Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow BN, not Ahmad Ismail, should apologize

BN, not Ahmad Ismail, should apologize PDF Print
Sunday, 07 September 2008 18:40

It is the Barisan Nasional and not Ahmad Ismail who should apologize. Barisan Nasional  must apologize not only just to the Chinese but to all Malaysians.

Ahmad Ismail as an individual is personally responsible for his statement. His statement is seditious. Unless the Sedition Act only applies to opposition politicians and bloggers, the police and the attorney general's office must charge Ahmad Ismail under the Sedition Act. They had wasted no time in charging Raja Petra Kamaruddin and there is no reason why there should be a delay in this case, otherwise the Sedition Act applies only to the opposition while the ruling party makes seditious statements with impunity. Ahmad Ismail should be convicted and sentenced for sedition. It is not important whether Ahmad Ismail apologizes, it is important that Ahmad Ismail is made aware of Malaysian society's revulsion for racism.    

Ahmad Ismail in making the statement as Bukit Bendera UMNO division chief did so on behalf of UMNO and Barisan Nasional. As such both UMNO and Barisan Nasional must be held responsible for his statement. The statement is offensive and reprehensible to all right thinking civilized people. It not only offends Malaysian Chinese but all Malaysians irrespective of race or religion. More importantly, it offends the Malays themselves. But it is no less offensive and reprehensible than the act of the UMNO leader brandishing his keris. UMNO is a political party based on the support of one race.  There will always be UMNO members who will make such offensive statements so long as UMNO clings to racial politics for survival. The Deputy Prime Minister had made an apology on behalf of Ahmd Ismail, although no one had asked him to. But it is not sufficient for the Deputy Prime Minister to apologize on behalf of Ahmad Ismail, UMNO must discard its racial politics.   

MCA and Gerakan objected to the keris waving one year after the event, when they realized they were losing political support. They only objected to Ahmad Ismail's statement after the Permatang Pauh by-election when the results showed they had loss political support. If they were sincere they should have objected immediately and pulled out from the BN by-election campaign. By making the objections after the results, by demanding for only Ahmad Ismail's apology and not the UMNO leadership and to demand the apology to be made only to the Chinese, and not to all Malaysians, MCA and Gerakan have shown that their objections to Ahmad Ismail's statement is nothing more than a desperate attempt to stem their waning political support. Their conduct is the reverse side of the same racial political coin played by Ahmad Ismail and UMNO. It is not important whether Ahmad Ismail apologizes, it is important MCA and Gerakan stop their ploy of purporting to defend one particular race.

Barisan Nasional should stop playing the racial card. They should stop trying to create divisions and strife for their political survival. The myth of Hitler's master race had blown up with him at the end of World War II. Apartheid ended when Nelson Mendela completed his long walk for freedom. Forty years after Martin Luther King's "I have a dream" speech, Barrack Obama has won the nomination as US presidential candidate. The world has rejected racial politics long ago. It is only the Barisan Nasional that still uses racial politics. It is because of Barisan Nasional policies that we still have not become an integrated society. It has taken 51 long years but finally the Malaysian people  on March 8, 2008 rejected racial politics and on August 26, it was buried in Permatang Pauh. It is not important whether Ahmad Ismail apologizes or not, what is important is that Barisan Nasional and its component parties accept that racial politics is dead.

William Leong Jee Keen
Treasurer General
Parti Keadilan Rakyat
Member of Parliament for Selayang

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, September 07, 2008 18:50:06
Ahmad Ismail outburst shows the true color of umno.
written by PRman, September 07, 2008 18:51:28
well said, i can't agree more. thx!
written by malsia1206, September 07, 2008 19:05:25
The Malaysian rakyat knows the laws of this country works selectively. Unless you happen to be an UMNO member in which case you would pretend not to know at all. Laws like the Sedition Act is single-handedly applicable selectively. Police investigation is handled selectively. Prosecution is handled selectively. And when all is done and completed, the Judiciary works with one hand tied behind their backs. This is Malaysia since the days of TDM. It's his legacy. And it now propounds further to the detriment and suffering of the man-in-the-street. Unless you are from UMNO, unless you have connection with the top guys and politicians, unless you have money to bribe your way out, you are as good as dead meat. It's time to dismantle this corrupt institution. And the time is now. PKR can do for the Malays, Chinese, Indians and the natives of Sabah and Sarawak what UMNO can do. And do it much much better. With more responsibility and equity. Not with cronynism and selective hand-outs. Not with abuses and wastage. And not with the fear of sending every vocal opponent to Kamunting.
written by allangan2006, September 07, 2008 19:18:07
Perangai dan sikap sebenar UMNO telah diterjemahkan oleh wakilnya Ahmad Ismail. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by babihutan, September 07, 2008 19:25:09
UMNO's kriss is still stained with NON-Malay / NON-Muslim's bloods!!!!!!
UMNO is the most racist political party in the world!!!! Malaysia is the only country where majority has more right than minority!!!!
written by kanokporn, September 07, 2008 19:28:23
i do not see how bn can apologise. bn does not represent all the malaysians although they are supposed to. umno has disgraced it coalition members by calling them immigrants apart from many other names. umno should apologise but to what effect? his is not the first time a chinese or indian or even a malay has been called a second or third hand citizen. in the minds of umno the same as mahathir only one people exist that it themselves and thier supporters. the recent election has clearly shown that bn does not represent a huge population of his nation as clearly shown by the elections and in particular anwar's grand win.it is for mca gerakan and mic leaders or representatives to leave bn because bn is only umno and nothing else. why are the mca mic and gerakan people without any maruah? or is it baruah?
written by KUMON, September 07, 2008 20:00:24
It's really too late to apologise for what is said, that's because, UMNO realise that they have lost support, then only they apologise..it's too late for that. As far as most are concerned, UMNO can say anything and get away with it. So really, no one believes UMNO anymore. Only die-hard ones who had benefitted from ball-carrying and those who benefited from NEP.

