Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow The Great Tudung Debate Part 2?

The Great Tudung Debate Part 2? PDF Print
Sunday, 07 September 2008 18:33

Quran Reader

Since there are many comments about Christian & Jewish usage of veils and tudung, here are some relevant pictures which may throw much light..

1. The first picture shows one denomination of Christian nuns who are completely veiled from head to toe. Therefore the claim that the tudung and the veil is a Muslim invention is not true. This was practised by the Christians.

2. The second picture shows the beautiful actress Audrey Hepburn in the famous movie 'The Nun's Story'. Look at her tudung and veil.

3. The third picture shows a modern Christian bridal veil. When Christian girls get married they wear the veil which actually covers the face. Covering the face is therefore a Christian tradition also. It was not something invented by the Muslims.

4. The last picture shows another group of heavily veiled Christian nuns. Probably Catholic too.

The point is the tudung and the veil are the inventions of the Jews and the Christians.

Nuns

Audery

Modern

Veiled

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by Kuku Burung, September 07, 2008 18:41:45
Wrong! The pictures you put up are for Catholic tradition, which was practice after the second Pope era. The Christians and Jewish did wear "tudungs" but their tudungs were of middle-eastern tradition, not the ones in the pictures.
written by orangmsia, September 07, 2008 18:47:13
watch this tubung issue among msian women:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rt8jnJrQxso
written by cubi76, September 07, 2008 19:01:27
Dear writer,
I wonder why do you feel it's so great if or if not it was Chriastians who invented veil. To me I think the one who invented Bras contributed more to mankind history and overall welfare.

Furthermore, the photos you showed... the first one was more for ceremony purpose. In Islam, they are practically requesting all muslim women to wear veil. It is of course not a problem if muslim women are willing to wear. But what if one lives in Islamic country, but one is not willing to wear? Can she not wear it?

I mean... does it matter so much if one's actually wearing veil or not? Isnt it more important that a person to actually practise the values a religion preaches? Surface is nothing. What matters is... the matter, that is, the values.

Shouldnt we debate more important issues like governence, economy, education, etc instead of veil and its inventor?

written by ahmadneil, September 07, 2008 19:17:26
It's scary especially after dark...YAK!I want my girlfriend to show her body contour and her sexiness.
written by kota marudian, September 07, 2008 19:22:59
I am made to wonder what all the fuss is about. Religion is a personal thing. Does it matter if the veil came from the Christians or Muslims. Malaysia is what is most important and making here strong and competitive internationally. Without Malaysia there will be no Malaysians let alone the religions. So let us live in peace with one another and bring peace to the nation. Let us have a government that is transparent and works for the people and the nation. Let us not bicker about each others religion. Remember that a segregated Malaysia is a weak Malaysia. smilies/kiss.gif
written by kota marudian, September 07, 2008 19:25:32
A good Muslim is not what she wears but what is in her heart.
written by indianputra, September 07, 2008 19:33:10
I think it is hightime, we all think out of the box.

Human beings evolve. To evolve they have to survive. To survive, they must be creative.

In Arab countries, sand storm is common. It is in order to prevent the sand getting into the hair, BOTH WOMEN AND MEN of Middle East countries started to wear head gears. Then they realized that the sand is sharp and hurt the tender facilal skin of women. So women started to wear the face veil.

Somehow, these customs became religious and Muslims all over the world and certain Indian Community from India started wearing head gear. However, the human nature is such that religious laws are converted to social laws for convinience. So, they told women to cover themselves from top hair to toes to prevent other men looking at them. IS THAT A RELIGIOUS LAW?

As for Christian Nuns, the gear they wear is simply their UNIFORM and has no religious aura around it. Just like Nurses, who wear similar Uniform.

In Malaysia, where there is no sand storm, I really wonder if the head gear is important.
written by LILIN, September 07, 2008 19:53:49
It does not matter what era the veils r from. the fact remains that xtian women were fully covered in the past.

As for the necessity to wear the 'tudung', it is widely accepted that women can go out of their house without 'tudung' if they do not want to wear them. However, after years of practice and bad examples or experiences, it has been again widely accepted that women should wear veils before leaving their houses in Islamic countries.

The debate here is not about Islamic countries or not but I bet no one here can blame the 'white' women in Germany, UK, France and USA or the Afroamericans who embrace Islam and still wears the 'tudung'.
written by Debbie, September 07, 2008 19:54:53

this article really takes the cake.

First songkok and now tudung.

Aiyah..can we just move on in life. There is more shit happening in malaysia than just an apology , swearing on the koran, what you wear and what i wear,

But I did have a good laugh with this article.

