Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Only RM25m recovered from investment in US firm

Only RM25m recovered from investment in US firm PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 04 September 2008 23:51
(The Star)KUALA LUMPUR: After investing RM537.04mil in the US-based Columbia Aircraft Manufacturing Corporation (CAMC) through Composites Technology Research Malaysia Sdn Bhd (CTRM), the Government only managed to get back RM25mil.

The 2007 Auditor-General’s Report stated that CTRM, owned by the Finance Ministry Incorporated and Petronas, invested and lent RM537.04mil to CAMC as of September last year.

CAMC, which produced four-seater light aircraft suffered an accumulated loss of US$132.28mil (RM480.18mil) at the end of 2006 and filed a bankruptcy notice at an Oregon court on Sept 24 last year.

On Nov 27 last year, Cessna, which produces two-seater light aircraft, bought over CAMC for US$16.50mil (RM56.27mil).

The US court then awarded

the Finance Ministry of Malaysia loan and interest of US$4.29mil (RM14.63mil) and US$3.04mil (RM10.37mil) to CTRM as payment for debtors in possession.

The A-G's Report said CTRM’s investment failure was due to unscrupulous spending by its senior management officers, CAMC’s board of directors being unable to tackle production of aircraft quickly and the Finance Ministry Incorporated's lack of monitoring of CAMC.

CTRM, set up in 1990 with the aim of expanding into the aerospace and the composite industry, recorded an unusual sum of profit in 2006. The A-G's Report stated that the profit recorded was not generated from its business activities but due to the government’s decision to waive interests on the loan given to CTRM.

From 1999 to 2003, CTRM received government loans amounting to RM362.10mil.

In 2006, CTRM recorded a pre-tax profit of RM191.19mil but in 2005, it suffered losses of RM38.18mil. In 2007, its pre-tax profit was RM1.44mil.

In its reply to points raised in the A-G's Report, it said the profit in 2006 was due to loan restructuring from the Government where interest was waived and CAMC shares, bought with funds from the Government, was transferred back to the Government.

It said pre-tax profit in 2006 without taking into consideration CAMC shares and the interest waiver was RM2.1mil.

written by PAKRAK, September 05, 2008 00:31:18
Another daylight robbery which is just the tip of the iceberg!
written by boeytahan, September 05, 2008 00:31:34
Malaysian government or investment arm spreading Ringgits all over the world to return with tail between the legs with huge losses. That contributes why our economies are really in bad shape.

Start taking lessons with Temasek or just hand over the power to PR.

Another flop!
written by alberttan, September 05, 2008 00:53:33
Who is the Finance Minister and the person responsible for the investment? Will the ACA be investigating this you think?

What is more scary is that the same stupid Finance Minister and his stooges are making up plans and budgets on-the-fly, eg petrol price increases/decreases and budget 2009, using current prices as assumptions for future revenue. The world is now facing recession and much lower prices (30% to 70% lower estimated) for oil and commodities, will the cost of budget 2009 reduce inline with the revenue? I do not think so.
written by alberttan, September 05, 2008 01:13:42
Another scary thought is that our Malaysian Ringgit is dropping, which is great if Malaysia do not have any outstanding USD or EUR loans and Malaysia do not IMPORT goods from overseas. As it is, with our deficits and sovereign debts pegged to USD/EUR, lower MYR will just push our GDP into negative territory, a frightening economic scenario only ever achieved by Zimbabwe.
written by Rohani Hitam, September 05, 2008 01:42:48
It is the same modus operandi by BN goons robbing the raayat money. Petronas is BN piggy bank controlled by non other than the PM himself.

The sad thing is that there are good number still voted in the one of the most corrupted government in SEA Asia.
written by supplier, September 05, 2008 01:45:06
At least they got back RM 25 mil. Proton sold off their investment for 1 dollar and the buyer made millions of US dollar. Malaysia Boleh!
written by temanmu, September 05, 2008 03:49:53
Who is the crony involved this time?

UMNO bunch of crooks!
written by MsiaCTzen, September 05, 2008 04:05:19
Malaysia can't even upgrade a bullock cart, yet they want to built Motor bikes, Cars, and Plane. Stupid gov't.

Stay away from business...Politic and Business shouldn't mix. Anyway malaysia gov't knows shit about business except bribe, cheat, steal and ISA.

written by Chuan, September 05, 2008 04:59:04
This time they are going to open up a press conference and day, "Look people, at least we recovered RM 25 million. Besides, it's an investment where there's a potential of losing money!"

