Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Why apologise? Dr M asks government

Why apologise? Dr M asks government PDF Print
Friday, 05 September 2008 16:43

(The Malaysian Insider) Why did the government allow the Hindu Rights Action Force's alleged racist remarks to go unchallenged while being very apologetic towards racial accusation against Umno leaders?

That's what Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad wants to know. He also wonders why ministers of Indian origin or other Indian community leaders are not required to apologise for Hindraf's alleged racial views.

The former premier is bringing up again the "us and them" problem, directing his anger towards the government for being allegedly defensive.

Citing the Hindraf memorandum which was sent to the British government last year, Dr Mahathir said there were many extreme and racist words used such as "Islamic extremist, violent armed terrorists", "ethnic cleansing", "mini genocide" to describe the government's alleged action against the Indians in Malaysia.

"The writings in the Hindraf memorandum are not only racist but seditious. The question is why the government is lopsided, hiding the racist remarks of Hindraf but reporting widely on what have been said by Malay leaders," he wrote in his blog today.

He said race relations had gone worse after the March 8 general election, adding that he too might be accused of contributing to the bad situation through his writing.

"But for me, it is so unfair if one side is free to accuse while the accused can't even open his mouth," he said.

He was referring to the apology by the government including Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak and a few other ministers to the Chinese and Indians on what was deemed as some Malay leaders' racist remarks.

He also said that when non-Malays uttered a racist remark, the Malays never demanded the authorities to apologise.

Saying that the Malays are so afraid of being labelled racist, Dr Mahathir accused them of being afraid to defend themselves even when their rights were ridiculed and attacked by others.

"It is unfortunate for the DPM and Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi's government that even after the Umno top leadership made a public apology, it was rejected by those community leaders. They have demanded that the person who uttered the words labelled as 'racist' should apologise himself," he said.

The former prime minister said another embarrassing situation last year was when a minister was sent to China to apologise to the government when it was thought that a Chinese citizen was stripped naked by the police in a lock up; and later was found out that she was a Malay woman.

Citing the case of Malaysian student Wee Meng Chee whom he accused of ridiculing the national anthem and making fun of Islamic practices last year, Dr Mahathir said:

"Have they been asked to apologise? Have their leaders be asked to apologise? Far from it. In fact, Wee was defended by leaders of the Chinese parties, and Hindraf leaders were released from detention, and some of them could freely contest the elections and won to become wakil rakyat.

"They demanded that there must not be any discrimination by the government. But it seems that not only they have their freedom but they get a privilege to be called 'Yang Berhormat' after uttering racist and seditious remarks."

Comments (110)Add Comment
written by Ann Meng Sim, September 05, 2008 16:47:43
Please lah Mr Senile, the more you make your presence felt, the more people will curse you. You have enough curses to last for 10 reincarnations I think!! Stop talking nonsense and go rest in peace!
disagree 16
agree 419
written by Raja Chulan, September 05, 2008 16:52:41
Mahathir, you still show your arrogance.

When you were the leader you failed in your duty of care to all Malaysian when you did not reprimand Najib s/o Abd Razak when he swore to bathe the Keris with Chinese blood in 1987.

You still have the audacity to urge the current leadership not to apologies for the racist remarks of UMNO members. Mahathir, you are the worst human being. By the way have made arrangement to flee to Zimbabwee?
agree 379
written by ahmadneil, September 05, 2008 16:53:20
This is the only way to help the minority by asking them to SPEAK UP.
written by SCM, September 05, 2008 16:53:31
We all know you are desperate to get support from UMNO members to overthrow Abdullah. The only way you can do it is to raise up racial issues. You, your sons and that hypocrite Marina can burn in hell for destroying this country.
agree 250
written by cwy, September 05, 2008 16:55:09
The chief now speaking on behalf of that racist Ahmad Ismail!
agree 184
written by FFT, September 05, 2008 16:58:04
Wong Chun Wai effectively rebuts the Chief Nazi's ramblings:

http://chunwai08.********.com/...issue.html

It involves an individual, who should be responsible for his remarks, so there is no reason for Dr M to widen the issue, by dragging in the communities at large and sharpen the racial tones.

As I've said previously, the safety and stability of Malaysia is highly dependent on Mahathir being locked up in the ISA so as to prevent him from stoking racial fires all over the place like a desperate mad arsonist.
agree 184
written by KTRaj, September 05, 2008 16:58:26
DR.M,

Pls get ready to peg your bag for migration before 16/Sept. Malaysia do not need racist.
agree 128
written by Mik, September 05, 2008 16:58:32
To quote : "But for me, it is so unfair if one side is free to accuse while the accused can't even open his mouth," he said.

What a laugh! Look who is talking. I dont think this man has such thing as conscience.
agree 130
written by unomalaysia, September 05, 2008 16:58:50
This old senile dude may not realised it but that racist barger ahmad is actually doing PR a favor. He is a good recruiting agent for PR by making his juvenile racist remarks, he is getting more negative shit for amno and be end. What more his refusal to apologise is actually throwing a shit pie into Najis face since he has already apologised on behalf of amno!
written by RBJ, September 05, 2008 16:59:43
What do you mean! apologize.....hindraf guys are under ISA....is something wrong with you Dr.M! you think what apology higher than detention..you must be mad......nut..
Look who's talking Father of corruption/injustice/inequitable distribution of wealth/fear/suppression/oppression/ethnic polirization.....

Get your samsonite bags ready to fly out to Timbuktoo...come 16th-Sept-2008,5 pm......make sure 1 way ticket...

Old Man - you have done enough damage so just shut up!!!!!!!
agree 191
written by binarytan, September 05, 2008 17:00:50
Please everyone run quickly from the master of evil, who is the king of racist TDM.

His followers in UMNO is practising his ideology well and got almost wiped off during PRU12. If not his other tactics in allowing dirty tricks in PRU12, UMNO and complete gang of BN already being wiped off totally.

