Barisan reps asked to hand in passports for study trip PDF Print
Friday, 05 September 2008 11:32

(The Star) - Barisan Nasional MPs have been asked to submit their passports for an overseas study trip ahead of Sept 16, the date that is being bandied about for supposed defections to take place.

Backbenchers Club chairman Datuk Seri Tiong King Sing said the trip was the brainchild of the club but rejected suggestions that it was organised because of the Sept 16 claim.

“The trip came about after a few of our members got talking. We wanted MPs to update themselves with the latest information about agriculture and high-tech food production so that we can debate better on the Budget when Parliament sits again in October.

“This is the best time for the trip although it is the fasting month because after that, Hari Raya celebrations begin and Parliament will meet again,” he told The Star here yesterday.

Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has been claiming that his plan to topple the Barisan government by Sept 16 was on track. He claimed that some 30 Barisan MPs, particularly from Sabah and Sarawak, were ready to defect.

It is understood that the trip, said to take place between Sept 7 and Sept 19, will be open to all MPs, especially those whose constituencies have agricultural concerns, and not just MPs from Sabah and Sarawak, said to be targets of PKR.

Tiong, the Bintulu MP, maintained that the trip “had nothing to do with Sept 16”, saying it was only natural to ask MPs to submit their passports for the purpose of visa applications and ticket bookings.

He said the club had not finalised how many MPs would be going on the trip or the actual date.

“We haven’t also decided on the destination country. You know me, I only like to announce something when all the details have been confirmed,” he said.

He stressed that it was not an “overseas retreat” but a study trip for MPs.

Deputy Backbenchers Club chairman Datuk Bung Mokhtar Radin also confirmed there was such a trip to explore agricultural technology.

“Probably, the trip will be over this weekend. But we have not decided how many MPs will be participating,” the Kinabatangan MP said.

Kapit MP Alexander Nanta Linggi said he had been asked by fellow MPs from Sarawak if “he was available”.

“I told them that I was going on a trip with (Plantation Industries and Commodities) Minister Datuk Peter Chin Fah Kui on his palm oil campaign mission overseas to London and Belgium. They left it at that.”

Kimanis MP Datuk Anifah Aman and Muar MP Razali Ibrahim said they had not been contacted by anybody on the proposed trip.

“I don’t know anything. I’ve been in my constituency the whole day and Parliament has not asked for my passport,” said Anifah, who is known for his vocal views during debate in Dewan Rakyat.

Pasik Salak MP Datuk Tajuddin Abdul Rahman also denied being asked to go for the trip.

“What trip? I was not approached for this,” he added.

written by ctchoolaw, September 05, 2008 11:36:01
This is clearly a move to thwart the inevitability of crossovers. I doubt if it can succeed. An umbrella against a hurricane. http://ctchoolaw.********.com/...efect.html
written by Lostsoul12, September 05, 2008 12:07:21
Weah! They still got money for oversea trip ah...... So lucky......(wonder where all the money from?
written by CKLee123, September 05, 2008 12:15:32
What a stupid, desperate, harebrained scheme! Any potential defector who can be dissuaded in this ridiculous manner is no damned use to PR anyway.

Thank you for separating the wheat from the chaff, if any.

written by AuntyG, September 05, 2008 12:19:36
This is getting bloody hilarious.
a) First, BN offers free nasi lemak to draw people ceramahs
b) Then, BN offers angpows to voters on polling day
c) Now, BN reps get free trip to visit Downunder (Australia)
d) Soon (after 9/16), BN offers themselves another free trip to the real DOWNUNDER -lock/stock/barrel all can go.... (aiya, you know which DOWNUNDER lah)

written by BORN FREE, September 05, 2008 12:29:48
BN leader are shitting in their pants now.
Really shows that they are that desperadoes.
So funny, no standard of democracy !
Another story for the whole world to laugh at.
written by gotsms, September 05, 2008 12:31:19
Why we need so many bureaucrats & MPs go there? That is why all our best brains, best skilled people, best R&D people are not here in Malaysia. They are truly everywhere. Global. We have sent our Malaysian thorough-bred overseas to Singapore, UK, US, Australia, New Zealand, China, Vietnam, Indonesia - you name it.

Better money should be R&D. Not about building more buildings, buying more hardware. These are our bloody sweat money. Taxed from whatever means - buy cars, eat in restaurants, everywhere tax tax.

I'm really fedup. And pray to Almighty God to give his full blessings to DSAI and his team. Pray for their health & safety. To bring about deliverance of justice for ALL MALAYSIANS. The murmurs on the grounds are loud and clear. Everyone is looking at 916. And people have been spitting when hear of the name UMNO, MCA, MIC or GERAKAN.
written by DezMalaysia, September 05, 2008 14:21:40
I thought PM Bodohwi already decided to cut down expenses and there will be no more unnecessary "lawatan-sambil-belajar" oversea holiday trips to reduce wastage ?

What ? Another flip-flop and High Tech Pig Farm visitting for Sabah & Sarawak MPs ? What a great insults !

To East Malaysia MPs,
Where's your dignity ? Mana maruah kamu ? Sanggupkah anda di layan sebegini ?
written by DezMalaysia, September 05, 2008 14:48:47
Another lawatan sambil belajar to pig farms just like this Tanjung Sepat UMNO Assemblyman, Dr. Karim Mansor ? ?

written by ahmadneil, September 05, 2008 15:37:58
Tiong is bring them to show off his farm in the outback near Perth.After that they are putting on the Wellington boots and be looking for sheep.Night comes they will retire to Burswood Casino.
written by Awaken64, September 05, 2008 16:12:22
Hello MP from East Malaysia it is Hari Malaysia are you guys planning to travel to Australia rather than have a greater good time with your grass root?

If you still insist to travel to Perth during this trip please consider that 5 states in Pen Malaysia are acknowledging the significance of Hari Malaysia by declaring a Public Holiday. Wher do you want to be?

If you still decide to go PLEASE STAY IN AUSTRALIA FOREVER..... MALAYSIA DO NOT NEED MP like you.
written by latihanQ, September 05, 2008 16:57:35
Ha, ha, ha, ha. Are they going to stay in Australia until Mr. Badawi thinks up something that can stick on 'Teflon Anwar'?
written by budakindia, September 05, 2008 18:37:11
Err what happened to the cost cutting measure introduced by Abdullah? It flipped and flopped again? Using public funds for personal political gain? I'm just wondering why the ACA didn't investigate this? smilies/angry.gif
written by Sabahfan, September 05, 2008 20:37:20
ha ha ha ha, UMNO really afraid, arent they? ha ha ha ha