Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Defiant Ahmad demands apology

Defiant Ahmad demands apology PDF Print
Saturday, 06 September 2008 08:36

GEORGE TOWN: Bukit Bendera Umno division chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail has not only refused to apologise over his alleged racist remark but has demanded that Gerakan acting president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon and Chinese community leaders apologise to him instead for asking him to express regret.

Ahmad said these leaders, including those in Barisan Nasional, had “blindly” made unnecessary comments to inflame the issue.

“Dr Koh is diverting from his own weakness by claiming that this issue resulted in Barisan Nasional’s defeat in the Permatang Pauh by-election.

“He should accept the fact that the Chinese no longer support him or Gerakan. Therefore, there is no need for him to look for a scapegoat,” he said during a one-hour press conference at Menara Umno here yesterday.

At the press conference, state Umno liaison committee deputy chairman Datuk Abdul Rashid Abdullah said Umno’s 13 divisions in the state supported Ahmad’s decision not to apologise over his remark.

Ahmad, who read out his 16-page statement to a room packed with pressmen and Umno supporters, reminded Umno leaders not to be weak and get carried away by taking care of the feelings of others while being insensitive to the feelings of the Malays.

He said he wanted the reporter who reported his alleged remark in a Chinese newspaper to apologise to him, his family, friends, the Malay community and Muslims for “manipulating” his speech at Kampung Pelek on Aug 23 at a ceramah held during the Permatang Pauh by-election.

“I am not denying that I made the statement but I had merely said that the Chinese were squatters in the country then because that is a fact and furthermore, at that point in my speech, I was referring to the pre-Merdeka days,” he said.

It was the reporter who deliberately turned this statement into a racial and sensitive issue, he said.

“I am not going to apologise as I do not owe any apology to anyone on this issue. I have done nothing wrong,” he said.

After the press conference, Ahmad told reporters that even though he respected Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s advice to him to apologise, he had his own principles.

- The Star

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by lamakawan, September 06, 2008 08:54:17
What are you talking about, Ahmad, asking people to apologise to you?. What have they done to you?. You had remarked and bad mouthed the people at permatang Pauh. You are the one responsible to apologise. To be frank to you, you have a body of a full grown man But sad to say you have a mind of a 5 year old. you do not know what you are saying, by asking people to apologise to you.
written by varvoom, September 06, 2008 08:55:46
ahmad ismail should be hung, quartered and his parts given to all the different community to be barbequed. I will keep his little willy for my dogs.
written by jameschua, September 06, 2008 09:02:07
Please readers understand that Ahmad Ali BELONGs to the Mahathir UMNO fraction, the grouping of bigots that created the theory of pendatangs to the demise of the minorities.

Dont fall for his arguments - he is trying to ensure the fall of Badawi so that the Mahathir camp will lead UMNO again.

Only ask yourself, why should you continue to support the existence of such parties, which are the root cause of racism in Malaysia.
written by lamakawan, September 06, 2008 09:02:14
Keep the racist remarks in your kampong for your members consumption. The chinese people do not need you to tell them they had migrated to malaysia or to England or to USA or to Timbuktu. They had a history of over 5000 years. they know where they wanted to go. You talk like a stupid fool. you only wanted the UMNO members to vote for you in December to get into a higher position. You don't care for BN's misery in March 8 elections. What you should do is to try and get the peoples support to recover from the bad results of the last elections Instead you are wreaking havoc to BN partners. BN lost in permatang Pauh is because of your selfish remarks and your indiscriminate attitude towards other BN partners. BN will be better off if you can go to USA and tell the people that migrated from England that they are squatters in USA. The red INdins will love you.
written by LTn, September 06, 2008 09:03:10
Ini lah MELAYU dalam unmo bn dia (ahmad ahjing) yang tercirit dalam seluar dia tuduh orang lain kentut....
written by kingelvis, September 06, 2008 09:05:12
Will the REAL Bumiputras stand up and say who are the PENDATANGS!!
written by Ann Meng Sim, September 06, 2008 09:09:45