Hmm... Invest RM 537 million, and gets back RM 25 million = 2148% loss. In just 2 years!

What kind of idiots is running the Ministry of Finance? Oh wait a minute, it's our Prime Minister! And how come he's still the Prime Minister/Finance Minister?
written by penangboi, September 05, 2008 06:56:06
The corrupt government has to be held accountable for abusing the rakyat's money.

At the moment BN can do whatever they like, squandering in the millions to pamper to themselves, and fatten their own pockets, and getting away scot free.

And to prove a point, again I am putting my neck on the block that whoever are responsible will not be brought to justice because this is Bolehland and only in Bolehland can criminals can do whatever they like under the protection of the government.

Do not forget when all these happened who was in charge of the country. Our '
world-renowned 'Mam*k-Kutty'. If there is any one thing I regret most it was my wrongly-misplaced trust in this racist, corrupt PM. My only solace is that there was no MT then to expose all such despicable crimes committed against the rakyat.

TIME FOR CHANGE !
written by penangboi, September 05, 2008 07:00:32
Can I also take this opportunity to highlight that despite the billions, yes, billions spent to construct the 'Smart Tunnel' to supposedly solve the flooding problems in KL, why are we still having floods in the city??

Smart Tunnel will go down in history and Stupid Tunnel - another project thought up by the government to fatten the pockets of UMNO's cronies. And the rakyat will be the ones who are 'buggered' again.

Hey, this is only a few of many many many other similar crimes committed by the BN/UMNO sodomists.
written by foresight, September 05, 2008 07:06:12
They may startup a company in Nigeria next with Petronas (or rather citizen's)money.
written by gctham, September 05, 2008 07:42:09
We have been fighting a this long for a decent place to study in a local university and fighting among all of us who are all qualify for a place. This was simply there aren;t many places to go round. Then why wastage on the tax payers money on this kind investment. Can't is being use to build more university and train more good qualify lecturers?
written by talk2stop, September 05, 2008 07:42:30
That’s share market. It is a bad investment because the investor was not vigilant. I’ve been playing with the share market more than 10 years. I am not wealthy after 10years but boy have I seen people come and go. Come with a big bang and roll out through the back door.
Malaysia government should not invest with anything to do with wealth creation. When the hard earn money is not yours, you will have the “tidak apa” attitude.
written by gctham, September 05, 2008 07:44:34
Those in power have the mentality that since these are not my moneys just spend it without any further second thoughts. Loss let it loss after all I will not be liable and my boss will take care of me. This is the mentality of those in power and this will spell the doom and it is coming fast
written by johanssm, September 05, 2008 08:01:13
hey ALL....we are losing millions and millions and billions and the BN's MPs are going on a "****ing overseas trip".
We ALL better put a STOP .
If your read this, you be as mad as me here
>>> http://thestar.com.my/news/sto...sec=nation
written by oct, September 05, 2008 08:03:55
As long as we have no accountability, Bolehland will be a milking cow to UMNO. Just look at these abuses and yet today no one is charged and bring to court. Yes, they are sometime charged but their cases will not be seen in court. Soon their cases are forgotten and these same people will continue to profit unreservedly without a blink of an eye. Cases like:-

1. CTRM
2. Buying screw drivers and car jacks at inflated prices
3. PKFZ
4. Navy patrol boats
5. Building collapses
6. MRR2
7. Trains bought from a bankrupt company and without spare parts
8. Bungalows built for councilors in Selangor
9. Proton Perdana repair bills

Each year we have reports from AG about misuse of funds. Yes we heard some investigations made. In the end no one is convicted of any wrongs. So what message is the Govt sending to the guilty ones? It is semua-nya ok if you are a crony of UMNO as no action will be taken against us. Mind you most of UMNO divisional heads are contractors and they are making piles of money without trying. No wonder everyone want to be a division head. This is where the money is. A fine example is our late Zakaria.
Get rid of these leeches and Bolehland will see better times!!!!
written by ChrisLim, September 05, 2008 08:20:49
Don't forget the gomen also spend our tax money to send a handsome supermodel to space travelling, playing yoyo etc. Up Up and Away! What a gomen!!! Sigh!
written by ROBERTNGTG, September 05, 2008 08:26:22
From 1999 to 2003, CTRM received government loans amounting to RM362.10mil.
In 2006, CTRM recorded a pre-tax profit of RM191.19mil but in 2005, it suffered losses of RM38.18mil. In 2007, its pre-tax profit was RM1.44mil.
In its reply to points raised in the A-G's Report, it said the profit in 2006 was due to loan restructuring from the Government where interest was waived and CAMC shares, bought with funds from the Government, was transferred back to the Government.

