008 19:09:56
The only people who will listen to corrupt leaders like Najis, Bodowi, Kerismudin, Nazri, etc is those UMNOputras and other similarly corrupt people who seek favours and want to butter these scumbags. On the same note, if Tuan Guru Nik Aziz was to call for unity of the Ummah, then I and more than three quarters of the Malaysian population knows that this is a divine message / request from a pious and humble leader who follows the true path of Prophet Muhammad in all his actions, deeds and mannerism.
written by johntyc, September 08, 2008 19:15:11

“Look to my coming, on the first light of the fifth day, at dawn, look to the east”.

"All these will split the Muslims and may weaken them further."

Who is them? The Muslims or umno?
written by hace, September 08, 2008 19:16:17

"Many do not know that we are here in this world to live in harmony. Those who know this do not fight against each other." - Sayings of The BUDDHA.
written by Malaysiaputra, September 08, 2008 19:38:50

=====

Unfortunately, in Bolih Land, these holier than thou have every right to determine and pass judgement on a person even before "akhirat".
written by KotaDamansara73, September 08, 2008 20:11:17

Surprisingly with all the fightings, the wars and the hatred, Islam survive 1400 years until today. Communism is close to death. But Islam still survives.

Now the Muslims are practicing the extreme Islamic version. The non-progressive type. The hermit type. They do not want to expose themselve to progress. And in the name of Islam, they justify all their cruel and unfair treatment to whoever that go against them.

Why is this religion always being practice in the most extreme way? WHY?
I don't see Buddhist doing all this shit. I don't see Hindu doing all this shit. I don't see Christians doing all this shit. Maybe Christians have their "holy war" during the 18th and 19th century where they were cruel to all humankinds. But they have changed.

There must be something wrong with Islam.
written by babihutan, September 08, 2008 20:35:16
This is what happen to Islam worldwide!!
Happen in Philippine, China, Indonesia, Thailand, India, Middle East, Africa...except moon.
WHy Islam is so like that huh!!! Any muslim can explain it to me??
Killing, bombing, Jihad, sexist, racist,.............................
written by cabearth, September 08, 2008 21:02:14
RPK says:

RPK, what about the concept of "mazhahib" in ISlam? Isn't that a telling sign of differences of opinions?

written by Mirage, September 08, 2008 21:31:06
Isn't a religion suppose to withstand the test of time? I see the Islam as a complete way of life with its teachings, laws, practise, and etc. The downfall is that the religious teachers communicate hatred in order to keep the believers thinking they are loyal to the religion when they protect their religion that way.

Having said that I have also met many muslims who practice otherwise which is in good faith of Islam. This are the same ppl who are ambasador of their religion to non-muslim. But unfortunately their good deeds are overshadowed by what we see in their negative exposure of their extremism.
written by Alice, September 08, 2008 22:02:17
If there is one muslim man who is well read than it is RPK. The problem with most other so called muslim scholars is that they may not be as well read as RPK.Or they only read a certain kind of matereial. That is why he is brave enough to ask for DEBATES. He knows what he is really talking about.

Don't fool around Syed Albarr. You are asking for trouble each time you open your mouth.
written by OrdinaryMan, September 08, 2008 22:04:49
Muslims killing Muslims. Christians killing Christians. Hindus killing Hindus. All the same. Want to kill, kill-lah.
Just don't use religion as an excuse to kill.
written by Jit Dharma, September 08, 2008 22:07:58
Brother RPK, is it possible that through interaction with their non-Muslim
brethren, Malay scholars will be the vanguard of a peaceful expression of their
faith that will revolutionise their faith? Reach for greatness.
written by Spear Bing, September 08, 2008 22:25:23
The Internal Security Minister, and JAKIM, are the ones who are bringing mockery and shame to their own religion of ZIslam.

