Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow I didn't do anything wrong

I didn't do anything wrong PDF Print
Saturday, 06 September 2008 16:50

That is the stand from the man who sparked off a storm over his racial comments on Chinese Malaysians.

Mr Ahmad Ismail is not budging despite Deputy Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak apologising on his behalf earlier this week, reported Malaysiakini.

This is Mr Ahmad's first public comment on the matter since the controversy erupted last week.

The Bukit Bendera Umno division chief said he did not feel sorry and would not recant his alleged racist remarks made during a rally for the by-election campaign in Permatang Pauh.

The Penang Umno division leader told Malaysiakini in a phone interview: 'As far as I am concerned, I did not say or do anything wrong. So why should I apologise?'

He argued that 'one is innocent until proven guilty', and slammed the way the public, as well as the media, has judged him.

Mr Ahmad said he would be giving a statement at a press-conference on the matter this Saturday, after a state liaison committee meeting chaired by Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

Mr Ahmad denied being racist, saying he had been friends with many Chinese and Indian Malaysians since his childhood.

He told Malaysiakini: 'I have never been racist and will never be. It is rubbish to suggest that I am a racist.'

The controversy started when, during a Barisan Nasional by-election rally in Kampung Belah Dua on Aug 25, Mr Ahmad allegedly uttered seditious remarks describing the Chinese as 'immigrants squatting in the country, thus were not entitled to equal rights in Malaysia'.

The former municipal councillor also questioned the Chinese community's willingness to share its wealth with other races.

Many Malaysian reporters camped outside the Central Seberang Perai (SPT) district police headquarters over the past two days after Mr Ahmad was summoned by the police over those remarks.

In response to those who said he was dodging the media, Mr Ahmad said it was wrong for reporters to accuse him of avoiding them when he did not 'invite, inform or call them to camp outside the SPT police headquarters'.

Last night, Mr Ahmad gave his statement at the state police headquarters in Georgetown after police reports were lodged against him by political parties MCA, Gerakan and DAP, reported the Star.

The case is being investigated under Section 4(1)(B) of the Sedition Act 1948, which carries a fine not exceeding RM5,000 or a minimum three years' jail, or both upon conviction.

DPM's apology

Mr Ahmad's alleged remarks sparked a nationwide furore forcing DPM Najib to apologise to the minority community.

On Tuesday, he said: 'We have never considered the Chinese, Indians and other races in Malaysia as lodgers (penumpang). They (the non-Malays) are citizens with full rights and we will continue to protect their rights and dignity.'

Joining in, Mr Abdullah urged all non-Malays to disregard this remark, saying it was not reflective of an Umno stance but a personal opinion.

Despite these overtures, many demand Mr Ahmad personally apologise.

Mr Ahmad's defiance is set to galvanise the Chinese community for another round of outrage.

- The Electric New Paper

written by rocky, September 06, 2008 17:42:54
share wealth? Oh he is upset that they never share wealth with him...is that the beef? He not rich enough ka?

the chinese pay taxes la and the most according to Tun Mahatir.

This guy is digging his hole deeper.

Please do not divide and rule malaysians. we the people have seen thru the likes of Ahmad and UMNOPutras who want a divided malaysia so that they can remain in power and enrich themselves. and people have spoken via 8th March and 26th August.
written by Engineer, September 06, 2008 17:51:27
The only way to save the face of fellow malays is to charge him under Sedition Act and incarcerate him for 20 years and during his 20 yrs incarceration he has to write 1000 "I and sorry for calling chinese penumpang " lines everyday.

written by tehewe, September 06, 2008 18:03:10
For a guy who has demolished his bungalow to build a bigger one and staying in a pent house while waiting for his new Istana, what rubbish is he talking about Chinese not wanting to share their wealth. Obviously, he and Zakaria (Klang) must be real close brothers!Pak Hamid, you should throw the ISA at this guy!
written by karyeowl, September 06, 2008 18:17:48
Joining in, Mr Abdullah urged all non-Malays to disregard this remark, saying it was not reflective of an Umno stance but a personal opinion.