Just waiting for the big day next week. God bless ...oops Allah bless us all

written by LILIN, September 07, 2008 19:55:22
Suddenly the non-Muslims becomes Ulama! Interesting indeed that non-Muslims are so interested in Islamic issues. End of the day the fire of Islam might catch up with them in their hearts! Ameen.
written by A MI, September 07, 2008 19:57:20
I knew it! There will be outcries from people like WANZAH1.

You see religion and least of all Islam will not allow any thinking out of the box. Religion can only perpetuate with blind faith.

Since Islam is a way of life, I often wondered whether some of the doctrines apply in present day. Clothes and undergarments have evolved so much since those times. One issue was the tudung, Then I told myself if billions of Muslims from all over the world from diverse cultures are practicing it, it must be something right especially if it is the word of God and not interpretation of some common mortal.
written by born2reign, September 07, 2008 20:00:47
I like the idea of going bra-less and wear the tudung. Right now I am imagining the few female directors bra-less, with tudung, discussing the price earning ratios. Liberated. Wonder what the male directors are thinking? PE ratios too?

Would Wacoal and Triumph need to close shop? As I understand many Muslims love sexy lingerie for their male partners. It is a pity that so many religion as so focused on the women, cannot wear makeup, hair cannot cut, or must shave the head, cannot wear jewellery, cannot show ankles and wrists (the guys who get turned on by ankles have serious issues). So much is centred around women's law, because the devil knows The One from the woman shall destroy him:
Gen3:15 And I will put enmity Between you [serpent] and the woman, And between your seed and her Seed; He shall bruise your head, And you shall bruise His heel."

Catholics and Muslims and Jews are very concerned about the black letter law. Christians who have received their Saviour have liberty and freedom and are not bounded by these black letter law, but by the Spirit of the Law. Christians are bounded by conduct and deeds and expressions of grace and mercy to other brothers and sisters and unbelievers. We should not judge others otherwise God will judge us with the same measure.

In applying the law with our children, colleagues, thieves and murderers, immoral sinners, neighbours, we must apply the law with love and grace, the end result is not to cause the sinner to be more evil, but to be convicted of their wrong, repent and never do wrong again.

MT, all these dressings and fasting are really a personal issue. A corrupt person sacrificing his food is still an unrepentant sinner, and God shall reject his offering as He had with Cain's for his heart is not right with God. [Gen 4:5]

Lets focus on restoring Malaysian unity, the judiciary, our education for our children's future, the economy to begin with. Please do not stoop the same level as Syed Hamid or JAKIM, Sedition, etc. They are not of good spirit and unless you want to make the devil very happy with his provocations, don't even bother to engage in this type of discussion. It's just like smoking causes cancer, the smoker will find all the reasons and justifications and medical studies even, to support his smoking habit. Likewise UMNO and their demons in suits and religious garments will find all types of "wrongs" with you but are very happy to live with murderers, corrupt officers, womanisers and oppressors, while fasting and sembahyang. Tudung women are no better than non-tudung women, tudung women also have pre-marital and extra-marital sex. We, the non-Muslims are not blind. Those who want to will find a way.

Lets pressure BN on RESULTS of NEP, graduate qualifying standards, incests, divorce rates, broken families, bad habits, financial poverty, - these are the same things we shall expect from PR and any govt in the future.

I promise you ten years from now, the fakes will still be harping about tudung and eating pork.
written by Fairminded, September 07, 2008 20:05:33
It is just a storm in a tea cup, old chaps. It is their choice. As long as they do not force others to do it against their will, frankly it doesnt bother me at all. It is muslims aggressiveness in trying to impose Shariah laws on non Muslims that will stir up resistance. If muslims' insist in enforcing Muslims values on non muslims then dont complain that others are questioning the tundung. If muslims do not want others to question Islam then they should not not question others' believes. That is the basis of separation of state and religion. A secular state is the only way to go in a multi religious multi cultural country. It is a proven concept. If any country that does not separate religion from the state, the religious leaders will try to seize power in the name of God. These leaders are not elected and history had proven, in order to remain in power it will hold back the whole population. Those who oppose their bad policies will be condemned as anti God. They soon think that they are GOD. Countries that had the separation of religion and state are the most advance and rich. Just name me one muslim country that is advanced and its citizens have a high standard of living. The reason is that it is not Islam is a bad religion. It is the religious leaders that distort Islam for their own ends.
written by temenggong, September 07, 2008 20:20:33
Antone who thinks attire has something to do with religion, spirituality or virtue is a fool. We have several million fools in this country who tire not in parading their ignorance and stupidity. Catholic nuns are fools too who know nothing about god. Let us be frank about it. The muslims follow this catholic tradition without once using their head. This is the blind leading the blind!
written by Kopi37, September 07, 2008 20:45:31
How smart a man is depends on how smart he talks and not how smart he wears! Like the talks of PM and Ahmad Ismail recently, they talked all the craps and therefore they are craps and the costume of superman won,t make them superman!!!!Likewise, wearing religious won't make any pious man if he unfaithfully lies to everyone including the Almighty!