To be fair, bring out all the articles that RPK had written and prove to the court that he is deviant and a blasphemous Muslim of the worst kind. And if found guilty charge him and send him to the dundgeon of incarceration. Otherwise, the court of public opinion can only surmise that Syde Hamid Albar and JAKIM are the blasphemous ones whose knowledge of English language and its interpretation simply low class. What can one expect of the monolinguist of the KAKIM officials?

ISLAM forbids ISA - it's a shame on Albar. He should know better since he was in the judiciary before.

SHAME SHAME SHAME!
written by Bosan, September 08, 2008 22:26:34
So they say, there's no god to pray except Amnono,s god.
written by non conformist, September 08, 2008 22:31:08
Sir RPK,

Well said. The world would be a far better place if there were more Muslim of your kind.

MAY YOUR TRIBE INCREASE ABUNDANTLY!

"Mt 10:28 And fear not them which kill the body, but are not able to kill the soul: but rather fear Him which is able to destroy both soul and body in hell."
written by Just Gan, September 08, 2008 22:36:19
Pete, It appears that as long as Muslims kill Muslims, it is ok. Look at what is happening in Sudan/Darfur, Somalia, Iraq, Pakistan, etc. No Muslim leader is even making a statement condemning the genocide taking place in Darfur because the perpetrators are Muslims. But where non-Muslims are involved, every Muslim leader is fighting poll position in condemning them, and of course our leaders, in particular Tun Dr Mahathir, jostle for that position. Why the double-standard? All crimes against humanity must be condemned. When will the day come when Muslims will go beyond religion to condemn evil regardless of the perpetrators being Muslims?
written by john tan, September 08, 2008 23:55:06
It's not wrong for Muslims to have different views on certain issues but it should not lead to a split among them, said Datuk Seri Najib Razak in Pekan yesterday. He said those who had differing opinions should not resort to actions that were prohibited by Islam, including making slanderous remarks or lying to bring each other down.

First of all, which issue he refer to? The murder or the corruption aka commission.
To syed hamid, hear that? Slander and lie were prohibited by Islam!

"All these will split the Muslims and may weaken them further."

Muslims have always been split. Christians too. Buddhists too. In fact most religions have some split here and there, now and then. What’s the big deal. Lives goes on no matter what. We, Rakyat Malaysia, are getting stronger and stronger, but umno and bn, the opposite.Later in parliament become the opposition. smilies/cool.gif
written by Thee Chan Kong, September 09, 2008 00:13:34
The GOD will having very very very BIG headache if he come down to see what really happen to his religion. What will GOD feel if he visit:
Southern Phillipine - carried guns and bombs
Southern Thailand - bombings, killing and beheaded bodies
Xinjiang China - bombings & killings
Indonesia - Extremist, bombing and killing of Christians
Middle East (GOD's hometown) - same things lah...just worst!!
Malaysia - Racist, sexist, corruption, extremist, swearing, C4, Ketuanan Malayu, ISA,........

To All Muslim, give your GOD a BREAK! He eat asprin everyday lah!!

written by Ng Kok Lye, September 09, 2008 00:23:23
I really like this part of your writting.

"And God will determine if I am a deviant and a blasphemous Muslim of the worst kind. That is not for you to say. God never appointed you His assistant here on earth. Instead, God said He knows what is in our hearts and only He will know. So, get out of my face and leave me alone. Don’t try to play God".

