Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Just showing face is not enough, says Khalid

Just showing face is not enough, says Khalid PDF Print
Saturday, 06 September 2008 22:27

Menteri Besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim today defended his action of not going down to the field to visit storm victims in Selat Klang and Rantau Panjang on Monday because he felt that coming merely to show his face was not an effective move.

For him it was better to make detailed plans so that when he visited the victims, the programmes planned out would run smoothly and the help given would reach the right target.

Abdul Khalid said this today after handing over foodstuff to some of the 1,107 storm victims from Selat Klang.

“I don’t need to get to the ground, it is not effective,” he added. “That is why I want to change this concept, but politicians like to show off. I’m not from that school, I come with all the things.” Meanwhile, Welfare, Women Affairs, Science, Technology and Innovation executive councillor Rodziah Ismail told reporters that other than the Selat Klang victims, some 500 victims from Rantau Panjang also received the aid today.

Besides contributions of foodstuff, she said the government had appointed contractors to rebuild the destroyed houses with a total cost of RM25,000 per house.

She added that the construction of the 20 housing units in the Kapar parliamentary area would begin during the fasting month and expected to be completed after Hari Raya.

- Bernama

written by SocratesI, September 06, 2008 22:35:16

This is the class of political leaders that Malaysia and Malaysians NEED ! Not like the Barisan NAJIS Goons, ada gaya sajka, tak ada MUTU !!

SYABAS ! Khalid ! We are with you ALL THE WAY !!

written by Fatcat, September 06, 2008 22:43:09
Yes Action is always better than words...
written by shan, September 06, 2008 22:52:21

BETTER LATE THEN NEVER
written by SocratesI, September 06, 2008 22:52:53

There are some among us who think there are 30 hours a day, and we can waste time going to face problems without a solution in hand !

Probably never heard of ISO 9000 or 14000 where we should strive for error free performance with NO re-work. This is called Quality Control, and Pakatan RAKYAT reps have QUALITY, not like those Barisan NAJIS IDIOTS who just want their pictures taken with the flood victims !!

written by mrta, September 06, 2008 23:08:39
Way to go Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim! There are many ways to skin a cat, I believe yours more effective. Keep up the good job Tan Sri.
Hidup PR!
written by Bentoh, September 06, 2008 23:22:30
Chinese premiere went down field just right after the earthquake in SzeChuan...

The Chinese premiere had got 1.3 billions Chinese people to look after... hundreds of thousands times more than Selangorians...

SzeChuan as a province of China, is maybe several times bigger than Selangor...

The Chinese premiere touched so many victims and viewers all around the world...

It was all about PR, Public Relation and Image...

Come to think of it... PM was bashed for being disappeared during the Johor flood...
disagree 16
written by malaysia united, September 06, 2008 23:35:08
Khalid, good job! You are way better than the pretentious BN goons.
written by JaguhKampung, September 07, 2008 00:22:26
A corporate person works very differently from a politician.

Just being physically present to take pictures for the press doesn't mean you really care or you have done the job.

Rakyat is not so stupid anymore la.
written by jchew, September 07, 2008 01:13:09
Showing face is important, becuse you will have the first hand knowledge of what happened on the ground. Your follow up action will be must more effective and decisive. Rakyat will feel appreciated and will continue to give you support. Trust me Tan sri Khalid.
written by jchew, September 07, 2008 01:17:46
Going to the dround is not showing off Tan sri Khalid. It is care for the rakyat. Rakyat knows how to differentiate waht is genuine and what is not.
written by jchew, September 07, 2008 01:22:20
If the sdervant of rakyat only appears during election, than the rakyat will abandon in the future. What and who we are now is because of what we did in the past. What we do and offer now will decide what we are in the future, this is the true fact. When it is too late, it will be bloody too late. All action will be a reaction.
written by jchew, September 07, 2008 01:32:06
I am supporting PR and want to see PR do well for rakyat. ALl those who supported the view of going to the ground are correct in their views. Rakyat who is/are suffering will remember you forever for being there for them. Look at Permatang Pauh; those goons form MCA, UMNO, MIC, Gerakan showing faces and giving away money and got what? Rakyat are not stupid.
written by datukbendahara69, September 07, 2008 02:50:52
I think TS Khalid simply doesn't want to meet people with empty hands or promised those victims something he could not deliver later.
written by nocrid, September 07, 2008 05:41:49
To rams609

I don't really care which side you are from because we are more interested in what you are saying. While I respect your freedom to speak...eventhough it's stupid, I rather listen to a statement that is making sense from an UMNO's than yours which is stupid. I can say I speak for almost all the readers here except you of course.

