Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Gerakan to review its position in BN if...

Gerakan to review its position in BN if... PDF Print
Friday, 05 September 2008 22:41

KOTA BAHARU, Sept 5 - Gerakan will review its position in Barisan Nasional (BN) if the component parties, especially Umno, fail to bring about change so as to restore people's confidence in the ruling coalition, says acting party president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon.

Stressing that Gerakan was no "yes man" party, Koh, however, said the party would not be hasty and would give a "reasonable" time before taking any action.

He said Gerakan would continue to demand for reforms and change in BN but if the efforts failed, the party would review its position in BN.

"We won't be hasty in our actions. We are a responsible party, so the time frame given will be reasonable before taking action," he told reporters after opening the Kelantan Gerakan delegates' conference, here today.

Koh, who is also former Penang Chief Minister, said BN's symbol, the scale,  which represented justice and unity for all races, must be imbibed by all BN component parties.

Koh said what Gerakan wanted was a change in attitude and approach, as well as reviving the spirit of consultation that was fairer among the BN components so that all the parties' voices would be heard and taken into consideration for the BN agenda.

"There needs to be a change in many other aspects. The BN's symbol of the scale denotes fairness and equality, and this needs to be put into practice in all fields. This is the original spirit of BN, but perhaps after some time because we are so busy with our things and think more about ourselves, we forget (about this spirit)."

He said initial efforts had been made by Gerakan to bring about change in BN but it was still too early to see the results.

"We will give a reasonable time frame, then we will see the situation," he added.

However, Koh admitted that change had started happening in BN but Gerakan thought it was still not enough.

"We in the BN Supreme Council and Management Committee had been meeting more often in the last five months compared with five years ago.

"This is a good start. We discussed many issues which need to see changes but these cannot happen in one or two months," he said.

Koh said Gerakan also wanted to see closer and more genuine cooperation among the BN component parties.

He said BN leaders also needed to listen to the voices of the people, including the voices of dissatisfaction which had begun to be heard from within BN itself.

"It has not been easy for me to deal with this. The people's voice must be considered. So, we want to demand for genuine change in BN and its component parties, and we would cooperate to achieve this," he added.

- Bernama

written by cheekhiaw, September 05, 2008 22:49:12
Message from VK Lingam to Gerakan:

It looks like a scale, smells like a scale but it sure ain't a scale.

written by joejoe, September 05, 2008 22:50:39
the party would not be hasty and would give a "reasonable" time before taking any action.

Dear Yes Man. You have been waiting forever to do anything. You can't make decisions. You do not deserve to be where you are.

UMNO Penang now demands that you to apologize for being "immature". So, what are you going to do? What is your stand? Or you can't stand? Your so-called demands to UMNO has been turned down, and you are now asked to apologize for asking in the first place.

This is the biggest test of your leadership -- which was zero to begin with.
written by Highway16, September 05, 2008 22:51:50
You don't get the message yet, do you?

Ahmad just ask the Chinese to get lost!

You and your thick skin is still trying to figure out what you should do.

Damm, thought you were smarter!
written by asguard, September 05, 2008 23:01:36
Don't have to look further whether need to remained within the BN ... please see what latest remarks from from the mouth of Ahmad UMNO Bukit Bendera Division.... and please don't say never.. or they won't do it again... but they just did it again... so what is your response?
written by KARMANNGHIA, September 05, 2008 23:13:15
Hi GERAKANese, these Penang UMNO big shots just said that your top guy puts the blame of your dismal election result on his statement.

and you still want to stomach this? after he has insulted your forefathers and your political leader?

Don't you have balls?

written by shamadz72, September 05, 2008 23:18:03
Waah... Koh Tsu Khoon looks like he started to grow some hairs between his balls smilies/smiley.gif
written by kc respect, September 05, 2008 23:22:37
When you needed a Rotweiler, a Chi-hua-hua came along.
Those pendatang dari Indonesia are pissing on you and you are still "reviewing".
written by Goldfinger, September 05, 2008 23:26:18
That scale is for the goons to timbang how much to cheat from the rakyats!!! Get it!
That scale had been tampered with since mamak's era. Only the blind can't read what is so clearly registered on it's surface...how sad.
Now do you understand why everything it's so dark,so illegal,so unlawful and sinful about this scale?
Still cannot see-ah? Then you padan muka with what you are served....just eat all their shits and may you chocked on it...and get lost forever!!!
written by ganbing, September 05, 2008 23:27:21
Another timid statement by Koh Tsu Koon. He talks like he will never leave BN. What is all this about giving reasonable time? Koh dare not even talk about change in Umno, he keeps harping about change in BN when it's abundantly clear that it Umno which needs to change. Do you think you even have an iota of chance of reforming Umno? After the fierce attack on him and Gerakan is this all that Koh can say? For the love of God, pick up your dignity and GO!

Quote from malaysiakini report, “Penang Umno backs Ahmad, snubs Pak Lah”

Ahmad called Gerakan acting president Dr Koh Tsu Koon as a “great liar and opportunist”, and said Gerakan can always “get out from Barisan Nasional”.

He even claimed BN would not have lost in Penang in the last general election if not for the incompetency of former chief minister Koh and Gerakan.

“MCA could have won more seats if not for Gerakan,” he claimed.

He accused Koh and Gerakan of seizing the opportunity by using him as a pawn to resurrect their waning credibility, position and relevance among the Chinese community.

written by ganbing, September 05, 2008 23:28:45
"Waah... Koh Tsu Khoon looks like he started to grow some hairs between his balls" - shamadz72

But I still don't see any balls!
written by slim8, September 05, 2008 23:43:56
It is a waste of time hanging around with UMNO. They are only interested in their rights and money. Gerakan have been a begger for too long. It has been long overdue you stand up for yourself and join the unbias unracist party. I hope you can now see the true racist color of UMNO!
written by chiongguo, September 05, 2008 23:59:02
Dr.Koh failed to understand the human dynamics and as such he can never be a good leader. When a person or a group of persons change against their will , against their natural instincts are of the same opinion still. There will nver be any real or meaningful change with the current group of leaders.

