Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Apology Is But An Attitude

Apology Is But An Attitude PDF Print
Friday, 05 September 2008 11:47

The aggressive response from its allies actually serves as an SOS signal. If the high profile response from MCA and Gerakan has not met with certain degree of submission from UMNO, the Chinese and Indian communities in this country will be utterly disappointed, and MCA and Gerakan will siffer further marginalisation.

By TAY TIAN YAN/Translated by DOMINIC LOH/Sin Chew Daily

Najib apologised.

This is the first time for a political party established on racial lines to apologise for some racist remarks.

Utusan Malaysia, a Malay daily known for its strong racist stance, gave Najib's apology a very simple and brief treatment. I flipped the newspapers three times before I could locate this piece of news at an inconspicuous corner.

Some pro-UMNO websites even bemoaned for the incident, with many arguing that Ahmad Ismail was defending the Malay sovereignty, and it wasn't wrong for him to speak for the Malays.

Nevertheless, to all Malaysians with properly functioning brains, what is wrong is wrong. No citizens can tell another citizen that he is a migrant lodger, and is therefore not entitled to the equal rights.

If such fallacious remarks and concepts are left unrectified, this country will not be able to discern between what is right and what is not, and its society will continue to go down the path of disintegration.

Najib has said what he should have said, and done what is right.

Perhaps some of the more extreme members within the party do not agree with him making the apology, he can nevertheless take this opportunity to tell the extreme rightists within the party that it is now time to put a lid on Malay nationalism, and time for UMNO to review its racist stand.

Only this way can Najib truly establish his leadership position.

Having said that, Najib's apology should not mark the end of everything.

Some of my more critical friends have said that for one thing, Najib's apology came a little too late, and for another, the apology has not come from the person who should have apologised.

If UMNO had immediately demanded that Ahamd Ismail withdraw his remarks and apologise, perhaps the whole incident could have come to a conclusion very soon.

"UMNO in the end chooses to stoop down and apologise in order not to allow the crack within BN to deepen."

But day after day, we were waiting for the response from Ahmad and UMNO.

As a result, the people's dissatisfaction has snowballed, and the normally passive MCA and Gerakan have started to show their positive sides.

On the one hand, perhaps their party elections are drawing near, and this offers a unique opportunity for elite leaders within the parties to perform. On the other hand, this is also a critical moment for Chinese-based political parties within the ruling coalition. If they continue to be inert, their representation and values of existence may be at stake.

UMNO is forced into a dilemma right at this moment.

The aggressive response from its allies actually serves as an SOS signal. If the high profile response from MCA and Gerakan has not met with certain degree of submission from UMNO, the Chinese and Indian communities in this country will be utterly disappointed, and MCA and Gerakan will siffer further marginalisation.

However, if UMNO admits its mistakes and apologises, there is fear that the party will deviate from the racial lines as well as Malay sovereignty discourse that it has been upholding so persistently.

Moreover, UMNO is in the midst of preparing for the upcoming party elections. Divisional leaders like Ahmad Ismail are people who are in control of a chunk of delegate votes. If this group of people are offended, the support from them may dissipate.

UMNO in the end chooses to stoop down and apologise in order not to allow the crack within BN to deepen.

Allowing Najib to do the job of saying sorry, because Najib still has powerful influences in the party, and is still able to hold up the party. The effects will be much better than if Abdullah were to apologise on behalf of the party. Having said that, the late response from UMNO still fails to heal the wounds which have been inflicted upon the Chinese community.

Meanwhile, the person in question, Ahamd Ismail, still owes Malaysians an apology. This should be an apology directed not only to the Chinese, but all Malaysians.

Apology is but an attitude. Where politics is concerned, UMNO must still take disciplinary actions against Ahmad in a bid to salvage the party's image while restoring the integrity of BN.

Of course, if BN has learned a lesson from the March general elections and the more recent by-election in Permatang Pauh, then this incident offers an excellent opportunity for it to reinvent itself.

written by ctchoolaw, September 05, 2008 11:48:58
It ain't easy for Ahmad Ismail to apologise. Maybe he should consider this: http://ctchoolaw.********.com/...-give.html
written by boeytahan, September 05, 2008 12:01:10
Ahmad,

You did nothing wrong with a slip of your tongue seditiously? What an irresponsible and recalcitrant bloke you are. You should screw-up Paklah and Najib for saying sorry to the chinese on your behalf.

clean-up and wait for the ACA.
written by sjs, September 05, 2008 12:04:49
Let us all hope that the dark clouds of racial prejudice will soon pass away, and that in some not too distant tomorrow the radiant stars of love and brotherhood will shine over our great nation with all their scintillating beauty.