TDM, pls go away from politics as you are too old to handle now. By the way, you are just mamak not genuine malay. You too are "pendatang sementara"

I sense the assasinator is planning the return to politics stage.

written by Hockchew, September 05, 2008 17:03:06
TDM is the Father of Disunity! He created all these ills. Wee Meng Chee is a nobody and cannot influence anyone but a Division Chairman in a the ruling Umno have an influence on the selection of the Prime Minister of Malaysia. If Ahmad is lucky, through UMNO he can be the Prime Minister and that's the reason why AAB and the DPM dared not touch him.He is the Penang Zakaria Derus. Penuntut Wee is just a punching bag.

The people have not question UMNO on all the racial slurs made during all the UMNO assembly - since it is a closed door affair and we know they are trying to project their leadership and commitments.We may have forgiven u but we do not forget.

People of Malaysia, do get inflamed by the penghasut TDM. Beware of the snake!What he cannot inherit/influence he wanted it destroyed.

Biro Tatanegara started by TDM. Zakaria Derus and Ahmad are all the product/hasil TDM. He still have many of his people in UMNO who are MPs, and we all know who they are.

Thank God, TDM was a has been and no longer our PM.
agree 129
written by slim8, September 05, 2008 17:04:01
After so many years being in the top position controlling Malaysia, you still have not learned. You have indeed up-set so many people. Not only people of Malaysia, but also our neighbouring country, Australia, USA, etc. Even after you have retired, you still continued to up-set people - including the one you personally picked to be your successor! You know you have failed and have failed badly, that is why you cried and admitted you have failed the people of Malaysia, particularly the Malays. So, please shut up and retired gracefully. You have caused a lot of trouble already. As a matter of fact, Pak Lah has to pick up the broken pieces and clean up the shit you did on this land!
written by AuntyG, September 05, 2008 17:06:26
Aiya, let this old dog bark lah. Barking dogs dont bite one lah. This old dog is also barking at his own handpicked successor, he might as well slap his own face. Nobody is good enough for him, except himself. However, people who are over the hill will have to go the the mountain.
Uncle Madhatter, you dont shaddap, we also will not shaddap.
written by HamChak, September 05, 2008 17:06:41
I can still remember, about 20 years ago, my teenage sons asked me why is that Indian Muslim PM such a RACIST? They told me that, after they graduate they will migrate overseas and not want to stay in a country that practice RACISM. Of course, they left Malaysia and are now holding very important positions in "White Men" country. Mahathir is the course of all these ills in Malaysia today. Why is Mahathir so E V I L , arr?
written by ganbing, September 05, 2008 17:19:53
I would like to ask Dr. M the following questions:

1) Which racial group was Hindraf's so-called racist remarks targetted?
2) If at all Wee ridiculed the national anthem, he offended all Malaysians so where is the racism?

In any case, he should know that 2 wrongs do not make a right.

Hindraf leaders were released from detention, and some of them could freely contest the elections and won to become wakil rakyat. What a lie. None of the Hindraf 5 were released from detention. Mahomaran won his Selangor state seat from Kamunting.

As for Gerakan, MCA & MIC,open your eyes if that is still possible.
written by Skyjuice, September 05, 2008 17:20:33
dat's really funny right!! when the Wee Meng Chee issue surfaced, few of the ministers and the malay NGOs did came out and make a lot of hoo haa and noises here and then. In the end, the boy did came out to apologised!!! Get ur fact rights, Tun!!!!
written by anak penang, September 05, 2008 17:21:24
he is trying to make a last resort by trying to incite the malays again. He tried it after 3/08 but did not work. So he has got this new ammunation to make another shot.

It is better the chinese let this issue pass. forget about it-no need appoligies-for what?
written by Rhan, September 05, 2008 17:22:40
Mahathir is a dangerous old man, he would do anything to secure his wealth and position, I think all should tone down on this pendatang issue, it is no big deal, we use to it. Move on.

Comment from stupid like SCM unnecessary.
written by jasongaust, September 05, 2008 17:23:00
What do you mean! apologize.....hindraf guys are under ISA....is something wrong with you Dr.M! you think what apology higher than detention..you must be mad......nut..
=========================================
Yes, something is very wrong with this old man. He is mad, he is insane and he is talking one rubbish after another!
He should not be allowed to wake up from the operating theatre but should be laid to rest and disappeared from this world forever...this ungrateful animal!!
written by born2reign, September 05, 2008 17:24:14
OK lah, UMNO and former UMNO animals, you don't need to apologise if you don't mean it. We the rakyat are not so dumb, and just like we do not force someone to embrace a certain religion if he/she does not want to, we certainly won't force you UMNO animals, and UMNO drop-out Dr M. But don't blame us when BN lose more and more votes until you are wiped out. Just like a bully in school has no real friends, he is only surrounded by cowards like himself who will desert him when he needs them most. Likewise UMNO comprises of cowards who only scream racial slurs and act like bullies, and steal our food and money.

Therefore, you won't have any real friends (members). Didn't your parents ever teach you that to win friends you have to BE a real friend? I pity you senile Dr M, in your golden age, you are a lonely man, surrounded by real enemies.
written by DXB2008, September 05, 2008 17:30:56
UMNO is a sacred cow, to be slaughtered by its own insanity
http://1426.********.com/2008/...sness.html
written by CKLee123, September 05, 2008 17:34:52
What kind of bullshit exposition is this? Has this man gone bonkers? No, he is back in his element as a master instigator.

He’s dangerous and destructive simply because he has no allegiance towards anything or anyone – whatever he does is all for his own ego satisfaction.
written by SocratesI, September 05, 2008 17:35:42
The Barisan NAJIS Govt. didn't take action against HINDRAF because that would reflect very badly on you isn't it? And yes some of the HINDRAF rep got voted in and got to be called Yang Berhormat after saying all those racist things, but look at it this way.