The same goes to all those who do good deeds in the name of God (no matter what religion they are). Let God decides if one should be enplaced in His Heaven or His Hell, not by those mortal beings who want to play God just because they think they have the power in their hands.
written by Ng Kok Lye, September 09, 2008 00:34:12
Based on the extremism of religious people (any religion), I have this thinking that these people become extreme because they want to get bonus marks in order to pass with distinction to be enplaced in God's Heaven. It is something similar in the direct sale or multilevel marketing system. The more members you get the richer you are, meaning more points or bonuses to receive in order to move up in the organisation. So these so call 'very religious' people preach their hearts out and to become extreme in their religion are solely to gain more 'pahala' for themselves so that they gain most marks to be counted by God to be enplaced in His Heaven.
written by macanhitam, September 09, 2008 00:45:47
like i commented before in previous articles, those who wanna put RPK on trial by suing him should face RPK in a debate. And from there we can judge who is more knowledgeable and gutsy enough. I bet Pak Arab Al-blur and his cohorts in those fake and hypocritical islamic departments/agencies can pack their bags on a camel after that.
written by Karen Ho, September 09, 2008 00:46:57
To Ahmad Neil - u really crack me up with your dramatics, thanks ;-).
written by Karen Ho, September 09, 2008 00:52:09
Anyway, after reading so many of RPK's articles, it is evident that RPK is on a different level which most Muslims who refute him haven't accomplished. I think even the imams are also below his level. Most Muslims from my observation do not question their teachers. They'd gobble up everything the teachers taught, whether they are good, weak, evil teachers. Please use your brains more often as God/Allah gave us brains and especially your heart to learn.
written by Thum Kenny, September 09, 2008 01:48:53
"spitting in the wind" Ahmad and 13 division chiefs just did that,ask to applogize....chinese jew,silat , tai chi, gerakan faults,talk about malays and muslim...sheeesh. wonder how is it like to have own spit on ur own face as the spit boomerangs back?
written by gorchanjit singh, September 09, 2008 01:52:07
RPK. Bapa Malaysia Baru. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Kenneth Khong, September 09, 2008 02:33:57
Yes, gorchanjit singh! RPK is my God Father smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Mr George Kingsley TAN, September 09, 2008 02:53:51

I'm not that religious.

I'm very sure you're Muslim to me.

They try to make you a Salman Rushdie.

But you're our RPK...many times more Muslim than lots of so called ones.

Salman Rushdie still hot, alive & kicking leh !!!!!
written by Annabell Loong, September 09, 2008 08:03:31
RPK, I know that God's hands are on you. You are his favorite because you stand by what is good and beneficial to the rakyat. It is God's will that we love one another and you are doing just that, so no one can touch you or harm you unless God permits it for his reason and his timing. Take care and I will continue to uphold you in my daily prayers.
written by dassky2000, September 09, 2008 12:24:51
Ya ya, I know I am shit al bhur. but then you are the ones who vated me in. Now that I am old, lost some hair over my scalp and speak shit, you all call me names.

Sometimes I do get carried away, it is all because I try to follow too much like my coleaques in BN UMNO....... biasa lah itu kan?

written by nangkarajah, September 09, 2008 13:05:12
This calling for Islamic unity is only to be expected from a Muslim (motivated in part by inborn Bugis bravery) who has in a way seen to have built-up a charismatic, invincible and a profound "he's the only leader fit to take-over the PM's post" posture in the eyes of those unknowledgeable simpleton public. But this seemingly strong posture has proven to be just an illusion----it's a mirage. When the number of BN MPs in Semenanjung and the number of Pakatan Rakyat MPs in Semananjung are ON PAR (equal) now----thereby HANDING balance of power and the REAL power in this nation to call the shots to ever-powerful Sarawak billionaire Melanau (a Sarawak sukukaum) warlord political leader and another ever-powerful Sabah billionaire Suluk (a Sabah sukukaum) warlord political leader and THEIR 58 richly-rewarded, pirate-like, boisterous, always-boastful, forever-thankful and thus intensely-loyal COMMANDOS in Parliament---it therefore is already a foregone conclusion that even BN MPs from Semananjung Malaysia HAVE NO CHOICE but to cross-over to Pakatan if WEST MALAYSIANS really want to RECLAIM their half-century-old birthright (a controlling say for half a century since day one 31st Aug 1957 in the destiny and future of the nation by virtue of their being overwhelming majority 85 per cent as opposed to minority 15 per cent East Malaysians in the country) which they've lost on March 8 general election. So to Pakatan, my congrats in advance to you in forming a Pakatan Gov't. If not by 16 Sept. can also lah. Don't worry. Delay sikit pun tak apa.
written by yellowkingdom, September 09, 2008 13:26:39
From the book of Ezekiel 33: 7-9
"The word of the Lord was addressed to me as follows, "Son of man, I have appointed you as sentry to the house of Israel. When you hear a word from my mouth, warn them in my name. If I say to a wicked man: Wicked wretch, you are to die, and you do not speak to warn the wicked man to renounce his ways, then he shall die for his sins, but I will hold you responsible for his death. If., however, you do warn a wicked man to renounce his ways and repent, and he does not repent, then he shall die for his sin, but you yourself willhave saved your life."