This is what the Sleepy One said, but the whole UMNO Penang is behind this Mr Ahmad Ismail. I don't know how many UMNO divisions are sharing the same thought as Mr Ahmad Ismail. My guess is a lot more are having the same thought.
written by budakindia, September 06, 2008 18:42:55
======================================================= =================================

But why did you charge Pete with all sorts of offenses? That's his personal view too! Why did his site been blocked? It's his site and he can say whatever he wanted! Why the double standard huh? Is it because he's an UMNO man and Pete's not? smilies/angry.gif
written by malaysia united, September 06, 2008 19:09:14
I believe someone must have recorded this Ahmad's racist remarks. Just replay the audio file and end of story!
written by gorshan, September 06, 2008 19:24:59
aiyoo...cakap bohong bukan menghina agama islam kah?

kalau sudah salah cakap tu..minta sorry saja..habis cerita.. kalau kamu ikhlas akan tambah ramai lagi orang undi parti kamu .kamu tahu tak apa itu damage control?smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Sudahlah tu, September 06, 2008 21:15:06
Ini bukan pasal salah ataupun betul ..lah.
Ini bagai C4 di dalam tembok UMNO yang akan meletup ...lah.
Kalau berlaku letupan nanti ....bocor lubang besar.
Musuh akan senang masuk dan menawan kubu yang selama ini kebal ...
Proses pemikiran awak tidak seluas yang diidamkan oleh MT UMNO.
Ini pasti menjadi satu tanda pertanyaan , bagaimana proses pemilih ketua cawangan dlakukan ...... politik RM....kah ?
written by Fart Fart Wah, September 06, 2008 21:53:25
rpk IS BEING CHARGED BY THE RELIGIOUS AUTHORITIES FOR INSULTING ISLAM.

HERE IS ANTOHER EXAMPLE OF WHAT RPK IS TALKING ABOUT..AN UMNO MUSLIM WHO INSULTS ISLAM..PRACTICES HYPCRISY AND SHAMES THE REST OF THE MUSLIM WORLD..
AS A TRUE MUSLIM LEADER HE SHOULD FOLLOW THE TEACHINGS OF THE PROPHET..
is HE?????
OR DOES HE WANT TO SWEAR ON THE KORAN HE DIDN'T SAY IT..ANOTHER ONE OF umno'S
TACTICS..
SO THE 13 UMNO DIVISIONS WHO SUPPORT A RECALCITRANT MUSLIM...ARE YOU ALL
TRULY FOLLOWING ISLAMIC TEACHINGS?????
written by allmenarebrothers, September 06, 2008 22:13:07
AhMAD has lost the faculty to think, understand & rationalise. He can't differentiate between right & wrong. This is because Racism had got the better of him. He is MAD and it is dangerous for the Rakyat to have him running loose. He is only safe for the Rakyat only if he is chained in the mental hospital in Tanjong Rambutan or Tampoi. Look at his face & you will see a MAD man in him.
He is a shame to his parents & ancestors!
written by trublumalaysian, September 06, 2008 22:44:24
This sad state of affairs is one of UMNO's brewing. Being stupid, ignorant, arrogant and foolish is something they're comfortable with as, they're flush with cash. And not necessarily does that make them wise but just, otherwise.

The late Zakaria paid the price for his sheer arrogance; the money he owned via UMNO and the way he died .... Only the almighty is capable of teaching the likes of Ahmad the road to hell.
written by Highway16, September 06, 2008 23:18:13
Look at yourself. You and your thick pig skin still couldn't admit.

The whole world is saying you are a racist. Stand up like a man, not on four legs like a pig. Admit and go on with your life.

written by pokokmangga, September 07, 2008 02:53:04
Dare him to swaer on the Quran.
written by InEffective, September 07, 2008 10:11:52

So we have in Malaysia, the brain-impaired politician who believes and preaches that politicians should have no accountability for their actions and behavior. (looks like he believe he has the passport to commit any crime, and a get out-of-jail card because he is UMNO, and because he believes UMNO leaders will take no action).

Just about every citizen in every nation holds the believe that anyone who exerts and inflicts racial abuse, racial-pressure, and racial-pain is disgusting and reprehensible and revolting, and must never ever be allowed to get away with such behavior, and must be brought to account.

The sole exception of the above worldview beliefs are the racial oppressors (ex : south african white afrikaaners, malaysia's umno, american white masters of slavery period etc..), and naturally all their tacit supporters and collaborators such as the racist cowards in MCA, Gerakan, and MIC who also perpetrate such behavior with their acceptance and tolerance and lack-of-backbone to stand up for people's basic right, and freedoms, and protection).

Good luck Malaysia ... looks like we are header for doom - unless we the people believe in the sense of fairness, the rights for every person of the human species (regardless of race or religion) to have the right to a life of dignity free of abuse.

Do you believe that politicians are NOT accountable for the actions and behavior ?