YOU, managed to get voted in as PM, so why begrudge these people their YB ?
written by cllim123, September 05, 2008 17:57:44
Hindraf actions did not go uncahalleged. They are locked up under ISA in Kamunting, you senile old man.
written by AsamLaksa, September 05, 2008 17:57:57
Has TDM lost his marbles???

Sure he has a point that there is no need for Najib to apologise for Ahmad's remarks as the one who made the remark should apologise. However Najib should apologise for his inaction while witnessing the whole spectacle. Was he asleep? What kind of top BN leader simply watch over an event that fundamentally goes against good sense let alone BN's policy?

AAB is the head of UMNO, he is responsible for all UMNO's actions. He may apologise for the hurt caused but not for Ahmad's words. What really matters is what actions he needs to take. Is this how AAB enforces discipline? But here TDM expects the Indian community or even Indian leaders who are not HINDRAF members to apologise?

Then about those who question the special rights, should they apologise for seeking equality? Stirring up racial sentiments? Sure. But there are many ways to show your disagreement. If they resorts to violence then however right they are, they should be prosecuted for their acts of violence. This is the 21st century, please no more of the lantern-lit peasants with pitchforks in the night mentality.

Wee Meng Chee's case, the Chinese parties did not defend his wrong but rather they defended him from persecution. Heck, Wee apologised to the nation. To me that's one step better than Ahmad.

I have to agree that it's nonsensical that a Msian envoy when to China to apologise for the stripping incident. Why this deference to China? Msia did nothing wrong towards China but towards an individual. Would Msia send a similar envoy if the victim was from Vietnam? Why should any Malay demand the authorities to apologise when anyone makes a racist remark? Get the person who said it to apologise.

TDM, just see it this way... if your kid beat up a neighbour's kid, you punish your kid and tell your kid to apologise to your neighbour's kid. Then you also apologise to the parents for your lack of supervision. Simple and straightforward.

What we have here is the kid do wrong, runs around freely and the parent giving a half hearted apology. How to settle things like this? Once again TDM you twist the facts to whatever your agenda is. I'm not buying.
written by thumb, September 05, 2008 17:58:26
This man who said "Melayu mudah lupa" is the main cause of whatever problems we have now in Malaysia, and now he wants to use present opportunity created by Penang UMNO to his advantage.
written by sjs, September 05, 2008 18:00:09
Mahathir Mohamad,

The father of corruption and the usurper of democracy, I am warning you not to sow the seeds of hatred and destruction amongst the people of this nation!

HINDRAF's causes were not against Malays or the Chinese, but the marginalization of its own race! They have not called any Malays or Chinese, names! their fight was not against the Malays but against the leadership which marginalised their community!
written by Lembing, September 05, 2008 18:00:45
OH YOU MOST CORRUPTED POLITICIAN OF ALL TIMES.....

"...also said that when non-Malays uttered a racist remark, the Malays never demanded the authorities to apologise."

BUT your RACIST government has detained these NON-MALAYS under ISA without any access to the public. If you had demanded an apology from these ISA detainees, you may be obliged to release them. Of course, being a CRUEL, GREEDY, CORRUPTED BASTARD who fears that by losing power you might end up like Marcos or Sukarno.

JUST for your information, according to the law of KARMA which applies to you since you are a fake muslim, those who are are government ministers, public servants who have accepted bribes will reincarnate to become BEAST OF BURDEN in their next life.

So what is your choice..... a buffalo, pig or a work horse.
written by HeeHaw, September 05, 2008 18:01:41
It's so tempting to say the old man has lost his marbles on this one, but I'm afraid this is just Mahatir revealing his true self: this spiteful, hatred-filled and vengeful old man will stoop ever so low to distort the facts whenever it suits his agenda, and he will gladly destroy the whole country rather as long as it helps to hurt those he dislikes.

Aren't you satisfied with destroying our future, Mahatir? Must you also destroy our future generations' future with your hatred-filled racist preachings?
written by madtrix, September 05, 2008 18:01:43
I think Mahatiak is the real dalang behind this whole racial tone of umno. Remember this is the fler who's been going round the country since GE-12, stirring up umno with his divide-and-rule tactics once again.

No wonder these flers are standing firm and not apologising. The dalang has given them courage. Ironically, AAB is a nice guy here. It's under his administration, however ineffective that umno has taken on a more conciliatory approach. He may be ineffective as PM but he's not racial.

I venture to say that that dalang starting with his Malay Dilemma has done more harm to the racial harmony and integration of Malaysia than any other Malay politician since Merdeka. He is the sifu and the other flers are all his disciples.

Go back and re-look at his many subversive actions since Tunku's time and you'll see what I mean. this is the real enemy of Bangsa Malaysia still working his poison even in retirement. This is the leader who destroyed the Judiciary. This is the fler who presided over the korek, korek culture. This is the fler who squadered and wasted the nation's wealth with his mega projects and cronies, the effects of which Malaysians are now still suffering from. Blows my mind how so many Malaysians have missed this arch enemy of the nation. "Know your enemy" says Sun Tzu!
written by OMARZ, September 05, 2008 18:03:13
enoughlah Mahathir just take care your health cukup....rumah kata pergi kubur kata mari.....
written by charli88, September 05, 2008 18:04:08
TDM will definitely live very very long. Nature law will make sure you see what you've done to this country. Soooooooo sick ! smilies/cry.gif
written by Malaysiaku, September 05, 2008 18:06:20
Pariah ini belum mati ke? Masih mulut boleh bergerak? Dia lah orang yang mencetuskan semua masalah racial ini dan membawa keperitan kepada rakyat. Mati-lah kau!
written by RitchieLow, September 05, 2008 18:07:03
Why the mud slinging and demands for apology ? What good does it do for the country and its people? Why deepen the rot ?