Again, if some one has attractive contour and very booby, she sure will not like to put up very messy and heavy garments and will prefer shorts or even naked cover up the sensitive parts with body painting and it's very popular nowadays in Western countries! I am talking about attire and fashion with no slightest defame to religion or anybody and please be refrained from any insult! ...............
written by alarcarte, September 07, 2008 20:47:55
Christians and Muslims actually are sub-folders to the Root Folder(Adam Eve) thus sharing many similar characteristics, much as the Muslim try to deny it!

Both Religions have tudung for the Women, the difference is Muslim women bertudung most of the times and Chritians rarely bertudung except during certain ceremony.

Whether who invented tudung fist, who cares!

written by Alice, September 07, 2008 21:19:08
Just keep your heart pure and clean and you will see God. smilies/grin.gif
written by Fart Fart Wah, September 07, 2008 22:02:42
Catholics and Muslims and Jews are very concerned about the black letter law.

The writer born2reign has a squint-eye view on Catholic matters...
He should educate himself to look deeper into what he is talking about..
If Catholics just follow the black letter of the law( I don't know where this term first appeared) they would not be where they are today ..way ahead in many things regards....human dignity, human rights..pro-life and equal treatment of women and men and justice for those who cannot defend themselves. ( this is definitely upholding the spirit of the law without quoting Bible Verses per se) Yes, I would agree that there have been mistakes made by the Catholic church without exception as in all organizations there are spiritually weak men..who have taken a wrong turn. In sum total the world cannot deny that the CAtholic Church has contributed much to modern civilization in many areas of which even the Muslims are enjoying currently.

As for the tudung..everyone knows that it is not a Muslim invention..but a Christian one.(ask those who have been educated in convents in the 60s and early 70s.)..as for Arabians it is just formal wear before Islam came to the picture...to prevent the sand been blown into ones face in the dry arid
desert...
Enough said one should not force the female population to wear something so as to prevent the male from being tempted or be seduced. i think it is in the mind..if one is brought up spiritually right even if a woman is standing naked in front of a man...he should move away as it is said "with his eyes lowered"
if the right religious education is given .. you will not have what is happening now even with tudung wearing.

written by Kacang Tanah, September 07, 2008 22:05:47
I don’t care whether a person is wearing tudung or not because it doesn’t affect me BUT I hate people smoking in front of me because it affects my health.
written by pedagogical, September 07, 2008 22:17:11
Aiyaa...why fight over tudung? If anyone wants to wear tudung,go ahead,be my guest.....who cares invented them...
written by Forex, September 07, 2008 22:23:39
This topic is irrelavant, there are more important topic to discuss than this.

However, go ****** Tudung Melayu on Youtube, u will be suprised to see many video clip there.
written by wishuponastar, September 07, 2008 22:32:56
written by Alice, September 07, 2008 | 21:19:08
Just keep your heart pure and clean and you will see God.
-----------------------------------------------------------

Dear Alice,
Muslims are told to fear god not love god.
They believe in seeing god only in the next world...not on earth.
The Sufi mystics believe in self-realization and experiencing god,but they are not accepted by dogmatic Islam.They belong to the spiritual group.
This is my understanding of the religion.I stand to be corrected though.
written by gorshan, September 07, 2008 23:08:26
God is a He. if God is a She ,She would have allowed Moslem, Jew and Christian women to decide how to dress and not dictated to by their men. Peace Be Upon Your Puny Brain smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by pulaiman, September 07, 2008 23:16:22
I wonder the real purpose to wear tudung. To my surprise I have personally witnessed many so called religious and pious wearing fancy tudung during office hours decides to go without it for party going reasons!!!!!!!!. I am confused!!!!!! is it normal!!!!!
written by Daryl, September 07, 2008 23:20:47
LOL. Other than nun and sisters I don't see other Christians running around in that outift. Christians are more concern about the reality in the world like drugs, poor people, marginalize people, and things that help people. They try to be moral police but unless you have draconian laws it will be difficult. Churches try to discourage immoral activities and try to influence policies but usually stay away. Bush tried to bring in his brand of religion in politic but at the end other issues are more important than to become moral police like feeding the people and get the economy moving.
written by Daryl, September 07, 2008 23:21:36
Correction:
Churches try to discourage immoral activities and try to influence policies but usually stay away from politic.
written by BUTEK, September 08, 2008 00:07:12
menutup aurat adalah seruan dari ALLAH kepada para nabi dan rasul... ingatlah bahawa adam, daud, isa etc. adalah nabi dan rasul yg membawa risalah ALLAH sebelum nabi muhammad...
written by The dragonheart, September 08, 2008 00:44:47
The writer of the article above seem to assumed that he/she knows hell a lot about Islam...