The best option, to my mind, is to leave BN. All these ultimatums to UMNO - change or else - will never foster any meaningful or long term change for the better. The current state of BN in general and UMNO in particular had reached such a low in their credibility that any association will only lead to more problems, more distrust in the near future.

The wise thing to do is to leave. Whether you would join PR or not is less important.

written by LALILOo, September 06, 2008 00:03:33
Gerakan and MCA finally claimed back some of the supporters that they had lost since March 8 by defending the chinese in the Ahmad Ismail racial controversy.

The man has spoken. There will be no apology coz he did no wrong. It is the chinese leaders that owes him an apology.

So what say you, Koh Tsu Koon and Ong Ka Ting? The ball is at your feet now.

Are you guys gonna up the ante and issue him an ultimatum or you gonna be a good servant and quietly go back to your corner and shut up?
written by Krepot, September 06, 2008 00:04:21
Chinese people of Penang are saying:

Wah! Why you so stupid one ah!?

Lucky we voted you buggers out!
written by Sam W, September 06, 2008 00:12:38
UMNO Penang, your home state, just told you to go fuc*k yourself, and still you are saying give them one more chance? Where did you get your doctorate? Are you in any position to deliver ultimatums? You must be the most stupid two-legged, upright mammal to walk this planet.
written by CSum, September 06, 2008 00:18:25
hey Koh you stooopid nerd,

since your brain is so screwed up that you can't even tell between good and evil... I wish that by the time you finally made up your mind to join PR, PR has closed it's door and you will have to go home and f*** yourself.
written by chanatak, September 06, 2008 00:38:43

Hoi! you forgot! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gifThe saliva spewing bumbler senior member of yours just said that you are not strong enough to stand up against the corrupt UMNO demands. You said "Yes" every time.

You guys are tripping all over yourselves lah!

smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Mag M, September 06, 2008 00:50:22
Dear Dr Koh and the whole party of Gerakan and MCA, Listen to the people. Get out of Barisan. Please, don't you have any pride in yourselves. You guys really make us sick with all the stupid reasons. Join PKR.
written by rakyatmalaysia, September 06, 2008 01:17:44
Hey Gerakan,

Ahmad jsut asked you to bang ball and quit if you dont feel like being in BN. So wat u gonna do ? lick their ass and flush your pride in the dustbin by being in BN ?

cant change these buggers.. same like umno's moto

DULU, KINI, SELAMA-LAMA NYA
written by mimi76, September 06, 2008 01:21:28
I am a malay, but I am really sad to see that UMNO is acting like bunch sore losers. And to the the non malays in Barisan Najis, please try to have a little bit of 'Maruah' and move out of BN and move to Pakatan Rakyat, where the grass is greener.
written by Kathy, September 06, 2008 01:23:00
What have you been all this while? Nothing but a "yes sir, no sir, three bagsful sir" man all this while. It is only when you see you are losing support to DAP and Keadilan that you change your tune. Time you shut up shop. smilies/grin.gif
written by fireduck, September 06, 2008 01:31:10
Lee Kah Choon is looking better and better by the day. He is one smart gy to know when to get out of the rats-infested ship.
written by Ulan Benson, September 06, 2008 02:12:25
What stopping you from leaving BNs is only $$$$. You couldn't do anything except licking your Master UM=Noputras's asses. Look at Ahmad now, what can you do?

To Koh....Stop fooling around, get a proper job and start a honest life, not licking Ahmad's ass for a few $$$.
written by Anak Desa, September 06, 2008 05:37:59
Hi... at least now Gerakan leadership has the balls to say that.
There is three angles which Gerakan can analyse,that is :
1. Stay in BN and try to change for the betterment.Rope in multiracial parties like PPP,SUPP,SNAP,PRS,LDP,SAPP,PBS,PBRS,UPKO and many like minded parties to form a single party within the BN coalition to make the changes.
2. If UMNO never change, then leave the coalition and do what?? Either to join Pakatan Rakyat to become one of the party but the catch is whether the present Keadilan, DAP, and PAS would like to get their seat quotas to accomodate another multi race /lingual party or become the third front?
3. In the third front, either Gerakan stand alone or bring the merged coalition of the splinter parties from BN,to form a strong single party with attractive drawn constitution to accomodate all races /parties to reflect the the nation composition and multi-faces.
So in all three choices, the Gerakan members and other party members must think broadly with astute thinking and thoughts for the beterment of the Rakyat and the country.
written by Kacang Tanah, September 06, 2008 08:02:05
Simple arithmatic 2 (Gerakan) 15 (MCA) = 17
PKR needs only 13 more and UMNO is finished.
written by temenggong, September 06, 2008 10:27:02
We won't be hasty in our actions.

Does Gerakan think it is being 'too hasty' after trying to work within BN for 40 years, and leading to utter failure?
written by Chialat, September 06, 2008 10:44:50
gerakan & mca should just leave bn and become a single party, a multiracial party. you don't have to join pr. for the moment you should support whoever and vote for those who have the best policy which benefits the rakyat most in parliament.
liaw tiong lai said since mca is not in the wrong, umno is the one should leave bn. please show me if mca can sack umno or ask umno to leave bn. or you can just issue a show-course letter to umno. please don't insult the intellegence of people with the stupid statement!