Why not ask for a RCI as the issue tugs at the heartstrings of National Unity and Security.
written by astina, September 05, 2008 18:07:27
evil tyrant and the root of all racial discomfort spews the venom again..anak lelaki kutti mohamad thinks he is not a mamak..
written by collegian, September 05, 2008 18:12:06
Hello,Ahmad said seditious statement but don't want to apologize,so detain him in ISA la,like the Hindraf people....u talk about fairness,what fairness???
written by Malaysiaku, September 05, 2008 18:12:29
I really hate this racist recalcitrant retard. May you meet your maker tomorrow...or earlier.
written by wishuponastar, September 05, 2008 18:13:54
How many people believe that someone wrote to Ehud Barak in the 90's
seeking his help to broker a fund from The US?
One of the uses for the fund was to curb the onslaught of Islamic Fundamentalists in Malaysia.
I can't believe it because I don't know any such hypocrite.
written by jeevy, September 05, 2008 18:14:20
who are you to defend Ahmad Ismail?.....you are not a malay!!!....you a Malabari muslim......go back to India!!!.....
written by Hope4all, September 05, 2008 18:22:44
It is now Mahathir's turn to main budak-budak. I hit you, you hit me.

This should not come from a statesman, unless the statesman is desperate to throw everything he can to make sure Anwar doesn't become PM.
written by Angel, September 05, 2008 18:30:19
What did he do after 20 years in office in bridging the gap between the races? We should be a unified nation by now all pulling in the right direction, not fighting like what is now happening.

He was a failure in uniting Malaysians and now want to talk so much! Please retire in peace. And give us peace as well. YOu are not helping!!
written by cestcool, September 05, 2008 18:34:47
I think TDM is comparing statements made from a leader and rakyat biasa. Not just taking instances from a student and comparing it against a leader in a government party.
written by penangboi, September 05, 2008 18:37:51
He was the Father of Racism in Malaysia. He was the one who champions it all this while.

Of course he wouldn't understand the concept of non-racism and of course he won't be able to see the evil of racism.

So we are not surprised at all with his racist remark, right? And at least he is consistent in his racist makeup too.
written by gorshan, September 05, 2008 18:38:04
haiya you people...face the facts lah..we all pendatang lah.cina kah, melayu kah ,india kah,orang asli kah, semuanya pendatang.confirmed.

now you UMNO buggers cut this crap and stop trying to create a riotuos situation to seize and maintain power. your lowdown dirty tricks pukes to highest heavens. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by mountainking, September 05, 2008 18:45:28
mahathir is such a low class former PM and a figurehead in malaysia. it's a shame to have him helm the position as PM for so many years.

imagine malaysia without Mahathir, a much better place to live amongst various races/communities, studying, teh tarik, playing sports and chilling out together.

all bcos Mahathir crazy for power knows that his strategy is stroking racial tension is the most effective way to stay in power. knowing that each race has their own belief/culture but mahathir is unwilling to create a united culture which we called bangsa malaysia. putting aside self-community interest and pursue a harmonious and forward looking society.

you are shameless and pls look at the mirror. you are 80 and how many years can you still live on this earth? why not do some good to encourage fellow malaysia citizens regardless of race/religions to battle corruption and move forward?

mahathir, if you continue to be this way, you will continue to make yourself lower class than animal.
written by budakindia, September 05, 2008 18:50:17
Please tell me the following acts are not related to violence & terrorism:
1) Temple demolition
2) Body snatching
3) Forbade the use of Allah by non-Muslims
4) Dog poisoning
5) Swearing by abusing Allah & the Holy Quran

Only terrorist country that breeds on racism will do that! smilies/angry.gif
written by Malaysiaputra, September 05, 2008 18:53:48
TDM, could you please tell me who your father is ? A Malay ?.
written by miwaki, September 05, 2008 18:55:20
Luckily this senile chap is no longer our PM,otherwise many non-malays have to migrate.He is irritating and brainless.As far as I know,only the government has been doing the crazy and stupid things against the rakyat,we rakyat regardless of race and religion are always at the receiving ends.We therefore insist the government to apologize for their mistakes,we rakyat do not have to apologize,we always end up in prison,why apologize ?
written by SimpleSoul, September 05, 2008 19:01:13
Oh My God,

I would like thank AAB for somethign good that he has done. He has got all media to block this moron from going public. Now i understand how much distruction can this old fart do if he was given constant media coverage.
written by hiro, September 05, 2008 19:01:50
Is Dr M senile? Badawi put them behind bars under ISA. Try doing that to all your division leaders in Penang UMNO now!
written by Fuminari, September 05, 2008 19:03:19
the lizard with a split tongue said "Why did the government allow the Hindu Rights Action Force's alleged racist remarks to go unchallenged while being very apologetic towards racial accusation against Umno leaders?"
'unchallenged'???...this old lizard is really showing strong symptoms of senile n high on denial syndrome!!lets ask him,where are the hindraf 5???
written by thewayicit, September 05, 2008 19:04:22
Hello Mr.Kerala, you are now playing the tune of FLIP-FLOP. Since you want to get back into the main stream you talking ****. The leader of Hindraf are under ISA. The person Mr.Ahmad it still out there. What tpye of logic are you talking. Punish the culprit. For your doing, the Priminister of Kerala must be punished.
written by binkah1, September 05, 2008 19:07:26
Dr M, with such an advance age it's time to stop your devilish intend and enjoy your blessing to have a few more here on earth. We will all be answerable to our maker so do take this short period to redeem yourself and do something good to mankind rather than fanning the fire again like you did in 0513
written by vineeth menon, September 05, 2008 19:11:35
Desperate measures by Desperate People. Lost my respect for him.
He did lot of great things for the country and also the bad.