Pete, you have done only what could be expected of a just and upright man. My prayers are with you to open the eyes of the blind that they might see the the folly of their sins.
May God bless you in OUR fight for justice and equality for ALL !
written by Malaysiaputra, September 09, 2008 15:04:13
unburied for three days,

====

Can some well versed muslim enlighten me ?. I was always told that the Prophet of Islam never died but was taken to Surga in a golden charriot.
written by wisdomguy, September 09, 2008 15:13:56
Ya!!you umno guys out there,DON"T PLAY GOD!!!!
written by renoir, September 09, 2008 16:49:43
I'm sad on two counts: the persecution of RPK and secondly, the bad mouthing of Islam by some readers.

Let me start with the second.

Those who think gross injustice, extremism, or terrorism don't happen to other peoples and/or other religions should study a bit of history before showing their ignorance here. The much glorified Christian nations have conducted wars against one another and within their communities for centuries. In the name of religion, Christians have massacred millions upon millions of people within Europe as well as in Africa, North and South America and other parts of the world. The Protestant/Catholic wars in continental Europe didn't start with the infamous Inquisition, but with human greed. When Cromwell slaughtered the Irish, he did that in the name of God, but basically it was just one of England's first attempts at territorial expansion. Irish "terrorism" - actually a struggle for independence - has its genesis in that very conquest. Some might say that Buddhism or other non-Abrahamic religions don't do all those things, but they would be wrong as well - the difference lies in degree, not the total absence of similar events.

Let us all support RPK without badmouthing Islam. RPK never renounced Islam: in fact it is Islam that has given RPK the courage to openly fight against injustice, whereas many of us, including myself, are just talking like heroes at the keyboard.

To RPK: I don't think it's necessary for Anwar to form a new government on Sept.16, though it would be great if that could be accomplished. Malaysians can always wait for the next GE. Let me say this openly: a reformed BN, one that gives up racism and corruption, could be just as attractive as any other party. Given the present "leaders," however, this is highly unlikely. That's why Pakatan appears to be the better choice.

Whatever the case, I doubt the government would clamp you in jail for years - there's still some respect for royalty and, more important, a fear of the rakyat's reaction. Anwar became a hero just by being unjustly persecuted, and the consequences have lasted until this day. For a while, AAB appeared to have escaped all blame, but recent events involving the failed sodomy charge and other highhanded actions have only backfired and caused millions of Malaysians to point their fingers at him. Contrary to some half-educated UMNO bigshots, Malaysians don't like and are not impressed with gangsterlike behavior. Their actions have only made Anwar a martyr and now another one in the form of RPK.

In a sense, the persecution of RPK is even more perilous for UMNO as he's seen not as a politician, but as a virtuous guy fighting for a better country. Further, no blogger can get the loyalty manifested here without truth on his side. People read MT precisely because it has more truth than the mainstream papers. Even if that's not always the case, it's nevertheless useful because it allows people to form alternative views.

Master narratives seldom work nowadays, as the Bush administration has found out. People all over the world, including Americans, no longer trust a single version of human events. This is partly caused by the cybernetic revolution, but mostly because of the extraordinary greed of those in power, whether they're neocons or local thugs posing as government ministers. The way to reduce conflict between the rulers and the rule, therefore, lies in better behavior of the former, in repentance of past sins. This was true since the time of Abraham and even earlier, and is even truer today. There is no other way.

written by Angel, September 09, 2008 18:38:39
Pete, I think your articles, if anything, has enlightened us non Muslims about the true meaning of Islam and its teachings. I do not think you have been seditious in any way or insulted Islam or the Prophets. You have if anything helped clarify an Islamic religion that we can see the value in it.