We all feel so sorry for your family for they have to live with you. You are rude beyond description. The heavens above will see that you get what you deserve.
written by lamakawan, September 06, 2008 09:12:23
If you didnt agree to what was reported of your ceramah at Permatang Pauh, why didnt you come out to object to he report on the next day. Why waited for more than a week to say that the reporter had misquoted you and you like to sue him. Well just sue him and don't create unrest for us, the peaceful rakyat of Penang who had nothing to do with you or your family. We don't want to hear your silly comments or whatever you wanted to say to your other BN partners to apologise or what not. Please keep your foolish remarks in your tempurong for your family to consume when you are retired so that they would know you are a hero to tell the world that the sqatters Chinese are inferior to you who is a greater squatter in your kampong.
written by Racheljansz, September 06, 2008 09:12:33
demanded that Gerakan acting president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon
...that how UMNOputra have been treating the dogs.
Time for Gerakan and MCA to rethink and regain their dignity.
Leave the BN!
Leave it to the pirates!
Join the Rakyat!
Join Pakatan Rakyat!
written by talk2stop, September 06, 2008 09:15:11
Racisms, discrimination and colour blind whatever you call it, is always will be with us from cradle to the grave. We have to live with that. I have been living in Australia for many years do I feel discriminated at times? Absolutely! Do you think a white man living in China not discriminated? Do you think if his/her kids born in China are called a Chinese? What do you think? I can handle the discrimination in Australia because it is the “people” that discriminate me. See what happen you (a slope) walk into a pub in country town full of whites? Just don’t make any stupid gesture giving them a reason to bash you up.
The beauty of Australia, the government & law protect me. There are such laws in Malaysia but not enforce and the worst part the government teaming up to discriminate me, others and the minority. I am not saying it bad but it is definitely not RIGHT.
Now you have it. I am the lucky one that pack and go.
written by ohuat, September 06, 2008 09:29:09
MCA or MIC should try call Malay "pendatang" and let's see the consequences. smilies/smiley.gif
written by michael chick, September 06, 2008 09:44:41
written by gx27, September 06, 2008 09:46:47
the True colour of a typical amno bus sturd.
but he is doing pakatan rakyat a favour, destroying amno's reputation for making such remarks together amno’s 13 divisions in the state supported his decision not to apologise over his remark.

His mission to destroy amno in penang is accomplished!!smilies/smiley.gif
written by alpha1, September 06, 2008 09:50:49
varvoom, give his stinking flesh to the community to bbq and spare some for your dog? U muz b kiddin us! His stinko parts are not even fit for dogs, so i advise that you don't leave any for your poor dog, otherwise it'll end up becoming a racist dog just ike that racist pig Ahmad! smilies/angry.gif
written by Bigjoe99, September 06, 2008 09:53:36
The thing to note for Sabah and Sarawak is this. These UMNO Penang guys are not in the mood to share with them also. These guys are all fat cats and think they owe nothing including all the oil revenue they get from Sabah and Sarawak. With clowns like these, Sabah and Sarawak has no hope of ever being given their fair share of spoils of BN...
written by alpha1, September 06, 2008 09:57:57
Ohuat, If MCA or MIC call those malays pendatang, the answer is , there'll be another May 13th! Honestly, only those Malays with brains of the size of a peanut will utter silly statements like this. I do have many malay friends whom are more open minded, especially those who have been abroad. Malays are generally nice ppl except for a few that crossbreed with ....? smilies/wink.gif
written by sonofmalaysia, September 06, 2008 10:02:51
Ahmad Ismail, yes no need to apology, carry on making more recist remark.

Yes, we need more moron like you to Sink UMNO faster.
written by Bigjoe99, September 06, 2008 10:03:29
Ahmad has to apologize to the tax papers and parents and teachers for wasting their education on him...
written by joejoe, September 06, 2008 10:26:32
Arsemad

Imagine if someone in John McCain's campaign talking about the African-Americans being slaves in the past, and they should not demand for equal rights, and that Obama is not fit to be president.

Think , for a moment , what that sounds, and how similar it would be to what you said.

You are a farking racist. That's what you are.
written by ilovepakatan, September 06, 2008 10:29:21
STUPID AHMAD!

We may be "Pendatang" but at least we are not like you because you are behaving like "Binatang".