Read this to understand how Dr.M and many who rules actual Malays is a Malay ..
http://www.networkmalaysia.com...ohamad.htm
written by maran08, September 05, 2008 19:15:46
Dr.M the real Bapa Racist, he plant the racist tree in UNMO, what can Badawi do, he said for hindraf Indian politician should ask sorry.... this old man don't what he is talking come on lah hindraf not political movement. Faham tak our stupid M. How can as former Leader for this country can said if Indian & Chinese did wrong then the Malay can do so because nothing is wrong as per Dr.M.... Man who don't have any stand. For you all talk lah talk more remember Sabah & Sarawak also non Muslim, you lost majority non Malay vote in peninsular going to loose in Sabah & Sarawak. PKR the next Government.
written by ez24get, September 05, 2008 19:25:58
I agree with Mahathir... there’s no need for Ahmad Ismail or UMNO to apologise anymore.

He has already done a big favour for the Chinese community because he has forced UMNO to show their cards – the continuation of UMNO arrogance and Malay supremacy agenda. He has helped the chinese community to open up their eyes. We thank Ahmad Ismail for the favour he has done for the chinese community in Peninsula Malaysia, Sabah and Sarawak. This couldn't have come at a better time when September 16 is drawing near! With this UMNO has inched past the line of no return.

If he had apologised it would only be superficial and MCA and Gerakan will fall over each other to accept the apology of the big brother and everything will be fine. Because of the non-apology, MCA and Gerakan leaders’ manoeuvres are now more restricted – confrontation with UMNO or else whatever little standing they have left with the Chinese community and their own grass-root members in the coming party elections will be whittled away!

Ahmad Ismail’s defiance with the backing of all the Penang UMNO branches reinforces the stark reality that, with or without Abdullah, UMNO top leaders will continue to promote the racial supremacy agenda of ketuanan Melayu. Whether it is Badawi’s deputy Najib Abdul Razak or vice-president Muhyiddin Yassin, or even an outside challenger such as Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah is the one to lead Umno, they are going to pursue this narrow, outdated agenda.

From the top to the bottom of the UMNO hierarchy, the cry of reform simply means to get rid of Badawi and to strengthen the Ketuanan Melayu agenda. No one in UMNO including Mahathir who has almost daily demanded the resignation of Badawi are really serious about removing "corruption, abuses of the NEP, the erosion of the judiciary and injustices done to the other races economically and religiously" which is what the Rakyat wants! They just want their own team members to head UMNO and lead the nation so that they can continue to access the gravy train for themselves and their cronies.

UMNO is not interested in helping Gerakan, MCA or MIC or any other BN component parties in solving their own internal credibility issues with their members and electorates. Instead of helping, UMNO piles up even more problems for them in its quest to sway the malay voters by playing on racial sentiments as evident in the arrogant attitude of Ahmad Ismail.

Ahmad Ismail is the “Zakaria Deros” of Penang. People will well remember Zakaria Deros as the infamous former Port Klang assemblyman who died not long ago after suffering a heart attack. Ahmad Ismail’s recalcitrant and arrogant attitude is exactly like Zakaria Deros. Deros also avoided and refused, at first, to meet and apologise to the Sultan of Selangor. In Ahmad Ismail’s case he refused to meet Badawi and Najib and he also refused to apologise. Like Deros, Ahmad Ismail is also filthy rich owning a bungalow in Robina Park, the upclass area among the predominantly poor Malays and Indians living in surrounding areas in Butterworth. Like Deros his bungalow, equipped with a large swimming pool, was torn down to build a larger mansion in its place. While his mansion is being built, he stayed in another up class condominium in the affluent Tanjong Tokong area in Penang. Like Deros, the police are also scared of him.

All the UMNO leaders in Penang drive big, expensive cars, own large areas of land and are filthy rich. We wonder where they got their riches from. They are the ones who rob the poor Malays of Penang. Instead of alienating scarce land in Penang and sharing their wealth with the ordinary Penang Malays, they “sapu” everything for themselves under the guise of the NEP in the form of big, fat contracts and lands earmarked for the malays!

Why should Gerakan, MCA and MIC remain in BN and help UMNO in its quest for ketuanan Melayu and tolerate UMNO’s blatant display of arrogance that it is the master and the rest are slaves? Why should you help UMNO to fleece the ordinary Malays and non-malays? UMNO is now rudderless and sinking like the titanic and it will bring the BN component parties down with it if they do not repent and deflect from the sinking ship.

So the grass root members of the BN component parties should wise up! It is your own top leaders who are leading you astray because they have their own agendas and personal gains to be servants of UMNO!

But you and your family members have to deal with the ridicules, curses and rejections on a daily basis from the Rakyat! You have your democratic right to reject UMNO and cast your votes to deflect from UMNO before the sinking Titanic brings you under with it also!
written by foresight, September 05, 2008 19:28:15
Don't forget Mahathir, you are also of Indian extraction. Don't you have any sympathy for your own kind ?
written by Richy, September 05, 2008 19:34:01
Dear Tun,

I remember saying that I was despised by most part of your tenure as PM. Nevertheless I thought you could be forgiven for the past. You could realize that in my previous comments.

However, now it occurs to me it's not worth pointing out anything to you. Like Rafidah once said you really have become a senile. It's simple fact for anyone to understand and I'm perplexed how in the world you couldn't understand the gist of the issues and I’m equally wondering who is more imbecilic, is it you or Abdullah. Let me point it to you since you failed to grasp the issue.

You claim that:-

1. Hindraf accused of this government of many prejudice against Indians in Malaysia.

2. A woman who was forced to strip and squat was not even a Chinese so why the apology for.

3. Wee Meng Chee, the student who modified Negaraku was not punished enough.

All these are issues that actually involved ordinary Malaysians. Hindraf was a fraction of Indian community with issues of Indians. The government has however failed to address their issues affirmatively. No national leaders came out in support of them publicly though some of the issues were pertinent. And those who led Hindraf are under ISA; their own lives are in jeopardy for now.

The woman who was made to squat was not Chinese although the Chinese community and leaders were the ones to take up the issue. Here we talk about basic human rights and not race; it’s very unwise of you to exploit it along racial lines.