SATU LAGI PROJECT BN DI MALAYSIA BOLEH. THE RAKYAT HAS LOST COUNT OF THE NO
AND THE AMOUNT OF MONUMENTAL LOSSES. MR. PM ASKED THE RAKYAT TO PRAY FOR THE PETROL PRICE TO DROP. WE RATHER PRAY FOR THE GOMENT TO COLLAPSE TO SOLVE ALL THE FIASCOS.
written by Batangkali, September 05, 2008 08:56:28
This loss is considered to be peanuts if you were to compared with the wholesale stealling in Petronas, MAS, EPF, and the GLCs.

All you have to do is check, who are suppliers to these companies and you will find that in all deals, 10 million and above, a UMNOpookeeputeras or UMNOpookeeputeri connected with, PM Badwee or his family members, Najib & Rosmah Corp or the 22 year old thief, half breed from Kerala, TDM MaMa Taik is involved.

It was reported recently in Indonesia that the Astro/Lippo, James Riada/Ananda Joint venture tt out 150 million ringgit to a family member of former PM ***** Taik, causing the company to go bankrupt.

These are the thieves of Malayisa headed by UMNO mafias where everything is halal if they pray 5 times a day and bertaubet if caught.
written by kc respect, September 05, 2008 09:13:45
Were all these money-losing investments FAILURES???? Answer : NO!!!!

They were "SUCCESS STORIES" for UMNO. The bigger the better. Otherwise, how to pocket the money for cronies. You name it, be it investments, land, elections, subsidies, submarines, etc., etc. All rakyat's money went to individual pockets. CORRUPTION IS A SUCCESS STORTY IN BARISAN NATIONAL!!
written by SocratesI, September 05, 2008 09:28:48

CTRM was one of Maha-Shithead's pet projects and it was charged with developing composite material for airplanes so that the planes will be much lighter and consume much less fuel etc. etc.

I will venture to say that this composite technology is now superceded by Nano-technology where leading scientific bodies worlwide are researching into carbon nanotubes as the strogest fibre to be used for aviation.

Our CTRM is not positioned to follow this new line of research.

Anyway, CTRM is undoubtedly one of the "funnels" for lining pockets in the Barisan NAJIS, whose, is up for speculation !!

written by BORN FREE, September 05, 2008 10:01:54
This is broad daylight robbery of our rakyat monies !
Millions lost in less than a year of investment.
Our own country is in shit but the Gomen can still lend $$ to others !
They are actually channeling into their own foreign bank accounts.
written by sydput, September 05, 2008 10:13:08
CTRM wasted 500 miilion dosh on US planemaker, when they could have invested RM100million (or even less) to design and build one.
Then there is 400 million loan given to Libyan Mossadeq in Putrajaya.
RM600 million given to italians Agusta motorcycles.
RM several hundred milons more (and still counting as it is operating at a loss) for lotus in england.
Seems we are making the poor (that is us) to pay for the rich.
written by deemah, September 05, 2008 10:22:14
Another con job - by this so called MSC compampany Invent Q something ... Anyone remember this case?
written by ALBERTUS, September 05, 2008 10:26:47
This is like MV Augusta and the Navy sailboats scandals. *Sigh* will the real SLIM SHADY please stand up!
written by AntiBN, September 05, 2008 11:03:15
This present government is just not ready to make any investment overseas, but foreign investors like join venture business with Malaysia because we are not competent. Lets face it, our current leaders are just not cut to do business overseas yet. Most of our oversea investments lose money.

Let DSAI, with his experience and connection world over, do it instead.
written by chin, September 05, 2008 16:39:12
All these bright ideas often lacks business value or national value.

Lets not forget MV and MAS little investment in Germany and the sport complex in UK, polish tanks, french submarines, MIG fighters, ....... the list goes on

Its either corruption or incompetence, neither of which is admirable in a government.

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009