Martin Luther King, Jr
written by Celestial, September 05, 2008 12:15:33
I wonder, at this turn of event of Ahmad Ismail's refusal to apologise, what the leaders of MCA and Gerakan have to say now after they have accepted Najib's gracious apology. Will this turn of event eventuate in their demands for Ahmad's blood or will they slink quietly into their rat holes with deafening silence?

Ahmad's refusal has certainly exercabated the issue. Is this man a fool or is he so arrogant that he feels he is above his party leadership. What he said is seditious and any other ordinary Malaysian would have been already charged for sedition and yet, the police have done nothing. Malaysia is indeed looking like a third world country and probably end up worst for it.

My question is where is the leadership in Malaysia or have they also all gone underground hoping that this will blow over. If so, they don't deserve to govern and be damned for eternity. Shame on you for not acting decisively on racism.
written by JohnQ, September 05, 2008 12:18:03
Right minded readers, pls ignore him and the statement, dont fall into their racial traps! Dont anymore give a damn on it !
written by Celestial, September 05, 2008 12:19:06
Oops, my bad. How can they act decisively on racism when they promote and encourage it in the first place. Please accept my apologies for my quick condemnation.
written by cubi76, September 05, 2008 12:19:39
written by binarytan, September 05, 2008 12:30:30
NOTE: Comment deleted. Repeat posting
written by OilMan, September 05, 2008 12:38:17
The many racist from UMNO stiil think that they are the elite races of Malaysia. I suppose that they feel being so high up in society makes them in the higher caste of society. Anyhow, peoples' power will ensure their down fall as they have failed to realise their rise was actually determined by the people and the people regardless of race are Malaysians.
written by Kopi37, September 05, 2008 13:35:16
This time round if MCA and Gerakan cannot steadfast to uphold their remaining principle, if they do have two bit, they will be cursed and condemned to be a kind of worst than the UMNO stooges but the mongrels subject to be stoned kill by peoples for their flesh! They will be downtrodden to become the most disgusting and worthless shit scums of no commercial value at all! No Chinese ever will patronize to buy such worthless by products excreted form the *******s of UMNO, not even the Indian scraped iron collector will even like to take a look at it!!

Show that you still have dignity and principle or prepared to be entombed for good! It's not a matter of a mere apology, it's about principle! It's about dignity and our rights! You idiots wish to play second fiddle and happy to be the eunuchs of UMNO, go ahead but don't count us in, the next GE you will be totally wiped out from history! Bet us wrong if you still dare!!!
written by CPY, September 05, 2008 13:40:18
Some pro-UMNO websites even bemoaned for the incident, with many arguing that Ahmad Ismail was defending the Malay sovereignty, and it wasn't wrong for him to speak for the Malays.

How can 60 Malays can be threatened by 25 Chinese!? R UMNO trying to say that Malays r inferior than Chinese!?
written by khoosl11, September 05, 2008 13:53:37
After 51 years of 'Merdeka', my UMNO friends are still talking abt Malays rights! Truely, they never and will not learn of their 'defeat' in the March 8 General Election. As I check some old pictures of our 'Merdeka' 31 August 1957, I saw pictures of Tunku, Tun Tan Siew Sin and Tun Sambantan. These are the ppl that 'fight' for our rights and we are here today because of them. Are they all Malay? Chinese? Indian? No..they are all of them. So what given UMNO the right to talk abt other races..who has the 'right' to this land Malaysia. Yes we are Chinese and our forefathers comes from China...Yes we are Indians and our forefathers comes from India..so what. Our forefathers come to this land and build this country together. My dear UMNO friends, pls check your histroy...the original ppl of MALAY are the Jakuns, Sakai...and if your forefathers are from these roots...then you 'belong' here. Otherwise, you are from somewhere...maybe Palembang..

written by chin, September 05, 2008 15:42:47
BN is a lost cause.

How can some minority party negotiate with an arrogant and extremist UMNO. MCA, MIC and Gerakan should split from BN and together try to encourage the moderate elements from UMNO to join them. If they form a new integrated party, they may still have a chance.

This is one option for the now defunct MCA, MIC and Gerakan.