We therefore have more respect for Islam after reading your articles which are most enlightening and clear. God bless you!
written by nangkarajah, September 09, 2008 18:58:35
a Muslim (motivated in part by inborn Bugis bravery) who has in a way using local state royal blessing and party-support been seen to have built-up a charismatic, invincible and a profound "he's the only leader fit to take-over the PM's post" posture in the eyes of those unknowledgeable simpleton public. But this seemingly strong posture has proven to be just an illusion----it's a mirage. When the number of BN MPs in Semenanjung and the number of Pakatan Rakyat MPs in Semananjung are ON PAR (equal) now----thereby HANDING kingmaker balance of power and the REAL power in this nation to call the shots to ever-powerful Sarawak billionaire Melanau (a Sarawak sukukaum) warlord political leader and another ever-powerful Sabah billionaire Suluk (a Sabah sukukaum) warlord political leader and THEIR combined 58 richly-rewarded, pirate-like, boisterous, parrot-like trained talking, always-boastful, forever-thankful and thus intensely-loyal COMMANDOS in Parliament---it therefore is already a foregone conclusion that even BN MPs from Semananjung Malaysia HAVE NO CHOICE but to cross-over to Pakatan if WEST MALAYSIANS really want to RECLAIM their half-century-old birthright (a controlling say for half a century since day one 31st Aug 1957 in the destiny and future of the nation by virtue of their being overwhelming majority 85 per cent as opposed to minority 15 per cent East Malaysians in the country) which they've lost on March 8 general election. So to Pakatan, my congrats in advance to you in forming a Pakatan Gov't. If not by 16 Sept. can also lah. Don't worry. Delay sikit pun tak apa.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
So this is the reason why Pakatan can only rely on West Malaysian BN MPs to cross-over to Pakatan because THERE IS A VERY GOOD AND GENUINE REASON FOR THEM TO DO SO. Because to reclaim as I said, their half-century-old birth-right. East Malaysians don't need to reclaim anything. So how can you believe them if they say they want to cross-over to Pakatan?
written by hwy, September 16, 2008 08:56:29
written by babihutan, September 08, 2008 20:35:16

This is what happen to Islam worldwide!!
Happen in Philippine, China, Indonesia, Thailand, India, Middle East, Africa...except moon.
WHy Islam is so like that huh!!! Any muslim can explain it to me??
Killing, bombing, Jihad, sexist, racist,.............................

Babihutan,

To answer your question: These atrocities are done not by the pious and law-abiding Muslims. They are those who profess to be Muslims but are either self-righteous people who misinterpret the teachings of Islam or those who have vested interest (like our current BN leaders). They believe in an EXTREMELY narrow interpretation of the Quran and that only they can interpret it correctly.

It is ALL about POWER. Remember the saying, "POWER CORRUPTS, ABSOLUTE POWER CORRUPS ABSOLUTELY". In our case, when the powers of the Sultans were diminished, the powers of the executive branch increased, thus began the oppression of the people of Malaysia.
written by richardwong, September 18, 2008 20:10:46
Presuming that the Quran translation of Chapter 2 verse 256 is as follows: [ There is no compulsion in religion. Verily, the right path has become distinct from the wrong path. Whoever disbelieve in Taghut (anything worshipped other than the real god) and believes in Allah, then he has grasped the most trustworthy handhold that will never break . . ]

Many people interpret the verse as stating that everyone is free to choose any religion and that we should not force anyone to adopt just one religion.

Or we can interpret the verse as follows: God has decreed a structured “Path of Peaceful Life” or “Islam as in “surrender or submission to God’s universal laws which was decreed upon creation of the universe and all living things”; which inherently implies Living peacefully with man’s environment and not transgressing the permitted limits of misconduct, whilst adhering to moral tenets and doing good, avoiding evil and untruths.