Wee Meng Chee is also another unhappy student of Chinese origin. What he did was wrong, in fact very rude and unpatriotic. When the entire nation was critical of him, he realized his mistake followed with his formal public apology. Some accepted and some didn’t but no leaders backed him for what he said.

Now, let us touch on issues that involve Ahamad Ismail. In fact it’s not Ahmad Ismail alone, the list includes Najib, Hishamuddin, Khairy and many others. Who are these people? Are they ordinary Malaysians? No, they are not and this is important.

Najib said about blood bathing Chinese as the then UMNO youth chief who is the present DPM. Hisham had his Keris wavered stressing what he was prepared to do; he is a national leader, in fact a potential future PM. So was Khairy with his ferocious speech warning non-Malays, said to be another future PM. The latest to join this group is Ahmad who had called the Chinese “squatter” in the presence of DPM. All of them have one similarity, leaders of top level.

If top leadership speaks against one race or religion, calling them pendatang, immigrants, or squatter, that can only be construed as deliberate attempt to deny the non-Malays of their basic rights in Malaysia. With inheritance of Indian, you too could be regarded as pendatang so to say. Will you accept that?

National leadership must be of highest moral standard. They should be fair to all Malaysians as more than 40% of Malaysians are made of non-Malays. Anyone who fails to understand or accept this is not fit to be a national leader.

It’s very disheartening and disgusting to know, after leading Malaysians for over 20 years and after having them supporting you all those years, you have back-stabbed and betrayed the Malaysians of Chinese and Indian origins and of course the majority of poor Malays.

What kind of leader are you, Tun? Aren’t feel ashamed for posing such imbecilic question that is pathetic and racist in nature?
written by Lim Lim, September 05, 2008 19:39:27
kutty ini lah tak laku dekat umno,hence he is trying to force his way back thro' all these racist rhetorics,after all..this senile understands what kind of shit is umno all about!!!umno could survive only with racist shits n this is what this mamak is all about!!he is merely putting himself on the plate for umno n back to 'rule' again,do u see his dirty side???
written by Hosea, September 05, 2008 19:57:19
Dear Guys do you all remember this Old Man TDM wrote a Book Called "Malay Delima"
Now let him explain what he meant by "Pendatang Asing" he mentioned in that book!. He brain washed the good peace loving Malays into racist time bombs. If not for him the country would forgotten what is racist all about.
written by banzai, September 05, 2008 20:04:20
Simple. Barisan Nasional (UMNO) collapse,
so do Mahathir's empire follow. Then join
Thaksin in London. HehHehHeh.
written by jaykay, September 05, 2008 20:17:24
This old bastard will never have a peaceful death.
written by forubabe, September 05, 2008 20:21:22
Just ignore him! Eventually he'll fade away. Not worth our 2 cents.
written by Fairminded, September 05, 2008 20:47:32
Dr. M had better go back to India if UMNO is right. If the ISA is enforced fairly half the UMNO members of parliament should be thrown into jail as companions to the HINDRAF detainees.
written by dashuwang, September 05, 2008 20:48:29
Mahathir Bastard , your father Mohamad Kutti was an imigrant from Kerala, India.
You are the son of imigrants from India. You are not Malay. You racist bastard should apologise to the the Malaysian Chinese and Indians where some of their forfathers arrive Malaya earlier than your father Mr. Mohamad Kutti.
written by Fuminari, September 05, 2008 20:50:34
by making this sort of statements that hav gone against the basic standard of conscience that should go along with any so called 'leaders' either in past or present,the legacy of at least of a good enough statemanship is totally lost with n thor' his own evils!!pathetically,this is the kind of "statemanship' malaysia hav ever able to produce!!
many would definitely not going to the extent of praying for him but do wish that he could survive longer even if there would be a third heart surgery for him ;long enough so that he might hav the opportunity to witness how pakatan rakyat is going to 'manage' this nation n bring malaysia forward,read my lip...'manage' n not 'rule'!!! umno could only afford n only know how to play with one n only one formula for their game plans in any which way n time...n that's 'racism',they are 'hollow'!!

written by jchew, September 05, 2008 21:01:30
The UMNO heavuly depends on Anak lelaki India Kutty! Ka ka ka! Anak lelaki Indian Kutty rules UMNO! Ka ka Ka!
written by KARMANNGHIA, September 05, 2008 21:14:41
Since Acknowledging his Indian root.......

he should pack his bag for India.

written by bradwell_estate, September 05, 2008 21:19:34
when i in heavy politic discussion with foriegn, i have always defended Dr. M. but now, I think he has reach the point of being senile.

Dr. M - you are losing respect fr the masses!
written by alarcarte, September 05, 2008 21:21:10
Hi Mahathir, The Government ISA(ed) the HIDRAF guys, this is more than apologise, right? O.K. The Ahmad guy no need to apologose-lah, but is the Gomen going to ISA him?
Old man, please don't fan any more fires, you may be one of the destroyer of Malaysia.
written by wisdomguy, September 05, 2008 21:28:57
DR M...amak i like you.................to go to HELL!
written by cheekhiaw, September 05, 2008 21:29:54
Che Det,

That's because we are now in a new Malaysian Dilemma. You mean you are not aware of it?

written by jchew, September 05, 2008 21:35:35
Memaling massacre in 1980s - Mahathir's hands are bloody!
written by CheGUvera, September 05, 2008 21:39:37
10 yrs ago i came to malaysia, there was this evil senile old man ruling this country then. I remember, he had an idea about pub's closing time, it was 12.00 mid-nite, so all had to close at 12.00,then 11.00pm. next day, he utter something about 2.00am,3am...etc. In the end, the MPPJ,DBKL did not know what time is opening or closing. he was already showing sign of being senile, so you can imagine how this country was run then and now with another.the other day, he mutter about how sad he was, this multiracial country is breaking up, now he say opposite.What a EVIL SENILE manipulative @-hole.
written by A MI, September 05, 2008 21:47:19
He is just a spiteful old man spewing more hate for the Indians. If AMNO is what it is like today, it is part of his training.

