Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Malaysian government's online censorship is proven a failure

Malaysian government's online censorship is proven a failure PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 05 September 2008 15:47

MT Chart

In the evening of August 26, 2008, the Malaysian government imposed a censorship on the ultra popular news site Malaysia-Today. It was seen as an attempt to silence critics and a gross violation of freedom of speech. Many people stood up against such undemocratic, authoritarian action. Many experts voiced their doubt on the effectiveness of the censorship, especially on a site that has strong followings with determination and clear conscience.

They have just been proven right - that the online censorship is a failure. According to the very reliable information I have received (see the chart above), not only has the authority failed to silence the site, the censorship has not made any dent to its traffic.

The chart basically shows the site traffic over the last two weeks. August 26 (Tuesday) was its historic peak, when Anwar Ibrahim was making history in Permatang Pauh. Soon after, the censorship ensued, and it did reduce the site traffic amid the confusions (there was no official announcement of the censorship). Within minutes, TMnet, the first ISP kow-towing to the authority, was found to be hijacking the domain name of Malaysia-Today. Moments later, the site reacted with alternative domain names to maintain access to the site. Eventually the site is settled with its current domain name "mt.m2day.org". With that, it has managed to maintain its original readership as shown on the chart. MT-chart

For the authority (Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission), it has shown to the world that it is not serious and genuine as a champion for online multimedia industry. It has proven a failure in understanding and appreciating the sophistication of the Internet technology and industry. For Malaysian government, the censorship is a stupid lose-lose proposition. Not only has it failed to achieve its goal in any extent to stop readership of Malaysia-Today, it has tarnished what remains of its reputation. It has broken its promise of not censoring online media. The UMNO-BN government has basically, quoting a popular phrase in Malaysia now, scored its own goal, again.

Singaporean Friend of Malaysia Today

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by Rundukon, September 05, 2008 15:55:48
I wonder where is Hairy Beruk SIL now. Self censorship?
written by Garend, September 05, 2008 15:56:54
The UMNO-BN government has basically, quoting a popular phrase in Malaysia now, scored its own goal, again.

I like this one.. yeah.. they are good in scoring their own goals.. and nailing their own coffin. smilies/tongue.gif
written by Celestial, September 05, 2008 16:07:56
Each day, each action, each attempt confirms that they are imbeciles or morons. I have never seen such masochists before. What a poor excuse for a human being.
written by Democrats, September 05, 2008 16:08:09
Put it this way, Malaysian government's online censorship is proven a failure

Now fail to block. Full time trying to charge the RPK.

written by Democrats, September 05, 2008 16:08:52
Let me rephrase,....Malaysian government is proven a failure.
written by binarytan, September 05, 2008 16:10:42
When time PR takes over (on and before 916), we will nominate RPK to be online cencorship Director or Chairman. He is expert in screening everything.
written by yeechut, September 05, 2008 16:14:14
The censorship is a lose-win for the idiot government. It only manages to provide massive free publicity for Malaysia-today.

That was how I get to find out about Malaysia-Today - via news of government actions against Raja Petra. That was how I get to know of Jeff Ooi and Rocky Bru as well!
written by binarytan, September 05, 2008 16:17:30
May be the censorship group are full of engineers employed from UiTM.
written by SocratesI, September 05, 2008 16:17:40
As with everthing and every project undertaken by the Barisan NAJIS Govt. this censorship of Malaysia Today has ended! Malaysia Today should be chosen as one of the e-initiatives in Malaysia which actually worked! MDEC should give an R & D MSC GRANT to RPK/ Malaysia Today! Malaysia Today should be able to qualify as an MSC company and be exempt from tax plus other benefits ! It should be able to list on BURSA in a year or so!
written by chc, September 05, 2008 16:19:30
what next? an offence for anyone found to access the beloved Malaysia Yoday website punishable with a compulsory jail term??? wat do you think akbar hamid???
written by ralverd, September 05, 2008 16:27:14
Even China which spends billions in censoring the web has problem preventing people from accessing restricted sites through the loopholes. How about a government that is less than able to utilize information technology?
written by joemss, September 05, 2008 16:30:46
The next round is they probably going to ask the ISP's to terminate RPK's internet registration. These goons really has got so little brains left that they try to do something not realisisng that they end up a laughing stock.
written by BORN FREE, September 05, 2008 16:33:15
Actually with knowing the Gomen is promoting & advertising MT to the whole world. There are more readers than before the censorship.
written by ahmadneil, September 05, 2008 16:33:22
It's just learning how to suck the milk bottle.
written by alpha100, September 05, 2008 16:34:16
smilies/grin.gif Now even Jakim has join as a reader! Traffic should increase slowly when old reader manage to find this site again and new readers come in with the free publicity given! Cheers Malaysia-Today!
written by abm80, September 05, 2008 16:37:17
i was a bit worried when i could not access the website...
thank GOD i managed to find the mirror site smilies/grin.gif
written by Everbright, September 05, 2008 16:52:48
I am so happy to read this news. Well done MT and friends of MT. This site is guaranteed to grow in popularity for the simple reason that it tells the truth and nothing but the truth. No exaggeration, no lies, no empty promises. Thank you Pete for making our lives sane in a midst of a corrupt and bankrupt government.
written by budakindia, September 05, 2008 17:40:31
Now MCMC has just made a fool by itself! You have just turn the whole MSC Bill of Guarantee into toilet paper! Who is the head of MCMC? That insignificant piece of crap, go hide yourself under your wife skirt! smilies/grin.gif Stay there for the rest of your life!
written by educationist, September 05, 2008 19:31:18
Hooray for MT!
I'm happy to read that the Malaysian authorities effort to censor MT has failed.
written by Jeffrey, September 05, 2008 19:42:28
MCMC is just MMCC (mong mong cha cha ) in chinese.....

those of you who has a blog, please do our part in promoting MT in your blog, see how can they block so many websites and blogs out there! Stupid government and MCMC.....or i forgot should be MMCC.
written by Sabahfan, September 05, 2008 20:23:04
here is my site

http://sabahfan.blogspot.com/
written by Anti Jihadist, September 05, 2008 20:40:42
BN (Brilliant Nobheads) will quite likely not even to begin to realise how idiotic they look in the eyes of the public. Anybody still think that BN gives a rat's arse about world opinion? BN cares about one thing and one thing only--power. Even BN's love of money, and their hamfisted efforts to throttle the flow of information is because of their naked love for power.

written by asguard, September 05, 2008 21:44:59
These are the desperate times... they will try anything as they gain out of it... no matter how silly it maybe to other people's eye...
written by gogsard, September 06, 2008 03:39:03
On 8 March, the gov just realize the internet exist. To add to the damage, these people are slow learner and bodoh sombong. How to become smart ?
written by Diz, September 08, 2008 01:43:22
You would not be surprised at the levels of dimness demonstrated by some of our ministers. Heard a funny one recently about Bernard Dompok at a meeting with the MDec boys when he took over as Multimedia Minister. Apparently halfway thro he stopped the discussions and asked, "What does ICT mean?" Everyone was too embarrassed to even snigger...

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009