With the revelation of the Quran (readings) the right path is now clearly defined and the Quran contains Explanations and Examples to convince its readers of the truth, and therefore through reasoning there is no excuse for anybody to reject the “Pathways of peaceful life” decreed for mankind.

No one needs to be forced to accept “God’s decreed way of life” (ie compulsion) but he or she will be convinced of the “truth” once he or she reads the Quran.”

But how many people read the Quran with understanding, so that he or she could be blessed with its wisdom? The religious leaders might be able to read the Quran in Arabic and be able to help translate the Quran in other languages, but the interpretation of verses is a different ball of game altogether.

Yes, translation is important. If the verse 185 from Chapter 2 is read as “The month of Ramadan is that in which the Quran was revealed, a guidance to men and clear proofs of the guidance and the distinction…”, then the non-Arabic reader can be mis-led.

What if there is “no one holy month – Ramadan” (ie other months, not holy?), what if the verse states as: “Months of shedding of thoughs which is transmitted in it – the Quran – a guide for mankind and the explanation of guidance and criterion for right conduct. . . “

What if Chapter 2, verse 255 read as follows: “There is no compulsion in the orderly way of life. Certainty is now clear between the guidance from the wrong ones. . . “

Notice that the word “religion” is not part of the verse. What if the “Pathways of peaceful life” is the antithesis of “religion of rituals, acts of bowing and other institutionalized prayer and worship” (so apparent in Idol worship, and adhering to the commands of “priests and religious authorities, who earn their keep from “religion”)?

The Quran warns of idolizing anyone (priests and prophets, included. Prophets serve to convey the message, and the value in God’s service ends there, nothing more.)

Perhaps the above helps to clarify that mere experts in the Arabic Quran are not necessarily the right interpreters of the “readings”. But the non-Arabic reader needs to understand the message of the Quran (perhaps, starting with various translation), by reading the Quran in totality to understand the true meanings.
written by richardwong, September 18, 2008 20:11:19
Irrespective of different translation versions, isn’t the meaning from the Quran the following, viv-a-vis:

a) Q66:11 . . . the wife of Pharoah won God’s favour and mercy through her Islam (not, presumably via any adherence to the religious rituals and institutionalized prayers of the Jews of that period . . . not necessary the Islam of Moses, the Islamic Prophet of the time)

b) Q19: 25-26 . . . Mary (mother of Jesus) whilst “fasting”, was offered dates and the suggestion to eat and drink, but to adhere to her vowed “syiyam” (or “practice of retrain” or “fast”) of not conversing with anyone that day. Note that “syiyam” in this instance has nothing to do with not eating or drinking.

And if Araham was taught the pilgrimage ritual around the Khabah, why in the Readings (ie Quran) there is no commentary of other prophets, including Issac (son of Abraham), Jacob (son of Issac) and Joseph (son of Jacob) following the practice. Did Araham neglect to tell his siblings of the “Islamic” practice?

But in the Quran, the Creed of Abraham is recommended for all and sundry. Isn’t his creed freed of the idolers’ practice of rituals and institutionalized prayers?

In the Quran, the true believers do not follow the manmade laws and teachings of the religious authorities of the day (whether they be priests or what not). Vide Q12:40 . . .the command is for none but God; God commands that man serve none but God alone.

Therefore, who claims that he or she can set religious law and obligations for mankind? Prophets serve to convey God’s message, and their value in God’s service ends there, nothing more. Vide Q33:21 . . .excellent exampler, who constantly praises God, Q3:79 . . .who taught the book, having studied it, Q50:45 . . .remind or warn by means of the Quran

Christians abide by the Bible, Those who profess to be Muslims presumably abide by the Quran. How many Muslims know their Quran? What does the Quran say about “riba”. Do you follow one part of the Quran and ignore another?