Sorry, but the door is already shut. smilies/angry.gif

written by PakPandir, September 07, 2008 20:00:26
Whether BN or Ahmad Ismail apologies is not going to make any difference, there are far too many cases of these racist politicians in BN who has made such inflammatory remarks, Najis, Kerismudin, Ali Rostam alias Rectum, Maha Mamak. Have any of them ever apologise ??????
No Malaysians trust UMNO anymore, plain and simple.

You remember how Kerismudin threaten Gerakan when the Gerakna Youth Leader Paranjorty(?) talk about Gerakan being bullied under BN before March 8th ? People outside UMNO who spoke of the truth are punished .. BN is already down the drain and into the ruubbish bin. Any action by UMNO to try to do damage control is mere lip service under pressured situation ... is'nt that clear ?
written by Wassupdoc, September 07, 2008 20:01:53
Well said. It is important that in perilous time like this that we keep a clear head and see things from the right perspective.

It's no longer about Malay, Chinese or Indian. It is about Malaysia as a nation. Do not REACT to challenges like an enraged bull being led by a matador.

If Ahmad Ismail taunt you with racial insult, let him bark out loud. He is just part of the dominoes in the bigger scheme of things. God bless Malaysia. And long live RPK!smilies/smiley.gif
written by avj, September 07, 2008 20:24:58
There you have it PDRM the ball is at your court. Do your job or you waiting for instruction from the political masters?
written by foresight, September 07, 2008 20:48:58
There is no way people will accept an insincere apology short of charging him like they did to RPK.
written by POPEYE, September 07, 2008 21:47:10
If the BN is sincere it need not apologise. All it needs to do is to hang Ahmad the scum to dry. Funnily, I have more respect for UMNO after this incident then I have for the bums at MCA or the idiots left in Gerakan.
written by onnetline, September 07, 2008 21:49:23
AG & PDRM,

Is there a different set of law when it comes to dealing with Barisan Najis shitheads ....... or someone like Ahmad Ismail ??

written by roadbarra, September 07, 2008 22:25:39
It's too late for Datuk Ahmad to apologise. The ticking clock can never be reversed and damge already done. It's doesn't matter anymore, and even if he decides to apologise it may be deemed insincere. Life needs to get a move on to more important things. Life is too short to be squabbling about. There's nothing we can do after living under decades od racist rule.
written by mikewang, September 07, 2008 22:44:33
Against a corrupt system, it's no longer a simple majority that is needed for change.
We need to reject BN overwhelmingly.
written by sengie, September 07, 2008 22:51:31
chinese, indian have already see this nation as they homeland, their contribution & commitment should not be questioned, in fact they hv been the indispensable factor for malaysia to achieve this economical height together with the malay. it needs join effort of these 3 main groups for our nation to face the challenge of globalization, racist politicians like ahmad ismail is the stumbling block which must be removed!
written by Namolos, September 08, 2008 00:15:02
This HISTORICAL FACTS as follows :

This Ahmad Ismail is actually not wrong to say Chinese in Malaysia were Pendatang.

What he has NOT say is that ALL MELAYU are also Pendatang ! The Chinese or rather their forefathers came from China , today's super power of the world.

The Malays or rather their forfathers came principally from Indonesia (Sumatra, Java and Sulawesi) as well as India, Cambodia and some from as far as the Arab world.

The Malays forgot that the real ''SON OF THE SOIL'' are actually the ORANG ASLI, IBANS,DAYAKS, KADAZANS, MURUTS, DUSUNS, ORANG SUNGAI....etc...etc.who were today convinently forgotten by Malaysian History books that this Ahmad Ismail had studied.

How dare he now claim that CHINESE IMMIGRANTS has no RIGHTS when its the very like of his type that has ROBBED the real NATIVES OF ALL THEIR RIGHTS.
written by Namolos, September 08, 2008 01:04:54
Cant you all see that UMNO convinently hide Malaysian HISTORY by making sure Malaysian History STARTS from the ''EMERGENCY'' and NOT before it like during the FIGHT against the Japanese and British for the independence of Malaya.