This man here is a businessman. He is doing business here for God's sake and the business is welfare of the people. People of Selangor is lucky they have this man here with them who do real business of welfare of the people. Show face for what? Is he a nurse or doctor or some disaster expert? Any help he could provide professionally on the field? The answer is NO. His job is to quickly plan and send professionals I mentioned to do their real job! Shish!!
written by A MI, September 07, 2008 06:26:29
yeah PR is what BN politicians have been thriving on with thumping applause from the main stream media which incidentally downplays the good work done by PR gomens. Tan Sri Khalid is a wise man and I am sure he weighed the options ...bottom line the people are being given meanigful assistance...house being rebuitl mind you!
written by OilMan, September 07, 2008 07:07:32
Politicians who went to ground zero only wants to gain publicity. Effective measures needs to be planned and executed. Only then the leader must determine that the measures taken are effective and has reached the target victims.
written by macanhitam, September 07, 2008 07:38:33
aiyah, you bamboozles so problematic one? tan sri khalid come late or early also the catastrophe happen already. for me coming late or coming early doesnt matter as long help comes. in this case i rather tan sri khalid come late with some help, rather than coming early with no help.

cmon use ur brains. tan sri khalid is a politician with an entrepreneurial mind. he works his ways better than some, especially those pretentious BN shenanigans.
written by InEffective, September 07, 2008 09:34:24

Looks like we got a winner on our hands - finally a genuine administrator.
Keep him, support him, allow him to work his magic - your lives will flourish.
written by rams609, September 07, 2008 09:37:26
nocrid,
"This man here is a businessman. He is doing business here for God's sake and the business is welfare of the people. People of Selangor is lucky they have this man here with them who do real business of welfare of the people. Show face for what? Is he a nurse or doctor or some disaster expert? Any help he could provide professionally on the field?"

Whoa! A business man who is an MB or MB who is a business man? You got sold out man. By giving out that kind of statement he was also using it for his PR image so that he'll look smarter than his precedessors. I am all for him giving out help. But I think to touch the people at that very hour is also important. Read Bentoh's comment above which is spot on.

written by capcomangel, September 07, 2008 10:27:21
pro Be'eNd newspaper start attack Mr'Khalid today. they try to report bad to Mr'Khalid.
written by ibabonma, September 07, 2008 10:48:38
Remember that Arif Shah 'masuk longkang' just to show off infront of our TV?
Just like Chiew Mei Fun of wanita MCA, every week she would be standing in rubish dumps or near clogged drain at SS2 PJ and act like a tomboy model. Bodoh punya politicians.
written by Mahyuddin Mahzan, September 07, 2008 10:52:00
Khalid's decision was rite. wats the point of going there to show face without proper planning, its a waste of tax payers money and time. anyway, the local assemblyman can do the scouting for him, tat is if he do his job well la.
written by chiongguo, September 07, 2008 11:22:07
I don't read any of the main stream media, I have very little respect if any for the BN. I think they are a bunch of crooks who had plundered the nation's coffer and now even threatened to create chaos and pandemonium in the country.

I support PR not because of DSAI or Lim Kit Siang or his son or Hadi Awang or Nik Aziz. I support them because their values resonated clearly with my conscient. Does that mean that PR will do no wrong ? If we blindly follow labels and personalities without really thinking, a day will come that we even say that their shit is blessed with heavenly fragrant.

It is amazing how Rams609 was bashed beyond recognition because he held a different view.

My view is this. In disaster situation the country already, or shoud have, in place disaster allevation plans. This means that in the first 24 hours everything is already in place to be moved out. Khalid doesn't have to think and plan. What he needed to do perhaps was the mid-term and long term consideration. This takes time and need to collect a lot of facts and data to see how the folks in the area had been impacted.

When a person as important as Khalid showed up it will help bring a sense of relief to many people. This is simple psychology especially for those traumatised by the event. It is also an easy way of showing compassion and understanding. A lot of times what people needed more during such traumatic times is assurances. If Khalid had overlooked such a simple gesture it would be gentlemanly of him to acknowledge it and apologise and not give some silly excuses. If he objected to the photo opportunity than he could easily instructed the media not to show him or for the media to respect the privacy of the victims.

Buddha spoke of 3 types of people who talks. And only one type you should listen to. Which category I am in depend very much on which category you are in.

So bash away smilies/cool.gif