Alternatively, they can just close down and call it a day, the Chinese and the Indian communities are better served by Pakatan Rakyat. And this way UMNO has no target to direct their inevitable barrage of hate rhetoric.
written by justiceforallorg, September 05, 2008 17:54:14
Look how far our freedom of speech has progressed since 080308. It would certainly has been a "sensitive issue" to even bring up what the "Mad Ah" had said.
written by budakindia, September 05, 2008 18:44:42
why bother? It's high time to boot out these racist animals out! Be it UMNO, MIC & MCA! All out! smilies/angry.gif No more racism, Nazism, apartheid & fascism! smilies/angry.gif
written by ez24get, September 05, 2008 18:49:43
There’s no need for Ahmad Ismail to apologise anymore. He has already done a big favour for the Chinese community because he has forced UMNO to show their cards – the continuation of UMNO arrogance and malay supremacy agenda.

If he had apologised it would only be superficial and MCA and Gerakan will fall over each other to accept the apology of the big brother and everything will be fine. Because of the non-apology, MCA and Gerakan leaders’ manoeuvres are now more restricted – confrontation with UMNO or else whatever little standing they have left with the Chinese community and their own grass-root members in the coming party elections will be whittled away!

Ahmad Ismail’s defiance with the backing of all the Penang UMNO branches reinforcesthe stark reality that, with or without Abdullah, UMNO top leaders will continue to promote the racial supremacy agenda of ketuanan Melayu. Whether it is Badawi’s deputy Najib Abdul Razak or vice-president Muhyiddin Yassin, or even an outside challenger such as Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah is the one to lead Umno, they are going to pursue this narrow, outdated agenda.

From the top to the bottom of the UMNO hierarchy, the cry of reform simply means to get rid of Badawi and to strengthen the Ketuanan Melayu agenda. No one in UMNO including Mahathir who has almost daily demanded the resignation of Badawi are really serious about removing "corruption, abuses of the NEP, the erosion of the judiciary and injustices done to the other races economically and religiously" which is what the Rakyat wants! They just want their own team members to head UMNO and lead the nation so that they can continue to access the gravy train for themselves and their cronies.

UMNO is not interested in helping Gerakan, MCA or MIC or any other BN component parties in solving their own internal credibility issues with their members and electorates. Instead of helping, UMNO piles up even more problems for them in its quest to sway the malay voters by playing on racial sentiments as evident in the arrogant attitude of Ahmad Ismail.

Ahmad Ismail is the “Zakaria Deros” of Penang. People will well remember Zakaria Deros as the infamous former Port Klang assemblyman who died not long ago after suffering a heart attack. Ahmad Ismail’s recalcitrant and arrogant attitude is exactly like Zakaria Deros. Deros also avoided and refused, at first, to meet and apologise to the Sultan of Selangor. In Ahmad Ismail’s case he refused to meet Badawi or Najib and he also refused to apologise. Like Deros, Ahmad Ismail is also filthy rich owning a bungalow in Robina Park, the upclass area among the predominantly poor Malays and Indians living in surrounding areas in Butterworth. Like Deros his bungalow, equipped with a large swimming pool, was torn down to build a larger mansion in its place. While his mansion is being built, he stayed in another up class condominium in the affluent Tanjong Tokong area in Penang. Like Deros, the police are also scared of him.

All the UMNO leaders in Penang drive expensive cars, own large areas of land and are filthy rich. We wonder where they got their riches from?

Why should Gerakan, MCA and MIC remain in BN and help UMNO in its quest for ketuanan Melayu and tolerate UMNO’s blatant display of arrogance that it is the master and the rest are slaves? UMNO is now rudderless and sinking like the titanic and it will bring the BN component parties down with it if they do not repent and deflect from the sinking ship.

So the grass root members of the BN component parties should wise up! It is the top leaders who are leading you astray because they have their own agendas and personal gains to be servants of UMNO.

But you and your family members have to deal with the ridicules, curses and rejections on a daily basis from the Rakyat! You have your democratic right to reject UMNO and cast your votes to deflect from UMNO before the sinking Titanic brings you under with it also!

written by R020998, September 06, 2008 12:14:55
Orang-Orang Melayu,

Lihatlah... Sedarlah... betapa mere meminta-minta hak yang sama...sedikit demi sedikit mereka minta... satu per satu isu di mainkan...

Bersatulah!

Jangan biarkan negara tergadai di tangan orang...

Hidup UMNO!