Can we just ignore him and his blog?

Our energy is needed to help PR into power.
written by lobster, September 05, 2008 21:53:41
Tun, may be I need to refresh your memory. These Hindraf leaders were arrested and thrown into detention center. For the case of Wee, he apologised, the gov accepted his apology yet still wanted to charge him.

Yes it is so lobsided. I completely agree with you.

written by tom73my, September 05, 2008 21:55:20
Hello Mahathir, can you stop being a hypocrite. Everybody knows you, today you say one thing, tomorrow you will twist your words and say another. Your forehead is stamped "racist". You have always been a racist because it's you who introduced Ketuanan Melayu. It's you who destroy the Malays, it's you who split us Malaysians up. Malaysia will be a better place without you. You are 83? Please go, the sooner the better.
written by fairnessforall, September 05, 2008 21:55:31
This bloody old bastard has lost his mind, first of all he cant even remember his origin, he is bloody indian impersonating a malay. Secondly he claims when non malay make racist remarks, malay dont ask for apology. In the first place, non malays are not allowed to even discuss the problems faced by their own race, as even before the discussion, malay gangsters without brains start demostrating and behaving like hooligans. Just showing the low class upbringing they have had to try to stop a legitimate discussion.

The old man should shut his bloody mouth and retire for good, he started the mess and now he is putting karosene in the fire. You bloody impersonator, haven't you amassed enough wealth with all the corruption, you are still being greedy even at this age, may the fleas of a 1000 camels infest your ass. Then you will have no choice but to keep your mouth shut while trying to deal with the fleas.
written by lobster, September 05, 2008 21:55:40
By the way Ahmad. Don't bother to apologise. Apology not accepted. You need to be jailed.
written by ibnuaiz, September 05, 2008 22:01:11
kalau diperhatikan kelihatan UMNO akan hancur... satu demi satu isu berbangkit menyebabkan rakyat muak dan mula jelek dengan pemimpin umno. Selepas 8 Mac, BN goyang sbb parti komponen banyak kalah, kemudian umno berpecah orang paklah dan bukan paklah, kemudian kes liwat yang nampak seperti dicipta semula, kemudian isu Ahmad pulak... lepasni apa pulak lah agaknya. Tetapi yang penting 916. Mungkin manusia merancang tetapi perancangan Allah sesungguhnya maha hebat.... sama-sama kita tunggu dan lihat adakah umno dan bn akan jatuh dan PR akan terbit menyinar bagai matahari pagi.... insyallah
written by fairnessforall, September 05, 2008 22:02:57
you bloody racist pig, in your next life, you will be born as a snake. Thats the lowest life form anyone could take. With all the curses from all Malaysians, you will suffer a teribble death. You will not die peacefully. Even at this age, you are trying to create problems in Malaysia and trying to make malaysians fight with each other. You are a selfish mean old man who will pay for all your since. You just wait and see. You dirty tricks and games will not work. Most of the malays with the acception of the UMNO clowns have become smart and know the dirty game you are playing. The have the brains to think that another May 13 will only cause losses to mostly them as if all the non malays leave the country taking their wealth, the leftover malays will have to go back to the kampong to tanam jagung. The smart malays know that Malaysia will never become successful without all the races working together. But that is what you want, as you have squandered the countries wealty already and have more than enough to live a luxurious life, but you will not have a peaceful life. Even now everyday you live in fear, that once Anwar takes over, you will be charged for all the lies and corruption. You will forever have sleepless nights.
written by sjs, September 05, 2008 22:02:57
Mahathir Mohammad Eusoffe, a living monument of RACISM!
Unwanted by your own party, disregarded by your own people!

What is your next move!

If you try to divide and destroy this nation, the people will build it anew!
written by Jit Dharma, September 05, 2008 22:06:57
Tun Dr. Monyet, 1.) Hindraf is not a member of the ruling coalition that claims
to 'take care' of non-malays. 2.) Hindraf leaders were 'ISA-ED', the monkey
Datuk Ahmad is still free. 3) you are a MORON. 4.) Kiss my ass.
written by hckit, September 05, 2008 22:08:31
Mahathir was born on July 10, 1925, in Alor Star, the capital of the northern state of Kedah.[8] Some stated that his father was a school teacher of part-Indian origin.....taken from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mahathir_bin_Mohamad
written by Jit Dharma, September 05, 2008 22:09:39
Your legacy is written in lies. Tell your daughter to "Muse" about this. You
and your cursed family are a blight on this country.
written by techgeek, September 05, 2008 22:11:36
Go unchallenged? Last time I checked, those Hindraf guys are still holed up in Kamunting?! So if they apologise, will they be let out?

Ini orang tua sudah nyanyok la... ataupun mudah lupa.
written by justme bc, September 05, 2008 22:15:55
This old man always thinks that what he said is correct, now people will hear

no more simply because he is no more in power. Pls la..keep your mouth shut and

retire for good 'cos if you don't you will not have time left as 99% of your

legs are inside the ground. Just let DSAI have some fun running the country.
written by menowok, September 05, 2008 22:15:56
mahathir is stupid or what? hindraf is being oppressed and unfairly treated and they just voice it out. That's not racist. The umno people want to have special AP for car, scholarship for minister son, blah blah, that's racist to the core. We should go back to Islamic teaching to be fair to everyone.
written by malaysia united, September 05, 2008 22:20:49
Mahathir, you are the mother of all racists in this country. Without you, our nation would have progressed far beyond where we are today. It is you who have established the rotten government that corrupt our entire society. The harms you have done far outweight the little goods you have done for this country. Pls depart somewhere else before you destroy this country with yr thoughtless cemments!
written by latihanQ, September 05, 2008 22:21:44
Mahathir is a bitter man. His successor ignores him. His former cabinet colleagues treat him with contempt. Malays don’t like him and has never accepted him. The Chinese and the Indians do not trust him. East Malaysians hate him for treating them like dirt.
Nazri did the right thing all along treating him like a pariah. He is a PARIAH.
written by Spear Bing, September 05, 2008 22:25:00
MT readers and bloggers can continue to banter and bitch and utter profanities and vulgarities over this ' apology issue' because they say its freedom of speech etc., etc.