THIS IS TO SPREAD THE PROPOGANDA that CHINESE are part of the so call Communist/Chin Peng era and not as ''HEROs''...like the special''FORCE 136''which mainly consists of ''CHINESE FIGHTERS'' during the actual fight for independence against the Japanese occupation and later the British .

Now you know why Malaysian History books taught at schools starts from the EMERGANCY.....to paint a Negative picture of Chinese in the History of Malaysia...and unshamely trying to promote UMNO as the real ''hero'' in their so call fight for Independence....when in actual fact...the Malays were cowards at best...and worst...TRAITORs, by working with the Japanese to occupy and rule our Country.

Shame on you UMNO and BN for HIDDING these FACTS
written by The dragonheart, September 08, 2008 01:06:48
Look... You can make white looks black but you can never make black turn white..

Apology for what? For what he had said? Don't wast our time if the applogies are not sincere and purely political.

I hope the new government have a good agenda to make Malaysia a better place to live rather than creating more racial issues to be debated to point of no ending..

If PR and PKR are really interested to be a good government, let talk about how to improve our economy, how to make the raayat to be a single malaysian race and how to eradicate poverty... don't waste time layan people who are racist...if u layan you pon racist macam dia orang.. malu lah...

Dalam Umno orang salah sanggup sumpah Quran, in nak suruh dia orang mintak maaf je... PKR ini buang masa lah...

I hope DSAI put a stop to all his racist supporters..

lets say something good for the people of Malaysia,.. we ignore the racist people ..let them bark at the mountains like mad dog... we reply in a nicer words rather than the same and worst racist than the UMNO people..

Do you realize that there are more Malays in the opposition than in umno? the commenters who bark at Malays here are mostly non-Malays... so you better wash your dirty mouth before you over curse the Malays who are still walking beside you...

I think Leaders in the PR should be smart enough to lead these racist people in MT... they don't seem fit to be a true Malaysian... all are purely self-centered people!!! Shame on you!!
written by wartank, September 08, 2008 01:16:55
A leader should take account of the mistakes he made and acknowledge them. After all, they won't get corrected unless the mistake is identified as such.

This goes to show a level of immaturity and insecurity certainly not befitting a leader.

On another note, this might seemed sensitive to some.. but who actually gets to say that they own the land?

The way I see it, you can have 2 views;

1) We actually belong to the land. The land was here long before us and will be here long after we're gone. When we eventually come to pass, to the earth shall we return. Destroy and plunder the land and surely we get destroyed along with it.

2)Everything belongs to God and only He has the right to provide and take away as He deemed fit. Everythig shall be His will.

Which one of the above does this fool dispute, or does he disagree to both?

It is fair to accord someone pioneer status, as a recognition. It is even fairer to provide to the underpriviledged, to ensure they are taken care of and assisted to grow and improve for the continuous progress of the entire nation.

Just that some people who came into power too easily had forgotten what it means to actually be a human being with humility and a sense of brotherhood.

smilies/sad.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by Tom n Jerry, September 08, 2008 07:39:20
Malaysia or malaya ws inhabited by animals only in the jurassic era;about 65 million years ago;so those who claim ancestry from malaya must be descendants of monkeys,wild boars,swine &dogs of all sorts,alstion,dalmation,bull-dog,gibbon& choimpanzees! smilies/grin.gif
written by Malaysiaku, September 08, 2008 08:05:07
As such, the DNA Bill should never be passed when we are still under BN rule. It will be another tool to be used against its Opposition members. It will be the end of democracy and freedom.
written by lynn, September 08, 2008 21:46:00
BN, Ahmad, no need to apologise. The damage is done, ingrained, etched in our minds. Your apology is meaningless. We will remember, and every 4 or 5 yrs, we will teach you bargirls a lesson.

We Chinese, are very patient, very tolerant and very accommodating with your endless racist taunts. Those who can make it, they wud migrate. Malaysia is always the LOSER. The Chinese people in Malaysia, they keep the economy churning. Everywhere you go, north or south, the Chinese are in the small medium industries. They export in a small, or big way. I work for one such exporter. It's in our genes. Nothing to shout abt. We provide employment, bring back the forex. Still not good enough? We pay the bulk of the taxes. What else? Most of us get no assistance from the government. Yet we survive & flourish. Imagine if we had government full support. We would be like a mini China.

So, shit-heads like Ahmad, you are a loser & idiot. Go to hell.
written by rams609, September 08, 2008 22:31:08
No. it's not BN that is supposed to apologize. IT'S THE ZOMBIE PRIME MINISTER WHO HAVE TO APOLOGIZE TO ALL THE RAKYAT FOR NOT BEING ABLE TO NIP THIS ISSUE IN THE BUD! STUPIDEST AT THE LOWEST EBB!