How can such an imbecile be a leader? He should stay with the cannibals.
written by Sagaladoola, September 06, 2008 10:30:29
Amazing, it is he who said some other people are squatters and now the leaders of these people have to apologise to him?

Goodness gracious..
written by ultraman, September 06, 2008 10:46:07
Forget about him la! Why so worked up by irresponsible statements?
We want to live peacefully with one another. Malays, Chinese and Indians arejust like brothers and sisters in Kampung ad rural areas. It is the politicians who are irresponsible.
Let us move on. the longer this issue drag on , the more popular this guy would be. Let us forget him, okay?
written by Highway16, September 06, 2008 10:51:53
Melays are "pendatangs". The native of Malaysia is Orang Asli, not the racist Melayu. Sabah and Sarawak have their own natives, like Iban, Kadazan, Murut, etc.

So, Melayu, where do you stand? Pendatang and Penumpang!
written by YSL, September 06, 2008 10:56:11
Two words: pergi matilah
written by KTRaj, September 06, 2008 11:10:17
Ahmad, just go to SUMPAH on Quran. You can even say you never give speech on that night.
written by varvoom, September 06, 2008 11:26:11
roger2 alpha1 i'll sent it jakim
written by Alice, September 06, 2008 11:36:37
Ahmad knows NO BETTER thats why he talks like that

POOR GUY

I WILL PRAY FOR YOU AHMAD SO THAT YOU CAN HUMBLE YOURSELF BEFORE YOU ARE HUMBLED!!
written by Tsunami08, September 06, 2008 11:39:49
At a time like this, when leadership is most required, none is seen. This summarises the hallmark of the Abdullah Badawi-Najib Tun Razak administration - the inability to exert authority assertively and impartially on controversial issues such as this.

Come on, Pak Lah, stop being a nice guy and do your job of disciplining your ilks before the nation catches fire, or is it you who wants the nation on fire for your own ends?

written by gx27, September 06, 2008 14:59:32
PR please open the file for this ar-mad and expose whatever scam he was or is involved in penang!

may be he is trying to be a hero and trying to divert the attention to other issues apart from the report by LGE.
written by Woman in Malaysia, September 06, 2008 15:00:08
If the moronic Ahmad Ismail wants to talk about pre-Merdeka days, then let's examine the origins of the Malays.

From Library Quest:

The Malays originated in Yunnan, China. The Proto-Malays were also known as Jakun.

They were seafaring people. Probably because of their seafaring way of life or trading, they were believed to have lived in coastal Borneo. They then expanded into Sumatra and the Malay Peninsula. A Portuguese historian, Godinho de Eredia, referred to the Malays as Saletes (Orang Selat, or People of the Straits).

From Wikipedia:

The Encyclopedia of Malaysia, volume: Early History, has pointed out a total of 3 theories of the origin of Malay:

The Yunnan theory, Mekong river migration (published 1889)
The New Guinea theory (published 1965)
The Taiwan theory (published 1997)

The ancestors of Malays are believed to be seafarers who are well knowledged in Oceanography, they move around from island to island in great distances between New Zealand and Madagascar, and they served as navigation guide, crew and labour to Indian, Persian and Chinese traders for nearly 2000 years, and over the years they settled at various places and adopted various cultures and religions.

So Ahmad, you are also a descendent of an immigrant. Therefore, shut up and stop demanding for any rights.
written by latihanQ, September 06, 2008 17:18:17
There is no honor amongst thieves. Badawi, Najib, KTK, OTK. Ahmad Ismail This bunch has something in common. They are toxic. They are birds of a feather. Malaysians must keep a safe distance from them. They pillage and they fight among themselves for a share of the spoils.
written by Tom n Jerry, September 07, 2008 08:32:22
My grandmother is a local born bumiputra form Bundu Tuhan;my grandpa came from Fujian ,China in 1908 when the great meteorite strike earth in Siberia!My grandparents married in 1919 in Labuan!my father was born in Labuan in 1922;he was classified as Chinese,following the father*s race;today all my siblings are also classified as chinese,following my father!But we did get apply for the *sino*certificate-anak negeri and was rightly placed as bumiputras after its issue in 1963 when Malaysia was formed!Today I am not sure which is which;am I Chinese or bumiputra?Can anyone clarify?