Mind you if this issue continues unabated, the writing on the wall is very clear....... the UMNO led coalition government will evoke ISA and arrest all the Chinese political leaders, including the UMNO extremists and maybe TDM, just to potray an element of fairness and impartiality.

When that happens, PR will be doomed and say goodbye to 916. Everything will be back to normal..... UMNO will reign gain.

Will you all want that to happen and keep on bitching and shouting profanities?

Just move on ...... Ahmad is just reflecting his level of mentality - a low class politician, as DSAI commented.
written by ganes30, September 05, 2008 22:26:26
Ignore this Mamak Bastard TDM. Just imagine this racist Bastard being the former PM for 22 yrs and well enough groomed UMNO bastard like Ahmad Ismail and the other 13 UMNO bastards supporting his act.
written by EYFF, September 05, 2008 22:34:43
Similarly Malaysians of Chinese origin can also question the “Malay” origin of these a/l UMNO members including the Malay-ness of TDM ???
written by Vidya Young, September 05, 2008 22:36:19
Foresight, what “sympathy” are you seeking from Malabarian? He doesn’t have a shred of sympathy or compassion.

Each one of us is proud to be our father’s son/daughter, even though our father may have been a drunk, a womaniser, a tyrant, a vagrant or a wife-beater. Our Malabarian however must despise his father so much that he has never accepted his lineage. A child who carries this much rancour, especially towards a parent, will certainly die a miserable death. Oi Maha£*&!!, let mine be your 15 millionth curse!

Pray tell me, you profess to be a Muslim, fighting for the Muslim cause . Why have you not performed the Haj? I will tell why. Because you are EVIL. You know that even before you start your pilgrimage, Allah will strike you dead because He will never want the likes of you to soil the Holy Land. You despicable fiend
written by Old Man, September 05, 2008 22:37:44
I thought that Mad Liar with crocodile tears had vowed to stay out of politics after his resignation. No need Senior Minister post or whatever. Regret? Perhaps he should SWEAR on the Koran that he had never said such thing and then ask the current Playboy PM to step aside. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Highway16, September 05, 2008 22:43:18
Dei Mamak, first off, Poorah!

Second, the Leadership should lead by Example.

When you lead a Corrupt Government, everyone becomes Corrupted!!
Can you see yet or just plain CAN'T REMEMBER!
written by jowkg, September 05, 2008 22:45:34
STUPID EX PM... COMMON LAAA HINDRAF is Not a MP also! MP represent the PPl.. what MP says and what hindraf says is different laa... MP is a MEMBER OF PARLIMENT LAA>. how come TUN compare this??? damn stupid and childish....
written by ThugMentality, September 05, 2008 22:47:02
Tun...sudahla tu..dah tua..pi main dgn cucu cicit hang tu.
written by slash n burn, September 05, 2008 22:49:47
Mahathir Mamak evil, apologise to your father and ancestor for being ashamed to be Indian from Kerala.
written by notsosmart, September 06, 2008 00:51:29
Hoi.....OLD MAN. Go to sleep lah and remember to wear your diaper. First time in my life being rude to an old person, but no regret.
written by fireduck, September 06, 2008 01:19:48
With this piece, I have TOTALLY lost ALL respect for Dr Mahathir! I would thought he would be the last person to defend that Ahamd racist, whose statements were totally uncalled for. I am totally disappointed!

Abdullah looked much more of a better person in this regard, where he at least acknowledged a wrong when he sees it. But Dr Mahathir is being the recalcitrant old fool. I now think he is past expiry date, and it is imperative for Anwar to get into position to put Mahathir through the same treatment that Mahathir doled out to him.
written by mrbean, September 06, 2008 01:41:29
Hello Mamak... SHUT UP... you are wasting our time
written by mrbean, September 06, 2008 01:41:46
hello mamaaak, you are wasting our time
written by Fart Fart Wah, September 06, 2008 02:16:35
The Talking Mayat Mtamak is the cause of racial problems in malaysia wit his divide and rule policy..

Dei Talking Mayat..the government has already already put the HINDRAF fellows in the ISA..what to apologise and how to anymore????

sometimes I wonder where this fellows brain is and was???
can someone bomoh jampi this Talking Mayat to shut up...

written by kavidibaku, September 06, 2008 04:41:21
LOOK WHO'S TALKING. HE'S THE KING FOR ALL THE SEDITIOUS REMARKS.
written by Krsna523, September 06, 2008 06:28:22
"and Hindraf leaders were released from detention, and some of them could freely contest the elections and won to become wakil rakyat."

Who lah Mamak, was released and won election, YB Mano is it?? U are just a cock talker then and now.

Why not just play with your grand kids, teach them what all not to be the most hated person in Malaysia.
written by dassky2000, September 06, 2008 09:50:36
Dear Tun, I am really ashamed of you and your doings right now. You have done good and you have done enough bad to totally destroy the unity of Malaysians during your time as PM.

You should now focus on how to bring harmony and prosperity to this country and it's citizen. But in fact your are hiding behind your blog to convey your concern.

What difference does that make between you and a common criminal?
written by Bigjoe99, September 06, 2008 10:01:09
Wee Meng Chee was not guilty of racism or anti-Islam, he is guilty for being at the cutting edge of modernity where being political correctness is viewed with suspicion. The problem is Dr. M and his followers are guilty of breaking their promise to progress.
written by kingelvis, September 06, 2008 14:58:37
Mamathir you are a bastard. In your bastardland, bastards like you can be called Malays. ..those who are subject of prejudice and call for equal treatment are racists..if majority of population were Indians no doubt you will say you are Indian..only is bastardland..just go and die!