You are very ignorant person actually...

Islam NEVER invented any "Tudung"...

What Allah Sanction to man and woman is to cover their aurat...

For a women is every thing including her voice except the sole of her feet, palms of her hands and her face.

For a man he must never expose his body to public from the navel down below his knees.

Allah have said in the Quran that Islam is Complete, if there is any dispute refer back to the Hadist and the Quran itself.

Islamic Paradigm is complete. No need to look outside the box anymore because in the Islamic box the ingredients to lead human life is all there and will be relevant till dooms day.

For those unbelievers, please leave us alone. You with your religion we with ours. We never demand your wives and daughters to put in veils. But we will enforce what our Gods wishes that our wives, daughters, sisters and all believer females to cover their aurat...
written by Tompios, September 08, 2008 01:05:18
The problem is Islam don't want anyone involve in their business but unfortunately Islam so much interrupting other religions business. Islam is not the one who is invented 'tudung' to all human races. This practice is the practice of people in Middle East or West Asia long before Jews, Christian or Islam exist. Stupid if people say this 'tudung' belong to their religion practice! Bahalul!! That's the correct term.
written by Docbaker, September 08, 2008 06:02:25
The first picture shows the Ku Klux Klan members in procession!!!
written by Tom n Jerry, September 08, 2008 07:49:06
God is only a word which is only a concept;it means different things to different people;to me God is the Thnee Kong in the Heaven of the 33;to mhayanist buddhists it is Amitabha;to Muslims it is Allah;to christians I dont know what it is ,maybe one form of Allah too!Its best to keep our religious belief to ourself;that most important because religion is for us to relate to the divine;not for wearing on our sleeves! smilies/wink.gif
written by zza11, September 08, 2008 10:16:00
Suddenly someone name Pete is able to unearth the real message about women veil in Islam based solely on the English translation of the Holy Quran. Due to his English proficiency he was able to point out the fact that others learned Muslim and even the companions of the Prophet had failed to see for more than 1400 years. Wow! Pete, you are either a genius or simply crazy.
written by born2reign, September 08, 2008 15:13:57
Batangkali said 'It is a copy cat religion and no wonder Islam is bend on getting rid of the Jews and Christians. - It you destroy the Original, the Copy become the "original".'

Hmm..sounds familiar. Reminds me of someone that wanted to be as good as God [the original, the Creator] and was thrown down from heaven to earth, together with a third of the angels, now recognised as demons.
written by born2reign, September 08, 2008 15:39:07
Why is it that Muslims forbid translation of Quran, but they get their imams and religious teachers to translate to Indonesian or BM or other languages, because they cannot understand Arabic anyway? Whether it is translated in words into a book or ebook, or verbally translated, it is still translated. So who can confirm whether the imams gave the right translation (even though Quran forbids translation)? Therefore if imams give the BM version after he reads in Arabic, then he is doing translation! Nabi Muhammad forbid!

My Indon maids and Malay colleagues have no idea what they quote or pray in Arabic (from what they told me) but they just quote the verses without any understanding.

gorshan said:
God is a He. if God is a She ,She would have allowed Moslem, Jew and Christian women to decide how to dress and not dictated to by their men.

God is a He. He has male attributes as well as female attributes. That is why a husband and his wife is considered as one, and shall not be divided, each complete the other. On the biology side, all human foetus are born female, the male hormones only kick in after 2 weeks - therefore all men were once women! Cool huh! smilies/grin.gif
written by RickK, September 10, 2008 13:46:32
As a Christian,I was very surprised to see someone in the middle East who wore something exactly like the tudung we see here everyday,but the wearer there was a Greek Orthodox Christian nun.
And somewhere else I read that the veil was worn by Persian Christians as a kind of social snobbery.
Makes one ponder.